Tablets....

LEGENDARY RADGE
No, not a dose of medicine or the sugary sweet your granny used to make, but the computery hingy.

I am thinking of getting a 'family tablet', to save lumping laptops round on holidays. Just to read the bounce, google things, maybe read a book or for the laddies to watch a filum?

Any thoughts on what is good, why, how much and where to buy?

Thanks in advance....

No, not a dose of medicine or the sugary sweet your granny used to make, but the computery hingy.

I am thinking of getting a 'family tablet', to save lumping laptops round on holidays. Just to read the bounce, google things, maybe read a book or for the laddies to watch a filum?

Any thoughts on what is good, why, how much and where to buy?

Thanks in advance....

Kindle Fire HD especially with Android 4.2 flashed on it and not too expensive now a newer version is out

I've had all 3 Samsung Galaxy Tabs cause I'm a Samsung slag!

They work very much like an android phone so if you have one you'll be using it in minutes like you've always had it.

Different accounts (Google, Bounce, Facebook) may cause issues for a family tab.

They work off wifi, unless you get a horribly expensive one, but you can always tether it through a wireless connection via your phones for 3g nae bother if you know what I mean. Not tried 4g.

8gb of inbuilt space expandable with upto a 64gb micro sd card. The one I bought was crap so getting by with a 32gb, room enough for a few thousand songs and a few movies easily.

Target price is an almost universal minimum of 130 although in the 'duty free' at the airport the other week they were just under 100.

Can't say anything about any others, I suspect like phones once you reach a certain standard they're all pretty much the same and it's a question of personal preference.

Hope this helps.

Kindle Fire HD especially with Android 4.2 flashed on it and not too expensive now a newer version is out

That was th eone I saw, 120 on Amazon.

I "used" to have a Samsung Galaxy Tab and never had any problems with it.

[MENTION=8057]Is banned[/MENTION] may be able to give you an update on how it's doing now. :coffee:

I've had all 3 Samsung Galaxy Tabs cause I'm a Samsung slag!

They work very much like an android phone so if you have one you'll be using it in minutes like you've always had it.

Different accounts (Google, Bounce, Facebook) may cause issues for a family tab.

They work off wifi, unless you get a horribly expensive one, but you can always tether it through a wireless connection via your phones for 3g nae bother if you know what I mean. Not tried 4g.

8gb of inbuilt space expandable with upto a 64gb micro sd card. The one I bought was crap so getting by with a 32gb, room enough for a few thousand songs and a few movies easily.

Target price is an almost universal minimum of 130 although in the 'duty free' at the airport the other week they were just under 100.

Can't say anything about any others, I suspect like phones once you reach a certain standard they're all pretty much the same and it's a question of personal preference.

Hope this helps.

recently purchased a galaxy tab3 and it's very good,does everything i want it to do.

Thanks Guys, what is the screen size and Jack, which airport, Edinburgh or Malaga?

I've got a 7 incher flashed with play store etc makes it so much better

[MENTION=813]1875[/MENTION]

Edinburgh.

I have the 7", all three, they fit the back pocket my jeans and various other things. Like i said earlier it's a question of taste and what you might use it for. If I watched more TV/video I might be tempted by a bigger screen.

budget - nexus 7 (or mini ipad if you already have a lot of itunes stuff)
top of the range - ipad air

i have a nexus 7, no faults with it at all. being a google it gets latest updates pronto, and doesnt have the junk installed like other branded tablets do. its lightweight, and costs only about 200.

Aye, nexus 7 is excellent. Mine was 182 when I got it. I reckon you can probably find it cheaper now.

Nexus 10 is good - I just got one for the wife. Better screen resolution than the iPad. Picked one up for about 220 from expansys - it's a Euro version but they send a uk adapter with it. I got a 15 quid off code from hotukdeals - might still be valid

Can't beat apple for hassle free ease of use and slick experience. You pay a premium certainly, but if you decide to take the plunge my recommendation would be get the cheapest (full size) model available. The only reason to consider doing otherwise is if you want to put movies on it for your work trips, in which case you'd want more memory. I'm a heavy duty user - work and play - and that's the only limit I've found with the basic model.

I've found that the Apple product you refer to has a built in word processor thesarus issue in that it turns a lot of the words into barely understandable claptrap. Must be the predictive text?

Personally I use a 10.1 Samsung Galaxy Note 2

HTML:
I've found that the Apple product you refer to has a built in word processor thesarus issue in that it turns a lot of the words into barely understandable claptrap. Must be the predictive text?

Personally I use a 10.1 Samsung Galaxy Note 2
That's a fair point. My iPhone also insists on laying my posts out like haikus!

Then again, I do everything other than posting here in Evernote which takes care of that. (One note a good alternative for anyone using windows mainly). These two products I would recommend above any choice of hardware - absolutely the canines garylocke

bit of a dolt about these things, but recently purchased a tabtronic 4 quad 10.1 screen they around 120 - mine was offer and got for around 100.

I think its pretty gash... my 2 young sons both have apple tablets at their mums house..they piss on mine.

i just use my laptop tbh - the tablet sits hardly used!

ps... one for the family.... my laddies squabbled like fuck so thie mother ended up getting the youngest his own. not sure how many kids would be sharing this new bit o kit.
anyhoo steer clear of the one i bought :thumbgrin

Fits in yer back scoop o' yer jeans. 3 o' thum!

Heavens to murgatroyd

HTML:
That's a fair point. My iPhone also insists on laying my posts out like haikus!

Then again, I do everything other than posting here in Evernote which takes care of that. (One note a good alternative for anyone using windows mainly). These two products I would recommend above any choice of hardware - absolutely the canines garylocke

Whooooosh