Am I the only one baffled by bathroom products?

egb_hibs

I learned this morning, from Mrs egb, that I haven’t washed my hair properly for weeks because I had been using conditioner thinking it was shampoo. On top of that I’d actually been using two different conditioners; I’ve got a bit of scalp psoriasis and on barbers advice was using conditioner for the first time in my puff to help with that. But that was after using what I thought was shampoo, but which in fact was actually another conditioner.

Besides that I’m given to asking the missus each time in Tesco whether ‘body wash’ or shower gel can be used on your hair as shampoo. And then I forget, as I have done again. Recently ‘hand wash’ has made an appearance and again, I don’t know if that is equivalent to soap or rather part of the vast arsenal of ‘skincare’ products.

But maybe that’s a redundant question given I was bowled over recently when she informed me that soap doesn’t act as I thought, like some kind of detergent cleansing agent, but simply as a solvent to help get dirt off, and more than that, most of the benefit is from scrubbing your hands and you can basically use a lump of metal to facilitate that action as you would a bar of soap (and indeed I remember my maw introducing such a gadget in the 70s - I suspect following a trip to the ideal home show which was a purveyor of much such tat).

Our bathroom has more bottles in it than Olly Reed’s bin, full of potions of various kinds which are completely mysterious to me, but I now find myself defeated by the basics.

Am I just ready for the glue factory or does anyone sympathise ?

I learned this morning, from Mrs egb, that I haven’t washed my hair properly for weeks because I had been using conditioner thinking it was shampoo. On top of that I’d actually been using two different conditioners; I’ve got a bit of scalp psoriasis and on barbers advice was using conditioner for the first time in my puff to help with that. But that was after using what I thought was shampoo, but which in fact was actually another conditioner.

Besides that I’m given to asking the missus each time in Tesco whether ‘body wash’ or shower gel can be used on your hair as shampoo. And then I forget, as I have done again. Recently ‘hand wash’ has made an appearance and again, I don’t know if that is equivalent to soap or rather part of the vast arsenal of ‘skincare’ products.

But maybe that’s a redundant question given I was bowled over recently when she informed me that soap doesn’t act as I thought, like some kind of detergent cleansing agent, but simply as a solvent to help get dirt off, and more than that, most of the benefit is from scrubbing your hands and you can basically use a lump of metal to facilitate that action as you would a bar of soap (and indeed I remember my maw introducing such a gadget in the 70s - I suspect following a trip to the ideal home show which was a purveyor of much such tat).

Our bathroom has more bottles in it than Olly Reed’s bin, full of potions of various kinds which are completely mysterious to me, but I now find myself defeated by the basics.

You have too much time on your hands. Definitely one for the wee yellie van with the square wheels

Sounds like your house has fallen victim to the hypnotic witchcraft of advertising. A bar of soap and a bottle of shampoo, ok added conditioner in same bottle is allowed...sorted 👍

Get 2 different coloured bottles for your shampoo and conditioner. My missus prefers the brand our auld prime minister advocates. If like me yi cannae read anything withoot yer bins on, once you remember the black one is the shampoo and the white one is the conditioner yi cannae go wrong. Like yersel there’s loads of bottles in our big but the two hair bottles are bigger that the rest.
Although I use a shower gel( Lynx, like every good Hibby should), another different shaped bottle for the short sighted amongst us, either shampoo or conditioner are good for cleaning yer erse.

BTW, after probably putting a big hole in the ozone layer with the amount of spray on deodorant I have used this year I’m looking forward tae after tomorrow's shower after finishing my last can of Lynx Africa that I got for Christmas this morning. Roll on Saturday.

I use Radox shower gel in the shower and wash my hair with it every day. I am petty enough to only ever buy the green bottle (eucalyptus and some other stuff I think). Every other bottle is the wife's and I know to stay clear. None of the stuff she buys seems to come in green bottles, so it's not too difficult.

I sympathise wholeheartedly mate. When I worked offshore, I kept all my own toiletries in a toilet bag to save packing and unpacking it every trip. Shampoo, toothpaste, razor, shaving oil and nail clippers - what more does a man need? During that 30 years the occupation began to take place. Bathroom cabinet, under-sink cabinet, every available shelf, even a whole bedroom cupboard now fully stocked with every potion and lotion imaginable. Skin care, hair care, nail care, foot care, day cream, night cream and probably early evening cream too. Nine years after quitting the offshore job, my kit is still in a toilet bag as there’s no other place to keep it. When people jokingly say “there’s a cream for that” I can testify to that as we probably have it.

I use Radox shower gel in the shower and wash my hair with it every day. I am petty enough to only ever buy the green bottle (eucalyptus and some other stuff I think). Every other bottle is the wife's and I know to stay clear. None of the stuff she buys seems to come in green bottles, so it's not too difficult.

Ditto.

My green bottle is original source mint and tea tree though. A lather of that round your unmentionables in the morning will get you alert enough to zone out any other products cluttering up the bathroom.

Weird, a similar chat came up in the car on the way to the Hunnery on Sunday. Three of us, start, middle and end of our 50's, not a full head of hair amongst us, yet we all still use Head & Shoulders shampoo. My bottle last over six months!! Following on from the green shower gel, I am a Lynx Jungle Fresh user.

If you have scalp psoriasis I'd highly recommend using Neutrogena T/Gel shampoo? Clears it up within a week or 2.

😆 😆 There would appear tae be some bouncers out there smelling like a spotty teenager wi their lynx!

Head n Shoulders for the barnet, sans conditioner as im not a woman, however ive been partial to the L'oreal Men expert range of shower gel of late. Each flavour a hit with added bonus of doing 5 jobs in 1 bottle; Body/Face/Hair/Beard/Moisturiser. Ofcourse one never washes ones face in hot water, a classic error; I wash my face separately with cold water with a small dab of Nivea men deep cleaning facewash. This keeps the pores open and stops plooks.

ooft. Suits you sir:blowkiss:

Jesus!
All this talk of skin/ hair care and I've seen ASDA and Tesco mentioned.
Be as well using Vim!
Personally I use Tropic shower wash, Clinique oil free moisturiser post shower.
Probably a bit OTT for the baldies, but one should take care of ones complexion chaps.
Or you end up with skin which looks like it's been treated with a wire brush.
Come come lads! Get with it.

FAO Shrink,
Sudocrem should stay on your skin care list.
Obviously....

While we’re on the men’s grooming topic, I should say that I do allow myself two little luxuries in that department: Molton Brown Cracked Black Pepper exfoliating soap fairly scrapes off the dead skin and their after shave is smashing.

Head and Shoulders. Does all body parts not just those advertised.
If I forget to take it out the drawer, a squirt of the missus’ shower gel. No idea what it is, and I think it’s chosen to colour match the room rather than for any magical or medical properties.
Very occasional squirt of E45 on the napper if it’s suffered sun damage.

All the other stuff mentioned on this thread is for ladies or Bouncers identifying as such.

😆 😆 There would appear tae be some bouncers out there smelling like a spotty teenager wi their lynx!

Head n Shoulders for the barnet, sans conditioner as im not a woman, however ive been partial to the L'oreal Men expert range of shower gel of late. Each flavour a hit with added bonus of doing 5 jobs in 1 bottle; Body/Face/Hair/Beard/Moisturiser. Ofcourse one never washes ones face in hot water, a classic error; I wash my face separately with cold water with a small dab of Nivea men deep cleaning facewash. This keeps the pores open and stops plooks.

ooft. Suits you sir:blowkiss:
Skin care is not a manly activity EGers.

If you're not careful you will end up looking like Brad Pitt in your 60s rather than, I dunno, Lee Marvin.

It's not too late to turn back.

I need to check my internet settings. Seems the Bounce has morphed into fucking Mums.net🤣
It's reminding me of a thread some years ago on .net where grown men told us the importance of packing your bags properly at the checkout.

The board of the Very Big Soap Company are worried. Sales have stalled, they need to generate more income. "Ideas" shouts the MD. Timidly a young sales rep says "we could reduce the amount of fat thus making it cheaper to produce and sales would increase due to it running out quicker"
Another shrewder rep says "no that will just drive business to our competitors with original hard soap, their advertisers will jump on that and call it long lasting or some such bollocks. What we need is a completely new product..liquid soap!
The MD screams "don't be bloody stupid that will just run down the drain really quickly"
"Exactly sir" we market it as essential to the gullible young folk out there, smell great, get more sex, make it expensive so they think it's a magic fucking potion"
"Do it" shouts the MD. "Get the best advertisers on it"

Hypnotic witchcraft I tell you.

It's reminding me of a thread some years ago on .net where grown men told us the importance of packing your bags properly at the checkout.
There’s a difference between OCD like that and EGBs dilemma.
He’ll be extolling the importance of plucking your eyebrows and waxing your Brazilian trim next

I dunno if it's making a comeback over there but here there is a fantastic array of Old Spice products. And they smell great!!!