Sunset on Leith, the David Duff story

Con man outcons con man/ Duff met a wider guy than himself
Good job for us he did leave
Whatever he was really up to at Hibs his financial criminality got him the jail not so long after he left.
So that was a blessing for us / His greed caught out elsewhere
I know he was only on longbangers to talk about his time at Hibs,but imo he got an easy ride there.
I guees he was not there to answer the tough question or was restricted by others #
Anyway
What Hibs fans thought when got the jail 👇#
If he was a con man with bad motives and intent as far as Hibs is concerned (and that's all I'm interested in i couldn't give a fuck if he's a good guy or not away from Hibs) then he'd have sold his shares and pocketed a seven figure sum (a huge amount today and a massive amount 35 years ago).

That he didn't sell was because something meant more than huge personal gain.

If he was a con man with bad motives and intent as far as Hibs is concerned (and that's all I'm interested in i couldn't give a fuck if he's a good guy or not away from Hibs) then he'd have sold his shares and pocketed a seven figure sum (a huge amount today and a massive amount 35 years ago).

That he didn't sell was because something meant more than huge personal gain.
1/ The £ 6m losses he incurred 35 years ago were also a massive amount

2/Yes his health and well being

Rowland gave him the dough to buy those shares in the first place
So who really would have pocketed any sale money/ 🤷‍♀️

Yes his health and well being
Rowland gave him the dough to buy those shares
So who really would have pocketed any sale money/ 🤷‍♀️
He'd have pocketed the money had he sold his shares.

Craig Whyte walks the streets of Scotland quite safely. Had Duff betrayed us he'd have been quite safe in the Bahamas with £1,000,000 banked in 1990.

He never sold because he didn't want to.

Ultimately Hibs meant more to him than huge personal financial gain.

Reactions: Dub
He'd have pocketed the money had he sold his shares.

Craig Whyte walks the streets of Scotland quite safely. Had Duff betrayed us he'd have been quite safe in the Bahamas with £1,000,000 banked in 1990.

He never sold because he didn't want to.

Ultimately Hibs meant more to him than huge personal financial gain.
Ok beg to differ Not getting anywhere
I wasnt his pal !!

Con man outcons con man/ Duff met a wider guy than himself
Good job for us he did leave
Whatever he was really up to at Hibs his financial criminality got him the jail not so long after he left.
So that was a blessing for us / His greed caught out elsewhere
I know he was only on longbangers to talk about his time at Hibs,but imo he got an easy ride there.
I guess he was not there to answer the tough question or was restricted by others #
Anyway
What Hibs fans thought when got the jail 👇#
100% agree with all that.

Duff was an amateur snake oil salesman who got duped by Rowland , a master snake oil salesman. The fact he subsequently got the tin pail for fraud shows his character.

I won't be buying the book as I don't want to put any money in Duff's pocket. Like you , I listened to him on the Longbangers podcast where he professed his love of the Club and admitted his part in what happened. No mention however of donating any of the books cover price to any Hibs-related charities. Given his role in creating the circumstances that led to Mercers bid and the anguish it caused us all , if he was genuinely looking to make amends for his actions that's something I thought he might have wanted to do.

He was prevented by STF's lawyers from publishing the book while Sir Tom was alive and in my opinion he's viewed the passing of Sir Tom and Rod Petrie as the chance to try and make a few quid. Despite maintaining on the podcast he had no hard feelings towards STF , his choice of Pia to write the forward makes me wonder how much Duff bought into and still buys into Pia's well-documented "Ponzi scheme" agenda.

Duff was a Walter Mitty character who used our Club to live out his fantasies.

My Herald link to Duff's criminal trial might be behind a paywall
But this was the court report and comments from official at HSC at the time

David Duff, 38, was sentenced to two years at Winchester Crown Court

after a jury accepted that he had employed deception and theft to

defraud building societies out of hundreds of thousands of pounds.

While no-one within the hierarchy of Hibs was prepared to comment on

the sentence, the secretary of the club's supporters' federation was

less reticent. ''He has got his just desserts,'' said Mr Bill Alcorn.

''We know it is not connected with what Duff did at Hibs but at least he

has got some punishment.''

Duff's address, ironically in the light of his impact on

Scottish football, was given as David Murray Buildings, Swindon. He

enlisted the help of two employees -- one his lover -- to aid him in the

mortgage scam and milked clients' accounts to fund a number of business

ventures and reduce his debts.

Winchester Crown Court was told the totals ran into ''hundreds of

thousands of pounds'' but no-one would ever know how much Duff got away

with. Judge Ian Starforth Hill, QC, told him: ''As a solicitor, you were

expected to be an honest man and someone that people could trust.''

Mr Paul Grunbar, prosecuting, said Duff joined solicitors Phelps and

Lawrence as a partner in 1982 at their office in Ramsbury, Wiltshire.

In August 1991, the firm moved to Regent's Circus, Swindon, and all

the documents were in the control

of Duff. His money-making exercises involved his personal assistant

and lover, Lynda Hobbs, and Paul Hatch, who was in charge of the firm's

Fulham branch.

Mr Grunbar said: ''He stole money from his own firm by arranging for

Hobbs and Hatch to apply for mortgages. False applications were backed

up by letters and references, supplied by Duff, giving inflated

salaries.''

The court heard that neither employee was earning more than #30,000 a

year but, by claiming they earned huge salaries, were able to obtain

substantial mortgages from building societies and the money was

embezzled by Duff.

''The exercise was entirely for Duff's benefit and all the money went

to him,'' added Mr Grunbar.

He said once a cheque arrived from a building society ''it would be

put into a client's account. As Duff was in a position of authority, he

would arrange for the money to be transferred, sometimes into one of his

own numerous bank accounts.''

Money paid into the firm's accounts by clients for legitimate purposes

would also be transferred to Duff's own account and used to pay debts.

Duff was convicted of four offences of obtaining money by deception

and three of theft between July 1987 and July 1991. Hobbs, 39, of Wood

Hall Park, Swindon, and Hatch, 29, of Fulham, London, were each

convicted of obtaining money by deception between the same dates.

Hobbs was given 200 hours community service and Hatch 120 hours

community service.

Mr Thomas Culver, defending Duff, described his client as ''a man who

has fallen from a pinnacle''.

Duff took over Hibs in August 1987 and appointed his brother-in-law

Jim Gray to assist him when Edinburgh bookmaker Kenny Waugh decided to

relinquish control. Duff's cheques failed to clear, his business CV in

the South of England was murky, and it was clear he was being bankrolled

by a Monaco-based speculator David Rowland.

Duff presented himself as a local saviour of the club and began

milking money from supporters through share flotations. The money was

squandered on a losing investment in pubs and restaurants in the South

of England and the share price plummeted.

Eventually, Mr Rowland sought a way out of holding his share by

attempting to sell out to Hearts owner, Mr Wallace Mercer. The plan fell

through and now one football magnate is in tax exile in France and the

other is beginning a prison sentence.

There endeth the lesson !!!
Duff was a duff ,dangerous greedy,self centred character involved with our club
And only his personal fear of injury or worse stopped him help mercer to destroy us

Fulham branch.

salaries.''

embezzled by Duff.

community service.

And only his personal fear of injury or worse stopped him help mercer to destroy us
What's that got to do with Hibs?

What next Stokes isn't a legend because of certain off field activities...
There is no comparison to Anthony. Put that one away !
Anthony did more in 90 glorious minutes for our club than this criminal con man did in his whole time with the club.
He committed those mortgage frauds whilst he was the Chairman of our club.
Indicates the character of the man and his personal greed when at Hibs,as the article states.
A con man who nearly destroyed our club.
" there are none so blind as those who will not see"

IIRC he was married to Jim’s sister Avril, given his infidelity at the time he was Hibs owner I doubt they’re married now.
Yes Jim use to live not too far from me. (nice big house!)
Although i dont profess to have known him.
Dont recall him popping into the Rainbow or Mid Yoken to share a pint with Hibby's 🤷‍♂️
Funny though, i do recall being in the old Rainbow when Mercer walked in with others for a meal .Forget the year 🤷‍♂️
They left before ordering anything 😊
He must have thought being in West Edinburgh it was a safe haven !!
Lots o Hibby's in Clerrie!! He picked a day when loads lof us were in
Musta been a Sunday after Mass !! 😂
Gray likely preferred the Cramond Brig ! (oot the way!!)
I never trusted Duff one inch.
And Kenny Waugh who was a well known bookie should have studied Duff's form before betting on him ! 😁

Tbf there are lies and truth told in every hibs book been written there are also believers and non-believers in our clubs hustory no names mentioned but if you know you know its that simple 💁

IIRC he was married to Jim’s sister Avril, given his infidelity at the time he was Hibs owner I doubt they’re married now.
Aye and i expect we were buying her romantic meals and hotel stays with him using the club card 💳
And trips to Europe with Jimbob on the club card/ I dont mean all official Hibs busineess
Scouting fur players pfft 😉
The guys selling programmes did more than Jim gray
He was a bit like Gazas pal ,five bellies. Just someone to hing aboot wae 😂 🍾
Thats how i seen it anyway .Wish it had been different Bit it wisnae !1
Duff said he has been back to ER for funeral wakes {eter Cormack RIP i think was one he attended
He at one time might had had his own alongside Merciless 😁

Aye and we were buying her romantic meals and hotl stays with him using the club card 💳
And trips to Europe with Jimbob on the club card/ I dont mean all official Hibs busineess
Scouting fur players pfft 😉

David Forsyth did that story. Given his subsequent 25 year career as Farmers Rottweiler in the media, how incredible is that?

Fulham branch.

salaries.''

embezzled by Duff.

community service.

The mention of phelps, interesting, wasn’t it Duff and Phelps who killed rangers?

Just finished it.

A lot of it confirmed what I already knew, but some interesting new information.

I wonder if Farmers Rottweiler is working on a definitive biography of STF.

It does now seem a pity that there’s no definitive book about the ownership of Hibs from 1991-2019. I think a view of the events of 1990 from a different viewpoint would also be worth a read.

Pity that some of the protagonists of Hibs over the last 35 years won’t be able to share what really happened in their own words.

Just finished it.

A lot of it confirmed what I already knew, but some interesting new information.

I wonder if Farmers Rottweiler is working on a definitive biography of STF.

It does now seem a pity that there’s no definitive book about the ownership of Hibs from 1991-2019. I think a view of the events of 1990 from a different viewpoint would also be worth a read.

Pity that some of the protagonists of Hibs over the last 35 years won’t be able to share what really happened in their own words.
What's the interesting new information?

The David Forsyth hatchet job on Duff is pretty significant, it explains why Forsyth was kept on by Farmer for the next 30 years. That article would be worth a read for context - I’ve read it in the past, if I come across it again I’ll share it.

The in depth explanation of Avon Inns is enlightening, but the strategy is as mental now as it was then.

The mortgage fraud could have been explained better - it seems to be centred around signing blank forms. Fairly sure it wasn’t that simple.

The David Forsyth hatchet job on Duff is pretty significant, it explains why Forsyth was kept on by Farmer for the next 30 years. That article would be worth a read for context - I’ve read it in the past, if I come across it again I’ll share it.

The in depth explanation of Avon Inns is enlightening, but the strategy is as mental now as it was then.

The mortgage fraud could have been explained better - it seems to be centred around signing blank forms. Fairly sure it wasn’t that simple.
So as I've always thought and experienced first hand the hatchet job perpetrator is an absolute *&*^.

Can't take him seriously after his Heartwank book. I stopped reading it after his description of attending a Hibs derby win at tiny and walking away unmoved. Prime wankness.
He's something of a friend of mine, and he told me it was the worst football season of his life. He's a die hard hibby who was asked to take up the challenge of watching hearts for a season and writing about his experiences. It doesn't make him a bad person, a wanker or any of the other things levelled at him.

He's a die hard hibby who was asked to take up the challenge of watching heart
If he's a die hard hibby, surely he must have met hearts fans that knew what team he supported?
He could have refused the challenge of watching them for a season.

If he's a die hard hibby, surely he must have met hearts fans that knew what team he supported?
He could have refused the challenge of watching them for a season.
He was getting a book deal out of it, and it's actually a good read too. How must he surely have met Hearts fans he knew? Do you think only a handful of fans attend Hearts games? Have you even read the book?

People have real difficulties of getting their heads around folks employment/career/business/professionalism over their personal choices. Imagine if he'd ever turned around to his editor and said "You want me to do the match report of Celtic v Aberdeen? Why not give me Hibs at Dundee....".

No, never read it. If he followed them for a whole season, he must have been "outed" at some point.

The other thing that’s alluded to in the book is that if the takeover had been concluded, Farmer had a deal with Mercer to buy the Hibs name “to start again”

Despite the initial chat about Edinburgh United, it was clear early on that the deal would have wiped Hibs from the map and Hearts would have continued as normal. That bit isn’t new, but if you weren’t there at the time, you possibly wouldn’t pick up that nuance.

No, never read it. If he followed them for a whole season, he must have been "outed" at some point.
He was, by the people he sat with all season. Although he didn't volunteer his Hibs leanings to them but some did suss him out. That's different from meeting people he knew. It really is worth reading, btw, before you reach conclusions.

I enjoyed the book at the time, even though the very thought of what he done gives me the dry boak. Aidan is a good writer and good Hibby for all his one year of sin.

I once interviewed Aidan for my own publication. Here it is if anyone is interested. View attachment 19727View attachment 19728View attachment 19729
Cheers Kenny.

I remember having a conversation with Aiden in the pub, and the subject of Alan O'Brien came up. He was slating him, but I was trying to be more supportive and said that part of the issue was that the other players didn't seem to want to pass to him, and that he wasn't as bad as folk made out. Anyway, he had another poor showing in the next match, and Aiden wrote in his piece that the display wouldn't appeal to the Alan O'Brien fan club [population 1].

We laughed about it the next time I saw him, when he said he wondered if I'd get the reference.

Just finished reading Duff's book...very insightful and confirmed a lot of things I had heard at the time.

I was quite involved, along with many others, with Hands off Hibs back in 1990, and reading about all this again took me back to those horrors.
It was interesting reading about Duff's three years at the helm.....A couple of surprises from that time.
Joe Jordan came very close to replacing Alex Miller.

When preparing the defence document to fight Mercer's bid, Jim Mclean, the legendary Dundee United manager and chairman, played a big part in defeating it.

Duff was well intentioned, but ill-prepared and out of his depth dealing with the likes of Rowland, Farmer, Mercer and co.
However he stood up when it was needed and his refusal to succumb to massive pressure was one of the reasons the hostile takeover bid was thankfully defeated, and Hibernian's phoenix rose again thereafter.

Good book worth reading IMO.

When preparing the defence document for fight Mercer's bid, Jim Mclean, the legendary Dundee United manager and chairman, played a big part in defeating it
Not read the book yet. Can you expand a bit further on the above sentence please.

Just finished reading Duff's book...very insightful and confirms a lot of things I had heard at the time.

I was quite involved, along with many others, with Hands off Hibs back in 1990, and reading about all this again took me back to those horrors.
It was interesting reading about Duff's three years at the helm.....A couple of surprises from that time.
Joe Jordan came very close to replacing Alex Miller.

When preparing the defence document for fight Mercer's bid, Jim Mclean, the legendary Dundee United manager and chairman, played a big part in defeating it

Duff was well intentioned, but ill-prepared and out of his depth dealing with the likes of Rowland, Farmer, Mercer and co.
However he stood up when it was needed and his refusal to succumb to massive pressure was one of the reasons the hostile takeover bid was thankfully defeated, and Hibernian's phoenix rose again thereafter.

Good book worth reading IMO.
That sums it up very well

Not read the book yet. Can you expand a bit further on the above sentence please.
When preparing the defence document to counter Mercers takeover bid, Hibs had to prove that his bid undervalued the club.
Part of doing that was to have the players registrations valued, so they had to list the players as an asset, and the clubs valuation of them had to be independently verified.
They had to find an expert who could go through the squad and estimate the transfer value of each player.
They turned to the most experienced manager in the scottish game at that time, Jim Mclean.
Here is a quote from the book which explains it;

"Jim was delighted to help. he thought the bid was an affront to the decency of football in Scotland, and he clearly had no time for Mr Mercer. Over the years, I believe Jim turned down the manager's job at Tynecastle several times. Up to now, his role has never been formally acknowledged in the story, but Jim Mclean was another person who played a vital part in saving Hibs".

Thanks. Interesting stuff. Huge respect and a thank you to Mr Jim Mclean.
I hope DUFC scud the gunts today.

When preparing the defence document to counter Mercers takeover bid, Hibs had to prove that his bid undervalued the club.
Part of doing that was to have the players registrations valued, so they had to list the players as an asset, and the clubs valuation of them had to be independently verified.
They had to find an expert who could go through the squad and estimate the transfer value of each player.
They turned to the most experienced manager in the scottish game at that time, Jim Mclean.
Here is a quote from the book which explains it;

"Jim was delighted to help. he thought the bid was an affront to the decency of football in Scotland, and he clearly had no time for Mr Mercer. Over the years, I believe Jim turned down the manager's job at Tynecastle several times. Up to now, his role has never been formally acknowledged in the story, but Jim Mclean was another person who played a vital part in saving Hibs".
😳wow , never knew that

It's an interesting book and certainly worth buying though it takes until about 3/4 of the way through to get to the real meat and drink of the takeover which was everything to do with opening up the Edinburgh Green belt at Straiton or Hermiston as well as the 11 acres of land all around and including Easter Road. 🤔

All the main protagonists had their property agendas and I can believe Duffs speculation that Mercer would have used the "one club" argument to try to bludgeon the cooncil into accepting a new stadium for Hearts on David Murray's land near the airport and all the hooses, retail parks and infrastructure and the fortune that would have generated especially for Minty Moonbeans.

Hermiston would have been a hard sell though given it's only now 35 years later that this land is now going to be developed.

Mr Farmer didn't come out of the book as badly as might be thought given his lawyers concerns.

It would only have been prudent for Mr Farmer and Mercer to have prior takeover meetings and Mercer himself said they had but did Mr Farmer really implore Duff to sell the vital 10% shareholding to Mercer and cash in on £1m. 🤔

Ah hae ma doots🙄 though in the early days, Farmer never cared a jot about Hibs only about profit (Source: Tom O'malley) but as the days and weeks passed he grew to understand this was about community and not just business so I have no doubts with Duffs assertion that Mr Farmer had agreed with Mercer to buy back the Hibernian name and memorabilia and start again elsewhere such as Meadowbank.

No that Mr Farmer "wiz shy" as 2 years later with his myriad of lies fronted by Old Dougie, he tried to shift Hibs from Easter Road to Straiton to open up the green belt and exercise the land values. 🤔.

It was a revaluation that Jim McLean of Dundee Utd was such a vital part of the defence document and Duff takes credit for disenfranchising the overseas nominee holdings which you would have thought was out his remit but it was clever all the same. ✌️

Loads of daft wee made up football stories as well which gives the book some good humour and some interesting Man Utd machinations which were unexpected though not as much as Dynamo Kiev v Hibs which had never seen the light of day. 🤔

It's a well crafted read by the ghost writer and at the end of the day Duff didn't sell his 10% shareholding and he did fight tooth and nail against the bid and he very much acknowledges with fullsome praise all those who fought alongside him as it was a huge team effort from all stratas of society.

David Duff deserves to tell his side of the story and it's worth a read albeit with considerable care. 😅