Is there too much expectation on Scott Allan?

MSG_07

Really looking forward to seeing him back playing. A shocking waste of a great player who should have been back at his footballing home Easter Road much sooner. Bizzarely couldn't get a game for Dundee due to a crap manager (now sacked) or parent club Celtic due to footballing superstars such as Ntcham who's also better than SJM tae don't you know... excuse me for just a minute:gigglle::lauff:.

The concern I guess is that he's not been playing regularly now for nearly a year. Will he be the same player that left Hibs in May 2018? We've all seen it before where a player returns after being away or out injured and they haven't been the same player. The positives are Lennon has publicly stated he's been training really well, so much so he wants to give him a game (which he still hasn't done) . After meeting Hecky and Robbie to discuss his role, SA can't wait to start training with us again. Will he be a instant hit again?

Really looking forward to seeing him back playing. A shocking waste of a great player who should have been back at his footballing home Easter Road much sooner. Bizzarely couldn't get a game for Dundee due to a crap manager (now sacked) or parent club Celtic due to footballing superstars such as Ntcham who's also better than SJM tae don't you know... excuse me for just a minute:gigglle::lauff:.

The concern I guess is that he's not been playing regularly now for nearly a year. Will he be the same player that left Hibs in May 2018? We've all seen it before where a player returns after being away or out injured and they haven't been the same player. The positives are Lennon has publicly stated he's been training really well, so much so he wants to give him a game (which he still hasn't done) . After meeting Hecky and Robbie to discuss his role, SA can't wait to start training with us again. Will he be a instant hit again?

His talent is without question. If he puts in the hard work during pre-season, I’ve no reason to doubt his fitness. But his impact on the team will depend as much on his team mates, and where he fits into the starting 11, as much as anything.

He has been at the club often enough that I think the fans know what to expect. He wasn't really playing prior to the last time we had him on loan and he got up to speed quickly enough, he seems pretty professional with regards to his fitness.

One of the benefits of being in the early stages of the league cup will mean competitive football in the summer to ease him back into things.

I just cant wait to get the flash wee radge back. We've missed him.

Who knows.
Hes had a strange, stop start career. Mostly stop.
Less than 130 games in 9 years.
Last time he was here, we played the Lennon way, with SJM , D Mc controlling the midfield, allowing SA to do what he liked. Heckingbottom is more cautious. Too cautious at times.
That may change with the return of SA and Boyle back in the side.
SA has the talent, no question. He needs to settle down and show it.

I think hes better suited to this style of play than he was with Stubbs or Lennon.

Scott can play and pick a pass obviously, usually a final pass.
But a short passing game isn't his style, he likes to turn and make stuff happen.
From our play so far under PH I reckon he'd be in his element.
He might have to do a bit more work defensively though.

We definitely probably expect too much from him alone already though.

It’s all if and buts until he’s actually back in the team next season. Never took him many games to get up to speed with us last season.

No doubt in my mind he’ll flourish again for us. Between players returning from injury, to the players potentially arriving in the close season, I canny wait for next season.

Read somewhere he met hecky and went over vids of previous game including one he was involved in a 4 nil defeat. Maybe that was a Dundee game but sounds like the expectancy has been made clear to the defensive part of his game.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Read somewhere he met hecky and went over vids of previous game including one he was involved in a 4 nil defeat. Maybe that was a Dundee game but sounds like the expectancy has been made clear to the defensive part of his game.

Was a game when he played for Rotherham v Barnsley

Cheers didn't think was a game he played in the original green and white. Like they way he is engaging with new(ish)players already. Total revelation and surprise how quality hecky has turned out to be.

I am quite sure that Scott Allan will display his skills again in the emerald green of Hibs. Never forgotten his performance in the 4-0 demolition of Sevco!

Possibly...he has not played a competitive game for a year and he has been a complete failure at every club he has played for except Hibs. No doubting his ability but IMO we will need more creativity into our midfield next season than Scott Allan if we are going to improve significantly on this term.

Scotty and Hibs just seem to click, he has played his best football here and will continue to do so when he arrives for next season. Scotty creates the creativity with the pass only he can do, our strikers will benefit from his quality and I for one cannot wait to see how we line up next season under Heck & Co.

Not sure I'm expecting too much from him.
It's not like I'm expecting him to be SPFL player of the year at the end of next season..... But I DO expect him to be Hibs poty - and earn a call up to the National team. So nae pressure Scotty ??

Scotty is back playing for their reserves and he set up two of their goals.

Time will tell. Personally I can't wait to see him back playing for us.

He's looked pretty decent so far. 6 appearances in the league and cup providing 3 goals and 1 assist.

Overall 61 appearances and 24 assists for the Hibees.

Hopefully he won't get disheartened and lose a bit of edge if some of his team mates continue to hide.

We are looking uncomfortably close to being a one-man team at the minute.

He was brought back to provide creativity to our midfield and has started to do that already....with the added bonus of more goals to his game.

We are looking uncomfortably close to being a one-man team at the minute.

Head and shoulders above anyone in our team, if he gets injured we are totally screwed.

His hair is magnificent isn't it?

Wow, you make the Rev I. AM. Jolly sound positively positive.
That’s an assessment based on not just this post btw.

Wow, you make the Rev I. AM. Jolly sound positively positive.
That’s an assessment based on not just this post btw.

Am I wrong?

Am I wrong?
Imo yes, fantastic player and talent but our success or otherwise this season isn’t reliant solely on SA.
I am not going to throw the towel in after two league games either, yes I am concerned but also am willing to hold judgment.
The negativity serves no purpose or than fuelling negativity.
Time yet for excessive negativity imo.

Imo yes, fantastic player and talent but our success or otherwise this season isn’t reliant solely on SA.
I am not going to throw the towel in after two league games either, yes I am concerned but also am willing to hold judgment.
The negativity serves no purpose or than fuelling negativity.
Time yet for excessive negativity imo.

It's not about being negative and the concerns are fully justified.

Too early to make any justification

Maybe so but the performance has been brutal and now we aren't bringing in anymore players as in 3/4 we desperately need is another major concern for me.

Still too early to make assumptions and be so negative.
If we get to the turn of the year and we haven’t improved then I will agree with you.

Still too early to make assumptions and be so negative.
If we get to the turn of the year and we haven’t improved then I will agree with you.

As I said nobody is being negative the performances speak for themselves, it doesn't improve then Heck & Co will be out come Xmas.

Am I wrong?

No spot on unfortunately

This thread has been viewed 3652 times.