Too cauld?

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-24107609

Normally I would never, ever even think about putting the heating on at this time of year but I have an Aussie staying with me and they whine like little bitches about the cauld. So, I whapped it on for an hour to take the edge off* last night.

Usually, my heating if on timed from some point in Oct to some point in Feb, timer kicks in 6am off at 7:30am, back on at 16:30 to 8pm.

The rest of the year it's off 24/7.

Anyone whapped their heating on yet?

*take the edge off the moaning rather than the cauld.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-24107609

Normally I would never, ever even think about putting the heating on at this time of year but I have an Aussie staying with me and they whine like little bitches about the cauld. So, I whapped it on for an hour to take the edge off* last night.

Usually, my heating if on timed from some point in Oct to some point in Feb, timer kicks in 6am off at 7:30am, back on at 16:30 to 8pm.

The rest of the year it's off 24/7.

Anyone whapped their heating on yet?

*take the edge off the moaning rather than the cauld.

I havent as yet but I was tempted last night. Unfortunately I cant work out how to work the timer on mine so it only goes on when I switch it on. I'm sure with a little application I could work it through. Also, the radiator in my bathroom always seems filled with air and although I have a release valve fitted to it, that doesnt work worth a sook.

What are those fannys cutting about just now in wooly hats, scarfs and gloves going to wear when it actually gets cold??

I havent as yet but I was tempted last night. Unfortunately I cant work out how to work the timer on mine so it only goes on when I switch it on. I'm sure with a little application I could work it through. Also, the radiator in my bathroom always seems filled with air and although I have a release valve fitted to it, that doesnt work worth a sook.

The interfaces for boiler timers are gash. Well, my one is. Works a treat once you get your head around it. My boiler is on it's last legs though. They're no cheap.

Also, re your bathroom one; I don't know what the issue is but you have to have at least one heater in the system that doesn't have the ability to be switched off for some reason. Some other @@$@ can explain or debunk.

I stuck the fire on one night last week to take the edge off. I switched the heating on yesterday, as it was cold.

Tipped it on for the odd hour here and there.

It beats going to the local library for a warm.

First time on Sunday for a couple of hours and again last night.

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

jumper in the hoose instead of t-shirts. Reckon a couple more weeks and the heating will become more a permanent fixture.

Extra layer now on for cycling in the AM.

heating been on low for the last 2 weeks but i have young ones in the house and its colder up here anyways :glassraise:.

Not yet, trying to resist, just wearing more layers around the house, my plasma TV heats the front room no bad.

I need to setup a timer when it gets colder but can never been arsed reading instructions for it. Definitely setting a morning one. My heating will be more for my wee girl who's about to turn 1 rather than me.

Fired it on for an hour last night, first time since March/April I'm sure.

Looks like I might be doing the same again tonight.

FFS folks, it's nae wonder us jocks get slagged for being tight arses :banger:

If its cauld you put your heating on !!! What's the point in having it if your going to be cold !! If your not using it, your paying a standing charge to be freezing!!
My heating has been on a few times in the last 2 weeks. We are not a 3rd world country yet. Plenty time to get cauld when your deid :giggle:
It's a bit like the folk who buy fancy cars but are scared to take them anywhere in case they get scratched or dirty :hmmm

Yer heating is as auld as the doc :giggle:

If it had a drain. And you knew where the feed and expansion tank is you could "treat" it.. Yer air prob isnae air :wink: but hydrogen gas which is an aging process in heating systems. Next time see if you can light it with....

A Lighter :rascal:

3.5k for new so when you win the lotto gimme a shout :)
:coffee:

It's not in the first flush of youth I will grant you.

I know where the drain is but a plumber fukked the screw on it and it needs replaced. Its under the floor under my washing machine handily enough :roll:

I also ken where the expansion tank is :roll: :roll:

Not got the money to replace it. I think the release valve should have been on the other side of the radiator and it could do with being changed over to prove or disprove my theory :rascal:

Rad should be level so either side should be fine.. Its probably in technical terms "fucked" :giggle:

What the fukk are you sitting there for then. Get up to the Dubbery and do something about it. Call yourself a plumber, sheeesh.

The release valve thingy is maybe just shit. If I get one will you come and fit it for me? Or rather, can you get one and come and fit it for me. II should maybe check the radiator is level - bring a level thingmy with you :giggle:

I was told by some plumber or other that it would be relatively easy to change over the stopcock for the drain. It would need some Frozen bags? He said you put them on the pipe to freeze the water in it and then cut out the bit with the damaged stopcock and replace that part with a new one. If that is indeed doable I am happy to pay to get it done and then get the treatment for hydrogen gas[?].

Let me ken poshboy.