Sven

Stu

Wondered if others had watched the new Netflix documentary on Sven Goran Eriksson.

Sadly, it appears from latest reports that Sven is now unable to visit the local lake near his home which has given him so much pleasure and comfort.

I liked and respected him. I had the pleasure of meeting him briefly at a countryside restaurant in Notts. when he was leaving at the same with his driver. A complete gentleman as you might expect, friendly, open and with a time and a word for all. We had a nice chat about Notts County who he was Director of Football of at the time and he expressed sincerely, how keen he was to get his team winning. He was a man well met.

At that time he had committed in ignorance to what became one of the great sporting scams of all time, the Munto Finance affair at Notts County which at times read like scenes from a James Bond movie. Non-existent money brought into a club at the foot of the fourth tier, Sven, Sol Campbell, Kaspar Schmeichel and others. Incredible names such as Christian Vieri and Patrick Vieira, Dietmar Hamann, David Beckham and Roberto Carlos and even the recently retired Pavel Nedved and Luís Figo were linked with the lowly club.

The documentary was very poignant I felt, particularly his message at the end which he gave alone. He showed that he was facing his illness with great and admirable stoicism and courage. I couldn't say much positive about some of the press who hounded him all those years for a a few bucks. Their 'job' I suppose. What was refreshing was his unwillingness to accept a moralising tabloid press. Good for him.

I hope his remaining days are spent as peaceully as possible with his loved ones around him.

1724601734565.png

Always thought he should have been the manager at Hibs wi that first name.
RIP SeVEN

Lead a good life. Made millions and pumped a few tidies on the way.

Seemed a decent sort.

Rest easy Sven
If that picture someone posted up earlier was your example of tidies, I’m glad I didnae go out on the pull wi you.
Apart from that, a life well lived. RIP

If that picture someone posted up earlier was your example of tidies, I’m glad I didnae go out on the pull wi you.
Well, they burds always seemed to go around in pairs....... one honey and one minger....
:sm113:

He wasnae swashbuckingly handsome like us beags, so wi the bonus o' millions, he was defs punching....! Ulrika was defs worthy back in the day... agree the other 2 in the pics wernae the best, but I didnae want tae gie him a hard time in his bounce obituary!

MV5BZWUzYTZiY2YtN2I2MC00YTFmLTkxNzctODU4OTFiNzFiZGM2XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNDI3NjcxMDA@._V1_.jpg
You must have seriously high standards Beagle... ulrika-jonsson-440nw-318741i.jpgNancy-Dell'Olio.jpg
RIP Sven 👍

You betcha. Ulrika is the best of that bunch but none of them really ‘do it’ for my liking.
The yin at the bottom looks like Maggie Wheeler on a bad day (Janice in Friends)
Jesus Christ man you must be a real stud!
Never watched Friends more of a Frasier man.

RIP Sven. Tell you what reading about what David Beckham did for him not so long ago has made me really respect him. Outstanding stuff.