Total shambles

hibee81

after watching that scotland performance tonight, how can levein comment on deeks workrate, and say hes nae scotland material. he for me might well have just been enough with out and out attacking flair to turn that game around.

because from what i seen there was not one player who deserved to play in that shirt tonight:banger::banger::banger::banger::banger::banger:

after watching that scotland performance tonight, how can levein comment on deeks workrate, and say hes nae scotland material. he for me might well have just been enough with out and out attacking flair to turn that game around.

because from what i seen there was not one player who deserved to play in that shirt tonight:banger::banger::banger::banger::banger::banger:

Bit harsh mate, thought fletcher done well to try and kep things going, but Robson, ffs, how many times on Friday and tonight did you hear the commentator say 'Robson's better than that' eh, no he's no, maybe a bit biased but I reckon Deek would have at least made the keeper work at some of the set pieces

Harry Potter - GTF

il give you fletcher but once again the shower of s&^t around around him make him look average, which means he tries to to it all himself, must be so frustrating.

and charlie nicholas summed it p for me, when he mentioned the so called higher grade players whom play for either of the old firm who didnt show enough fight or ability. Levein get rid of team weegie and start picking players on merit alone!!!!!!!!!

il give you fletcher but once again the shower of s&^t around around him make him look average, which means he tries to to it all himself, must be so frustrating.

and charlie nicholas summed it p for me, when he mentioned the so called higher grade players whom play for either of the old firm who didnt show enough fight or ability. Levein get rid of team weegie and start picking players on merit alone!!!!!!!!!

Agree with you their mate, Broonaldo could have been sitting in the stand for all he done, 4.5 mill for him, hats off to Rod for that, at least Champaign Charlie says it how it is,but unfortunaltey their will always be west coast bias in the SFA, at least under 21's got through

At least Deek's cant be labelled with that shite.Now we know why Rangers or Celtic wouldn't survive playing in England as the team were made up from most old firm or ex old firm players.Maybe they should have gave billy stark the job he had the U21 team playing some nice football tonight:rollfloor

I fail to see what Naismith offers that Deek doesnt:dunno:

Slightly more pace and less talent and he is keeping Riordan sitting in the hoose.:pullhair:

Really wish we would give it a rest about Riordan. You need more that goals to produce at international level even against shite. Look at Boyd, one of our most prolific scorers ever and he looked so out of place tonight its unreal. As for slating Robson, he got us the win did he know, looked dangerous and set up the goal.

Charlie Nicholas was totally raging! I think Gordon was in shell shock after Charlies rants, hats off to him though, he said what he thought of the performance.
Scotland were dire, very little creativity, Hutton showed it during the game when he had the ball and you could see him saying come on who wants the ball, no movement off the ball.
Morrison was decent when he came on, injected a bit of a spark,
The team needs a radical rethink, and i know the objective by the SFA to Potter is get Scotland to the Euros any way possible, but start now and by the 2014 WC we may have a decent team, and by decent i mean not grinding out a spectacular 2-1 victory over a team with a population the size of a large town.
Still the only way is up, roll on the next game in Prague:giggle:

If this is a Scotland thread can I move it to the General Fitba forum?

Deek wid have shown Robson how to take a free kick 2nite.I think Levein is an arsehole for not recognising what Riordan could bring to his team, an ability to unlock a defence, a genuine free kick threat and a scoring touch.Deek should be gettin picked for Scotland, and if he`d made it at Smeltic, u can bet yer arse he wid be gettin picked.

Is it Levein and his guntness that infuriates people as I don't see any difference in how we play now as in previous years , I still see a Scotland manager who refuses to pick Deek be it rightly or wrongly , rightly in my eyes, so what's with the grief, if Fergue was in charge of Scotland right now I don't think you would be seeing Deeks there either!!!!!!

You could put Jose Mourinho with Sir Alex as his assistant in charge of Scotland and it wouldn't make one bit of difference....Any international manager is completely dependent on the quality of players available to him, and right now we have barely any players of international standard available to Levein. Darren Fletcher, Craig Gordon, and perhaps Alan Hutton and that'a about it. The rest are decent club players who cannot make the step up to international level.

RE last nights game: Scotland really had to get an early goal, and failed to do so. The longer it went on at 0-0 the more Lichtenstein gained in confidence with the Hampden crowd getting on the players backs. I thought many of our players lacked energy and we moved the ball far too slowly. We certainly got out of jail with McManus's goal which should never have been since the referee added on two further minutes than he should have. the Czech Republic losing was the best result of the night for us, that and our Under 21's winning through to the play off's.

When Alan Hutton is the only stand out you know you have problems. Scraping a win at home to a bunch of part timers,its embarrassing.
Scottish football is dead right now and does not look like getting better anytime soon.

When Alan Hutton is the only stand out you know you have problems. Scraping a win at home to a bunch of part timers,its embarrassing.
Scottish football is dead right now and does not look like getting better anytime soon.

Hutton played well against Lithuania but had a nightmare last night (as did nearly all his team-mates).

And for the Robson-Riordan debate - which would yous want tae take a free-kick frae just ootside the box ? I know my choice an' he disnae play in England.

Hutton played well against Lithuania but had a nightmare last night (as did nearly all his team-mates).

And for the Robson-Riordan debate - which would yous want tae take a free-kick frae just ootside the box ? I know my choice an' he disnae play in England.

Are you suggesting that we have Riordan in the squad just to take free kicks?

Its not just a case of taking the odd free kick, Riordon has worked hard to improve his game (tracking back, etc) i for one beleive with the attacking ability that he has, ability to split a defence, shooting ability, and then free kick ability along with the fact that hes a forward playing as a left midfielder for me, he should and i beleive deserves to at least be in the squad.

On ability not a doubt , but such is the game and the way we set up now unless your

6'2"
Can tackle
Header
Physical
Your not playing, C Morrison is way ahead of Deek but can't get near the starting line up !!!

On ability not a doubt , but such is the game and the way we set up now unless your

6'2"
Can tackle
Header
Physical
Your not playing, C Morrison is way ahead of Deek but can't get near the starting line up !!!

6'2" - nope hes not, so il give you that one
Can tackle - why do you need to tackle if you can keep hold of the ball as this is what we should be doing.
header - im sure he can header a ball, just might not be able to outjump some, anyway football was meant to be played in the air!!!!!!
Physical - deek puts himself about just as much as anyone IMO

Can tackle - why do you need to tackle if you can keep hold of the ball as this is what we should be doing.
header - im sure he can header a ball, just might not be able to outjump some, anyway football was meant to be played in the air!!!!!!

Yeah ok maybe I'm wrong and had overlooked deeks strong arm approach,his heading and tackling.

Apologies

If ever there was a case of green tinted spectacles.

IMO Deek aint good enough to compete against internationalists. Look how much McFadden struggled the other night.

Do you not rate Hutton? Why are we intent on bringing down our own genuinely gifted players?

If ever there was a case of green tinted spectacles.

IMO Deek aint good enough to compete against internationalists. Look how much McFadden struggled the other night.

Its not a case of green tinted specs, FFS not one player the other night looked any better than deeks and to be fair he might just need that chance now that hes grown up a wee bit to prove he's worthy of a shot in the squad, and ur right about faddy, but hes always been overrated anyway IMO so i think get rid of the dead wood and give others a chance.

It is mate, you said Riordan gets stuck in as much as anyone else, as much as who? My grannie maybe.

You said he can header the ball just cant jump........ No bother explaining that one.

Riordan has actually got slower in the last few years.

If ever there was a case of green tinted spectacles. Look how much McFadden struggled the other night.
Ditto Hutton, Robson , McManus (despite the goal), Kenny Miller (despite the goal) McCulloch.....against the national team o' a country the size o' Midlothian !

Why are we intent on bringing down our own genuinely gifted players?
But that's what your doing with Deek mate :dunno:

Even if he has no chance of playing (which he won't under Potter) he's gifted enough to at least be in the squad.

Personally I think he's better off out of it all but I feel shan for him, cos it must hurt to know you won't be picked.

But that's what your doing with Deek mate :dunno:

Even if he has no chance of playing (which he won't under Potter) he's gifted enough to at least be in the squad.

Personally I think he's better off out of it all but I feel shan for him, cos it must hurt to know you won't be picked.

You know after I wrote it I thought that myself but I'm basically stating 'facts' about Deek IMO. The guy doesn't header, get stuck in and he has lost alot of pace IMO but he's still a talent in the spl.

Alot of players will be pisses off, look at Boyd, he's no starte enough games that he feels he should have I bet. I can't see him starting too many more games under Levein.

You know after I wrote it I thought that myself but I'm basically stating 'facts' about Deek IMO. The guy doesn't header, get stuck in and he has lost alot of pace IMO but he's still a talent in the spl.

Alot of players will be pisses off, look at Boyd, he's no starte enough games that he feels he should have I bet. I can't see him starting too many more games under Levein.

deeks doesna header a ball because there shouldn't be any need for him too!!!!!!!!!
he wants to play football on the deck the way it was meant to be played, yes he has lost pace but still has the ability to waltz past players despite the lack of pace, and if your chasing a 50 yard pass for most of the game your going to tire and lose pace!!!!!!!!
and for me deeks does get stuck in where possible just hasnt got the physical build, but again if he has the ball at feet hes a hungry as the next.

Is it Levein and his guntness that infuriates people as I don't see any difference in how we play now as in previous years , I still see a Scotland manager who refuses to pick Deek be it rightly or wrongly , rightly in my eyes, so what's with the grief, if Fergue was in charge of Scotland right now I don't think you would be seeing Deeks there either!!!!!!

A was just tryin to make a point.Derek Riordan is one of the most gifted players we have and i think it would be in the Scotland managers interests to look at him. i know he lacks in certain areas, but i think he`s done enuff to earn at least a place in the Scotland squad to give us another attackin option.In the few minutes he`s played for Scotland , he hasn`t let himself doon and actually looked good. He`s earned the right and i`ll say it again.....if he hudnae pissed Strachen aff and made it at Smeltic, he would be gettin picked for Scotland[/FONT][/FONT]