Star Wars

7 Hills

Visionary Philosopher Radge
Nae thread about the new film yet?! I love these films as much as I love The Hibs! The love all developed at the same time in the mid-1970s, right enough!

[video=youtube;sGbxmsDFVnE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGbxmsDFVnE[/video]

"When a ruthless prince rises to power and threatens galactic peace, a runaway soldier, an uncongenial scavenger, and a hot shot pilot find their fates intertwined as they embark on a journey to find the most powerful warrior in the galaxy."

Nae thread about the new film yet?! I love these films as much as I love The Hibs! The love all developed at the same time in the mid-1970s, right enough!

I'm lookifg forward to seeing that.

I'm also looking forward to this
[video=youtube;IwfUnkBfdZ4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwfUnkBfdZ4[/video]

Holy fuck! cannae wait.

Got a 11 yr old and a 5yr old almost as excitred as me :giggle:

Planning to do the big screen at fountain park (never been :giggle:) and 3d!

if the gunts were in star wars they'd be the fucking ewoks

mon the empire

:jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi:

Not for me....I can't be bothered with Science Fiction in general and I never liked Star Wars which always seemed to me to be a film for bairns.
I know many people like it so fair enough each to their own, it just never floated my boat.

Holy $#@!! cannae wait.

Got a 11 yr old and a 5yr old almost as excitred as me :giggle:

Planning to do the big screen at fountain park (never been :giggle:) and 3d!

if the gunts were in star wars they'd be the $#@!ing ewoks

mon the empire

:jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi::jedi:

sandpeople or jawas I reckon.

The Empire Strikes Back is one of my favourite movies of all time, and pretty dark in places, I wouldn't call it solely a kids movie, which I suppose is the art of great movie making, allowing it to be accessible to various age groups.

Wasn't massively keen on Return of The Jedi or the 3 prequels, but the first two movies were truly epic.I'm looking forward to this new one too.

The 3rd movie of trilogies seems to always disappoint: Godfather, Star Wars, Indiana Jones, and topically, Back to the Future....all of those ( imo) first two movies were great, but the 3rd wasn't?

Agreed, although Godfather part 3 isn't actually that bad, it doesn't stand up well in comparison with the first 2. Likewise Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade - though of course it's movie gold in comparison to Kingdom of the Crystal Skull! :giggle: BTTF Part 3 is basically just a shite comedy western with very little of the time travel aspect that made the first 2 films so appealing grandpa

Re: Star Wars, aren't we due for another George Lucas re-working of the original trilogy yet?! Maybe an ultra 4K HD version with more CGI meddling :dunno::banger:

The Empire Strikes Back is one of my favourite movies of all time, and pretty dark in places, I wouldn't call it solely a kids movie, which I suppose is the art of great movie making, allowing it to be accessible to various age groups.

Wasn't massively keen on Return of The Jedi or the 3 prequels, but the first two movies were truly epic.I'm looking forward to this new one too.

Absolute baws. Well not all of it but the but about Indiana Jones anyway, Last Crusade is tremendous.

I love Star Wars but always appreciated they're kids films, cowboys in space. Really excited about new ones, especially with their focus on costumes, sets and props rather than relying on computers for everything. I thought the prequels had some outstanding moments but let down by being a CGI fest - they look dated already.

Absolute baws. Well not all of it but the but about Indiana Jones anyway, Last Crusade is tremendous.

I love Star Wars but always appreciated they're kids films, cowboys in space. Really excited about new ones, especially with their focus on costumes, sets and props rather than relying on computers for everything. I thought the prequels had some outstanding moments but let down by being a CGI fest - they look dated already.

I forget there's 4 IJ movies so I'll concede that the quadrant of films was let down by the last, which was absolute baws.The rest (imo) is accurate..unless you like BTTF III?!

ROTJ was def a kids movie, the ewoks clearly introduced for that reason, like JARJAR fcking Binks.I'm less inclined to agree about the 1st two films being uniquely for kids, esp ESB.

I forget there's 4 IJ movies so I'll concede that the quadrant of films was let down by the last, which was absolute baws.The rest (imo) is accurate..unless you like BTTF III?!

ROTJ was def a kids movie, the ewoks clearly introduced for that reason, like JARJAR fcking Binks.I'm less inclined to agree about the 1st two films being uniquely for kids, esp ESB.
I'll let you off with that mistake - Crystal Skull was a car crash. Harrison Ford looked embarrassed to be there.

Empire is a bit darker but it's still a western for kids. What age were you when you first seen it, 5? 6? By time it came out Star Wars was a phenomenon - look at the the cult icon Boba Fett became, he's only in it for five mins! Lucas could afford to forego the big happy ending in this one cos it was undoubted the third would be made. People look at it as some sort of film noir nowadays but at the end of the day it's all about the giant robot dugs and lightsaber fights.

Totally agree about Last Crusade, it's a great flick. Better than Temple of Doom in my opinion.

With regards to the OP, I'm a bit "meh" with Star Wars these days. I loved the original trilogy as a kid but nowadays Empire is the only one I can honestly say I still enjoy watching (the writing in A New Hope is really clunky and Jedi is just a bit hokey). The prequels are all complete horseshit. I'll go see the new one, but it'll probably be in January after the initial frenzy has died down a bit and the cinema isn't full of 40-year old manchildren whooping and making quips.

I’m pretty sure I saw the first one, because I remember the scrolling intro ‘far far away’ that has been copied many times since (assuming Lucas was the first) but I don’t think I have seen any of the others.
Mind you, any film that has its fans turning up dressed as characters from it automatically appears on my “fuck that then” list.
I don’t get the fanaticism that goes with the series, just as I don’t get Dr Who (which I quite enjoyed when played by William Hartnell) or indeed Star Trek.
As for the cult icon “Boba Fett”…….
Who the fcuk is he?
I’ve never heard of him.
I thought at first you meant that guy that used to play for the Smellies, but that’s Bobby Petta isn’t it. Nearly a cult, but not quite.

Quite like the Indiana movies – I wore a hat like his going to a Hibs game in Belgium and recall virtually the whole ferryload of drunken Hibs fans singing “Where did you get that hat………”

I still like hats.

I’m pretty sure I saw the first one, because I remember the scrolling intro ‘far far away’ that has been copied many times since (assuming Lucas was the first) but I don’t think I have seen any of the others.
Mind you, any film that has its fans turning up dressed as characters from it automatically appears on my “fuck that then” list.
I don’t get the fanaticism that goes with the series, just as I don’t get Dr Who (which I quite enjoyed when played by William Hartnell) or indeed Star Trek.
As for the cult icon “Boba Fett”…….
Who the fcuk is he?
I’ve never heard of him.
I thought at first you meant that guy that used to play for the Smellies, but that’s Bobby Petta isn’t it. Nearly a cult, but not quite.

Quite like the Indiana movies – I wore a hat like his going to a Hibs game in Belgium and recall virtually the whole ferryload of drunken Hibs fans singing “Where did you get that hat………”

I still like hats.

Seem to recall a penchant for student crap-hats, Doc?

View attachment 5545

I don't get Star Wars either. It's the same as Star Trek, right.

Seem to recall a penchant for student crap-hats, Doc?

Well remembered!

Got a couple of nice wool numbers for when it gets chilly, and a selection of caps and bunnets for warmer weather.

tophat

One's in this galaxy and one is in a galaxy far, far away :roll:

'Your eyes can deceive you. Don’t trust them.' – Obi-Wan Kenobi

I prefer 'Taysiders in Space'.

Not for me....I can't be bothered with Science Fiction in general and I never liked Star Wars which always seemed to me to be a film for bairns.
I know many people like it so fair enough each to their own, it just never floated my boat.
Eh? Film for bairns? Outrageous comments GM.

MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU, ALWAYS

science fiction as was discussed on the JG Ballard thread recently is in my opinion the most interesting form of fiction there is, e.g. 1984, the road and the drowned world. cant remember the last time contemporary fiction said as much about the current world as SF. The problem with star wars is its just not very good SF - imo its far too simplistic a tale of good vs evil. I do get the nostalgia about it though, I remember going to see the first film when i was 5 or 6 at the old cinema in Gala. Having grown up with it i have a fondness for it that wasnt quite killed by ROTJ or the last 3.

[video=youtube_share;Sv5iEK-IEzw]https://youtu.be/Sv5iEK-IEzw[/video]

My favourite.

science fiction as was discussed on the JG Ballard thread recently is in my opinion the most interesting form of fiction there is, e.g. 1984, the road and the drowned world. cant remember the last time contemporary fiction said as much about the current world as SF. The problem with star wars is its just not very good SF - imo its far too simplistic a tale of good vs evil. I do get the nostalgia about it though, I remember going to see the first film when i was 5 or 6 at the old cinema in Gala. Having grown up with it i have a fondness for it that wasnt quite killed by ROTJ or the last 3.

Star Wars falls short when put up against something like Blade Runner, . It's cowboys and Indians in space if you really want to boil it down but it's entertaining and I suppose that's what really matters [unless you are a genre specialist in which case it's probably a load of rubbish].

I know that some view these films as Kids' yins, indeed, I was around 8 years old when I saw the original. Star Wars could have been much, much more edgier, but George Lucas was going for a FAMILY audience (not just kids!). But having said that - what about when Luke goes back to the homestead in "A New Hope" when he realises that his uncle and aunt are in danger - and he finds their burnt, smoking corpses? And I'm not a great fan of the prequels, but it's brutal at the end of Revenge of the Sith when Obi-Wan dismembers Anakin, and leaves him to burn in the lava pit!

I don't even view Star Wars as Sci-Fi - these are Fantasy films, where the science and technology takes the place of Magic.

[video=youtube;DVl4MYER0Zc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVl4MYER0Zc[/video]

[video=youtube;XIRoASL90EI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIRoASL90EI[/video]

I know that some view these films as Kids' yins, indeed, I was around 8 years old when I saw the original. Star Wars could had been much, much more edgier, but George Lucas was going for a FAMILY audience (not just kids!). But having said that - what about when Luke goes back to the homestead in "A New Hope" when he realises that his uncle and aunt are in danger - and he finds their burnt, smoking corpses? And I'm not a great fan of the prequels, but it's brutal at the end of Revenge of the Sith when Obi-Wan dismembers Anakin, and leaves him to burn in the lava pit!

I don't even view Star Wars as Sci-Fi - these are Fantasy films, where the science and technology takes the place of Magic.

[video=youtube;DVl4MYER0Zc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVl4MYER0Zc[/video]

[video=youtube;XIRoASL90EI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIRoASL90EI[/video]
Walt Disney films can be much more brutal - Lion King has a child see his father trampled to death before his eyes, Up has stillbirth of a baby and death of a life partner within first 5 minutes.

That Hans Christian Anderson wasn't too shy about a bit of gore and brutal death in his kids tales.

The problem with star wars is its just not very good SF - imo its far too simplistic a tale of good vs evil.
really? It's vision is one of an overextended legalistic bureaucracy threatened - even at the apparent height of its technological dominance - by a coalition of religious fanatics.

It seems to me that this was a lot more prescient than the preoccupations of more 'serious' sci fi. Meanwhile, the fact that many members of the audience sympathise with the zealots suggests a morally sophisticated storytelling that again exceeds more 'serious' works where being glum is oddly confused for being smart.

All this and it can still appeal to 6 year old. Perhaps you should rewatch from an adult point of view and consider what this actually incredibly seditious piece is saying. :coffee:

Suggestions that the lack of Luke skywalker in the promo stuff is he's actually the baddie. Would make sense given Hammils desire for that to be the outcome in Return of The Jedi.

[video=youtube;vqImxMhN_Bc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqImxMhN_Bc[/video]

...but will the new film be as good as this video of a dog dressed as an Ewok? :glassraise:

In English please Eegie - for the likes of me and [MENTION=9331]cowiecabbage[/MENTION]. :)

sigh. you need to put your shoulder to the wheel sometimes W, you are somewhat exaggerating on some of these.

but just since its you;

far from star wars being a simple good / evil story of the kind gun ainm mistakes it for, the rebels are - when you think about it - a group of religious militants (guided by 'the force') and inspired by a mujahideen-style notion of religious warriors (jedi isn't even that far from jihadi as a word). these fanatics are intent on bringing down the empire which for all its imperfections, presides over law and order and a multi cultural universe (see the famous bar scene for an example of the diversity that flourishes under the empire). that empire seems technologically unassailable, and yer even as it works on the space station that symbolises this, it is fraying internally, in thrall to one of those religious cultists that has crossed to its side (darth) and seemly unable to stop militants armed with primitive tech but buckets of faith.

in short, star wars anticipates the struggles of our own day; the empire is secular modernity, the rebels are isil. moreover its moral subtlety has many of us rooting for the latter. despite all this, some whoppers still manage think its a simple film for kids and other sci fi is more serious because everybody frowns a lot.

there. :coffee:

really? It's vision is one of an overextended legalistic bureaucracy threatened - even at the apparent height of its technological dominance - by a coalition of religious fanatics.

It seems to me that this was a lot more prescient than the preoccupations of more 'serious' sci fi. Meanwhile, the fact that many members of the audience sympathise with the zealots suggests a morally sophisticated storytelling that again exceeds more 'serious' works where being glum is oddly confused for being smart.

All this and it can still appeal to 6 year old. Perhaps you should rewatch from an adult point of view and consider what this actually incredibly seditious piece is saying. :coffee:

Superb :thumbgrin

sigh. you need to put your shoulder to the wheel sometimes W, you are somewhat exaggerating on some of these.

but just since its you;

far from star wars being a simple good / evil story of the kind gun ainm mistakes it for, the rebels are - when you think about it - a group of religious militants (guided by 'the force') and inspired by a mujahideen-style notion of religious warriors (jedi isn't even that far from jihadi as a word). these fanatics are intent on bringing down the empire which for all its imperfections, presides over law and order and a multi cultural universe (see the famous bar scene for an example of the diversity that flourishes under the empire). that empire seems technologically unassailable, and yer even as it works on the space station that symbolises this, it is fraying internally, in thrall to one of those religious cultists that has crossed to its side (darth) and seemly unable to stop militants armed with primitive tech but buckets of faith.

in short, star wars anticipates the struggles of our own day; the empire is secular modernity, the rebels are isil. moreover its moral subtlety has many of us rooting for the latter. despite all this, some whoppers still manage think its a simple film for kids and other sci fi is more serious because everybody frowns a lot.

there. :coffee:

Not so superb - bit simply put... :rascal:

the rebels are - when you think about it - a group of religious militants (guided by 'the force')
Think you might want to go back and watch Episode IV again, none of the rebels are Jedis. At the start of that film Obi Wan Kenobi is still in hiding and isn't a member of the rebellion and Luke Skywalker is still two films away from becoming a Jedi.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk 2

Think you might want to go back and watch Episode IV again, none of the rebels are Jedis. At the start of that film Obi Wan Kenobi is still in hiding and isn't a member of the rebellion and Luke Skywalker is still two films away from becoming a Jedi.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk 2
come, come Murky - the 'new hope' that is the films title as a chapter within the saga, is a reference to the reawakened religiosity within the rebel cause, following prior jedi defeat. any flirtation with secularism on the part of the rebels is depicted as a limitation, with the fight back against the empire given potency explicitly through the holy warrior sky walker's disavowal of technology in favour of religious faith in the climactic trench battle. the message could hardly be more direct - the rebels are destined for defeat while they ape the technocratic attitudes of the empire, and saved when they return to the faith, as personified in skywalker. In this narrative arc star wars clearly anticipates the decline of pan arabism and reawakened jihadism.

Suggestions that the lack of Luke skywalker in the promo stuff is he's actually the baddie. Would make sense given Hammils desire for that to be the outcome in Return of The Jedi.

There is no way that Luke will be the Baddie! That would destroy his journey in the original films and alienate all the fans. I don't think that he's going to be seen much in the new film, but I do believe that he's gonna turn up right at the end to save the new characters from disaster! :banana:

[video=youtube;Tj-GZJhfBmI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tj-GZJhfBmI[/video]