Using social media campaigns to raise money for charity

SKII

A few folks I know have taken the hump with other people taking part in this Ice Bucket Challenge for charity in the last couple of weeks. Arguments have ranged from it "just being crass" through to "people wasting water to raise money" is morally wrong...

Any thoughts on this?

It would be refreshing if celebs could give money to charity discretely for a change.

A few folks I know have taken the hump with other people taking part in this Ice Bucket Challenge for charity in the last couple of weeks. Arguments have ranged from it "just being crass" through to "people wasting water to raise money" is morally wrong...

Any thoughts on this?

I assume those winging about wasting water don't come from Scotland where, as you know, water is plentiful. I have no objections to the Ice bucket challenge and in fact two of these have been enacted outside my local.

In my humble opinion, anyone who is moaning about a method of collecting money for charity really aught to have a good look at themselves in a mirror. If someone doesnt like this or other charity appeals then I would suggest they simply ignore them and get on with their life.

Another reason to avoid Facebook but aslong as folk are actually donating then it's fine.

I'd like to see celebs doing riskier or painful challenges,longest to leave hand in hot water or elastic band round the head,pulled out then pinged onto the foreheid :-D

Another reason to avoid Facebook but aslong as folk are actually donating then it's fine.I'd like to see celebs doing riskier or painful challenges,longest to leave hand in hot water or elastic band round the head,pulled out then pinged onto the foreheid :-D
The bile yer heid challenge!

I assume those winging about wasting water don't come from Scotland where, as you know, water is plentiful. I have no objections to the Ice bucket challenge and in fact two of these have been enacted outside my local.

In my humble opinion, anyone who is moaning about a method of collecting money for charity really aught to have a good look at themselves in a mirror. If someone doesnt like this or other charity appeals then I would suggest they simply ignore them and get on with their life.

All the people moaning about wasting water are indeed in places that are very well watered from the skies. Seems to be the implication is folks should feel guilty about wasting water when others have little or none. Thing is pretty basic schoolboy water cycle science tells us the water is not being "wasted" in the water-plentiful places it is being used like this - it's not real an argument.

Similarly, if people are concerned we are not thinking of others when folks do charitable stunts or events we better put an end to all those bake sales, coffee mornings and luxury auctions and raffles for goodies we all take part in too...cos eating cake to raise money whilst others are starving elsewhere in the world is equally thoughtless? :dunno: :wink:

I think pretty much most things go when it comes to raising money for charity. I did like the suggestion of Jeremy Kyle having boiling water poured over him.

Saw a slightly thought provoking tweet today about it: 'I nominate you for the "give quietly to charity every month via direct debit from your bank account" challenge.'

Probably best not to be too sniffy about these things though I guess.

Good luck to everyone who is doing this, and the last one, and the next one. Don't expect me to take part or donate through some sort of put upon guilt trip.

I have noticed with this one there are very few folk, who are doing the challenge, actually saying where the money is going and only one among the 100s has posted a screenshot of the confirmation a payment has been made.

Maybe getting wet and being seen as part of the trend is more important than handing over the fiver.

I don't get all the po faced "they're only showing off etc..." posturing. Has it raised millions for charity? Yes, it clearly has - so sit doon have a cup of tea and a smile and quit yer whining.

Loadypish. Rips my knitting all these folk are jumping on a bandwagon and nominating folk, but don't mention the charity details.

Think it's enough money raised to pay for nine new nurses,as a result of the ice challenge.Without it i doubt that money would have been raised.

its bit of fun and it's doing some good.So why moan.

I have no problem with it, what pisses me off are these knob ends that have to post it on FB just to be "trendy" They go through all the rigmarole just to then donate 3 quid to charity.

You're pissed off about how other people (who aren't STF or Petrie :rascal:) spend their time & money?

Social media must give you a constant migraine.

:roll:

Good luck to everyone who is doing this, and the last one, and the next one. Don't expect me to take part or donate through some sort of put upon guilt trip.

I have noticed with this one there are very few folk, who are doing the challenge, actually saying where the money is going and only one among the 100s has posted a screenshot of the confirmation a payment has been made.

Maybe getting wet and being seen as part of the trend is more important than handing over the fiver.

70 million dollars raised for ALS in the us as a direct result of the icebucket challenge.
Seems like a lot of folk are handing over the fiver.
:yeah:

Why don't folk just donate to charity ever month via DD?

I'm aware that's been previously mentioned. I mention it again because it's what I do.

What annoys me is that folk have to virtually be forced or guilt tripped into giving to folk less well off than them. That's pure bawz. They should do it as a matter of course in their lives.

Fuck off wi yer bucket pish.

A great way to raise money for charity, some of the ones i've seen are funny as fuck. There are a couple of Bouncers that have done it,that I know. I've done it and if it's all for a good cause thats even better.

I'm aware that's been previously mentioned. I mention it again because it's what I do.

What annoys me is that folk have to virtually be forced or guilt tripped into giving to folk less well off than them. That's pure bawz. They should do it as a matter of course in their lives.

$#@! off wi yer bucket pish.

I agree with you, in principle. That's how it should work. Unfortunately, most people don't do that for whatever reason. This sort of campaign is basically free advertising for organisations doing important work, and it seems to work.:dunno: However nauseating some of us find celebrity fundraising, they can raise awareness and money in a way you or I can't. If their celebrity can be put to some use for other people, whose conditions need financial support and awareness raising, is that not better than not doing it?

In the past few months, there has been some coverage of a young Scottish journalist who has just been diagnosed with MND, and he hopes to spend the short time he has left raising awareness and money for an MND charity. I was genuinely shocked to read how little funding and support is available for research and treatment / support. However eloquently he has written about his condition, it's an unfortunate fact that he will not have the reach or appeal that this kind of social media campaign has.

If I was in charge of the charity, or hospital ward, or community support service receiving the money, or a sufferer of the condition, I wouldn't be turning up my nose at it because of celebs' dubious motives or the naffness of the campaign. I'd just be grateful.

Guilt trip by director and directors wife of the company I work for to do this :shock:

Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet :giggle:

Some of these are hilarious

ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Fails Compilation | Best Fails So Far - YouTube

http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/steveo-slams-ice-bucket-challenge-celebrities-is-the-real-message-getting-lost/story-fn907478-1227032219637

Since the ice bucket challenge began, over 15 million dollars has been raised for ALS research. I think thats great, but when you consider the countless A-list celebrities who have actively gotten behind this cause by posting videos the fact that not more than fifteen million dollars has been raised is a tragedy, he wrote.
Its tragic because I dont think many of those celebrities even bothered to mention how or where to donate money for ALS research. Most of them just poured water over their heads and named three random people, without including any call to action which actually benefits victims of ALS at all. Had all those celebrities given this cause any thought, hundreds of millions of dollars might have been raised, and a whole lot more awareness.
Steve-O finished by linking to the ALS donation page, imploring his fans to educate themselves about the disease and make a financial contribution.

Take DJ Calvin Harris, who posted his buff shirtless, wordless Ice Bucket Challenge on Instagram without a single link or call to donate

Or Iggy Azalea, who flaunted her bikini bod in her video but neglected to mention motor neurone disease or provide her fans a link to donate

In contrast, Gwyneth Paltrow is one of the celebs who provided a link to donate both in her video and the accompanying comment.

I agree with you, in principle. That's how it should work. Unfortunately, most people don't do that for whatever reason. This sort of campaign is basically free advertising for organisations doing important work, and it seems to work.:dunno: However nauseating some of us find celebrity fundraising, they can raise awareness and money in a way you or I can't. If their celebrity can be put to some use for other people, whose conditions need financial support and awareness raising, is that not better than not doing it?

In the past few months, there has been some coverage of a young Scottish journalist who has just been diagnosed with MND, and he hopes to spend the short time he has left raising awareness and money for an MND charity. I was genuinely shocked to read how little funding and support is available for research and treatment / support. However eloquently he has written about his condition, it's an unfortunate fact that he will not have the reach or appeal that this kind of social media campaign has.

If I was in charge of the charity, or hospital ward, or community support service receiving the money, or a sufferer of the condition, I wouldn't be turning up my nose at it because of celebs' dubious motives or the naffness of the campaign. I'd just be grateful.

You're obviously quite right, if it's getting any exposure at all and we're raising cash and people are benefitting then that's a really positive result. My main gripe is with celebs just doing it as a cynical bit of self promotion and not even bothering to mention the charity or provide any links. I've seen plenty non celebs do that too, in fact everyone that's nominated me hasn't mentioned the charity at all, not even once, it's 'This is MY ice bucket challenge' Fuck, man. It's not even a challenge. Do something hardcore, do something that'll scare me shitless / challenge me (like make me take an OU course in algebra or something).

Ach, it doesn't matter. When I saw it I thought it was wank, that's it really. Most celebrities and a fair few normals confirmed this.

I came up with an alternative challenge, one you can't really video and put on Facebook; the Cum On His / Her Face in 30 Seconds Challenge. I didn't make it, and I missed her face, I also raised no money and raised awareness for nothing other than me being a coorse mother fucker.

It was fun though, merely to annoy all the folk that had nominated me.

Guilt trip by director and directors wife of the company I work for to do this :shock:

Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet :giggle:

If this means you are going to try and catch a bullet between your teeth, as opposed to pouring water over your head then that sounds a much better challenge.
:approve:

Remember and arrange for someone to post the video up here after you've done it.
:bbb:

"people wasting water to raise money" is morally wrong...

Any thoughts on this?

Maybe not morally wrong, but I do think it highlights what is wrong with the world when one section can throw water about its heids to "raise money" for charity when millions of people don't have access to clean aforementioned water.

For a long time, it's been pretty obvious that many charities have morally questionable income generation techniques.

PS I haven't seen your ice bucket challenge yet.

Been nominated a few times but no chance I'm doing it.Have sent a the text a couple of times and let my 9 year old laddie take my place, he had a right laugh with his pals.And anyone getting precious about wasting water in Scotland needs to lighten up a wee bit.

$#@! off wi yer bucket pish.

Maybe they also donate via DD or by other means.

Should marathon runners stop raising money and just do DDs!its great that you're socially aware and able to donate monthly,this is just an additonal way to raise funds.

Almost all of my son's classmates have done the challenge add their parents in and from that group alone 66 has been raised. All verified by pictures of the texts sent.

Not a single penny of that would have been raised without the challenge, so where is the problem ?

If the arguement is about people showing off and look at me im great I give money to charity,then all sponsored events,runs parachute jumps etc must be showing off too.

Maybe they also donate via DD or by other means.

Should marathon runners stop raising money and just do DDs!its great that you're socially aware and able to donate monthly,this is just an additonal way to raise funds.

Almost all of my son's classmates have done the challenge add their parents in and from that group alone 66 has been raised. All verified by pictures of the texts sent.

Not a single penny of that would have been raised without the challenge, so where is the problem ?

If the arguement is about people showing off and look at me im great I give money to charity,then all sponsored events,runs parachute jumps etc must be showing off too.

I don't get why folk won't give to charity unless a friend or a colleague is inconvenienced in some way.

I get the point, I'm not daft.

A good point to bear in mind though is that the celebs must be giving comparatively small sums considering what's been raised.

Fuck off wi yer bucket pish.

My 82 year old Dad has donated 10 pm to MacMillan for the last 8 years . The fact that they call him at least once a month asking if he can afford a little more is the reason they'll be getting fuck all out of me

Speaking more generally about charity, I get a bit irked by those pushy kids who try to hit on you in the street for a direct debit for one charity or another. The dancing up to you, in your path and getting in your face is seriously not on in my book.

One of my jobs is actually helping run a small, independent charity for people with addiction problems. We run a service that the NHS refuse to - offering a free, immediate access walk-in provision to the general public. It's very difficult now though with the 'big boys' scooping up all the funding through the very businesslike use of professional bid writing teams and so on. It's all a bit cynical and political to be honest.

My 82 year old Dad has donated 10 pm to MacMillan for the last 8 years . The fact that they call him at least once a month asking if he can afford a little more is the reason they'll be getting $#@! all out of me
I found that. Seemed my money was mostly being spent on material asking me for more and the CEO's rather large salary

Last time They called me, I warned the caller that if they EVER asked me to up it again, I`d stop my DD immedietley, and simply give to another cause.

2+ years later, they ain`t called back. :thumbgrin

Speaking more generally about charity, I get a bit irked by those pushy kids who try to hit on you in the street for a direct debit for one charity or another. The dancing up to you, in your path and getting in your face is seriously not on in my book.

One of my jobs is actually helping run a small, independent charity for people with addiction problems. We run a service that the NHS refuse to - offering a free, immediate access walk-in provision to the general public. It's very difficult now though with the 'big boys' scooping up all the funding through the very businesslike use of professional bid writing teams and so on. It's all a bit cynical and political to be honest.

I have monthly dd's set up for two charities. A while back, another charity knocked on the door and tbh honest I would have supported them but they were looking for 10 a month - I was prepared to give them a fiver and the seller left without completing the paperwork because she was on commission and 5 a month wasn't worth anything to her.

I get that charities will tell you the way they get in your face is effective, but it puts me off supporting them

Apparently, the best endowed charity in the UK is the Cats Protection League.

My suspicion, and there's a good few social media experts on the bounce is that some people are getting rich on the commission off the donations and our social media is being manipulated.

Was that what you were getting at SK?

I took part in the ice bucket challenge and made a small donation towards ALS. Plenty people do seem to be missing the main point of it though and just throwing water on themselves without any mention of a donation to a charity, that's the thing that's bugged me most about it. Other than that, it's all for a good cause.