Uber Taxi

SirRiordan

Heard that they've lodged an application with the council and could be operating by March.

Sound like a fairly irresponsible bunch but I'd still be interested in making a few bucks at the weekend.

Obviously existing licensed drivers aint going to like it but I think this could be a maturing industry that even licensed drivers could use. Not sure about the 20% cut they're taking since it's the driver who takes all the risk.

Maybe long term taxi drivers internationally could crowd fund their own app and dump the taxi companies. 5% for upkeep of servers for processing seems a much better deal.

Besides it's a complete inevitability that folk will want to book via a phone app rather than a phone call. Definitely see this as an opportunity for cab drivers to cut out middle men, they just need to unite and crowd fund their own app.

Other benefits being that you can track the cab approaching, see an image of the car and also the driver. So if the driver is cock eyed and has manky teeth as long as you tap cancel within 60 seconds there is no charge!

Seems popular with consumers and disrupts what's at times a bit of a cosy market so a thumbs up from me.

"Cosy market"?! Seriously? Thirty years ago there was 500 black taxis on the roads of Edinburgh and today there are well over 3000 and private hire. Most guys working all hours to get a wage because it's so competitive.

Edinburgh taxis are over priced.Probably because they get hit heavily by the cooncil for the plate, but that doesn't make much difference to Joseph Bloggs.There will still be a place for them when there's more than 4 folk, but I reckon Uber is a welcome addition...if the cooncil grant them a licence

I'd be interested in finding out how these uber drivers insurance works. As a West Lothian private hire driver myself I have to have: my vehicle annually checked and licenced by Police Scotland's taxi inspectors, a personal P.H. driver's licence, a disclosure Scotland check, adequate insurance that permits me to carry passengers and a separate public liability insurance policy.
If any Joe Blogs can start carrying passengers around once they've contacted him via uber I'd assume they're doing it using their 'normal' car insurance policy?.... Which would then be invalid. And that's without taking into account it could be some known sex offender driving.

I'd be interested in finding out how these uber drivers insurance works. As a West Lothian private hire driver myself I have to have: my vehicle annually checked and licenced by Police Scotland's taxi inspectors, a personal P.H. driver's licence, a disclosure Scotland check, adequate insurance that permits me to carry passengers and a separate public liability insurance policy.
If any Joe Blogs can start carrying passengers around once they've contacted him via uber I'd assume they're doing it using their 'normal' car insurance policy?.... Which would then be invalid. And that's without taking into account it could be some known sex offender driving.

Totally valid points Brian. After reading this I went on to the Uber website to try to find out what documentation would be required to sign up with them but I couldnt find anything. There was an "easy sign up" option which I didnt pursue but if it's easy to sign up I suspect the rules and regs might be as lax as you suggest.

Edinburgh taxis are over priced.Probably because they get hit heavily by the cooncil for the plate, but that doesn't make much difference to Joseph Bloggs.There will still be a place for them when there's more than 4 folk, but I reckon Uber is a welcome addition...if the cooncil grant them a licence

I don't accept that they are overpriced. Folk appear to look at the fare in isolation with regards to the wage of the driver. There are lots of overheads to be paid for before the driver takes his cut. I got a taxi with two others at 4am last weekend. Top of London Road with a drop off at Northfield then two other drop offs on Milton Road East. A Tenner. The driver will be very lucky to do three jobs like that in peak hours. In off peak lucky to do one. With the struggle to make a wage and the constant abuse and physical threat it's no wonder most drivers with their brief don't do it.

You appear to have been lucky in your fare there! Only last month I took a cab from constitution street to gorgie, however the driver went via Newhaven, ravelston, murayfield, roseburn and finally my destination gorgie. Irrespective this is the future, overheads of telephone booking offices also push up prices. I just wish cab drivers could crowd fund their own app, that way the money stays local instead of going back to Silicon Valley and google.My worst ever fare, though to be fare it was hogmanay, was 30 from dundas street to morningside.I believe Uber have 1m liability insurance but this is only in use when there's a passenger in the car.

Black cab taxi drivers do not set the price rates for fares. The rates are set by the Council.

Once the meter drops you at the mercy of traffic, lights and freeeking trams!

I drive a cab part time. I'm going to bin in in the New Year. I would bin in now but I don't want to leave the owner in the lurch who's been really good to me.

Frankly, I hate it. Boring and very poorly paid. It's not worth the stress and hassle. I don't know what it is but some people seem to think a taxi driver is some kind of untermensch and can be spoken to in any manner they see fit.

I feel sorry for the boys that own the cabs. It's a small fortune just to put a cab on the road. Now they're getting squeezed at every turn. This uber stuff could be the death of them.

Be careful what you wish for.

Compare it with the cost in Dundee or Glasgow.They're overpriced.

Not looking good for Uber:

BBC News - Uber Delhi : India tells states to ban web taxis

Taxi app Uber plugs 'privacy-threatening' web security flaw • The Register

City of Portland sues Uber in bid to shut taxi service down | Technology | The Guardian

Uber taxis pick up driving bans in Spain and Thailand | Technology | The Guardian

I already use apps to book my cabs, they all [most] have apps already.

The essentially unlicensed nature of Uber model just seems massively open to abuse and dodginess, no disclosure Scotland? Get to absolute fuck.

Will make being a drug deal easier, I suppose.

My mate drives a taxi on Fridays and Saturdays for another guy who owns it. He stays in my spare room those nights, as he lives in the arse end of nowhere out in Midlothian now and doesnae want to drive hame after his shift. We were discussing this very issue on Sunday morning there.

Apparently, a limited number of black cab licenses are issued, based on peak demand. However, a large proportion of taxis are sitting in driveways on Saturday nights these days, as the drivers don't want to work. That's a fact - some get other guys to drive them (as in my pal's case) but many don't.

What this results in is the all-too-familiar scenario on a Saturday night when post-midnight, hailing one is a virtual impossibility, and ranks have queues a mile long.

Now, taxi drivers will tell you that it's a jungle out there on a Saturday night - my pal included. Folk punching his taxi, stepping out into the road trying to stop it, etc. Which is all well and good, but fails to consider two things.

1) If there were more taxis on the road on a Saturday, the majority of desperate people would be eliminated.

2) This would leave the congenital bams who'd act the **** regardless. "Ah dinnae need that shite" says non-weekend taxi man. Well, I worked in pubs for many years and had stools chucked at my heid, etc, but the idea that I wouldn't work Saturday nights is just ludicrous - it's peak time and part of the job. Hard lines.

It absolutely IS a cosy market. My pal was telling me it's worse than cosy - guys actually come to blows over spots on ranks, especially the airport apparently.

For me, one of two things needs to happen:

1) Taxi owners should be compelled to have their taxi on the road for a certain percentage of peak time - say 75%. They don't even have to drive it, they could allow someone else to and take their cut as my pal's guy does, with the ancillary benefit of creating employment for another gadgie.

Or 2) another company can come in and pick up the slack.

IMO, black cabs in Edinburgh only have themselves to blame. If they hadn't been so complacent (as a whole, mind, I'm not saying every individual) and ignored their tacit responsibility to provide an adequate service at peak times, this wouldn't be an issue.

Getting a cab in Glasgow is like being a millionaire! Mileage per buck is insane. Got a black cab back to Edina one night a few years ago for 40, prob about 150 in the reverse direction.

Get in a black cab here, it's almost 4 before you've moved off. You can take a tour of Weedgiestan for a fiver.

Is it West Lothian private hire you drive for?

Cost of a 3-kilometer ride in April, 2011

*All prices converted into US dollars on April 16, 2011

The left price reflects little to no waiting in traffic, the right price reflects high-traffic situations plus night or weekend surcharges.

$0.90 $1.58 Delhi, India
$0.97 $1.29 Mumbai, India
$1.01 $1.68 Cairo, Egypt
$1.15 $1.73 La Paz, Bolivia
$1.16 $1.85 Manila, Philippines
$1.25 $3.00 Panama City, Panama
$1.27 $1.73 Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
$1.28 $1.91 Fez, Morocco
$1.29 $2.14 Mexico City, Mexico
$1.32 $1.98 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
$1.43 $1.91 Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
$1.53 $3.06 Beijing, China
$1.53 $1.91 Hanoi, Vietnam
$1.66 $2.32 Bangkok, Thailand
$1.69 $3.38 Kathmandu, Nepal
$1.84 $2.76 Shanghai, China
$1.91 $3.19 Marrakech, Morocco
$2.00 $4.00 Quito, Ecuador
$2.06 $2.94 Sofia, Bulgaria
$2.11 $3.69 Montevideo, Uruguay
$2.13 $3.19 Lima, Peru
$2.46 $2.95 Buenos Aires, Argentina
$2.72 $3.27 Dubai, UAE
$2.82 $4.23 Amman, Jordan
$2.84 $4.27 St. Petersburg, Russia
$2.94 $5.51 Seoul, South Korea
$3.23 $6.45 Singapore, Singapore
$3.35 $5.16 Hong Kong, China
$3.80 $6.33 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
$3.84 $6.52 Athens, Greece
$4.09 $6.04 Moscow, Russia
$4.24 $5.93 Santiago, Chile
$4.39 $8.77 Tel Aviv, Israel
$4.64 $6.22 Istanbul, Turkey
$5.47 $9.12 Krakow, Poland
$5.33 $7.99 Beirut, Lebanon
$5.73 $8.33 Vancouver, Canada
$5.80 $8.70 Lisbon, Portugal
$5.80 $9.42 Tallinn, Estonia
$5.70 $8.29 Budapest, Hungary
$5.75 $7.90 Cape Town, South Africa
$5.95 $8.33 Prague, Czech Republic
$6.20 $8.26 Taipei, Taiwan
$6.52 $10.14 Barcelona, Spain

$6.56 $9.84 Edinburgh, Scotland

$7.00 $12.00 New York City, USA
$7.25 $10.14 Madrid, Spain
$7.50 $10.00 Los Angeles, USA
$7.95 $13.26 Reykjavik, Iceland
$8.41 $14.49 Rome, Italy
$8.70 $14.49 Brussels, Belgium
$8.70 $14.49 Paris, France
$9.38 $12.50 Toronto, Canada
$9.38 $12.50 Montreal, Canada
$9.47 $12.63 Melbourne, Australia
$9.60 $12.00 Auckland, New Zealand
$9.80 $15.69 Zagreb, Croatia
$10.14 $14.49 Vienna, Austria
$10.53 $13.68 Sydney, Australia
$11.22 $14.12 Copenhagen, Denmark
$11.48 $14.75 London, England
$11.59 $15.94 Berlin, Germany
$11.59 $17.39 Munich, Germany
$11.59 $17.39 Dublin, Ireland
$12.64 $15.66 Tokyo, Japan
$12.92 $16.16 Stockholm, Sweden
$13.04 $17.39 Nice, France
$14.06 $20.29 Helsinki, Finland
$14.49 $14.49 Amsterdam, Netherlands
$15.94 $20.29 Monaco, Monaco
$18.62 $24.21 Oslo, Norway
$20.22 $26.97 Zurich, Switzerland

A 3-kilometer ride ;-) is from Easter Road Stadium to the Grassmarket.

Given the survey was done more than 3 and a half years ago $s could well be s these days - experts feel free to chip in.

Cost of a 3-kilometer ride in April, 2011

*All prices converted into US dollars on April 16, 2011

The left price reflects little to no waiting in traffic, the right price reflects high-traffic situations plus night or weekend surcharges.

$0.90 $1.58 Delhi, India
$0.97 $1.29 Mumbai, India
$1.01 $1.68 Cairo, Egypt
$1.15 $1.73 La Paz, Bolivia
$1.16 $1.85 Manila, Philippines
$1.25 $3.00 Panama City, Panama
$1.27 $1.73 Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
$1.28 $1.91 Fez, Morocco
$1.29 $2.14 Mexico City, Mexico
$1.32 $1.98 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
$1.43 $1.91 Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
$1.53 $3.06 Beijing, China
$1.53 $1.91 Hanoi, Vietnam
$1.66 $2.32 Bangkok, Thailand
$1.69 $3.38 Kathmandu, Nepal
$1.84 $2.76 Shanghai, China
$1.91 $3.19 Marrakech, Morocco
$2.00 $4.00 Quito, Ecuador
$2.06 $2.94 Sofia, Bulgaria
$2.11 $3.69 Montevideo, Uruguay
$2.13 $3.19 Lima, Peru
$2.46 $2.95 Buenos Aires, Argentina
$2.72 $3.27 Dubai, UAE
$2.82 $4.23 Amman, Jordan
$2.84 $4.27 St. Petersburg, Russia
$2.94 $5.51 Seoul, South Korea
$3.23 $6.45 Singapore, Singapore
$3.35 $5.16 Hong Kong, China
$3.80 $6.33 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
$3.84 $6.52 Athens, Greece
$4.09 $6.04 Moscow, Russia
$4.24 $5.93 Santiago, Chile
$4.39 $8.77 Tel Aviv, Israel
$4.64 $6.22 Istanbul, Turkey
$5.47 $9.12 Krakow, Poland
$5.33 $7.99 Beirut, Lebanon
$5.73 $8.33 Vancouver, Canada
$5.80 $8.70 Lisbon, Portugal
$5.80 $9.42 Tallinn, Estonia
$5.70 $8.29 Budapest, Hungary
$5.75 $7.90 Cape Town, South Africa
$5.95 $8.33 Prague, Czech Republic
$6.20 $8.26 Taipei, Taiwan
$6.52 $10.14 Barcelona, Spain

$6.56 $9.84 Edinburgh, Scotland

$7.00 $12.00 New York City, USA
$7.25 $10.14 Madrid, Spain
$7.50 $10.00 Los Angeles, USA
$7.95 $13.26 Reykjavik, Iceland
$8.41 $14.49 Rome, Italy
$8.70 $14.49 Brussels, Belgium
$8.70 $14.49 Paris, France
$9.38 $12.50 Toronto, Canada
$9.38 $12.50 Montreal, Canada
$9.47 $12.63 Melbourne, Australia
$9.60 $12.00 Auckland, New Zealand
$9.80 $15.69 Zagreb, Croatia
$10.14 $14.49 Vienna, Austria
$10.53 $13.68 Sydney, Australia
$11.22 $14.12 Copenhagen, Denmark
$11.48 $14.75 London, England
$11.59 $15.94 Berlin, Germany
$11.59 $17.39 Munich, Germany
$11.59 $17.39 Dublin, Ireland
$12.64 $15.66 Tokyo, Japan
$12.92 $16.16 Stockholm, Sweden
$13.04 $17.39 Nice, France
$14.06 $20.29 Helsinki, Finland
$14.49 $14.49 Amsterdam, Netherlands
$15.94 $20.29 Monaco, Monaco
$18.62 $24.21 Oslo, Norway
$20.22 $26.97 Zurich, Switzerland

A 3-kilometer ride ;-) is from Easter Road Stadium to the Grassmarket.

Given the survey was done more than 3 and a half years ago $s could well be s these days - experts feel free to chip in.

It doesn't account for standard of living in these places. Do you have figures for countries in britain for more valid comparison :077:

Black cab taxi drivers do not set the price rates for fares. The rates are set by the Council.

Once the meter drops you at the mercy of traffic, lights and freeeking trams!

I drive a cab part time. I'm going to bin in in the New Year. I would bin in now but I don't want to leave the owner in the lurch who's been really good to me.

Frankly, I hate it. Boring and very poorly paid. It's not worth the stress and hassle. I don't know what it is but some people seem to think a taxi driver is some kind of untermensch and can be spoken to in any manner they see fit.

I feel sorry for the boys that own the cabs. It's a small fortune just to put a cab on the road. Now they're getting squeezed at every turn. This uber stuff could be the death of them.

Be careful what you wish for.

Well said.

My mate drives a taxi on Fridays and Saturdays for another guy who owns it. He stays in my spare room those nights, as he lives in the arse end of nowhere out in Midlothian now and doesnae want to drive hame after his shift. We were discussing this very issue on Sunday morning there.

Apparently, a limited number of black cab licenses are issued, based on peak demand. However, a large proportion of taxis are sitting in driveways on Saturday nights these days, as the drivers don't want to work. That's a fact - some get other guys to drive them (as in my pal's case) but many don't.

What this results in is the all-too-familiar scenario on a Saturday night when post-midnight, hailing one is a virtual impossibility, and ranks have queues a mile long.

Now, taxi drivers will tell you that it's a jungle out there on a Saturday night - my pal included. Folk punching his taxi, stepping out into the road trying to stop it, etc. Which is all well and good, but fails to consider two things.

1) If there were more taxis on the road on a Saturday, the majority of desperate people would be eliminated.

2) This would leave the congenital bams who'd act the **** regardless. "Ah dinnae need that $#@!e" says non-weekend taxi man. Well, I worked in pubs for many years and had stools chucked at my heid, etc, but the idea that I wouldn't work Saturday nights is just ludicrous - it's peak time and part of the job. Hard lines.

It absolutely IS a cosy market. My pal was telling me it's worse than cosy - guys actually come to blows over spots on ranks, especially the airport apparently.

For me, one of two things needs to happen:

1) Taxi owners should be compelled to have their taxi on the road for a certain percentage of peak time - say 75%. They don't even have to drive it, they could allow someone else to and take their cut as my pal's guy does, with the ancillary benefit of creating employment for another gadgie.

Or 2) another company can come in and pick up the slack.

IMO, black cabs in Edinburgh only have themselves to blame. If they hadn't been so complacent (as a whole, mind, I'm not saying every individual) and ignored their tacit responsibility to provide an adequate service at peak times, this wouldn't be an issue.

Well worded post but full of statistical errors and inaccuracies. The vast majority of drivers hire out their cab when they are not driving. And go into any black taxi office in Edinburgh and look at the demand for drivers to find shifts particularly on a Saturday night. There are plenty of taxis on the road and you'll have no problems getting a taxi apart from 3am when all clubs and pubs close. The answer to that is to end the nonsense of turfing thousands of people out onto the streets at the same time.

Fair enough, I am not speaking from first-hand experience, I only have the testimony of one guy to go on. We'll have to agree to disagree on the ease of catching a cab "apart from 3am" - in my own experience, I'd make that 12-4am. Absolute 'mare, so it is. However, on your last post I agree 100%.

I fully appreciate that driving a cab is not an easy job and that drivers aren't necessarily making a fortune. That's not a reason for stifling innovation and competition though. The safety issue is a bit of a red herring too, as far as I know Uber cabs are subject to the same laws and licensing as private hires.

Edit: That's bollocks apparently. Anyone who can drive legally and has the right type of car can join. Even taxis, I presume ;-)

With Uber you get to choose your cab/driver based on feedback from other users. If used correctly, that should benefit good drivers with nice cabs. I reckon if used well, it's a potentially great for the best drivers.

As I understand it, say I use Uber a few times and one time I get a great driver with a nice cab, I'll give him a good review, getting him/her more bookings in future. You can't beat that sort of customer choice for improving standards.

Additionally, I take regular trips to and from the airport, as do many of my colleagues. Currently I pay >25 and it's not at peak times - pretty much the ideal fare I'd imagine. I'd be happy to give my booking to the same driver each time. If I find a great driver, I'm sure my colleagues would use him/her too.

So it's potentially great for users but it's not all doom and gloom for drivers and should force everyone to provide better service, competitive pricing etc.

Have to agree, I rarely get a taxi when in Edinburgh because most of the places I go, Waverly - ER - Pubs in Leith - mates flats in Leith, are all within walking distance of each other but a couple of months ago I got a taxi from the Corn Exchange to my mates flat on Albert Street and the fare near blew socks my off (27 if I remember right).

For a comparison I often get a taxi from one end of Glasgow to the other (Springburn to Barrhead) for around 15.

That said, Uber does seem open to abuse from dodgy feckers though, I'd certainty want to know more about how it works before using it.

I'm maybe getting this wrong.

Anyone can sign up to Uber.

To drive a taxi of either type in Edinburgh / Scotland you need to be licensed as does the vehicle. Therefore anyone who doesn't qualify and attempts to get a fare is breaking the law.

Wouldn't be the first time I've been approached by an unmarked car and the driver offering me a taxi ride to where ever.

Who checks who's actually driving taxis, both types, on a regular basis? Anyone? Is it left to the police to do random stops?

Illegal 'taxis' are on our streets now?

Have to agree, I rarely get a taxi when in Edinburgh because most of the places I go, Waverly - ER - Pubs in Leith - mates flats in Leith, are all within walking distance of each other but a couple of months ago I got a taxi from the Corn Exchange to my mates flat on Albert Street and the fare near blew socks my off (27 if I remember right).

For a comparison I often get a taxi from one end of Glasgow to the other (Springburn to Barrhead) for around 15.

That said, Uber does seem open to abuse from dodgy feckers though, I'd certainty want to know more about how it works before using it.

But that is not a comparison. I don't know what set of circumstances contrived together so that you ended up paying 27. It's a fair distance from the Corn Exchange to Albert Street but even if you were really unlucky with lights and trams you should still only be paying 15 max in rush hour. That's shocking. How well do you know Edinburgh? Sounds like the guy was at it.

For Black Cabs the tariffs for Edinburgh and Glasgow are actually pretty close.

I'm maybe getting this wrong.

Anyone can sign up to Uber.

To drive a taxi of either type in Edinburgh / Scotland you need to be licensed as does the vehicle. Therefore anyone who doesn't qualify and attempts to get a fare is breaking the law.

Wouldn't be the first time I've been approached by an unmarked car and the driver offering me a taxi ride to where ever.

Who checks who's actually driving taxis, both types, on a regular basis? Anyone? Is it left to the police to do random stops?

Illegal 'taxis' are on our streets now?

To drive a licensed black cab in Edinburgh legally you need an Edinburgh Council licence. Spot checks are done by both police and the cab office.

As I understand it, to solicit for fares on the street is illegal -- which is why private hire cars can only take pre-ordered work. However, if you enter into a private arrangement with someone to give you a lift you are not breaking the law as I understand it. The conversation would have to go something along these lines:

Car Driveer: Good evening, sir. You look like you need a lift somewhere. Can I help?
Punter: Yes please. I want to go home.
Car Driver: Let me take you there.
Punter: How kind. How much will it cost me?
Car Driver: O, I can't charge for giving you a lift. But if you would like to gift me a small sum for my troubles I would be happy to accept.

Of course, the driver has absolutely no protection. The punter can walk off into the night if he so chooses.

Looking at it the other way , would you want to pick up some random at god knows what hour in your private car and risks that could go with it ?

I agree Forza. Worst case scenario, you could get a fucking Gunt in your car. No for me. They are wankers.

It doesn't account for standard of living in these places. Do you have figures for countries in britain for more valid comparison :077:

http://www.phtm.co.uk/file/taxi-fare-league-tables/taxi-fares-league-table-november-2014.pdf

UK fares on a straight run 2 mile journey on tariff 1 (daytime on a weekday)
Few other averages in there, pretty unscientific as traffic etc can affect things- pretty sure paper copy goes into greater depth but it's a long time since I saw one.

I've been using Uber for over a year and it's fantastic from a consumer perspective.

Much cheaper, much more convenient and a dramatically more pleasant experience.

Great news.

Additionally, I take regular trips to and from the airport, as do many of my colleagues. Currently I pay >25 and it's not at peak times - pretty much the ideal fare I'd imagine. I'd be happy to give my booking to the same driver each time. If I find a great driver, I'm sure my colleagues would use him/her too.

Why not use the tram ?

I can see why there's a few concerns.

Uber driver sacked for asking London passenger to perform oral sex...

HERE

Why not use the tram ?

Southfield got it - only goes to centre of town or I would. Maybe ;-)

I can see why there's a few concerns.

Uber driver sacked for asking London passenger to perform oral sex...

HERE

It's a much better story with "Uber driver" than the same with "taxi driver". You can find bad people in any job.

Taxi driver jailed for life for murdering nightclubber, 22, he picked up as she walked home - but escapes justice for second killing after police blunder | Daily Mail Online

Exclusive: Detectives discover SECRET LAIR of serial killer taxi driver | UK | News | Daily Express

I'm not interested in point scoring, or being judgemental BTW.

The reason for the post was due to the thread title and that the link was posted up by a mutual friend on Facebook, that was my only reason for the post. I'm also well aware you can find baddies in all walks of life/jobs.:doh

Just another reason that i'm glad I got out of it. Better tucked up in bed than putting life or liberty at risk for the sake of a poxy few quid. All the bevvied arses, fare dodgers, robbers and sex pests can fuck right off.

Are Private Hires a Taxi though? Ducks....

I'm not interested in point scoring, or being judgemental BTW.

The reason for the post was due to the thread title and that the link was posted up by a mutual friend on Facebook, that was my only reason for the post. I'm also well aware you can find baddies in all walks of life/jobs.:doh

I misunderstood it as you being concerned due to stories like the one you posted.

Is there not a taxi driver union of sorts? I think the application is ace, sadly it's being run by a less ace set of people. If taxi drivers could somehow unite under their own app... Cheaper fares for punters and more take home pay for drivers.

FFS...Never been to Oz but everyone I speak to who has or is from Oz tell me Edinburgh taxis are a credit to our city compared to Oz where the taxis are dirty and most drivers have trouble with basic English.
Edinburgh taxis are certainly alright but it's the council that set prices that are uber high. I don't mimd the idea of shaking things up, I also wish some kind of taxi driver union would do what uber have done. The whole market needs opened up and currently the cost of a taxi plate alone are highly prohibitive.The idea of bad taxi drivers getting a user rating also appeals. I think it's progress if there is come back on bad service. I've had too many rides where the driver has not gone the quickest and cheapest route. I tend to care less when I'm seeking a ride home on a saturday night. I do mind a lot more when the reason for hailing a cab is speed.