Ukraine.

Got to concede in some ways they are...openly arming Ukraine and having trained them for years. But I get the feeling someone is going to bump the mad one off from inside Russia, probably when the generals all get together.

But it is likely he is deperately trying to get the Russian population on his side
I think that any fear of his generals is that they will displace him if he backs down.
What this does show though, is that the Russian mindset is that nuclear war with the west is their first option, not the last resort we’ve come to expect.

I think that any fear of his generals is that they will displace him if he backs down.
What this does show though, is that the Russian mindset is that nuclear war with the west is their first option, not the last resort we’ve come to expect.
I've never imagined that if Russia and the West went to war that it would be anything other than MAD

Indeed but I didn’t actually think we would be on the precipice if it in my lifetime.
I don't think we are by a long shot. A brutish threat by Putin because things are not going exactly as planned. No chance whatsoever of nuclear weapons being engaged in my opinion.

His forces are getting their arses kicked. The west has effectively barricaded his country and are destroying his economy. He’s cornered and that made him dangerous and unpredictable. His choice is to suffer international humiliation or go out in a blaze of belligerence.
I personally think he’s got a terminal illness and is determined to go out on a high

Well that's a novel explanation for these event. The 2nd West Lothian Question. What's his prognosis , how long has he got to start the nuclear annihilation of mankind as we know it.?

Does that mean you agree with the rest of my post since all you seem to have an issue with is a random musing?

forgive me G, but I'm not holding out a lot of hope based on your opinion.

Not sure how significant it is BP selling off 14b pounds of shares in Russian company. Can see the Chinese buying in

forgive me G, but I'm not holding out a lot of hope based on your opinion.
Ok I'll change it. A nuclear Armageddon War destroying the planet, between Russia, The USA, Nato and perhaps North Korea and China is probable based on Putin's announcement.

I would like to think so, however, there's not just the MAD nuclear weapons.

There's also what is known as 'tactical nuclear weapons' designed for use on the battlefield. The way things are going that could be Putins only option for a win.

Ok I'll change it. A nuclear Armageddon War destroying the planet, between Russia, The USA, Nato and perhaps North Korea and China is probable based on Putin's announcement.

alas this response is pretty much typical of this whole thread.
crack on G
but remember, a week or so ago, half the folks on here said the threat of war in Ukraine was all US propaganda.

I'm assuming Russia is no longer committed to fighting global warming 💩

Reactions: Dub
I'm no fan of Putin, but neither do I trust some of the motives of the Ukrainian regime.

Well, the former Warsaw Pact countries should have no agency? Given back to the Russians then? After the 20th century a number of countries finally were able to choose their own path and that was to look towards Europe not Russia. And well, we are seeing WHY they chose to apply to NATO and the EU right now.

I live in Hungary, Russian occupation is within living memory. Occupation. It was not nice and pleasant. Russia under Putin would like to do the same just as an Imperial Power rather than a Communist one. No-one wants to be back under Russia, once again we are seeing why. This is not NATO's fault, it is the fault of a very unpleasant ideology of ultra nationaliam being used to prop up the rule of one man and his team of little helpers. It is not Ukraines' fault for existing and the Putin and his nationalists inability to accept that.

Russia could have been different, Putin made sure it went straight back to authoritarianism. Next stop Finland then?
Maybe you should look at the Ultra Nationalism of Orban.Two blacks don't make a white.There are some in the Eu who want to be chummy with your leader, but not many.

The countries around Russia are that..countries! They fear being back under the Soviet regime and know they are too small to resist therefore they apply to join Nato. Empires rise all the time and it was o ly a matter of time before Russia had big ambitions again. As Smurf said, Russia were invited to be a greater part of Europe and keep their identity. Dont you find it interesting Putin does not recognise Ukraine as a country...but a state to be under his ownership which is what Belarus has become
Nato might not be perfect but allow countries to rule themselves.

That pipeline would have made Russia even more prosperous but they prefer to play dictator
How can you go back under a Soviet Regime if it doesn't exist?Nato might not be perfect,but it bombed the living shit out of Kosovo and was up to it's knees in Syria.

So you're last paragraph is bang on the money , but if you believe this why are you against Scotland leaving the union ? Scotland has always been a socialist country england not so much. No body fluids have been flung , whilst writing this
Scotland has always been a socialist country?Laugh?I nearly shat.

Maybe you should look at the Ultra Nationalism of Orban.Two blacks don't make a white.There are some in the Eu who want to be chummy with your leader, but not many.

Ultra Nationalism? I wouldn't say that, he is nationalist certainly and does play the populist card but he wins elections. He has stood down before when losing and handed over power. Maybe been pragmatic over Russia, not to the state of the Tories siphoning up all that lovely corrupt dosh. Just know that a lot of it is to do with the opposition having been less than useless over the last decade, in fighting, broken up into small factions, Gyurcsany simply not going away and letting the opposisiton parties get out from under accusations of historical corruption (he is sort of a Blair figure, caught on tape admitting to dodgy money flows). Marki-Zay will not save you, he was FIDESZ originally and comes out with some utter crap. My wife and family interestingly have gone from hating Orban to reluctantly thinking he is the only option on the table for the coming election. The opposition only have themselves to blame for this.

You seem to expect the perfect when even the half good is incredibly hard to acheive. Eastern Europe are young democracies with a civil society that is developing fast but not fast enough for you. The younger people are not racist, homophobic etc and anon. It takes time. The UK has had how long as a stable society without and still you have the ERG, UKIP and so on and a particularly nasty bunch in power right now.

So what I have seen from the left so far, the Ukrainians are Nazis, Eastern Europe is racist and good for nothing and you will be celebrating when the tanks are rolling across the countryside, again? This seems to be a bit of a thing around, the hate for NATO, the EU and the "West" is letting Putin off the hook for responsability for his actions in some quarters. Is he "justified" in attacking a neigbouring country? Almost like they are actually enjoying it, Stop the War finding themselves more relevancy but still can't help themselves.

We can talk about the whole Iraq and Blair and Bush but that is not relelvant to this. Putin could have spent the last decades opening and developing his country and people into a real powerhouse economy and country but he didn't. He could have begun a diplomatic process by which his "concerns" could have been worked through, but he didn't. He could have reigned in the activities of the Oligarchs but he didn't. He could have spent more time othe than looting his own country, but he didn't. This is the last gasp of a dictator. If he brings out the heaviest weapons even non nuclear available and turns Kyiv into rubble what say you?

A lot of that could simply have been working to assure the former Warsaw Pact and SSRs that Russia wasn't coming back for them. The USSR was not the first Imperial Russian adventure and this Ultra Nationalist, Orthodox Primacy of the World coupled with the re emergence of a Pan Slavic protectorate ideology is something we should be very concerned about.

Yes and Moaty, people are dying again, next door. Doesn't make it worth any less than when people die thousands of miles away.

How can you go back under a Soviet Regime if it doesn't exist?Nato might not be perfect,but it bombed the living shit out of Kosovo and was up to it's knees in Syria.

Ok then how about an Imperial Tsarist Russian regime? They behaved in just the same way as Stalin and now Putin. All of these very unwelcome.

NATO hasn't committed or attempted to commit genocide as far as I am aware? The Yugoslav war, wasn't that really about intervention to try and hold back massacres? And it wasn't even all of NATO anyway.

To be fair it didn't bomb the living shit out of kosovo, it bombed the forces that were commiting genocide against Kosovan Muslims and displacing them

Ultra Nationalism? I wouldn't say that, he is nationalist certainly and does play the populist card but he wins elections. He has stood down before when losing and handed over power. Maybe been pragmatic over Russia, not to the state of the Tories siphoning up all that lovely corrupt dosh. Just know that a lot of it is to do with the opposition having been less than useless over the last decade, in fighting, broken up into small factions, Gyurcsany simply not going away and letting the opposisiton parties get out from under accusations of historical corruption (he is sort of a Blair figure, caught on tape admitting to dodgy money flows). Marki-Zay will not save you, he was FIDESZ originally and comes out with some utter crap. My wife and family interestingly have gone from hating Orban to reluctantly thinking he is the only option on the table for the coming election. The opposition only have themselves to blame for this.

You seem to expect the perfect when even the half good is incredibly hard to acheive. Eastern Europe are young democracies with a civil society that is developing fast but not fast enough for you. The younger people are not racist, homophobic etc and anon. It takes time. The UK has had how long as a stable society without and still you have the ERG, UKIP and so on and a particularly nasty bunch in power right now.

So what I have seen from the left so far, the Ukrainians are Nazis, Eastern Europe is racist and good for nothing and you will be celebrating when the tanks are rolling across the countryside, again? This seems to be a bit of a thing around, the hate for NATO, the EU and the "West" is letting Putin off the hook for responsability for his actions in some quarters. Is he "justified" in attacking a neigbouring country? Almost like they are actually enjoying it, Stop the War finding themselves more relevancy but still can't help themselves.

We can talk about the whole Iraq and Blair and Bush but that is not relelvant to this. Putin could have spent the last decades opening and developing his country and people into a real powerhouse economy and country but he didn't. He could have begun a diplomatic process by which his "concerns" could have been worked through, but he didn't. He could have reigned in the activities of the Oligarchs but he didn't. He could have spent more time othe than looting his own country, but he didn't. This is the last gasp of a dictator. If he brings out the heaviest weapons even non nuclear available and turns Kyiv into rubble what say you?

A lot of that could simply have been working to assure the former Warsaw Pact and SSRs that Russia wasn't coming back for them. The USSR was not the first Imperial Russian adventure and this Ultra Nationalist, Orthodox Primacy of the World coupled with the re emergence of a Pan Slavic protectorate ideology is something we should be very concerned about.

Yes and Moaty, people are dying again, next door. Doesn't make it worth any less than when people die thousands of miles away.
So; I put up a post celebrating the Ukrainian people making Molotov Cocktails and you think I'm for Russia?I want victory for the Ukrainian people,just as I support the anti war movement in Moscow and here,also much like Big G I support the Hungarian Revolution of 56, just as I supported Solidarnosc and the Polish Uprising against Jurulselski just as I supported the 89 Revolutions although I was dissapointed they stopped where they did and didn't result in workers power,one great reason why this war is going on now.But yes I'm not going to be uncritical of Nato,the sabre rattling of the EU and Western Imperialism, for me the main enemy is at home,let the Russian people sort out Putin, and we'll sort out Boris.Funny, the Stop the War movement says stop the war, not victory for Putin.

Mercenary's going to take money-probably wads of it to fight a dictator,good luck to them,but no;they arnae the International Brigade
They are international insomuch as they are multinationals, and they will probably form military fighting units, perhaps even to Brigade size, and off tae fight fascists in another country. Rejoice moaty!

For balance, Im sure you are going to post on the mercenaries who have invaded a peaceful country. Russians, Chechnans and Belorussians are getting paid tae

Still doing it though.
Hats off to them
Exactly what that wee Tory Liz Truss was saying yesterday too.
Contradictions and hypocracy seem to be heightened when events such as these unfold. Come on Liz, you and your pal Javid must remember you and your Tory buddies doing this only 3 years ago.....

Sajid Javid condemned for ‘criminalising’ fighters against Isis.​

More than 40 international volunteers – a third of them British – who fought in Syria against the Islamic State terror group have written to the home secretary, Sajid Javid, to condemn his plans to prosecute UK citizens who remain in the country.

Four British families whose sons or daughters were killed fighting Isis have also signed the letter, raising concerns that Javid is “criminalising” those who risked their lives supporting the US-led coalition which two months ago defeated the IS caliphate.
Last week Javid told British citizens in northern Syria to leave within 28 days or face a 10-year prison sentence if they attempt to return to the UK.
The letter is also signed by Vasiliki and Chris Scurfield, parents of former Royal Marine Kosta Scurfield, who died fighting Isis with the YPG, which had billed itself as a 21st-century International Brigade, which fought fascism in 1930s Spain.

Others include Jane Lyndon, mother of Ollie Hall, a British 24-year-old who joined the YPG to fight Isis and was killed in Raqqa, while trying to save a Syrian child from a booby-trapped house. At his inquest the coroner paid tribute to his “outstanding example of courage and self-sacrifice”.

A YPG sniper, Jac Holmes, 24, from Bournemouth, was also killed in Raqqa trying to clear bombs planted by Isis. His mother, Angie Blannin, is a signatory.

The Kurdish militias were often described as the most dependable ground forces in the US-led coalition fighting Isis, losing more than 10,000 fighters as they pushed the jihadists from north-east Syria.

Disgraceful. Tory hypocracy once more? Is there no shaming them.

Ok then how about an Imperial Tsarist Russian regime? They behaved in just the same way as Stalin and now Putin. All of these very unwelcome.

NATO hasn't committed or attempted to commit genocide as far as I am aware? The Yugoslav war, wasn't that really about intervention to try and hold back massacres? And it wasn't even all of NATO anyway.
It was and the bombing was intended to stop aggression on Kosova, but I am no expert in that war By the same measure then Moaty seems to be saying I'd we act consistently we should be carpet bombing Russia. That might come if they use nukes. I have no opinion in at the moment as to whether the bombing was correct or not as I dont know enough about that war
As to the point about Soviets, you know fine I meant that Ukranians have no desire to become part of russias empire or a return to the Soviet era...if you didnt you do now

Saw yesterday on social media, a russian left his armoured personnel carrier in this road... an old Ukrainian farmer hooked it tae his tractor, and tried tae rob it :giggley:

They are international insomuch as they are multinationals, and they will probably form military fighting units, perhaps even to Brigade size, and off tae fight fascists in another country. Rejoice moaty!

For balance, Im sure you are going to post on the mercenaries who have invaded a peaceful country. Russians, Chechnans and Belorussians are getting paid tae
Ok having seen the bbc news report,I've changed my mind, they don't look like mercenaries,look like straight up guys.Good luck to them, they're going to need it.

Saw yesterday on social media, a russian left his armoured personnel carrier in this road... an old Ukrainian farmer hooked it tae his tractor, and tried tae rob it :giggley:
I saw that, check out this radge. Marlboro man:omg:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Are we declaring war on Russia?
I would suggest RoW (rest of world) ex-China has declared an economic war on Russia.

The exceptions, I read somewhere earlier, was the UK not sanctioning those Russians that have donated to the nasty tory party party. Quell surprise!*

*Speaking in French. I saw one despicable post on social media suggesting the French had already surrendered!

p
I would suggest RoW (rest of world ex-China) has declared an economic war on Russia.

The exceptions, I read somewhere earlier, was the UK not sanctioning those Russians that have donated to the nasty tory party party. Quell surprise!*

*Speaking in French. I saw one despicable post on social media suggesting the French had already surrendered!
'Surprise' is feminine in French, so you'll need another E to quell. Hey, jist sayin'!