The national

Shades

In light of the disgraceful way that the Herald has acted in conceding to the intimidatory actions of that vile institution from Ibrox, being that the National is a sister title to the Herald, is it still correct to support it and buy it if you are a supporter of Independence?

Should the title stand or fall by it's own actions/mistakes or should it be condemned by association? I'm sure that there are Editors and journalists that work on both - from that the question also arises as to if the writers should be thrown out with the same bath water as the owners?

i find the actions of the Herald disgusting. I don't always agree with Graham Speirs but I do think that he is considered, articulate and honest. These are clearly not the desired qualities of the so called free press in this country and in particular, the west of Scotland.

Thoughts?

I think for the most part the printed Scottish Media is fucked.

There may be decent journalists out there, they certainly don't work on any sports desk.

The rag tops are beyond discussion.

The Hootsmon has been on the rocks for a while now it's as good as dead.

The Herald as we know has taken paid articles from sevco and now this. How can anyone trust them now?

In light of the disgraceful way that the Herald has acted in conceding to the intimidatory actions of that vile institution from Ibrox, being that the National is a sister title to the Herald, is it still correct to support it and buy it if you are a supporter of Independence?

Should the title stand or fall by it's own actions/mistakes or should it be condemned by association? I'm sure that there are Editors and journalists that work on both - from that the question also arises as to if the writers should be thrown out with the same bath water as the owners?

i find the actions of the Herald disgusting. I don't always agree with Graham Speirs but I do think that he is considered, articulate and honest. These are clearly not the desired qualities of the so called free press in this country and in particular, the west of Scotland.

Thoughts?
Totally agree. It's even worse IMHO than papers printing arsehole stuff under their own steam. Taking directions from that institution and moreover where the issue is its unseriousness in tackling the poison it thrives on, it makes us seem like a banana republic. Stuff like this makes you wonder whether Scotland can cope with independence.

I too think it is far worse than printing a lot of shite. Once the outlet agrees to censorship and editorial proof-reading, as the record did previously, by a Football club, then the game really is a bogie and shows this country up for the narrow-minded backwater that some sections of our society seem to revel in and celebrate. I find it incredibly depressing. It seems that mob-rule and knuckle staggers really do influence far too much here. It's been heightened and brought to the fore by the whole Rangers disgrace - from start to finish. The whole fucking country needs a collective boot up the arse and a reminder that what's right and true is worth standing up for.

It doesn't dent my will for Independence. One reason being that the whole episode is driven by a section who are, by their own admission, steadfast Unionists......maybe they'll fuck off after Independence.

i do think that it creates a question for the Nstional though. They can't simulteaneously support Independence yet lie-down to the intimidation from a group that identifies with Unionism and Britishness. It seems worryingly contradictory and doesn't seem to display the courage of their convictions - Unless, of course, they distance themselves from it.....somehow.

The print media is a fucking sham. Very few journalists in Scottish sport with any sort of integrity. Looks what happens when they do have this rare commodity......Chris McLaughlin!

3 companies control 70% of the newspapers in the the UK/Scotland,money talks and different opinion walks....

"The statistics gathered about the spread of local media are worrisome – 1/4 of all Local Government Areas (LGAs) aren’t served by a local newspaper, while 35% are covered by only a single local news outlet. Since March 2011, a total of 141 local papers have shut down, and now in 224 LGAs (55% of total) the same 4 companies have majority ownership of the local market.

The ownership of national newspapers remains concentrated in just a few large companies: 70% of the UK national market is controlled by just three companies (News UK, Daily Mail and General Trust, and Trinity Mirror), with Rupert Murdoch’s News UK fully holding a third of the entire market share.

55% of national radio listenership is held by the BBC’s channels, however news content for almost all commercial radio stations is provided by Sky News, giving them 43% of the national audience share for radio."

A struggling newspaper group identified an opportunity to get a pro Indy newspaper published. It is a struggling title now despite the positive spin on early sales. Scotland (and I say this as someone obviously not pro Indy) needs a quality newspaper. Both The Herald and The Scotsman are struggling. They now sell very few printed copies (combined around 60,000 a day) and although both have fantastic online audiences it is very difficult to monetise. I hope someone sees sense and the titles merge to create a new dynamic quality newspaper for Scotland....

The print media is a $#@!ing sham. Very few journalists in Scottish sport with any sort of integrity. Looks what happens when they do have this rare commodity......Chris McLaughlin!

I think that's bollocks. There are many quality journalists in Scotland with integrity.

A struggling newspaper group identified an opportunity to get a pro Indy newspaper published. It is a struggling title now despite the positive spin on early sales. Scotland (and I say this as someone obviously not pro Indy) needs a quality newspaper. Both The Herald and The Scotsman are struggling. They now sell very few printed copies (combined around 60,000 a day) and although both have fantastic online audiences it is very difficult to monetise. I hope someone sees sense and the titles merge to create a new dynamic quality newspaper for Scotland....

I think that's bollocks. There are many quality journalists in Scotland with integrity.
If The National was to become a Scottish version of the i then it would sell more imo,just report the facts.
Folk still like the idea of a paper.....

Thoughts?

I think the guy is a complete cocksocket if I'm honest but I agree that his editor should have backed him. Worse still though is the sacking of Angela Hegarty because she tweeted something backing him up and the huns contacted the Herald demanding she be fired which of course they duly did. That is more of a story than that gimp being reprimanded. Speirs is another hun apologist most of the time.

Thoughts?

I unsubscribed from the Herald today, I have only read the National once, didnae rate it regardless of its politics.

Name a football one.

I too think it is far worse than printing a lot of $#@!e. Once the outlet agrees to censorship and editorial proof-reading, as the record did previously, by a Football club, then the game really is a bogie and shows this country up for the narrow-minded backwater that some sections of our society seem to revel in and celebrate. I find it incredibly depressing. It seems that mob-rule and knuckle staggers really do influence far too much here. It's been heightened and brought to the fore by the whole Rangers disgrace - from start to finish. The whole $#@!ing country needs a collective boot up the arse and a reminder that what's right and true is worth standing up for.

It doesn't dent my will for Independence. One reason being that the whole episode is driven by a section who are, by their own admission, steadfast Unionists......maybe they'll $#@! off after Independence.

i do think that it creates a question for the Nstional though. They can't simulteaneously support Independence yet lie-down to the intimidation from a group that identifies with Unionism and Britishness. It seems worryingly contradictory and doesn't seem to display the courage of their convictions - Unless, of course, they distance themselves from it.....somehow.
Agree with all that - it wouldn't really put me off Indy but I'm sure you get what I mean about Scotland's regressive aspects. Only point is - again I'm sure you'll agree - the national shouldn't be cow towing to any group unionist or otherwise.

Name a football one.

That 1875 felly that does the hibs reports :applause:

And Jim spence :coffee:

I support independence but i dont buy the National. Bought it for the first week then stopped. I`d like to support it but in my opinion, it really isn`t a very good paper.

I`d suggest Spence and Cosgrove.

Admittedly, there isn`t a lot though. Very few in fact.

Sorry I meant in the newspapers, and even then Cosgrove is a good guy but a feardie at heart.

Agree with all that - it wouldn't really put me off Indy but I'm sure you get what I mean about Scotland's regressive aspects. Only point is - again I'm sure you'll agree - the national shouldn't be cow towing to any group unionist or otherwise.

That 1875 felly that does the hibs reports :applause:

And Jim spence :coffee:

Well thank you, I am certainly one who isnae feared to call them a bunch of Hun scumbag dobbers.

Name a football one.

No reason to my mind to question the integrity of Graham Spiers, Tom English and indeed the Hibby Kenny Millar?

Certainly miles ahead of wanks such as Keith Jackson, Hugh Keevins & Chic Young....

No reason to my mind to question the integrity of Graham Spiers, Tom English and indeed the Hibby Kenny Millar?

Certainly miles ahead of wanks such as Keith Jackson, Hugh Keevins & Chic Young....

I would give you Spiers, although he and English cannae quite spit out what we (and I suspect they) are thinking. Miller has said nowt about the disgrace that is the Huns, nothing. And he writes for that fucking rag.

I would give you Spiers, although he and English cannae quite spit out what we (and I suspect they) are thinking. Miller has said nowt about the disgrace that is the Huns, nothing. And he writes for that $#@!ing rag.

That's the problem. None do say it probably because for their employment they can't? It's a fuckin disgrace that the only journalist who openly and honestly reported what was going on at Scotland's Shame was a Channel 4 journalist.

So very few then? 3 is hardly an overwhelming number.

Print media is dead, no matter what the title or owner. Journos need to find a way of earning a crust via the likes of twitter etc, but that's a hard one.Driving click thrus to their own websites and the accompanying advertising revenues or vlogs on youtube is the future, or sponsorships from betting companies. Not what we're all used to, but the future of journalism as a whole, not just sports/football.You can see the likes of Hunter/Balague dabbling already.

So very few then? 3 is hardly an overwhelming number.

I'd say most have integrity. I'm not going to fall into one huge trap of believing every politician and every journalist has no integrity and are all a shower of wanks. If they are then they must only mirror society at large?

I was a subscriber and buyer of the National, but sadly it quickly became another west coast rag, imo. No read it for ages tbh