The countryside is apparently now racist

egb_hibs

These people are truly mental.

What does this even mean? What is a rights based approach to accessing green spaces? What are British cultural values and how have they been ‘embedded into the design and management of green spaces’?

Are they trying to say teuchters are racists, or what?

“Racist colonial legacies continue to frame nature in the UK as a 'white space' and people of colour as 'out of place' in these spaces and environmental sector."

"Cultural barriers reflect that in the UK, it is white British cultural values that have been embedded into the design and management of green spaces and into society's expectations of how people should engage with them," it continued.

The report also suggests that there should be a "rights-based approach" to accessing green spaces, suggesting there be a "legally binding target for access to nature".

Is there a war on "whites" in your opinion @egb_hibs ?
From these kind of fannies, aye, but at the end of the day, they’re really at war with humanity and reality. Same with the anti white racism from some academics and other cranks. I don’t think there is a war on whites of the kind that Ryan entertains.

Now, what do you think of the point?

From these kind of fannies, aye, but at the end of the day, they’re really at war with humanity and reality. Same with the anti white racism from some academics and other cranks. I don’t think there is a war on whites of the kind that Ryan entertains.

Now, what do you think of the point?
No arsed about it.

Before you catch a fit of the vapours. That’s meant to be a deliberately nonsensical point. Like the report.

What does this even mean? What is a rights based approach to accessing green spaces? What are British cultural values and how have they been ‘embedded into the design and management of green spaces’?

“Racist colonial legacies continue to frame nature in the UK as a 'white space' and people of colour as 'out of place' in these spaces and environmental sector."

"Cultural barriers reflect that in the UK, it is white British cultural values that have been embedded into the design and management of green spaces and into society's expectations of how people should engage with them," it continued.

The report also suggests that there should be a "rights-based approach" to accessing green spaces, suggesting there be a "legally binding target for access to nature".

I know this is a parody account by Andrew Doyle but the news stories are all real.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

20240209_115949.jpg

Language is the lefts biggest problem just now.

Once you clear the weeds away, what's really being said here? There isn't enough access to green spaces for people in urban areas.

I don't even think people would mind if "and this disproportionately affects people of colour" was added to that statement.

It's so frustrating because there is probably some good can be done if the issue was framed differently.

Could the authorities not bring in forced bussing?

Or reintroduce press gangs?

Some geezer with dreads heading down for a pint of milk.

Whack him on the head and release him in the countryside.

I wonder how many of the heid yins in the Wildlife and Countryside Link are non white?

Maybe the Wildlife and Countryside Link are institutionally racist.

Because as far as i can see it's usually well off white dafties who come up with shite like that.

Language is the lefts biggest problem just now.

Once you clear the weeds away, what's really being said here? There isn't enough access to green spaces for people in urban areas.

I don't even think people would mind if "and this disproportionately affects people of colour" was added to that statement.

It's so frustrating because there is probably some good can be done if the issue was framed differently.
Well exactly. I’ve been going to the Lake District for decades, and iirc they made an effort to actively encourage minorities to visit there. The results have been very noticeably successful. Loads of black and especially Asian visitors now, when there never used to be (always loads of Jews for some reason, boldly going up peaks in their normal suits and black shoes!) I mean that’s how you do it, surely ?

As for access, well that’s a rather more complicated debate than they would like. I must less cheerfully report what while there are loads of working class folk in the boozers et al, especially up from manc or Liverpool, once you walk out into the countryside, which is free versus an expensive afternoon in the pub, you seldom see the same crowd. What access is shut to them other than through their own choices ?

Finally, this is effectively a holiday area and not the sticks, and nor does it go to the topic of green areas within urban developments. Nevertheless it makes points about access rhetoric and positive encouragement rather than more sewing of division.

Very hideously white as far as I can see
One reason we are stuck with Joe Biden, is black voters don’t want one of these sorts as candidate; and that’s pretty much all of the rest of the potential candidates.

And what about these fuckers!!!!!!! I don't think they are doing a Justin Trudeau impersonation so they are being racist.

Blackface sheep indeed. Nae wonder non white folk don't want to go into the countryside....

51RqL+iip2L._AC_UF894,1000_QL80_.jpg

Well i would think it could be read like when folk from these islands go abroad.

If you don't want to embrace the culture and the ways of the host nation then fuck it.

Stay ignorant and ghettoise.

Then when the host nation look down their noses then suck it up buttercup.

Fuc minorities, if they want tae be different fuck them, if they want tae come here and be absorbed intae our way of life, more than welcome
That's an interesting viewpoint.

How would you define 'our' way of life?

And who is/are this OUR you refer to?

I kinda get the feeling I'm not part of your tribe...
No' bothered whether you feel part of my tribe or no', I'm on about fuckers that come here and want tae live in this country but change it tae the shitholes they come fae

Well i would think it could be read like when folk from these islands go abroad.

If you don't want to embrace the culture and the ways of the host nation then fuck it.

Stay ignorant and ghettoise.

Then when the host nation look down their noses then suck it up buttercup.
it's a balance between the two we need. You can't ask anybody not living in their own country to just forget where they grew up.

Hey I'm a living example.

But you also have to make some efforts and hope you get some sympathy from the people already there.

A certain amount of Ghettoism is normal, human even. Depends on the numbers. But you only have to look at the Irishmen that were the foundation of our club to realise how far you get when the current inhabitants want you as a scapegoat for the latest economic crisis.

I seriously believe we have to somehow quantify these problems as the world becomes smaller and smaller.

Anybody thinking one country is only one people any more is deluded or so far in their own bubble they can hardly breathe.

it's a balance between the two we need. You can't ask anybody not living in their own country to just forget where they grew up.

Hey I'm a living example.

But you also have to make some efforts and hope you get some sympathy from the people already there.

A certain amount of Ghettoism is normal, human even. Depends on the numbers. But you only have to look at the Irishmen that were the foundation of our club to realise how far you get when the current inhabitants want you as a scapegoat for the latest economic crisis.

I seriously believe we have to somehow quantify these problems as the world becomes smaller and smaller.

Anybody thinking one country is only one people any more is deluded or so far in their own bubble they can hardly breathe.
It’s frowned upon in these anti-enlightenment days to make distinctions between things.

it nevertheless needs to be said there is a difference between a Scotsman moving to the Netherlands or Irish moving to Scotland, and people moving in huge numbers from a different civilisation (skin colour has nothing to do with it). It’s going to change countries profoundly.

The second problem is I’m not sure what host society people are supposed to integrate with. Even when we are not telling people that we are irredeemably evil and the cause of all their problems, it’s fragmenting without any help from new citizens. I can’t see how that works out.

Democracy is really about small differences. It mostly about different means to broadly similar ends (although not completely and this increasingly the case). I don’t know if history affords an example of democracy operating in a setting such as Europe will become.

What we need to do is focus on unifying people. That’s going to be difficult with different worldviews and belief systems and with patriotism a dirty word.

It sometimes seems to me that crumbling public services are seen as the thing that’s meant to unite people. That’s an absurd proposition to begin with; such things are outcomes of a society not the other way around. And in any case they are indeed crumbling and won’t provide any glue for much longer.

You see it in the veneration of the NHS at Olympic ceremonies and London New Years etc. It’s absolutely desperate stuff - if this is all we’ve got to bind together a rapidly changing population, then we are up the Swanee. I mean it’s a (much) more diluted version of trying to solve the Israel / Palestine situation by shared celebration of the local bus services.

Fuc minorities, if they want tae be different fuck them, if they want tae come here and be absorbed intae our way of life, more than welcome

No' bothered whether you feel part of my tribe or no', I'm on about fuckers that come here and want tae live in this country but change it tae the shitholes they come fae
And you're in Devon yeah?

You've assimilated well and write just as I imagine folk down there speak.

Well done for integrating ...

Still no word on what you meant by our way of life though.

Fuck minorities, if they want tae be different fuck them, if they want tae come here and be absorbed intae our way of life, more than welcome
So finally you admit you're a racist.
Bit odd you support a team formed by immigrants who didn't fit into "our way of life"

And you're in Devon yeah?

You've assimilated well and write just as I imagine folk down there speak.

Well done for integrating ...

Still no word on what you meant by our way of life though.
Yep, I'm in Devon, and I have assimilated and when towns and cities in Scotland start becoming places where Scots are in a minority such as is happening down here maybe you winnae be so glib

So finally you admit you're a racist.
Bit odd you support a team formed by immigrants who didn't fit into "our way of life"
Get fucked, I'm not a racist. I don't give a fuck what colour anybody is but if you want tae come here then come here and integrate. By the way I feel the same about brits that go and live in Spain etc and don't learn the language or adapt to their way of life

🤣🤣🤣🤣 Nowt like a good witch hunt Paignton.

Nae argument so you MUST be a racist.

Nae other explanation for it.