Tyson Fury

Kenny

witch hunt on someone with faith or his he a "dickhead" as reported?

I think he's a bit of a bigoted dick but this SNP hysteria calling the BBC all sorts for nominating him for whatever it is he's been nominated for is just OTT. He's entitled to his opinions and whatever they are shouldn't affect how we judge his sporting achievements IMO.

I think he's a bit of a bigoted $#@! but this SNP hysteria calling the BBC all sorts for nominating him for whatever it is he's been nominated for is just OTT. He's entitled to his opinions and whatever they are shouldn't affect how we judge his sporting achievements IMO.

I have no opinion on this, but in the interests of clarity, I believe it's the "BBC Sports Personality of the Year" he's been nominated for, so it's not technically his sporting achievements being recognised.

Because we all know that this award is about personality. :lookaround:

I think he's a bit of a bigoted dick but this SNP hysteria calling the BBC all sorts for nominating him for whatever it is he's been nominated for is just OTT. He's entitled to his opinions and whatever they are shouldn't affect how we judge his sporting achievements IMO.

What about this guy's "hysteria" is that OK or is it only when the SNP get involved that it tweaks up to hysteria?

LGBT campaigner Scott Cuthbertson, who began the petition for Fury to be removed from the SPOTY shortlist, accused the BBC of double standards, adding that if the comments had been racist the boxer would have been dropped.

I've been out of the country so didn't know anything about this. A quick google tells me one SNP MP ( who I've always assumed is gay) wrote one letter pretty much conveying an opinion most decent folk would hopefully agree with. Not quite sure how that transferred into SNP hysteria, but crack on.

Fury does have a personality, but it's fucking pretty bleak one.

I've been out of the country so didn't know anything about this. A quick google tells me one SNP MP ( who I've always assumed is gay) wrote one letter pretty much conveying an opinion most decent folk would hopefully agree with. Not quite sure how that transferred into SNP hysteria, but crack on.

Fury does have a personality, but it's $#@!ing pretty bleak one.

Shouldn't the public be left to demonstrate that through voting (or not voting) then?

They should. The public will probably dismiss what he said and vote for him anyway. I would prefer if they didn't because the guy is a right cock but I fear they will.

Lot of people on Radio Scotland this morning getting all in a tiz, none said which party they might vote for!

If half the things that have been attributed are true the guys a fuckin nutter.

I wouldn't vote for him but I'm not voting for anyone else either. As someone has already said there's a lack of genuine personality in any of them :-)

That's the conundrum though innit? To become BBC sports personality of the year these sports people must be among the elite of elite athletes at the absolute pinnacle of their careers.

The time they dedicate to their sports probably means they don't spend much time doing other things or mixing with people outside of their sports making them somewhat ... errrr ... boring!

interesting portrait piece here: http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/dec/07/tyson-fury-outrage-homosexuality-women-religion-divisive-sporting-star

if at times its a wee bit pseudo-pysch it does give a fuller picture of the man than the quotes out there...

I disagree with his views but dont think he should be stopped from giving them - I wouldn't vote for him for SPOTY but then again I would vote for something like that anyway
I love it when The Guardian gets torn between two of its sensibilities. Sexist Homophobic bad, must criticise vs Travelling Community good, must praise.

The guys a wank and a boring boxer as well so that's on two accounts why he shouldn't win.

I love it when The Guardian gets torn between two of its sensibilities. Sexist Homophobic bad, must criticise vs Travelling Community good, must praise.

The guys a wank and a boring boxer as well so that's on two accounts why he shouldn't win.

that's not the question though is it - the question is should he be removed from consideration for SPOTY.

on the boring question - I haven't watched his fights so no idea but his achievement is pretty remarkable. I wouldn't be complaining too much if Hibs won the Scottish playing negative football - never-mind the champions league which is maybe a closer analogy to Fury winning the heavyweight championship of the world? he cannae be more boring than Lewis feckin Hamilton?

#WatchedAndListenedToNewsAllDaySoCrackOnIShallYa####!

that's not the question though is it - the question is should he be removed from consideration for SPOTY.

on the boring question - I haven't watched his fights so no idea but his achievement is pretty remarkable. I wouldn't be complaining too much if Hibs won the Scottish playing negative football - never-mind the champions league which is maybe a closer analogy to Fury winning the heavyweight championship of the world? he cannae be more boring than Lewis feckin Hamilton?

Na wouldn't remove him.

The closer analogy would be hibs winning the champions league playing negative football...and no team from Spain, Germany, England, Italy, Portugal, Holland, France, Belgium, Greece or Russia taking part. Heavyweight boxing has never been weaker, a guy winning the title in one of the worst championship bouts in history in such a weak world division doesn't merit sportsman of the year.

Na wouldn't remove him.

The closer analogy would be hibs winning the champions league playing negative football...and no team from Spain, Germany, England, Italy, Portugal, Holland, France, Belgium, Greece or Russia taking part. Heavyweight boxing has never been weaker, a guy winning the title in one of the worst championship bouts in history in such a weak world division doesn't merit sportsman of the year.

I totally agree with Gun, but that's cause I know fuck all about the current state of boxing so, you're both right. You juxtaposed pricks.

I tend to laugh at things that are funny.

So that will be no very many then? The boy Nicholson is openly gay by the way.

Oh FFS Mark it was a wee bit of light hearted banter between me and the Southfield gadgie!

Nicholson? Open to question :)

Joke of a sport.

Agreed :)

It ceased to be a 'sport' a long time ago. In fact 'farce' is what springs to my mind when i think of, certainly heavyweight boxing, now. To think of the greats of the past, genuine greats who built the sport up, compared to the jokers who are shaming it now, and not just the 'fighters' of dubious quality but the promoters who have ruined a once great sport. Millions of titles with umpteen champions...watered down pish and none of those 'champions' willing to fight each other. Dom fuckin King has to go down as one of the greediest and greatest ruiners of the sport, imo....his legacy is that boxing now is embarrassing. Absolutely embarrassing.

Joke of a sport.

It is not uncommon for re-matches to be written into title fights...that happened even in the days of Ali, Foreman etc. Fury cannot please everyone, he won 3 titles by winning one match. The issue is to do with so many different belts/organisations. Fury may not have been given a shot if he did not agree to sign for a rematch so the fault does not lay at his door. By signing to allow a rematch he effectively gave up at least one belt knowing he could not do a mandatory challenge. Does it make him any less of a champion? He has not refused the fight, but has to honour the rematch agreement and then he can fight the other guys...providing the WBO and WBC do not insist he fights some other guy, of course he may decide to unify the WBC belt by fighting Wilder. Whatever he does it is wrong should anyone accuse him of dodging or rigging fights at this stage. He does not write the deals, he can only fight who is put in front of him.

The whole system is flawed but will not be fixed easily. One way would be for fighters to aim for one particular belt, but there will always be guys who will not want to wait their turn for a fight and therefore go for a different belt. Maybe that is a good way forward, let different groups compete for different belts then have them challenge each other? I dunno the answer, but even if we only had one belt there would never be enough time to fight all the challengers, well enough of them to satisfy everyone. Money talks in boxing, same as it talks in football. We can sit back believing all is fair in football, but the reality is that although individual players may get a chance to shine, the clubs are very much at the mercy of who has the money and what league they belong to.

Just to follow on a little, I like boxing, and have a son who was a very good amateur boxer. However i am distancing myself from the pro game these days as I see the real damage it does to people, both mentally and physically and wonder what people will put themself through for money, and lets be honest it is money. Some people talk of winning the world title, but the vast majority are kept going by the thought of rising our their current life by making some money. Yes many do love the sport, but is it sport to batter some guys brains in?

Ali is remembered with fondness, but his use of humour at other peoples expense is not quite so funny when you look at the effect it had on those he verbally abused. Read this article on Frazier and you realise that Ali picked on people who were not literate enough to engage in a verbal slanging match and it only festered a deeper hatred from his opponents. Foreman also detested Ali during this era.

Joe Frazier dead: Boxing champ poisoned by Muhammad Ali hatred he couldn't let go | Daily Mail Online

For me that's why Ali is such an interesting character, I always like my heroes to be flawed ones. He could be quite brutal dishing out 'Uncle Tom' insults and some of his nation of islam quotes were much more racist than anything Donald Trump has came out with in recent days. A great man tho, loads of really good biographies out there.

I think it's a bit unfair to compare the current heavyweight mob in comparison to Ali in terms of charisma and excitement as he is an all time sporting great. So I won't. I'll compare them to Frank Bruno. A clown of a man but more personality in his little toe than any heavyweight the past decade.

I understand your point on contracts but the amount of dodging that goes on is a farce. For Mayweather and Pacquio to eventually meet at that stage in their career sums up the rigged sport.

For me that's why Ali is such an interesting character, I always like my heroes to be flawed ones. He could be quite brutal dishing out 'Uncle Tom' insults and some of his nation of islam quotes were much more racist than anything Donald Trump has came out with in recent days. A great man tho, loads of really good biographies out there.

I think it's a bit unfair to compare the current heavyweight mob in comparison to Ali in terms of charisma and excitement as he is an all time sporting great. So I won't. I'll compare them to Frank Bruno. A clown of a man but more personality in his little toe than any heavyweight the past decade.

I understand your point on contracts but the amount of dodging that goes on is a farce. For Mayweather and Pacquio to eventually meet at that stage in their career sums up the rigged sport.

I'll certainly agree with your latter point

Don't you trust the public or do you simply favour the increasingly prevalent secularia law approach to regulating public life?

I certainly don't trust public opinion. Are you trying to lay some sort of devious intellectual trap by even asking that question? I'm thinking on my toes here, but I can't recall one single publicly held opinion recently that I nodded along with thing, 'aye, well done the public'. Can you?

corbyn over the blairites

nah, that's a niche one that.Only driven by the small % of folk actually engaged with politics. Most don't care or know the difference.

its the little englander attitude - for all scotland isn't as left wing as portrayed i do think england is more right wing than portrayed ....with that being true, you're unlikely to find a sweeping center left statement from the public at large....if thats what you are looking for.?

Don't you trust the public or do you simply favour the increasingly prevalent secularia law approach to regulating public life?

This is apropos of nothing, Eedge, or at least certainly not any hidden agenda, I'm just curious - have you heard of a bloke called Brendan O'Neill?

I only ask because I've been doing a bit of reading/watching to try and arm myself with knowledge and answers to the sort of all-pervasive feminist/BME (brand new acronym for me)/Trans orthodoxy at the university. Ironically, given I consider myself (perhaps wrongly!) one of the more moderate types on the Bounce, I find myself increasingly laid into at the university because I'm uncomfortable with a lot of their assertions (or perhaps more accurately 'demands'), and their ramifications for not just free speech, but also simple productive debate and discussion.

Anyhoo, I watched a panel discussion last night (part of a series called London Thinks) on this very topic, chaired by Samira Ahmed, on the topic 'Should Universities be Intellectual ‘Safe Spaces’?' (you can find it on YouTube if you're interested) where he was basically defending his position against a trio of feminists; Beatrix Campbell, Dr Pam Lowe, and Bahar Mustafa, who I now understand was part of some big controversy during her time as "Head of Diversity" or something at Goldsmiths. She was a total car crash, too.

Anyway, I thought he did well given his isolated position. I also thought you might be interested.

I was obviously missing something and just went for a wee search of what Fury has stated.

Too many knocks to the heid is the first conclusion.

No. I'm just talking to my consistent line that I find the urge to shut down and silence to be sinister. At least you have been honest that public opinion isn't to be trusted in your view - most of those who want to shut people up don't have the cojones for such honesty.

I'm not sure what makes some folk entitled to silence views they disagree with but there we are - history tells us it's always been there.

I have never felt the urge other than when people are directly inciting violence. So to answer your question - there are plenty of things where I don't share majority views, and there are plenty of views expressed that i consider to be in a different league than furys. But for me this does not lead to the conclusion that I want those people silenced.

This is apropos of nothing, Eedge, or at least certainly not any hidden agenda, I'm just curious - have you heard of a bloke called Brendan O'Neill?

I only ask because I've been doing a bit of reading/watching to try and arm myself with knowledge and answers to the sort of all-pervasive feminist/BME (brand new acronym for me)/Trans orthodoxy at the university. Ironically, given I consider myself (perhaps wrongly!) one of the more moderate types on the Bounce, I find myself increasingly laid into at the university because I'm uncomfortable with a lot of their assertions (or perhaps more accurately 'demands'), and their ramifications for not just free speech, but also simple productive debate and discussion.

Anyhoo, I watched a panel discussion last night (part of a series called London Thinks) on this very topic, chaired by Samira Ahmed, on the topic 'Should Universities be Intellectual ‘Safe Spaces’?' (you can find it on YouTube if you're interested) where he was basically defending his position against a trio of feminists; Beatrix Campbell, Dr Pam Lowe, and Bahar Mustafa, who I now understand was part of some big controversy during her time as "Head of Diversity" or something at Goldsmiths. She was a total car crash, too.

Anyway, I thought he did well given his isolated position. I also thought you might be interested.
Yes I have - gotta dash but will pick up later. Strange journey for old brenders from Marxist to defender of free speech.