joethehibby
In trouble again over the russel bawbag case
Get the license tae feck
They really are the pits, I for one wouldn’t miss any of their programmes except one mibbyI wasn't paying the license over the BBC's coverage of Palestine.I got the black and white letters, then the red and white letters but then my wee sister gave me a wee payment and I thought 'fuck it I'll pay' which I did ;but they don't seem to have noticed ;because the red letters still arrive .So on top of everything else 'fuck em'.
just tell them you haven't got a tellyThey really are the pits, I for one wouldn’t miss any of their programmes except one mibby![]()
Were you still watching? Did you boycott the channel, or just the paying?I wasn't paying the license over the BBC's coverage of Palestine.I got the black and white letters, then the red and white letters but then my wee sister gave me a wee payment and I thought 'fuck it I'll pay' which I did ;but they don't seem to have noticed ;because the red letters still arrive .So on top of everything else 'fuck em'.
They may need to get with the times and have a subscription model.I am a left wing nationalist and I pay my licence. Whilst much of the UK and Scottish news and shite like Question Time boils my pish, as it should, its unionist propaganda and lies. I watch the excellent documentaries, dramas, comedy and sport they provide, for what I pay its worth it.
@Smurf is right though, the next generation do not live by TV schedules, the fee will die a death.
Or avertsThey may need to get with the times and have a subscription model.
Not sure how they have gotten away with it all these years tbh.
AdvertsOr averts
Who's averting adverts then joe?Adverts
Canny edit, need spellcheckerWho's averting adverts then joe?
And there was me lookin forward to a whole cryptic string of posts within previous posts all together cumulatively forming a stunning joke aboot advertising aversion in Kirkaldy.Canny edit, need spellchecker![]()
You sure 'aversion' is the word you typed ???????And there was me lookin forward to a whole cryptic string of posts within previous posts all together cumulatively forming a stunning joke aboot advertising aversion in Kirkaldy.
Feel robbed
I assume because it would be free at point of use? The alternative would be that the availability of programming to people who couldn’t pay subscriptions would be extremely limited.Re the license fee, how could it possibly continue if this goes ahead;
BBC preparing to go online-only over next decade, says director general.
but it wouldn’t be free at the point of use, it would be a subscription like any other. I mean it already is, just one that people don’t have a choice over, so it’s actually less free than the others in terms of the second meaning of free.I assume because it would be free at point of use? The alternative would be that the availability of programming to people who couldn’t pay subscriptions would be extremely limited.
The ‘TV’ license covers these devices already. If the BBC disappeared tomorrow you would still be legally required to pay a licence. It’s really just another government taxation but the terms are that it technically covers your ability to access media content by whatever means. For example, if you didn’t have a house but lived in a motorhome that had no telly but is fitted with a radio, you would need a license to access the transmitted signals.but it wouldn’t be free at the point of use, it would be a subscription like any other. I mean it already is, just one that people don’t have a choice over, so it’s actually less free than the others in terms of the second meaning of free.
At the minute the increasingly tattered rationale for the license connects it to broadcast infrastructure - I mean it’s positioned as a ‘tv license’ not a ‘bbc license’. If the bbc becomes just another streamer, how does this stand up? At that point you are nakedly coercing people to pay for one, ahem, ‘content provider’ with no remaining fig leaves to hide behind. I guess the next question would be, as many young people increasingly view via computer, phone, iPad, will one need a ‘bbc license’ to own one of these. It’s just not tenable.
Well the BBC has a number of 'purposes'. Producing a wide range of programming, particularly where the commercial sector won't or can't. Radio, for example, is one where the BBC produces content that is different, especially local programming. For all the moans about BBC Radio Scotland, there is no parallel local broadcaster with the range of content. Gealic language broadcasting - who picks that up? Radio Three is a thing of beauty, with no compare in Scala and Classic FM. And I think the BBC still produces high quality programming over all platforms. Do I like it all? No - but it's not all about me.What is the purpose of the BBC? I don’t think it is to produce entertainment as that is covered by truly free to use services like ITV as well as a plethora of others. Why should I be forced to fund strictly, or a strictly fan forced to fund… well I can’t think of any bbc programme particularly directed at me, but in any case….
I don’t think it is to educate socially within a national mission of some kind, as the nation is no longer coherent and so this becomes about pushing one agenda among many. The BBC have been instrumental in undermining themselves on this one.
I think a purely educational channel, i.e. non politicised content about the natural world, how stuff is made, science etc, could just about be justified - becoming something like an informal open university. But the BBC has shown itself to be incapable of fulfilling this brief and its getting impossible anyway as things like science itself is increasingly compromised in the face of ideology.
Isn't it better that goes to broadcasting rather than just general taxation? I think it's legitimate to look at taxation in relation to ability to pay, but beyond that?The ‘TV’ license covers these devices already. If the BBC disappeared tomorrow you would still be legally required to pay a licence. It’s really just another government taxation but the terms are that it technically covers your ability to access media content by whatever means. For example, if you didn’t have a house but lived in a motorhome that had no telly but is fitted with a radio, you would need a license to access the transmitted signals.
Shocking regionalisation thatYou sure 'aversion' is the word you typed ???????
It is Kirkcaldy after all.
Shocking region altogether.Shocking regionalisation that![]()
SnobShocking region altogether.
Somebody once told me the Devil was buried in Fife, don't know if that's true however in The Waterboys excellent song And a bang on the ear there's a line 'It started up in Fife, ended up in tears 'Snob
Dinny believe everything you hear sonSomebody once told me the Devil was buried in Fife, don't know if that's true however in The Waterboys excellent song And a bang on the ear there's a line 'It started up in Fife, ended up in tears '
Enough said.
Eh?Dinny believe everything you hear son
And they continually turn a blind eye to a lot of the shit that goes on under their watch@Archie
By the nation being no longer coherent I mean the country is not bound together by a common set of values, traditions etc. Thus the BBC is no longer a mirror to the nation it is representative of a narrow set of metropolitan liberal values which the rest of the country are forced to pay to have drummed into them.
The BBC is slanted as hell from news to drama and even inserted into apparently innocuous documentaries. If you can see that it must be because liberal fish don’t have to give much thought to what water is.
It would be completely unacceptable if people were compelled to pay for GBNews and it’s no different here. I suggest the open university type remit as it is both a social good not obviously served by commercial operators, and it’s a remit where it may be possible to keep a lid on their partiality.
I can’t stress enough that there is a perfectly legitimate place for ‘Guardian TV’ so to speak, but that place is funded by willing subscriptions, not twisting the arms of Scottish nationalists, conservatives, Muslims, Marxists, Christians, libertarians, patriots, anarchists and every one else who doesn’t want a north London viewpoint rammed into them everyday and to be forced to pay for the privilege.
I can’t speak to radio as I don’t listen to it much at all, but it’s not expensive to run radio these days. If there is an audience for radio 3 I’m sure it could survive as a commercial entity.
And not just at sevco!And they continually turn a blind eye to a lot of the shit that goes on under their watch![]()
Or it might not be clear to me because I don't share your blinkered obsession with North London. It seems you want a BBC to reflect you. Well we are much more multi-faceted than that.@Archie
By the nation being no longer coherent I mean the country is not bound together by a common set of values, traditions etc. Thus the BBC is no longer a mirror to the nation, it is representative of a narrow set of metropolitan liberal values which the rest of the country are forced to pay to have drummed into them.
The BBC is slanted as hell from news to drama and even inserted into apparently innocuous documentaries. If you cant see that it must be because liberal fish don’t have to give much thought to what water is.
It would be completely unacceptable if people were compelled to pay for GBNews and it’s no different here. I suggest the open university type remit as it is both a social good not obviously served by commercial operators, and it’s a remit where it may be possible to keep a lid on their partiality.
I can’t stress enough that there is a perfectly legitimate place for ‘Guardian TV’ so to speak, but that place is funded by willing subscriptions, not twisting the arms of Scottish nationalists, conservatives, Muslims, Marxists, Christians, libertarians, patriots, anarchists and every one else who doesn’t want a north London viewpoint rammed into them everyday and to be forced to pay for the privilege.
I can’t speak to radio as I don’t listen to it much at all, but it’s not expensive to run radio these days. If there is an audience for radio 3 I’m sure it could survive as a commercial entity.
Finally, the BBC is not entirely to blame here - returning to the start, it is probably no longer possible to reflect Britain as it is through a public broadcaster. To your question on politicisation, as a thought experiment can you imagine any of the following being presented as ‘a goodie’ in a BBC drama without the storyline having them come to see the north London light eventually ;
- someone who supports the death penalty
- someone who supports sharia law governing the UK
- a conservative mp
- someone who believes immigration should be substantially reduced
- someone who oppose abortion
- someone who believes in the Indian caste system
- someone who insists that possession of penis denotes a man
- someone who is a convinced brexiteer
- a supporter of Donald Trump
- someone who vocally believes sharia law or the caste system have no place in Britain
…I have been trying to come up with a left wing thing which would be impossible to imagine and I’m stumped. Even a Marxist might be depicted as principled in some way. And thats kinda the point. The above are views or people, held or supported by significant chunks of the country or the absolute majority. You’ll never hear them from a bbc character that isn’t a baddie.
Now there is no reason the BBC should do any of these things - if it was a private operation. If it was representing the country it would be obliged to, or if not, obliged to avoid depicting the opposite. It’s probably not possible but they certainly don’t try; feck their dramas are usually completely lacking in suspense because you know who potentially dunnit and who is unlikely to have dunnit, by their identities.
It’s completely skewed and I can only conclude that if it is not obvious to you, it’s either because of its sheer pervasiveness or because your own views are reflected back at you and you assume them to be some kind of objective norm. It is in fact what the BBC might call ‘cultural imperialism’.
Can we imagine for one second the bbc featuring storylines depicting the real causes of the disadvantages faced by black people or poor people generally; of non white racism; of a little old lady in a northern town whose world has been turned upside down and who laments it without being a racist in the way Gordon Brown might have it; of the empirical facts behind gender stramashes; of the actual pre colonial nature of countries colonised by Britain; where supranational bodies are depicted as bad thing; where Scottish independence is depicted as a good thing; where a minimal government is depicted as a good thing; where the NHS is depicted as dysfunctional; where polygamy as practised by some immigrant communities is depicted positively etc.
Recent examples?And they continually turn a blind eye to a lot of the shit that goes on under their watch![]()
The long haired bawbag , Brand using bbc cars to transport young lassies for oneRecent examples?