Uber Taxi

FFS...

Never been to Oz but everyone I speak to who has or is from Oz tell me Edinburgh taxis are a credit to our city compared to Oz where the taxis are dirty and most drivers have trouble with basic English.

Was in a few NY taxis last week and said the same tae mrs hibbybilly.She then pointed oot that even she has trouble with my basic English.:doh
cheeky tart!

Was in a few NY taxis last week and said the same tae mrs hibbybilly.She then pointed oot that even she has trouble with my basic English.:doh
cheeky tart!

Well seen Mrs HibbyBilly doesnt have an account on here :rollfloor

Aye, yer no wrong Dub :giggle:
we had a wee fight in the bedroom earlier, I eventually got her doon on her hands and knees and she was screaming .... COME OOT FAE UNDER THAT BED YA FUKIN COWARD!!!!!

:laff:

Been using Uber a fair bit since it launched in Manchester. Definitely getting a lot more taxis than I previously would, including to/from work when I'm a bit late cos it's quicker and more convenient.

Uber are murky fuckers though.

When I've been asking the drivers how they are to drive for (certainly in Manchester they're all licensed and experienced) the general consensus is they're working harder for the money but there's more fares and there's no dispatcher playing favourites. A lot of them saying the intel they get from uber (about peak times, pickup heat maps etc) helps them cut down on dead time a hell of a lot.

I'd rather get a less horrible version of Uber, but I'd rather go with Uber than AN Other cab firm just now cos its cheaper and better. The fact that you don't need cash to get a taxi is a massive boost too - to the driver as well, cos people can't ask to be dropped off at an ATM and do a runner.

Aye, yer no wrong Dub :giggle:
we had a wee fight in the bedroom earlier, I eventually got her doon on her hands and knees and she was screaming .... COME OOT FAE UNDER THAT BED YA FUKIN COWARD!!!!!

:laff:

:rollfloor:applause:

And go into any black taxi office in Edinburgh and look at the demand for drivers to find shifts particularly on a Saturday night. There are plenty of taxis on the road and you'll have no problems getting a taxi apart from 3am when all clubs and pubs close.

You know [MENTION=2693]Smurf[/MENTION], you'll think this sounds bitter and shouty ;) but I was thinking of you tonight. Me and the missus went out for dinner tonight, then went to Bon Vivant on Thistle St for a nightcap.

We left at 12.40am (I know this because I was already thinking about this). We then walked until the rank at the Omni, in fucking arctic wind, and my poor missus in heels that were killing her. The rank - at circa 1am - had a queue at least 50 strong. I live on Montrose Terrace, so the idea of waiting three times as long as it would take to walk made up our minds. The first time we saw a taxi with a light on was halfway along Royal Terrace, by which time it's a pointless exercise.

I've no problem marching home, but my bird was freezing and crippled with her shoes.

Sorry, but to suggest that there's "plenty of cabs except for 3am" is just gash. If you think that, you're either a taxi driver yourself or not out in Edinburgh at the weekend.

My experience tonight is standard, and it has ever been so. Black cab provision at peak time is SHITE in Edinburgh, end of.

You know [MENTION=2693]Smurf[/MENTION], you'll think this sounds bitter and shouty ;) but I was thinking of you tonight. Me and the missus went out for dinner tonight, then went to Bon Vivant on Thistle St for a nightcap.

We left at 12.40am (I know this because I was already thinking about this). We then walked until the rank at the Omni, in $#@!ing arctic wind, and my poor missus in heels that were killing her. The rank - at circa 1am - had a queue at least 50 strong. I live on Montrose Terrace, so the idea of waiting three times as long as it would take to walk made up our minds. The first time we saw a taxi with a light on was halfway along Royal Terrace, by which time it's a pointless exercise.

I've no problem marching home, but my bird was freezing and crippled with her shoes.

Sorry, but to suggest that there's "plenty of cabs except for 3am" is just gash. If you think that, you're either a taxi driver yourself or not out in Edinburgh at the weekend.

My experience tonight is standard, and it has ever been so. Black cab provision at peak time is $#@!E in Edinburgh, end of.

I don't doubt what you've said but it's hardly a normal Friday night. For every bar, club and restaurant it's the busiest Friday night of the year. Having worked in the taxi trade I know for sure most Friday night's/Saturday mornings you would always get a taxi at a rank. And most Saturday night's/Sunday mornings the same except 0245-0400 where you would need to queue.

I don't doubt you either Smurf but I wonder how many taxis, and probably mini cabs, were tucked up in their garage last night on the busiest night of the year? How many decided it wasn't worth the hassle?

Rough with the smooth :dunno:

I don't doubt you either Smurf but I wonder how many taxis, and probably mini cabs, were tucked up in their garage last night on the busiest night of the year? How many decided it wasn't worth the hassle?

Rough with the smooth :dunno:

I know drivers looking for shifts last night for the busiest Friday of the year. Therefore I'd imagine plenty were on the roads. If we had 24 hour drinking as we should there would be no queues for taxis. As I've said in a week of 168 hours I would say that there is never anymore than a 2 hour period in Edinburgh where it's very hard to get a taxi. And even then in that period if you phoned for a taxi you'd get one.

Last night was exceptional. But the fact is that for most of the time there are too many black cabs on the road. Demand exceeds supply for only a few hours a week. For most of the time supply exceeds demand.

It is impossible to design a system with a perfect equilibrium that will ensure that every time someone wants a cab there will be one available without undue waiting.

The Council has licensed 1,400 black cabs in Edinburgh and about 4,500 drivers. It wants cabs to be available when people need them. But it's also mindful that if it licenses too many cabs then drivers will not be able to make a living wage and therefore will turn away from the business and supply will drop.

As a cab driver you have to learn to deal with the peaks and troughs not only across the year but also across your shift. If only we could all work during the festival at rush hours!

The reality is, as Smurf has said, at the moment too many drivers are working to minimum wage rates or even less. To make a decent total wage drivers have to be out a minimum 60 hours a week. Some drivers are doing upwards of 70 hours a week, and some as much as 80.

I'm not going to tell you it's a crap job because plenty of people have got crap jobs. But if Uber does muscle in it will be because it has burst an already saturated market. And that can only mean that the driver's pay and what laughably pass for terms and conditions are even worse than they currently are for black cab drivers.

It's the way of the world. Why should people in the taxi trade be immune from zero hours contracts, minimum wages, lack of job security, poor terms and conditions? After all, I'm sure they too want to be part of Dave and Gideon's economic miracle.

Last night was exceptional. But the fact is that for most of the time there are too many black cabs on the road. Demand exceeds supply for only a few hours a week. For most of the time supply exceeds demand.

It is impossible to design a system with a perfect equilibrium that will ensure that every time someone wants a cab there will be one available without undue waiting.

The Council has licensed 1,400 black cabs in Edinburgh and about 4,500 drivers. It wants cabs to be available when people need them. But it's also mindful that if it licenses too many cabs then drivers will not be able to make a living wage and therefore will turn away from the business and supply will drop.

As a cab driver you have to learn to deal with the peaks and troughs not only across the year but also across your shift. If only we could all work during the festival at rush hours!

The reality is, as Smurf has said, at the moment too many drivers are working to minimum wage rates or even less. To make a decent total wage drivers have to be out a minimum 60 hours a week. Some drivers are doing upwards of 70 hours a week, and some as much as 80.

I'm not going to tell you it's a crap job because plenty of people have got crap jobs. But if Uber does muscle in it will be because it has burst an already saturated market. And that can only mean that the driver's pay and what laughably pass for terms and conditions are even worse than they currently are for black cab drivers.

It's the way of the world. Why should people in the taxi trade be immune from zero hours contracts, minimum wages, lack of job security, poor terms and conditions? After all, I'm sure they too want to be part of Dave and Gideon's economic miracle.
Minimum Wage? The only shift you'd exceed that through here is on a Saturday night, unless you drive for the ****s that own the company.

I just want to make clear that town wisnae that busy, and also that my experience last night is consistent with Fri/Sat nights throughout the year.

Minimum Wage? The only shift you'd exceed that through here is on a Saturday night, unless you drive for the ****s that own the company.

For a lot of drivers it's the same here. Spread out the peaks and troughs and you're doing well to average more.

It's just like thousands of other occupations in Osborne's Britain. To make a decent wage you have to work long hours.

However, this thread is ostensibly about Uber not black cab drivers. Some people seem to think that Uber will be a good thing. For them, they might be right. Ordering an Uber car from the airport to your hotel might well be two, three even ten quid cheaper. Good stuff. But I'm not so sure everyone will benefit in the long run. I know drivers wont. And will the service be better, more secure for customers? Would you want your daughter or sister getting into an Uber car? Will they be quicker? Will there be cars available when you want them? Off the street? In the ranks? Will they have provision for disabled people? How will the Council vet the drivers?

For a lot of drivers it's the same here. Spread out the peaks and troughs and you're doing well to average more.

It's just like thousands of other occupations in Osborne's Britain. To make a decent wage you have to work long hours.

However, this thread is ostensibly about Uber not black cab drivers. Some people seem to think that Uber will be a good thing. For them, they might be right. Ordering an Uber car from the airport to your hotel might well be two, three even ten quid cheaper. Good stuff. But I'm not so sure everyone will benefit in the long run. I know drivers wont. And will the service be better, more secure for customers? Would you want your daughter or sister getting into an Uber car? Will they be quicker? Will there be cars available when you want them? Off the street? In the ranks? Will they have provision for disabled people? How will the Council vet the drivers?
All people care about is the price until they encounter problems then it's all the 'taxi' drivers fault.

Excellent post mate.

I just want to make clear that town wisnae that busy, and also that my experience last night is consistent with Fri/Sat nights throughout the year.

Just spoke to a taxi driver who was well up last night on most other Fri night's. If the town wasn't busy then I'm struggling to get my head round a work colleague who struggled to get a table booked in any restaurant last night....

Not believing you saying the town wasn't busy. Suggesting you couldn't get a taxi on a night that wasn't that busy is I'm sorry just hard to believe....

Why didn't you phone one?

Excellent post mate.

Just spoke to a taxi driver who was well up last night on most other Fri night's. If the town wasn't busy then I'm struggling to get my head round a work colleague who struggled to get a table booked in any restaurant last night....

Not believing you saying the town wasn't busy. Suggesting you couldn't get a taxi on a night that wasn't that busy is I'm sorry just hard to believe....

Why didn't you phone one?

Do you mean "Why didn't you order one using your Hibs Taxi app" :wink:

I've resurrected this post because I was watching newsnight tonight and it would appear that UBER pay no tax in this country as they have domiciled themselves in Holland. Apparently they also encourage their employees to open bank accounts abroad to have their pay out in.

:tuttut: