150 years of Hibs

I’m joining the dots between various posts on the Bounce.

Celebration of 150 years. Minimum outlay from the club but schemes to rake money in.

Offloading players taking a wage for little return.

January transfers were outbound with only 1 coming in.

Renewing players contracts that are nearing their end and asking them to take a drop in salary (Boyle).

Kensell jumping ship or pushed before the AGM and release of club accounts.

The mythical £1M for signings I believe would have come from Foley’s BKs if it was required. It’s NOT sitting there unused in the club’s bank account.

A rumour of debts ranging between £7-9M

I’m sure there’s more but there’s mair red flags here than at the Moscow May-day parade and the signs have been there since the start of the season, maybe longer.

Totally agree,

The most glaring omission for me in this initial publicity blurb is the absence of any mention of our co-founders Canon Hannan and Michael Whelehan. There's no mention of St Patricks Church just the "Cowgate area" and while St Marys Street Halls are mentioned they don't connect it to St Pats CYMS. Its almost as if they're uncomfortable or embarrassed mentioning these historical facts.

I had some dealings previously with an in-house Club historian who didn't seem to like our early history very much and this smacks of his work or someone with a similar mindset.
That club historian is at the wrong football club imo. The name, the badge and the clubs colours must really piss him off.

I’m getting vibes of shitting it to openly praise our Irish-Catholic roots.

Our heritage is rich from Irish and Catholic origins and that needs acknowledged and incorporated but we are celebrating 150 years of Hibs and we've not been an Irish-Catholic club for 150 years. I've no interest in my club celebrating any political or religious identity.

I dont think anybody really wants to celebrate a political or religious identity but a proper acknowledgement of the historical facts of who founded or club and why it was founded is basic enough stuff for the club to acknowledge properly. Without the people who founded our club me and you wouldn't have a Hibernian Football Club to support. I'm an Irish Hibs Fan and I certainly don't want us turning into Celtic thinking we are Irish but a respectful acknowledgement of our clubs roots isn't much to ask I think anyway.

Totally agree,

The most glaring omission for me in this initial publicity blurb is the absence of any mention of our co-founders Canon Hannan and Michael Whelehan. There's no mention of St Patricks Church just the "Cowgate area" and while St Marys Street Halls are mentioned they don't connect it to St Pats CYMS. Its almost as if they're uncomfortable or embarrassed mentioning these historical facts.

I had some dealings previously with an in-house Club historian who didn't seem to like our early history very much and this smacks of his work or someone with a similar mindset.
I'm pretty sure that I know who you are referring to, regarding the dismissal/dislike of our beloved clubs early history.
I have unfortunately encountered this buffoon on a few occasions, once when handing over a genuine historical artefact from the HIBS v Utrecht European tie (I think "Wee Jimmy's" debut in 1962).
His attitude to me at first was aloof, arrogant & extremely rude. After a short discussion he realised that I was extremely proud of HIBERNIANS proud history, whereupon he became dismissive and refused to acknowledge anything pre-Harry Swan & actually said to me "You must be a Catholic then eh"

I'm pretty sure that I know who you are referring to, regarding the dismissal/dislike of our beloved clubs early history.
I have unfortunately encountered this buffoon on a few occasions, once when handing over a genuine historical artefact from the HIBS v Utrecht European tie (I think "Wee Jimmy's" debut in 1962).
His attitude to me at first was aloof, arrogant & extremely rude. After a short discussion he realised that I was extremely proud of HIBERNIANS proud history, whereupon he became dismissive and refused to acknowledge anything pre-Harry Swan & actually said to me "You must be a Catholic then eh"
Whoever this individual is he is at the wrong club. Disgusting attitude.

It should include our origins, but proportionate to a tale of 150 years. They are however essential, as is our flowering from that root. Because Hibernian FC represents what Scotland will and Britain already does need urgently.

It is a story of successful integration. Of an immigrant Catholic club breaking the doors of prejudice down, but then reciprocating by integrating into the wider local community so it is no longer defined by the ethnicity of its origins. Truly a club open to all.

Unlike Celtic, the ultimate self mythologisers, who are the lesson not to be learned; a capitalist juggernaut since Bro Walfrid was superseded on day two, which has traded on division and identity politics all its days. No wonder they are woker than thou; they beat Wall Street and the City of London to this scam by over a century.

I’m getting vibes of shitting it to openly praise our Irish-Catholic roots.
I mind there was some behind the scenes characters who wanted one Chairman to consider changing club colours .
Might not have been the only time !. 🤷‍♂️
There have been Freemason owners/chairmen/directors of the club over the years.
Some change that has been in "Society" membership from the early years ! 😁
However , the current badge was accepted with its reference to Ireland.
So maybe not all over the years have been dismissive of our Irish Catholic roots.
But i agree on the lack of "history" in the Anniversary programme of events.
Or i missed it !

I remember the chant on the St Giles bus back then.
"We'll hang Harry Swan wae a rope aroond his neck"!
Possibly cause of the Harp fiasco among other gripes wae Harry !
Yes HoH
Utrecht in the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup 1962/1963 was Jimmy's debut .
He had a shot off the bar !
He hadnae even long hung his school jacket up,or hud a shave and he was in the team😁
Some memory jogging here of unforgettable nights for us auld yins ! 👇

View attachment 16773

Stephen Dunn RIP, Hibernian FC Director, spoke brilliantly about our heritage at the Ballingarry ceremony. He got us 100%.

I was there at the Ballingarry event and spoke to Stephen god rest him, for a good while talking about the club and my Grandfather. He said then that hibs and Ballingarry would be closely involved together going forward.

Absolutely gutted that no mention of Ballingarry mentioned in the 150th.

Stephen gave me an open invite to the training centre to visit which was very kind of him, a good Hibs man. Have never been, one day maybe.

I had mentioned in the survey thing that it would be great for a day at Easter Road for families of ex players down through the years to meet up to share memories, no sign of that either.

Support The Bounce

Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  28.8%