Tacky Things You Like

The__Proclaimer

LEGEND!!
This is on the back of The Greggs thread which has outed many of us as being classless, philistines when it comes to food. What's the other tacky things you really like even if it's slightly embarrassing or you know you should know better - any subject.

Reality TV - for me the googlebox is something for watching trash like 'Gogglebox'. I can't sit and watch 5hrs of a complex, multi-layered storyline box set at night. By that time I just don't want to think. 'Don't Tell The Bride', 'The Apprentice', 'Ex On The Beach', 'Strictly', shock Ch4 documentaries that's the stuff for me. Ram your 'Game Of Thrones'.

Crisp Rolls - not something I'd eat in front of a date but well fired roll, real butter, two packets of cheap supermarket crisps, pure heaven.

The English Premier League - and its the BBC's fault not Sky. While the latter over hype and over pay for the EPL making it extraordinarily tacky it's the Beeb's world class 'Match Of The Day' package that's got me hooked over the years. I don't particularly care about any team but I'll always have an opinion.

Women's Magazines - the guy magazine market has died but woman's ones thrive. It's the tacky weekly's I like. Wee bit of celebrity gossip can be alright but it's the real life stories that get me - totally outrageous stuff. PAEDOPHILE NEIGHBOUR ARE MY PET POODLE type stuff. Like a wee read of this trash in the bath.

Hugh Grant - posho Englishman should noise me right up but totally love his films. 'Notting Hill' is on my top 25 of all time.

Matheson's Smoked Sausage - aye a sausage that can be kept in your cupboard for six months is definitely tacky but I honestly would rather have one of these bad boys than the finest of pork chops.

Right guys lets hear your tacky confessions.

Food and drink: Those red boxes of Cheesey pasta with the luminous yellow powder in them, breville toasties, crisp sandwiches, cheap lime cordial, Buckfast, Blue WKD alcopops (they taste like blue ice-poles), blue ice-poles, slush puppies.

Films: 80s action movies. Im the sort of film junkie that could wax lyrical about art-house forgien cinema at length, but at the end of the day Id be just as happy watching Chuck Norris, Jean Claude Van Damme or even Micheal Dudikoff put Henry Silva through a plate glass window with a well placed roundhouse kick to the jaw.

I genuinely love 80s pop-punk girl group The GoGos too. Thier second album Vacation is my go to record when doing anything about the house of a Sunday.

Forgot to mention music.

Sugababes - I genuinely think they are the best all-girl group in music since The Supremes split up. Tremendous pop act.

I have a fairly eclecteic taste in music and it's a big part of my life I guess. Seen greats Ella,Miles, Duke Ellington, The Doors, The Who, Hendrix,LOVE, Son House,Chicago,Free,Sly and The Family Stone,Prince Buster, The original Skatalites, Joan Baez etc.....but my tacky little musical secret is that I adore this FFS....

[video=youtube;j9TX9syyqnc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9TX9syyqnc[/video]​

Just watched this a couple of time since posting it....camp as fuck too.

Women's Magazines - the guy magazine market has died but woman's ones thrive. It's the tacky weekly's I like. Wee bit of celebrity gossip can be alright but it's the real life stories that get me - totally outrageous stuff. PAEDOPHILE NEIGHBOUR ARE MY PET POODLE type stuff. Like a wee read of this trash in the bath.

Aw man, second that. My kid was recently in hospital having the obligatory rite of passage lego block removal op and I unexpectedly stayed overnight in Great Ormond street. They didn't have any books so the nurses lent me a stack of magazines. I was totally hooked. Unbelievably horrifying stories that were just impossible to stop reading, the equivalent of slowing down to have a look at a car accident.

On that front have you seen this? More at home in Take a Break than the Torygraph but a belter nonetheless

Woman discovers 'boyfriend' of two years is woman when she removes blindfold during sex - Telegraph

I have a fairly eclecteic taste in music and it's a big part of my life I guess. Seen greats Ella,Miles, Duke Ellington, The Doors, The Who, Hendrix,LOVE, Son House,Chicago,Free,Sly and The Family Stone,Prince Buster, The original Skatalites, Joan Baez etc.....but my tacky little musical secret is that I adore this FFS....

Just watched this a couple of time since posting it....camp as $#@! too.

Think your love of cheesy daytime soap 'Heartbeat' deserves a mention too.

Just watched this a couple of time since posting it....camp as $#@! too.

so is it barry or camp as feck :hmmm

FFS yer no very good at Making yer Mind Up :shock:

I love Bucks Fizz :yas:

Been outed.......

[video=youtube;56TfvcTWGJg]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56TfvcTWGJg[/video]​

Poundland - the snack selection is superlative. Currently doing 6 packs of brannigans, outrageous value. The way the stock changes regularly keeps you coming back but for so many items it's untouchable. Kids parties, stag nights, art stuff for bairns, Xmas stocking fillers, holiday travel essentials - the place has got the lot. Go in for one thing come out with a bags worth. Great wee inflation bursting store.

I love those salt and vinegar sticks that you get in big blue bags. Used to get the green Fries ones which were the real deal in terms of acidic tastebud crushing but they seem to have gone now. I notice Tesco stopped selling them altogether about a year ago so it's probably been discovered they send you blind or something.

This is on the back of The Greggs thread which has outed many of us as being classless, philistines when it comes to food. What's the other tacky things you really like even if it's slightly embarrassing or you know you should know better - any subject.

Reality TV - for me the googlebox is something for watching trash like 'Gogglebox'. I can't sit and watch 5hrs of a complex, multi-layered storyline box set at night. By that time I just don't want to think. 'Don't Tell The Bride', 'The Apprentice', 'Ex On The Beach', 'Strictly', shock Ch4 documentaries that's the stuff for me. Ram your 'Game Of Thrones'.

Crisp Rolls - not something I'd eat in front of a date but well fired roll, real butter, two packets of cheap supermarket crisps, pure heaven.

The English Premier League - and its the BBC's fault not Sky. While the latter over hype and over pay for the EPL making it extraordinarily tacky it's the Beeb's world class 'Match Of The Day' package that's got me hooked over the years. I don't particularly care about any team but I'll always have an opinion.

Hugh Grant - posho Englishman should noise me right up but totally love his films. 'Notting Hill' is on my top 25 of all time.

Matheson's Smoked Sausage - aye a sausage that can be kept in your cupboard for six months is definitely tacky but I honestly would rather have one of these bad boys than the finest of pork chops.

Gogglebox is the best program on the telly [MENTION=813]1875[/MENTION] agrees

Crisp sandwiches. Cheap white bread, butter & the crisps of choice. Once assembly is complete then it must be squeezed down with a flat palm of your hand before consuming.

Pasta n Sauce. Packets of pasta with a sachet of powder that you add once the pasta has cooked in boiling water. Chicken & mushroom is a particular favourite.

Superhero movies. Love them, don't really know why as I was never into comic books growing up but I love the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Comedy panel shows. 8 Out of 10 Cats, Mock the Week, Have I Got News For You etc. Basically the entirety of Dave's TV schedule.

A crisp roll is tacky?! Fuck you then.

Gogglebox is the best program on the telly [MENTION=813]1875[/MENTION] agrees

A programme which involves dafties watching dafties on television who are watching other dafties.

What a seriously mental concept.

My missus thinks it's brilliant!

I told her that our Samsung TV has a camera which is 'always on'* and that meant that in some other houses there were dafties watching her watching Gogglebox. :shock:

Seriously freaked her out.
:giggle:

*Not that far from the truth by the way.
:detective:

A programme which involves dafties watching dafties on television who are watching other dafties.

What a seriously mental concept.

My missus thinks it's brilliant!

I told her that our Samsung TV has a camera which is 'always on'* and that meant that in some other houses there were dafties watching her watching Gogglebox. :shock:

Seriously freaked her out.
:giggle:

*Not that far from the truth by the way.
:detective:

Picture? At least something from the TV camera...

Poundland - the snack selection is superlative. Currently doing 6 packs of brannigans, outrageous value. The way the stock changes regularly keeps you coming back but for so many items it's untouchable. Kids parties, stag nights, art stuff for bairns, Xmas stocking fillers, holiday travel essentials - the place has got the lot. Go in for one thing come out with a bags worth. Great wee inflation bursting store.

The six pack of marmite flavoured cheese from Poundies brilliant, love them.

RuPaul's Drag Race is probably the best thing that's ever been on TV.

Naw. She looks OK (to me).

But I swear tae god she's pure dead Leith. Bourn in the auld kirkgate, went tae DK, drinks vodkae, smokes and coughs, cannae cook, family are a mess, likes Jeremy Kyle :spew

But she's a good Hibee and wears green loads.

Tacky can be good!

The six pack of marmite flavoured cheese from Poundies brilliant, love them.

Do they sell them there? My cousin brought me some over from Australia - they are outstanding!

There's no such thing as race :huffy

Fcuk you unbeliever.

article-1368504-0B46412D00000578-513_306x351.jpg

The Dirk Pitt adventures written by Clive Cussler.

The books themselves are amazing (I.E. Tacky as fuck) but the tackiest bit I love most is when Dirk Pitt finds himself in an "I cannae see how he's going to make it out of this alive" situation.

A stranger will appear out of nowhere, have a wee chat and provide Dirk with the item he needs to get his antique motor restarted or the inspiration he was lacking to get the hell out of dodge; but not before he asks the stranger his name. "My name?" he asks "Clive Cussler" he says.

EVERY. FUCKING. BOOK. And I love it.

'Crying At The Discotheque' is brilliant [MENTION=13716]Fernando[/MENTION]. So is 'Crucified' by 'Army Of Lovers'

[video=youtube_share;EdooYar_A6g]https://youtu.be/EdooYar_A6g[/video]

Pickled ingin Fish&Chips crisps are toxicly tacky. I love them. I also love my 5 pounds plastic, telescopic, torchlight LIGHT SABRE! which I bought in Berwick years ago. I love jumping aboot, waving it aw aboot while I make the noises so convincingly.