Found this interesting piece by accident on Google.
Celtic's Complicated Relationship With Hibernian – (Part 1) | The Celtic Star
Found this interesting piece by accident on Google.
Why do I think its all going to go wrong in part 2.So far so good I would say? Interested to see Part 2 and in particular Glass's involvement.
Sorry to see we had to raise funds to feed the poor back in the 1880's as well as today.
thecelticstar.com
your on fire young manPart 4 here and I think Liam really has got it, missed a few bits and bobs but I reckon he might of read the Lugtons and 100 years of Hibs, impressive as I bought and read Dundee United's centenary book but turn the page anytime I see anything about Celtc. Good. I am impressed so far, although we all need to research the tale of the pubs used as an enticement by Glass to get Glasgow based Hibs players to join the lesser greens.
Celtic’s Complicated Relationship With Hibernian – (Part 4) | The Celtic Star
Celtic and Hibernian have had some tempestuous moments over the last century and beyond. Fact and fiction combine in supporters’ analysis of these moments, particularly where Harry Swan is concerned. This article seeks to redress matters by giving an objective analysis of two key points of...thecelticstar.com
Article 5 talks about where we are now, I think its fair to say, we dinnae like each other, they hate the Wisnae for the Hibees you'd be huns stuff ( I will sing it on Monday, its true and it boils their pish), maybe the song really is they'd be Hibs, but that disnae hurt as much?
I personally hate the souptakers stuff and their adopted Irishness as someone with Irish and much more importantly Scottish roots.
Excellent series and I see he has name checked the Bounce and is taking comments from here.
I’ve just added a comment about Harry Swan and his friend Monsignor Miley. Celtic fans way off with regards to Swan.I am very impressed, the research is first class, Slav Sam and I are itching for that first massive faux pas. I did name check the articles on a Celtc podcast I do from a Hibs angle.
thecelticstar.com
Would be nice to see the harp badge for the seasonFound it an interesting read with the same reservations that 1875 and Slov have.
The post-WW2 football boom coupled with the arrival of the FF and the success that they brought attracted tens of thousands of new fans to ER, few of whom shared the clubs origins. Introducing an amended Edinburgh coat of arms as the crest used in day-to-day business (while keeping the harp on the stadium wall) was designed to give the club a more Edinburgh identity and appeal to a whole new fan base; while continuing to remain true to our roots, heritage, and original support.
Obviously written from a Celtic pov it's a far better and balanced read than previous stuff I've read from Celtic historians.
Our relationship with our Irish origins has always been a complicated one. For a while, I felt those origins were swept under the carpet by successive boards and only with the arrival of STF and our current crest was the balance righted. With our 150th anniversary around the corner, it'll be interesting to see whether RG with his corporate mindset thinks our origins are something to proudly proclaim or underplay in 2025 ?
thecelticstar.com
I was at that game. Alex Edwards went tonto at the Smellies fans as he left the pitch.Part 7 is a match report from a game at Celtc Park in the seventies which was called off with 5 minutes to go due to fog. I remember it and the replay although I didn't attend as I was still in primary school. If I was picking a game which defined many Hibs fans dislike of Celtc and their fans, it would be the day their fans threw CS gas into the Hibs end.
Celtic's Complicated Relationship With Hibernian - (Part 7) | The Celtic Star
Matchday looms tonight and thus this series is drawing to a close. In this penultimate article, we rewind to the 1970s for an incredible incident which angered Hibernian and helped the Celts. In all the cracking Celtic v Hibs encounters over the years, this event has largely been forgotten...thecelticstar.com
There is one last part that will be released this afternoon, will be interesting to see how Liam summarises his series.
thecelticstar.com
Liam’s final article, which I missed, where he covers the CS gas attack and subsequent hiding Hibs fans gave their fans after that game.
Celtic's Complicated Relationship With Hibernian - (Part 8) | The Celtic Star
The final article of this series, which I hope has kept you entertained through the winter break, deals with the biggest flashpoint between Celtic and Hibernian in the modern era. The 1980s was a crazy time on the terraces in British football. In Scotland, Aberdeen became the first club to have...thecelticstar.com
Probably the best group of articles I have read about our mutual dislike of one another written by a Celtc fan.
If ye know your history indeed.