150 years of Hibs | General Hibs Chat | HibeesBounce

• Anyone that shops on amazon... do us a wee favour and help us earn some cashola...

Use this link to help us earn... As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases!! CLICK HERE

It's cool if you don't wanna... just click the X to dismiss this notice... ya bam!!! 🤣

150 years of Hibs

A lot to like but the best way to celebrate our 150th anniversary is winning the Scottish Cup, beating the mutants every time and European fitba.

Nah, that is a different thing.

A lot to like is celebrating 150 years of Hibs, none of what I read really does that. Our club are a shambles in the background. You do know they never asked the bounce, the biggest branch or the general fans what we might like to see. No idea if they spoke to Hibs Net, the other branches, the association or Uncle Tom Cobly. Its no as if they ken better than us ffs, that is clear.

I'm sure that smelly tramp PR guy still hangs about. Maybe he consulted himself and invoiced the club appropriately. For me there's no leadership or direction from our club. If the Black Knights do become more involved or assume overall control we'll be asked to pony up a lot lot more just like Bournemouth supporters have.

I'd launch three 150th anniversary kits based on our birth, 50th year and 100th year to celebrate 150 years.

To celebrate our 1875 birth our white one with harp, white shorts with green stripe and green socks.

Then our all dark green 1925 top.

And our centenary top 1975.

There should be no shirt sponsorship on any of them.

I'd launch three 150th anniversary kits based on our birth, 50th year and 100th year to celebrate 150 years.

To celebrate our 1875 birth our white one with harp, white shorts with green stripe and green socks.

Then our all dark green 1925 top.

And our centenary top 1975.

There should be no shirt sponsorship on any of them.

Would love there to be no sponsorship but we need cash. Big loss in these times.

Remember they used to give you the option of a sponsorless kit once upon a time. I'm not overly keen on Bevvy plastered across the front.

Can't recall that thought it was only junior tops that had that privilege. I'd welcome that opportunity though.

There are Hibs historians /,authors and former players like Pat(who of course has family roots back to our founding fathers) who you would have hoped to have been consulted to help in planning the 150th.

I've not heard of any engagement with hibs.net or any other fan group. I personally received an email invitation to complete a very short survey a few weeks back.

Perhaps the bit in bold is because the stalwart Hibbies at Hibs are pretty thin on the ground 😳

I absolutely agree. A 150 year commemoration should address those 150 years, from origins through the journey that has taken us to today. I would like to have seen;

- a trip to Ireland
- something hosted at St Patricks - there’s a new crew in there but they tried to do a memorial to Canon Hannan at his grave last year. My mate was the single person that showed up. But then there was no publicity beyond the parish newsletter. I don’t know if they engaged Hibs or not.
- which reminds me, something celebrating the Canon, either as part of these other things or a distinct thing
- some kind of gesture towards todays immigrants to the city, sponsoring something or other
- recognition of footballing milestones - RWE ticks this box
- some kind of community thing in Leith and / or the Southside

If this club was just about baubles and ‘commercial opportunities’ we’d be as well supporting Man City on sky.

Save yourselves £200 on 'end of season Awards' or 'Edinburgh Castle meal'
Fans can do it better and less expensive.

We are delighted to announce your St Patrick’s Branch will be first to kick-off HFC’s 150th Anniversary, with a very special event!

St Patrick’s Night/150th Celebration Dance will be held on the Saturday 15th March.

Tickets for the event are now on sale.

You will join our VIP Hibs Guests for an evening of entertainment and celebration.

• Live Music from no other than The Mad Ferret Band

• A light Buffet with a mix of hot and cold finger food

• The chance to join our Raffle Draw which includes.

o Joint First prizes - of £150 each to the first two tickets drawn.
o Joint Second Prize - of two highly collectible and valuable framed oil paintings of the 1991 Cup winners’ team
o Third Prize - a signed snooker cue of Scottish Snooker legend John Higgins
o Fourth Prize – a top range set of Noise reduction wireless ear phones

• The presentation of our Annual Hibernian Achievement awards, voted for by Branch members. This award is seen by the Branch to acknowledge the great and good, inclusive of those who may not always receive the recognitions they deserve. Presented by our Hibs guests, including folk from Ballingarry AFC, the Canon's village birthplace, which is now an HFC stronghold.

1000003123.jpg

Past recipients include....

Patrick Gordon Stanton
Sam Martinez
Alan Lugton
Susan Linn (season tickets for less
fortunate kids)
Stevie Carr (Dnipro Kids)
Sue McLernon
Lewis Stevenson
and others.

• The cutting and distribution of a magnificent 150th celebratory cake (made by member and fellow Bouncer, Mark Shipway, in Leeds, who also made the Harp mossiac presented by us in Ballingarry)

• And late evening Disco to finish the evening.

We are therefore equally delighted to be offering this non-stop evening for just £10 per ticket.

To secure your tickets now, please email hibs@stpats.club with the heading ‘Ticket Request’ providing your name and number of tickets required, we will provide you with payment details and once paid you tickets will be available for pick up or held at the door in your name. We anticipate a large uptake of tickets and therefore would ask that you make your purchase now.

or message St. Pat's members,

1875, JFTB or GORDONSMITH7 on here.

Save yourselves £200 on 'end of season Awards' or 'Edinburgh Castle meal'
Fans can do it better and less expensive.

We are delighted to announce your St Patrick’s Branch will be first to kick-off HFC’s 150th Anniversary, with a very special event!

St Patrick’s Night/150th Celebration Dance will be held on the Saturday 15th March.

Tickets for the event are now on sale.

You will join our VIP Hibs Guests for an evening of entertainment and celebration.

• Live Music from no other than The Mad Ferret Band

• A light Buffet with a mix of hot and cold finger food

• The chance to join our Raffle Draw which includes.

o Joint First prizes - of £150 each to the first two tickets drawn.
o Joint Second Prize - of two highly collectible and valuable framed oil paintings of the 1991 Cup winners’ team
o Third Prize - a signed snooker cue of Scottish Snooker legend John Higgins
o Fourth Prize – a top range set of Noise reduction wireless ear phones

• The presentation of our Annual Hibernian Achievement awards, voted for by Branch members. This award is seen by the Branch to acknowledge the great and good, inclusive of those who may not always receive the recognitions they deserve. Presented by our Hibs guests, including folk from Ballingarry AFC, the Canon's village birthplace, which is now an HFC stronghold.

View attachment 16772

Past recipients include....

Patrick Gordon Stanton
Sam Martinez
Alan Lugton
Susan Linn (season tickets for less
fortunate kids)
Stevie Carr (Dnipro Kids)
Sue McLernon
Lewis Stevenson
and others.

• The cutting and distribution of a magnificent 150th celebratory cake (made by member and fellow Bouncer, Mark Shipway, in Leeds, who also made the Harp mossiac presented by us in Ballingarry)

• And late evening Disco to finish the evening.

We are therefore equally delighted to be offering this non-stop evening for just £10 per ticket.

To secure your tickets now, please email hibs@stpats.club with the heading ‘Ticket Request’ providing your name and number of tickets required, we will provide you with payment details and once paid you tickets will be available for pick up or held at the door in your name. We anticipate a large uptake of tickets and therefore would ask that you make your purchase now.

or message St. Pat's members,

1875, JFTB or GORDONSMITH7 on here.
1000010302.jpg

Stephen Dunn RIP, Hibernian FC Director, spoke brilliantly about our heritage at the Ballingarry ceremony. He got us 100%.

No fussed about the Proclaimers tbh as we’ll either be playing in Europe or the cup in July and the pitch will be done in May/June.

Good wee article on it here

Interesting to see what else is announced in the future…..

I absolutely agree. A 150 year commemoration should address those 150 years, from origins through the journey that has taken us to today. I would like to have seen;

- a trip to Ireland
- something hosted at St Patricks - there’s a new crew in there but they tried to do a memorial to Canon Hannan at his grave last year. My mate was the single person that showed up. But then there was no publicity beyond the parish newsletter. I don’t know if they engaged Hibs or not.
- which reminds me, something celebrating the Canon, either as part of these other things or a distinct thing
- some kind of gesture towards todays immigrants to the city, sponsoring something or other
- recognition of footballing milestones - RWE ticks this box
- some kind of community thing in Leith and / or the Southside

If this club was just about baubles and ‘commercial opportunities’ we’d be as well supporting Man City on sky.
Totally agree,

The most glaring omission for me in this initial publicity blurb is the absence of any mention of our co-founders Canon Hannan and Michael Whelehan. There's no mention of St Patricks Church just the "Cowgate area" and while St Marys Street Halls are mentioned they don't connect it to St Pats CYMS. Its almost as if they're uncomfortable or embarrassed mentioning these historical facts.

I had some dealings previously with an in-house Club historian who didn't seem to like our early history very much and this smacks of his work or someone with a similar mindset.

Support The Bounce

£0.00
Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  0.0%