Edinburgh with kids

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
Got the next week off with the kids, just dossing about Leith / Ed. Planning on camera obscura, castle, museum, swimming, wee trip to glasgow (transport museum etc.).

Any suggestions? For day drips n shizz. Don't drive, so buses, trains and legs are the extent of transportation.

Kids 15, 13, 4 & 4. Mostly entertaining the twins. The older two have done all this nonsense before!

A walk along Porty prom if the weather is decent and fish and chips for tea in the Guild of Forresters.

Take one of the 4yo to ER, start some Liam Henderson returning to Hibs rumours.

Climb up Arthur Seat,knacker them out.A walk along the canal?/Water of Leith.The Zoo if you've got deep pockets.

For much the same reason I have never been to Dynamic Earth, when I saw the entrance fee I gave it a miss.

Tips for doing the Water of Leith Walk. Do it after a couple of days of dry weather - there's bits that get really muddy and fly infested when it's damp. Do it from Balerno down to Leith - at least most of its downhill and at the Leith end there's lots of decent places for something to eat and better public transport to get home.

There's a Water of Leith app that's gives an audible description of some of the notable points along the walk.

Tips for doing the Water of Leith Walk. Do it after a couple of days of dry weather - there's bits that get really muddy and fly infested when it's damp. Do it from Balerno down to Leith - at least most of its downhill and at the Leith end there's lots of decent places for something to eat and better public transport to get home.

There's a Water of Leith app that's gives an audible description of some of the notable points along the walk.

With 2 x 4 year olds? 12 miles from Balerno...

In 25 degree weather.

More for anyone considering the full route. You could of course do a bit of it :))

Check the tides and walk over to Cramond Island.

Take one of the 4yo to ER, start some Liam Henderson returning to Hibs rumours.

He does look uncannily like Hendo.

Been to the Yard at Eyre Place on Sunday’s? For day trips could do worse than train trips to Aberdour, Burntisland to get fleeced at the shows or North Berwick.

They done a DIY SOS from the Yard a few years ago. Good place for the kids now.
Spent the afternoon wi the grand bairns in Jump In , a trampoline place doon between Newcraighall and Musselburgh. Bairns loved it. Wee run up tae Fort Kinnaird for a scran after. Braw day.

So, we spent the week up at my mums for her 70th, probably visited about 350,000 parks, bike rides, Camera Obscura, swimming. Great week for the weather. Lovely time. Thanks for all the suggestions. And yeah, we were at Scotland Yard through the week too.

Science Centre in Glasgow is worth a visit

I do free early years football kickabout on Leith Links on Saturday morning for local kids, the age range is about 2-6 just now.

Is it still 10am? the wee ones would love that.

Nice one. Definitely got the week for it.

Add the Arcades in at Porty if needing to kill a couple of hours in poor weather. Did this at the weekend with a 7 and 2 year old.

Is it still 10am? the wee ones would love that.

Aye mate will be on this Saturday if it’s not raining

Nice one. Definitely got the week for it.

Add the Arcades in at Porty if needing to kill a couple of hours in poor weather. Did this at the weekend with a 7 and 2 year old.

Phew!

Has big/wee Ron subbed you a seven figure sum!!!!!

I've saved my change since I can remember. My 3 kids were around the age of your oldest when we went on a caravan holiday. My change, about £100, was split 3 ways. They managed to lose the lot before I had my first pint!!! I couldn't believe it.

This thread has been viewed 2027 times.