wine

Whilst you're there Doc you may as well pick up Seor Felippe Edward's Cabernet Sauvignon as well... Jolly tasty!

Ah now that rings a bell........ I do believe that was actually last night's tipple!

:Sparkle_Cool:

For the skin flints - my regulari tipple in the payday run-in is capa del mar, at 3 quid a bottle from Asda. It's no Barolo but IMHO it is outrageously good for the money and easily on a par with your average 6.99er

Ah now that rings a bell........ I do believe that was actually last night's tipple!

:Sparkle_Cool:

I had a spree at Majestic Wines in Aberdeen two weeks ago - came home 160 lighter but with a boot full of LPE wines and some nice Italian beers. Money well spent (hic) IMHO. Most of the wines I bought were just over 6.

I must pay a visit to Majestic. I had a quick look in one years ago which seemed to only be selling by the case? Maybe I misread that.
I like to try different wines so the thought of six that may be not great didn't appeal. Been ordering from Naked Wines which seems a good arrangement. Also works out at under a tenner a bottle and some really nice stuff. I do supplement my cellar with the half price Morrison/Asda deals though.

I must pay a visit to Majestic. I had a quick look in one years ago which seemed to only be selling by the case? Maybe I misread that.
I like to try different wines so the thought of six that may be not great didn't appeal. Been ordering from Naked Wines which seems a good arrangement. Also works out at under a tenner a bottle and some really nice stuff. I do supplement my cellar with the half price Morrison/Asda deals though.

The Majestic Wines in Aberdeen only stipulates a minimum 6 bottles purchase but this can be any 6 bottles. Good variety of stock, friendly staff and they keep a record of what you buy so, if there was one you really liked but can't remember it, they can look it up for you. Also provide you with tasting notes for your purchase. Nice selection of beers too.

Any of the LFE reds ive had were very nice but the pinot noir was just that bit nicer!
As Mr Mc says the cab sav isnt too shabby either.

Sounds like I need to pay a visit too.
Enjoyed a selection of Italian wines and beers last week or so in sunny Baveno so may refresh the holiday spirits!*

*Grappa and limoncello

Mmmmmmmmm.

Notice wine threads are always full of the more 'mature' posters. What age do you start to appreciate it cos all white wine tastes like cat piss to me and the mouth moisture sapping red is only ever drunk at a wedding cos it goes free.

I never drink white wine and share your opinion of it. I never drank red wine till trip to Italy in my late 20s. I now prefer it at home as canned beer just makes me feel bagged up. Merlot - which seems to be the red served by default a lot of the time - I don't like, and it mirrors your description again. Italian and Spanish wines are my preferences.

It probably is an age thing.
I'd like to think it's because your palate becomes educated with age and you therefore appreciate the multitudinous different fragrances and tastes that go with the wine rather than thinking 'cats piss'.

But in truth it's more to do with the bladder getting weaker and pints of beer mean that most of the evening is spent making your way back and forth to the toilet.
Wine is also a decent excuse for scoffing cheese and/or olives, which don't sit well with a pint of lager.
It's worth persevering though, just as your first pint of Guinness probably sucked your cheeks in (and later affected the other cheeks in the opposite way) and whisky (or whiskey) burned your throat...... it's worth trying and trying again.
I like many wines, too many much of the time but I don't consider myself a wine buff. More a wine buftie. Bit of a gaylord with a glass. Red is my favourite, and I do actually favour the common man's Merlot, although a beefy Baloro is pretty good too. The trouble is I can't find many I don't like. And I'm trying hard. Honest.
I do like a dry white too, as long as it's really cold.
I find the older I get the drier I like it.
Which is convenient, because Mrs Shrink wasn't born yesterday either.

Notice wine threads are always full of the more 'mature' posters. What age do you start to appreciate it cos all white wine tastes like cat piss to me and the mouth moisture sapping red is only ever drunk at a wedding cos it goes free.

Depends on what counts as "mature"im half Shrinks age:-)

It may well be an age thing,i used to drink white,but cant touch I know ive discovered reds.Had a few good recommendations from 1875 and Big G,but its just trial and error,find a wine you like then try different manufacturers of the same grape type,say Merlot,then try merlots from different regions.Then try grape types you previously disliked and you may find you love them.

Im no expert but so called new world wines are easier to drink than yer French or Italian, Chilean wine is my favorite.

Just keep trying

Depends on what counts as "mature"im half Shrinks age:-)

It may well be an age thing,i used to drink white,but cant touch I know ive discovered reds.Had a few good recommendations from 1875 and Big G,but its just trial and error,find a wine you like then try different manufacturers of the same grape type,say Merlot,then try merlots from different regions.Then try grape types you previously disliked and you may find you love them.

Im no expert but so called new world wines are easier to drink than yer French or Italian, Chilean wine is my favorite.

Just keep trying

Your 49???:rascal:

I would say around 38 to 40. I have pretty much stopped drinking wine after being hooked for years.

Aye but for the majority of us, the nearest most of us got to an italian at that age was a deep fried pizza.

So who will admit to drinking rose' and that they don't like merlot because they watched Sideways?

I've been known to quaff an ice cold one, but I've no idea what Sideways is either so Merlot is a decent drop generally.

Tried rose,don't enjoy it,so dont drink it,like a merlot and I only watch sideways when it japanese porn

For a reasonably priced red, Cuvee Chasseur from Waitrose at around five quid a bottle is hard to beat. A combination of mainly Merlot and Grenache grapes it's splendidly easy drinking.

In this warm weather (here in Sussex anyway) A bottle of Chianti will tolerate a light chill and means I'm not up every five minutes for a pee like I would be with canned beer.

I've grown to love the variety and complexity of wine as I've got older. Trouble is, when you're an Oenophile, it's easy to sound like an Onanist:lookaround:

I've always drunk wine. When I was 18 or so it was a great carry out for a party as it was only one bottle to carry/keep an eye on and no-one else would help themselves. Bottle of Mouton Cadet or some Bulls Blood was favoured in those days. Cavalier method champanoise occassionally.

I also used to like the (then fashionable) imported lagers (many served at the old Gilded Balloon). I gradually got fed up with these lagers but they are also now pretty shitey as they are not imported but made in Burton-on-Trent or other home of rotten beer.

I think, in answer to your question, it the pursuit of something new that attracted us oldies and it also leads us to explore traditional beers and ales and belgian beers and dark lagers and anything else that might revive the thrill of our early drinking explorations.

I never drink white wine and share your opinion of it. I never drank red wine till trip to Italy in my late 20s. I now prefer it at home as canned beer just makes me feel bagged up. Merlot - which seems to be the red served by default a lot of the time - I don't like, and it mirrors your description again. Italian and Spanish wines are my preferences.

I like Italian wines ( I don't share opinion that its just good with food) and Spanish are a new area. They both keep the best stuff for themselves (so the the Germans)

New World wines are a good introduction to varieties and are safe but not as complex as European, I think.

Jings...i was an early starter.:shock:

I went to my Scots Italian mate's village in Southern Italy for 3 summers in a row from the age of 19 to 21 and pretty much became a lover of the Vino Rosso from then.:Embarassed:

It's pretty much my favourite tipple, even to this day.:thumbgrin

Nero d' Avolla is a brillant sourthern italian wine. Much under-rated IMO.

Merlot's OK. I also don't know what Sideways is but I do like rose. A really well chilled Cotes de Provence is perfect on a really hot day. Reminds me of long lunches in a beach restaurant in Cannes.

I've been known to quaff an ice cold one, but I've no idea what Sideways is either so Merlot is a decent drop generally.

Just popped the cork . . . well unscrewed the top . . . of a 2013 Hacienda De Lluna Merlot from the latest Sunday Times case . . . lovely stuff.

Aglianico Del Vulture 2009 14% Southern Italian.

6.50 Sainsburys Craigleith Retail Park.

Wow. Just Flipping Wow!!!!:shock:

One of the nicest i've ever tasted!:bbb:

Especially for my Good Mate Big G and also recommended for Shrink and 1875, aswell as other Bouncers.

Hopefully other Sainsburys have this in stock too.

I'm on my first glass and gonna have to take the rest of the bottle reeaaalllllyyy slowly as i don't want it to end.

Please search this one out guys!!:thumbgrin:yas:

And you only leave us a minute to buy a bottle:rascal::rascal:

$#@!!!! Never thought of that mate!!:doh:rollfloor

I wish i'd opened it earlier but it's been a busy day.

Just done a wee bit research on internetwebby and it's from my Missus' family's neighbourghing region of Basilicata.
167km from her family's village in Campania.

Mount Vulture(pronounced Vooltoorey) is volcanic and apparently that makes the soil mair fertile.

Anyway....i'd just like to say again...WOW!!!!!!!:shock:

I've oonly just finished a bottle of the wine I started the thread about, shall seek out your recommendation tomorrow

It's well worth the effort to try it cowiecab.
I'm taking Mia Moglie(That's Italian for My Wife, incase anyone thinks it's her real name!) to IKEA the morn so a wee trip to Sainsburys Straiton is in order also.

2 Bottles will be enjoyed for the Brazil v Germany game ramorra!:applause:

I think i might greet when this bottle is finished....i'm not used to drinking so slowly!:wink:

Ping.

Maybe worth switching off the old intermaweb thing then Michael?

Don't want us having to pick up your empties in the morning. :thumbgrin:wink:

I hated wine until I realised I'd been drinking cheap shite.

It doesn't even have to be particulalrly expensive to be great either.

Doubt I'd drink wine without food tbh, but there is nothing nicer than sitting in a beach side restaurant with some lovely fish and a nicely chilled white wine, or some beef with red.I know not very much about wine...the nicest I can recall the actual name of is Ardanza 05

I've taken the advice of Bounce Bouncer and went easy on this stuff tonight.

Just interested to know if any fellow bouncers have tried it yet?

I couldn't recommend it any more without looking silly.

Honestly fellow wine lovers....it's a must.:wink:

not yet, but I'll track a bottle down

Been back drinking red for quite a while now, a good one just now is down to 5.99 from the CO-OP, is Anciano Tempranillo 2008 Reserva. very nice botle of glug.

Beaujolais Villages

Been back drinking red for quite a while now, a good one just now is down to 5.99 from the CO-OP, is Anciano Tempranillo 2008 Reserva. very nice botle of glug.

I have cut down drinking this easy going bottle. From 2/3 bottles to just one per night.

Morrisons have it at 6.79 in the Gilmerton branch. Each store has a different range. Depardieu drinks 12 bottles

of selected booze every day so I have a lot to aspire to.

Anyway, wine is not really alcohol and I have an inbuilt tolerance to it - must be my Mediterranean genes.

I have cut down drinking this easy going bottle. From 2/3 bottles to just one per night.

Morrisons have it at 6.79 in the Gilmerton branch. Each store has a different range. Depardieu drinks 12 bottles

of selected booze every day so I have a lot to aspire to.

Anyway, wine is not really alcohol and I have an inbuilt tolerance to it - must be my Mediterranean genes.

Pop 84 or Lois? I hope you are not talking tripe (callos) :wink:

Bit of insider on the Vino Tinto front, Sainsbury's are doing McGuigan Estate Merlot (and Shiraz) for a fiver a bottle, its easy a tenners worth of vino for the Merlot, no supped the Shiraz yet, its "restin".

Campo Viejo (Old Field) Rioja 2015, Garancha Grape, Fiver(ish) in Morrisons, best Rioja I have had in years.

Purchase and be damned (pished). 16 June 2017.