Andy Goram

He is best known for single handedly denying Ceitic in game after game and is synonymous with Rangers. All thiscomes up when you search online under his name.
Its hard to find much online footage of him playing for Hibs and there was none when searching under his name.
As I said above I watched 25 minutes of highlights of a home game against Rangers from 1989.
Is there any other obvious footage online of him playing for Hibs?
There's a fair bit:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Hearts 1 Hibernian 2 ( Steve Archibald 1988 )

Hibernian in Europe (1989 FC Liege)

Hibernian in Europe (1989 Videoton)

I would recommend subscribing to johnsparky2 on YouTube he has some archive of Hibs videos

Deary me, what a petty parochial man you are...do you not see by posting this garbage you're simply stirring the Scottish sectarian pot - something as Hibs fans we don't need to be part of?
It seems like you're something of an institution around here - maybe it's time you were in one.
I hope other Bouncers are bigger than this and just add their respects on this thread to our greatest ever goalkeeper.
Don't even look for a reply - and you should change your name to AGENDAMAN7.
I actually agree with @GORDONSMITH7 on this. This is a Hibs internet forum, not a book of condolences at the funeral, or messages and flowers at his house gates. And just because the guy died -- and all sympathy to his family members as such -- does not mean that we should not even mention that the guy was quite obviously the absolute worst kind of Hun, fully bought in to the very worst, odious aspects of Scotland's Shame.

"Stirring the Scottish sectarian pot" just by acknowledging that on a Hibs forum? What a load of absolute nonsense.
I don't think that necessarily means he's a bigot though?
A mounted flute and framed pictures of the UVF, are you actually serious? What was he then, a keen historian of Northern Ireland?

I actually agree with @GORDONSMITH7 on this. This is a Hibs internet forum, not a book of condolences at the funeral, or messages and flowers at his house gates. And just because the guy died -- and all sympathy to his family members as such -- does not mean that we should not even mention that the guy was quite obviously the absolute worst kind of Hun, fully bought in to the very worst, odious aspects of Scotland's Shame.

"Stirring the Scottish sectarian pot" just by acknowledging that on a Hibs forum? What a load of absolute nonsense.

A mounted flute and framed pictures of the UVF, are you actually serious? What was he then, a keen historian of Northern Ireland?
But he was none of those things whilst goalkeeper at Hibs. There's been plenty opportunity to condemn the sectarian culture he immersed himself in since then, why leave it until he pops his clogs? Or at least start another thread unless the only intention is to antagonise.

But he was none of those things whilst goalkeeper at Hibs. There's been plenty opportunity to condemn the sectarian culture he immersed himself in since then, why leave it until he pops his clogs? Or at least start another thread unless your only intention is to antagonise.
Exactly Kev. Create another thread - which I'd ignore as it only keeps creating negativity.
As a nation we need to resign that shit to the dustbin.

But he was none of those things whilst goalkeeper at Hibs. There's been plenty opportunity to condemn the sectarian culture he immersed himself in since then, why leave it until he pops his clogs? Or at least start another thread unless your only intention is to antagonise.
I'd go along with this. There's maybe a discussion to be had about his politics and views amongst those interested in talking about ex Hibs players. How's about keeping this thread for memories of a great Hibby.

You know full well that it was and still is a complex issue the political situation in the North of Ireland. I don't personally buy into the theory that all in Republican or Loyalist circles were or are bigoted. Many are obviously but not all were or are. FFS Martin McGuiness and Ian Paisley senior became very close. Andy Goram was a Rangers player. He wasn't the first and won't be the last to get caught up in all that shit. Many Rangers and Celtic players have for many many years. I know we live in a time when we just love to label folk racist, homophobic and sectarian but sometimes it's really not that simple.

As a nation we need to resign that shit to the dustbin.
Which we will never do unless we resolve not to selectively ignore it for decorum's sake.
You know full well that it was and still is a complex issue the political situation in the North of Ireland. I don't personally buy into the theory that all in Republican or Loyalist circles were or are bigoted. Many are obviously but not all were or are. FFS Martin McGuiness and Ian Paisley senior became very close. Andy Goram was a Rangers player. He wasn't the first and won't be the last to get caught up in all that shit. Many Rangers and Celtic players have for many many years. I know we live in a time when we just love to label folk racist, homophobic and sectarian but sometimes it's really not that simple.
I personally buy into the theory that people who frame pictures of loyalist paramilitaries are bigots. It's actually worse, in my view, when you weren't actually brought up with it -- you've chosen to buy into it. Maybe that's just me, though.

Maybe if Jimmy Bell had been Hibs' kitman during the years 1987-1991, we would have all extended him a similar pass, aye? He wasn't the first and won't be the last either.

Anyway, my original point was that I didn't think it was inappropriate at all for Big G to point out the glaring, very large blemish that folk apparently want to completely airbrush out of any discussion of the man, on account of the fact that he's now dead (whereas folk were more than happy to do so when he was alive -- go figure).

Appears I'm in the minority though, so fine -- I'll bow out of this one.

Bell and Goram were obvious symbolic Scottish links of Rangers to unionism and the Irish troubles. Their passing dilutes those old symbolic links leaving a commercial one of orange football strips etc.
Are there any other scotish ex players or current staff at Rangers similarly linked or have we reached a point of Rangers commercial department exploiting these facets for cash.

Bell and Goram were obvious symbolic Scottish links of Rangers to unionism and the Irish troubles. Their passing dilutes those old symbolic links leaving a commercial one of orange football strips etc.
Are there any other scotish ex players or current staff at Rangers similarly linked or have we reached a point of Rangers commercial department exploiting these facets for cash.
On reflection Bell was far more than symbolic

Bomber Brown?

Less and less locally sourced players since Bosman stops the sectarian fire burning too bright?

My cousin (Hun) once got an autographed pic of a Hunco team signed by Brown and Bob Malcolm who wrote FTP underneath, when he saw that he called Malcolm a prick and walked off.
I remember Bob did the same to a wee kid, whose mum went ballistic and went public with it.

Brought a fair amount of criticism Bob’s way, but sadly also elevated him to new heights in the eyes of the usual suspects.

If I remember rightly I think there have been several posts on Andy Goram since I joined in 2008,I think I have probably contributed a few times pointing out his character and beliefs.It's just when sombody dies and in such a horrible manner I'd rather keep it to remembering his football whilst pointing out he was personally unlikeable.If Paulo De Cahnnio pops his clogs before i do I winnae hold back.

Less and less locally sourced players since Bosman stops the sectarian fire burning too bright?
The problem with Bell was he had daily access to all Rangers players which allowed him to spread unionist drivel as normality to all their players young and old.
That obvious link has now been removed.

Bomber Brown?
Joe Louis the boxer was nicknamed the Brown Bomber.
70's WBA striker Tony Brown was called Bomber Brown.
Suspect these are the sources of his nickname.

i believe he was a Rangers club ambassador a few years ago so probably found himself in NI often in that role.
I don't recall him being photographed holding dodgy flags etc.

I remember Bob did the same to a wee kid, whose mum went ballistic and went public with it.

Brought a fair amount of criticism Bob’s way, but sadly also elevated him to new heights in the eyes of the usual suspects.
I presume Bob Malcolm is just very thick.
The more circumspect bigot is far more of a worry than such an unaware simpleton.

i believe he was a Rangers club ambassador a few years ago so probably found himself in NI often in that role.

I wasn't suggesting the nickname was connected to any actual 'bombing' more the fact I remember him as a snarling uber-hun type; "show us the deeds"....... and that someone so steeped in hunnism and a big pal of Goram may also be of that ilk.

I wasn't suggesting the nickname was connected to any actual 'bombing' more the fact I remember him as a snarling uber-hun type; "show us the deeds"..... and that someone so steeped in hunnism and a big pal of Goram may also be of that ilk.
Keep watching him...😉

I wasn't suggesting the nickname was connected to any actual 'bombing' more the fact I remember him as a snarling uber-hun type; "show us the deeds"..... and that someone so steeped in hunnism and a big pal of Goram may also be of that ilk.
"Show us the deeds" :giggley:
I remember him as a radge guy when he played at Dundee.
Think that was just the type of player he was.
He was pals with Goram but a lot of ex players were, however, I don't think he was intemperate as Goram was.
As a result Rangers gave him coaching, scouting and ambassadorial jobs whereas Goram never worked for the club after he finished playing.

This article from When Saturday Comes, which I rate with Nutmeg as both highly recommended, informative and unbiased makes some of your points @Jack K.
I'm not so optimistic in the assertion that the vast amounts of money being harvested by Celtic and Rangers in Europe will change anything for the better on several levels though.
My cynicism would be confirmed if Gorams funeral is held one week today. Hope I'm wrong.

This article from When Saturday Comes, which I rate with Nutmeg as both highly recommended, informative and unbiased makes some of your points @Jack K.
I'm not so optimistic in the assertion that the vast amounts of money being harvested by Celtic and Rangers in Europe will change anything for the better on several levels though.
My cynicism would be confirmed if Gorams funeral is held one week today. Hope I'm wrong.

Exactly what I said to the missus as soon as he passed.
Although it would hardly be Goram's decision.

The article is 18 years old but it states the Old Firm will do whatever is required if there is lots of money at stake. UEFA have proved that in recent years, easily bringing Celtic and Rangers to heal when they have deemed it necessary.
Money is what drives all clubs and their owners including our own. Unfortunately, unlike European competition there is little money in the Scottish game for our ruling bodies to similarly drag the Old Firm into line.
Money runs, rules and forces compliance in the capitalist world.
Goram and anything he did outside playing are a red herring. He should be allowed to rest in peace.

Looked up Eric Brown the golfer yesterday.Apparently there was another Eric Brown known as 'bomber'.

Common nickname for the surname Brown. My Ma’s maiden name was Brown, one of her brothers had the nickname Bomber.

I agree. But one can rise above his attitudes - and the whole thing - by calmly and respectfully marking his passing. Sometimes taking the higher ground is also a refutation.