Steak

aggie

Have a really good old Bordeaux that needs opened, and my dad is here from the U.S., so I'm thinking: steak.

However, I'm increasingly disappointed in restaurants these days when ordering (fucking expensive) fillet. I always seem to find myself spitting out pink lumps of chewed meat, as I start to gag cos I cannae swallow it.

What's the best steak for me to buy at the butchers and cook at home? For both tenderness and flavour?

Ribeye unquestionably...

Agree with this.
Skirt is also magic but hard to get in the UK - need to ask a butcher to do it when they have a whole carcass
I think as not a British style cut -and I suspect
tricky to cook. Bags of flavour but not that tender. I recommend you google chimi churri dressing recipes and give that a go

If you're spitting out lumps i'd be amazed if you're actually eating Fillet Steak

Went with ribeye fi Crombie's. Will report back later when I'm reclining in the drawing room.

Ensure you take the time to pour yourself a snifter of port before responding old chap.

According to them rapid freezing prevents ice crystals forming in the meat and keeps it as good as fresh.
I'd be calling 'bluff' on that. Also you don't really want it fresh, probably. The posh gaffs deliberately let it decay, for want of a finer way of putting it (all they use 'hung' (matron))

Sirloin or fillet are the 2 prime cuts for frying/grilling. Both together on the bone gives you a T-bone. Rump steak isnae very tender unless it's stewed.
And as Forza said, if your spitting bits oot, it ain't fillet.

Yer steaks there, at first glance, reminded me of a very famous album so they did...

attachment.php

41B9H1NRTZL.jpg

In an abstract meaty sorta way, likes

:hammer

Flat Iron steak, sometime called a Butler's Cut. Comes from the leg of the animal so ask the butcher to remove the fascia membrane, otherwise it may be tough. Flavour is wonderful.

We seem able to get Skirt Steak cut from the animals diaphragm muscle quite easily down here but you either cook that for thirty seconds or three hours in a pie!

Agree with this.
Skirt is also magic but hard to get in the UK - need to ask a butcher to do it when they have a whole carcass
I think as not a British style cut -and I suspect
tricky to cook. Bags of flavour but not that tender. I recommend you google chimi churri dressing recipes and give that a go

skirt is basically the diaphragm of the coo - the butchers here do it but rarely have it on display. I wouldn't cook it like a ribeye so be interested if that works well for you? have used it for stir fry and fajitas and the like - its cheap(ish) and great flavour marinated and quick fried!

Just finished a sirloin at smugglers bar in cap salou. 18 euro best steak ive ate.

skirt is basically the diaphragm of the coo - the butchers here do it but rarely have it on display. I wouldn't cook it like a ribeye so be interested if that works well for you? have used it for stir fry and fajitas and the like - its cheap(ish) and great flavour marinated and quick fried!

Never cooked it R - my attempts to get it in Edinburgh have never succeeded - only eaten it.

I'd marinate it and do it on a v hot griddle. Would that not work?

Probably not fashionable but Miller & Carter is always decent I find. Took the wife and kids there (the Cramond one) a few weeks ago for a birthday scran. Not much over a ton for 3 courses for the 4 of us including drinks. Pretty decent value I thought.

Lots Argentinos in Newington is good also and has been for years. Tres Carnes is my recommendation - a rump, a sirloin, and a fillet 🤤

I had the Fiorentina steak when I was in Tuscany. The restaurant owner was alerted by the waitress as I ordered a side of chips to go with it. He came over and asked if I’d had that steak before as he was surprised at the side order. I said no but I like to try the local specialities. He brought out the steak (pre cooking) on a wooden platter and said he didn’t think I would need the chips.
He was right. It’s the biggest T-bone I’ve ever seen. Absolutely gorgeous though. I had to go back tae my hotel room after eating it.

I'll be in Japan next week. A5 wagu steak, best in the world, is going to set me back the best part of £250! Once in a lifetime.
I did that Jack! Had wagyu in the Grand Hyatt in Tokyo, the hotel used in the film Lost in Translation.. Boujie af but worth it! Although I remember the vino tinto i had with it was even better 🍷😵

I had the Fiorentina steak when I was in Tuscany. The restaurant owner was alerted by the waitress as I ordered a side of chips to go with it. He came over and asked if I’d had that steak before as he was surprised at the side order. I said no but I like to try the local specialities. He brought out the steak (pre cooking) on a wooden platter and said he didn’t think I would need the chips.
He was right. It’s the biggest T-bone I’ve ever seen. Absolutely gorgeous though. I had to go back tae my hotel room after eating it.
I've also had a T-bone in Florence! Agreed, fecking tasty.