VE Day

broonieboy

On holiday Radge
How do folk feel about how this is being marked? I’d rather it was as a celebration of 75 years of relative peace across Europe.

Instead I can’t help but feel it’s been propaganda-ised (if that’s a word) to promote the British state, how we defeated the Nazis, but also as a promotion of Brexit.

I have no issue with it being marked, my grandfather served throughout the war and was terribly affected by it, but also proud of his part played. I’m also proud of this, but I very much doubt if he was here today he’d be about flag waving, singing Vera Lynn and eating cucumber sandwiches. I just do t like the tone of it all.

Thoughts?

75 years of peace in Europe is probably a record over it's history. Something worth celebrating as we benefit from it hugely in our mostly cozy wee lives.

I'm really sad about the loss of life.

I'm fucking raging at the way the above is being mixed with the "valiant" efforts to fight this "war" against Covid. I find it quite repugnant.

75 years of peace in Europe is probably a record over it's history. Something worth celebrating as we benefit from it hugely in our mostly cozy wee lives.

I'm fucking raging at the way the above is being mixed with the "valiant" efforts to fight this "war" against Covid. I find it quite repugnant.
Yes Jack there is absolutely no comparison between the hardships of war and our current crisis. Six years of struggle and uncertainty and every day was the realisation that loved ones may not be returning. Things are tough at the moment especially for those affected by covid but for the lucky majority being confined to your own home is barely hardship.

British legion called it victory over Europe!

That probably sums up the issue. I'm with @1875 - the people who fought, and gave their lives to stop the spread of facism should always be honoured and remembered.

I find it utterly impossible to believe they would want to be remembered as glib, jingoism. I'd say their memory deserves so much more.

Anyone brave enough to fight fascists has my ultimate respect.
My father fought at Sicily and the Italian mainland and survived to tell the tale. It is estimated 70'000 Allied troops lost their lives over a eighteen month period.

As did my Granda Stewart. Did your Dad fight at Monte Cassino?

My grandad landed troops at Sicily, Anzio and on D Day. Amazing men in that generation

The Republic of Ireland, Spain, the Vatican City with the pernicious Pope Pious X11 and his regime of Christian Soldiers, whilst supporting Fascists in Spain, 1936-39, were 'Neutral', along with Switzerland, Iceland, Sweden, Latvia, Lithuania, San Marino and other giants.

I wonder what they are celebrating today.

Nobody celebrates these other heroes, mainly organised Communists and Socialist in the underground resistance. It wisnae Allo,Allo.
If caught, executed and probably the ones that they loved too, no laugh.

So I tip my hat to those underground selfless fighters who perished too. In Poland, Italy, France, Yogoslavia, Greece,Holland, Belgium, et al.

As to the OP. Of course it has been weaponised. However these 'Celebrations' were planned well before the virus , First World War (millions of working class kids killed British and German) dead. Massive media patriotic coverage. Tory government orchestrated it and were hoping to do the same shite for VE day. Street parties with roads shut off and tables with jolly parents and bairns waving flags. Pathetic. So instead this Circus. A minutes silence heralded by the MSM as the Nation staying silent, oh really O 'Reilly. In a Nation that is pretty silent.

How has there been peace in Europe for 75 years,when Yugoslavia/Bosnia/Croatia saw one of the worst conflicts we have ever witnessed?.Right now there is an illegal occupation of the Ukraine with actual Nazis in the parliament,completely backed by Nato and the Eu and an occupation of Georgia by Russia.Meanwhile Turkey which is partly in Europe has incursions in Kurdish lands, admittedly not in Europe.

I think it is right we commemorate the end of the Second World War in Europe and the defeat of the most hideous enemy in the history of mankind.
I'm sure the Roman Empire wasn't that keen on the Goths.Or the populace of places like Budapest that keen on their visitation of Ghengis Khan.

How has there been peace in Europe for 75 years,when Yugoslavia/Bosnia/Croatia saw one of the worst conflicts we have ever witnessed?.Right now there is an illegal occupation of the Ukraine with actual Nazis in the parliament,completely backed by Nato and the Eu and an occupation of Georgia by Russia.Meanwhile Turkey which is partly in Europe has incursions in Kurdish lands, admittedly not in Europe.
Welcome back Moaty me old chum. Never change!

For anybody wanting to know what VE day is really all about and what actually went on would do well to read this Counterfire.org/articles/analysis/21179-ve-day-a-struggle-for-the-future

The Republic of Ireland, Spain, the Vatican City with the pernicious Pope Pious X11 and his regime of Christian Soldiers, whilst supporting Fascists in Spain, 1936-39, were 'Neutral', along with Switzerland, Iceland, Sweden, Latvia, Lithuania, San Marino and other giants.

I wonder what they are celebrating today.

Nobody celebrates these other heroes, mainly organised Communists and Socialist in the underground resistance. It wisnae Allo,Allo.
If caught, executed and probably the ones that they loved too, no laugh.

So I tip my hat to those underground selfless fighters who perished too. In Poland, Italy, France, Yogoslavia, Greece,Holland, Belgium, et al.

I shouldn't imagine Latvia, lithuania are celebrating at all after being occupied by communist Russia.Countries like Romania didnae have any choice, attacked by Hitler's hordes on one side and stalin's hordes on the other both saying fight for us or we'll shoot you and your families, some choice.

I think it's absolutely right VE day should be celebrated, we can only imagine the horrors that people of that generation went through. 16 , 17 , 18 year olds going to fight fascism while the 16 , 17, 18 year olds of today moan like fuck at being told tae sit in the hoose and watch telly for 6 weeks.

You’re absolutely right about the difference between the generations....I don’t need to imagine, I heard it first hand when my grandad broke down in tears out of nowhere 60 years after the end of the war. My respect for his and others service is huge, but I really don’t like the portrayal of VE day and as big G says, it’s weaponisation by the government, media and also by retailers.

I think “celebrated” ends up with the current little Britain - esque flag waving, street parties (why the BBC showed streets filled with folk belting out Vera Lynn with no social distancing is beyond me) and a lot of a victors narrative about how we saw off old Fritz - perfect ammo for cnuts like Farage et al to weaponise. It’s too fucking much.

Tasteful commemoration is more appropriate. No other Allied nation or liberated country appeared to “celebrate” in the way the UK did. There were moments of this, but it was all overtaken by bombast which a modern country shouldn’t have to do.

Just my opinion of course....

My Grandfather who served in WW1 hated Churchill because of his role in the miltary disaster that was Gallipoli, in terms of young British and Commonwealth lifes lost. “Remember the Dardanelles,” he would say.
My auld man lied about his age to sign on in Leith, joining the Merchant Navy at the age of 14. Yes14 FFS. He was awarded the the War Medal, the Pacific Star and Altlantic Star. I remember seeing them and holding them with their ribbons. He also did not hold Churchill in any high regard. I know that the weaponising of VE day would have given them both the boak.

WINSTON CHURCHILL : A MODERN MYTH

Massive respect to all men who sacrificed their lives in war. I had the pleasure of caring for old veterans some who had been on daring missions, these guys were brave and hard as, one thing I noticed they were mostly humble men. NONE of them glorified the war. Guess you never recover from witnessing the killing of enemies and comrades alike and the innocents. I'm thankful for their sacrifices.

Look.
Hertz won the wars.
First and second.
Fact.
And they are being picked on by the nasty people who don’t like them.
Fact.
And no one likes them.
Fact.
And budgie puss has done loads of good things since she came in.
Fact.
She even employed a German.
Fact.
So just stop it.
It’s not fair.

I’m going now.

Look.
Gunts won the wars.
First and second.
Fact.
And they are being picked on by the nasty people who don’t like them.
Fact.
And no one likes them.
Fact.
And budgie puss has done loads of good things since she came in.
Fact.
She even employed a German.
Fact.
So just stop it.
It’s not fair.

I’m going now.
Don't go yet.....you forgot to mention that she tried to form a League of Notions

My Grandfather who served in WW1 hated Churchill because of his role in the miltary disaster that was Gallipoli, in terms of young British and Commonwealth lifes lost. “Remember the Dardanelles,” he would say.
My auld man lied about his age to sign on in Leith, joining the Merchant Navy at the age of 14. Yes14 FFS. He was awarded the the War Medal, the Pacific Star and Altlantic Star. I remember seeing them and holding them with their ribbons. He also did not hold Churchill in any high regard. I know that the weaponising of VE day would have given them both the boak.

WINSTON CHURCHILL : A MODERN MYTH

That excellent article posted above about the real Churchill exposing the myths surrounding him was written by Harry Whittaker in his 80's, pre 75th VE day. Born in the Gorbals and a who I had the privilege to have met. The article was posted posthumously by his comrades as Harry passed away a few weeks ago in March. I thought you guy's would maybe be interested in this spendid obituary the day after Harry passed , by my friend Alan Woods.

@deltinghibby , @Egan Number 6 , @davhfc
@Daddy 'O' Hibee , @aggie, @jock3