Taxi drivers ...

StevieC

Toon Army Radge
Why do we tip them (or maybe you don't)?

I can understand tipping a waitress that provides an excellent service and enhances a dining experience .. but a taxi driver?

:dunno:

Why do we tip them (or maybe you don't)?

I can understand tipping a waitress that provides an excellent service and enhances a dining experience .. but a taxi driver?

:dunno:
All of my passengers (I hope) enjoy an excellent travel experiience when I convey them to their destination, citing my wit & charm as reasons for doing so

Dont get it either. A taxi drivers just doing his job getting you from A to B or if your from out of town from A to B via Z :077: I can understand someone tipping a driver if they help them with suitcases or their shopping but otherwise :dunno:

Its like people thanking bus drivers for doing their job and stopping at the bus stop .... a habit (the thanking not the stopping) which seems to have crept in over the last few years.

Nae bastard tips me for fixing their cable boxes so expertly so i don't tip anyone either :bbb:

Nae chat = nae tip.

Exactamundo. If i get in a taxi and the driver has no response to my 'busy the night mate?' taxitalk the buggers gettin nowt but what the red numbers say. I wouldn't tip a waitress if she was a dour dipped fecker either.

i used to tip,not anymore though,i quite enjoy watching them scramble round for the change:077:

:laff:Too true!

They just expect it though, don't they? I don't tip in restaurants either unless the service is good. Cannae be bothered with this 'its part of their wages' pish.

I know someone who went to New York on holiday and left a tip in a restaurant for lunch. The waitress came running after them stating they hadn't left a big enough tip. I would have told her to GTF. Cheeky mare.

You're talking shite, I never expect anything other than the fare and have been known on many occassions to "round it down". I fsomeone's enjoyed the experience and want to tip, that's up to them, I always regard it as a bonus and never expect it, as do nmost drivers I know.

I expect Taxi drivers to tip me a few bob for the wit and wisdom i impart in the short journey we share together.

You're talking shite, I never expect anything other than the fare and have been known on many occassions to "round it down". I fsomeone's enjoyed the experience and want to tip, that's up to them, I always regard it as a bonus and never expect it, as do nmost drivers I know.

ooh the taximan speaketh :laff:

They just expect it though, don't they?
I am not so sure that the drivers do expect it, although some certainly seem to fumble about a bit when it comes to giving out change? It seems to be more of a society thing that dictates that a tip should be considered?

As an aside, I provide an excellent service with my job and also provide a bit of wit and banter (and often helpful advice over and above what is expected) but I am yet to receive a tip for it.

I just wondered why taxi driving seems to fall into the category of jobs that require a tip?

As billythehibby says-drivers don't expect tips. However,we do hope for them! I've just finished an 8 and a half hour shift in my motor(private hire not taxi) and I've made 46 in fares and 1.20 in tips! Just as well I own the motor rather than driving for someone else otherwise I'd need to pay them half of the cash.Don't think I'll be retiring to a tropical island anytime soon eh?

buckie.jpg