Smokers - How Did You Kick The Habit

bigmanandy

Aulder Than The Internet This Radge
Been smoking for a good number of years now and finally think its time to give up, been placed on antibiotics by the doc but still seem to be coughing up gunge....

How did bouncers on here manage to kick the habit...?

Any advice?...

Been smoking for a good number of years now and finally think its time to give up, been placed on antibiotics by the doc but still seem to be coughing up gunge....

Any advice?...

my missus was told to stop, 'or else', so i stopped (50 a day btw) with her thinking it would be easier if both of us stopped, that was 3 1/2 years ago, i went to the docs and asked for patches, she told me to buy the 1st lot, take the receipt in to her and she would write me prescriptions for more. i used the 1st lot, and got halfway through the second weeks and stopped applying them.
i ate a lot of chewing gum, in fact i ate a lot of everything, i put on 2 stone, it,s mostly will-power mate, just think of how much you are saving not buying them. good luck:thumbgrin

Cold turkey for me.

Cold turkey, cold chicken, boiled ham, crisps, cheese, biscuits you name it I ate it.
Like Bill I put on a "bit" :giggle: of weight, but better that than continuing to increase the health risks.
If you quit now Mandy, it will be one of (if not THE) best decisions of your life.

Cold turkey for me.

Cold turkey, cold chicken, boiled ham, crisps, cheese, biscuits you name it I ate it.
Like Bill I put on a "bit" :giggle: of weight, but better that than continuing to increase the health risks.
If you quit now Mandy, it will be one of (if not THE) best decisions of your life.

:laff:

Wish i never started now Doc....

The mother keeps going on about former family members who passed away due to cancer and it might be a family 'Gene' thats been passed down the generations which is pretty worrying...

Ive been trying my best to get away from the disgusting habit ive even managed to cut down from 20 a day to 4 a day :shock: so not doing too bad :approve:

:laff:

Wish i never started now Doc....

The mother keeps going on about former family members who passed away due to cancer and it might be a family 'Gene' thats been passed down the generations which is pretty worrying...

Ive been trying my best to get away from the disgusting habit ive even managed to cut down from 20 a day to 4 a day :shock: so not doing too bad :approve:

Chuck 'em away Mandy. I "cut down" loads of times, but always soon got back up to speed.
The only way is to stop completely, whether it's with patches (like girls do) or 'just quitting' like real men like us do. :smug:

Get yourself a wee packet of tic-tacs for emergencies and you're gasping for a fag.

Apparently there's loads of them at Easter Road because Mixu never had any time for them.
Or something like that.

Aye just quit, if you have any fags lying around then chuck them away so the temptation is gone.

I quit smoking weed 3 months ago and stopped the fags 2 weeks later, find something else to do that will help take your mind of it. Cycling, swimming, wanking or whatever takes your fancy :thumbgrin

I have put on a stone but trying to get back on top of that.

just-say-no.jpg

cold turkey-I am now about two stone heavier,but at least I can now run for a bus without it taking ten minutes to recover.

andy i was smoking upwards of 50 fags a day & i went to my local nhs stop smoking units & if you qualify you will get free patches pils or gum. i got pills at first but they just made me chain smoke,then they gave me patches i took 2 & that was me quit i have'nt smoked since, it will be 5 years next month.

it's well worth it andy as now i don't have the wheeze or the gunge the main the thing is never give up trying to give up good luck mate it is acheviablegrandpa

I gave up 50 a day by reading Allen Carrs book.. very easy to quit using his method. been stopped for 4 years now

I've quit twice but started again a few months after both times.

I'd say that by going cold turkey and keeping yourself occupied is the method that I've found most effective.

I'm going to stop for good soon, I think the deciding factor in being able to quit is genuinely wanting to do it. If you don't then it doesn't really matter how much will power you have because you will always be easily pursuaded into having the "odd" fag again.

I gave up 50 a day by reading Allen Carrs book.. very easy to quit using his method. been stopped for 4 years now

2 folk in my work have just quit reading tghat book im tempted to give it a go. both were heavy smokers and both have not touched one since.

the question is im not sure i REALLy want to quit enough :lookaround:

Aye just quit, if you have any fags lying around then chuck them away so the temptation is gone.

I quit smoking weed 3 months ago and stopped the fags 2 weeks later, find something else to do that will help take your mind of it. Cycling, swimming, wanking or whatever takes your fancy :thumbgrin

I have put on a stone but trying to get back on top of that.

just-say-no.jpg

Been smoking weed for the last four years, only just managed to quit myself so been thinking this is the perfect moment to stop the fags aswell.

What a day to stop, on my birthday :approve:

I used to smoke somewhere around 50 ciggies a day and one day [in the days when you could smoke in pubs] I decided to give up smoking so i did. It was about half five at night in the pub so others were smoking making it more difficult. Also, one of my mates was back from off-shore working that night and he brought me in 200 cigarettes which I promptly gave away.

That was about 8 or 9 years ago, 6 years ago I began smoking the odd exotic cigarette and still do but I dont have any inkling to smoke an actual cigarette.

Good luck with this Manders I hope you make it.

Doc is right by the way, cutting down is only temporary.

andy i was smoking upwards of 50 fags a day & i went to my local nhs stop smoking units & if you qualify you will get free patches pils or gum. i got pills at first but they just made me chain smoke,then they gave me patches i took 2 & that was me quit i have'nt smoked since, it will be 5 years next month.

it's well worth it andy as now i don't have the wheeze or the gunge the main the thing is never give up trying to give up good luck mate it is acheviablegrandpa

I have been a chain smoker in the past, cut down from 40 to 20 a day then 20 to 4 or 5 a day which isn't to bad, its a hard habit to stop as you cant help but spark up one more and say to yourself, 'this is it, the last one' :lookaround:....

I wont give up trying and with the mother getting on my back every second of the day now its going to come eventually...:giggle:

Keep trying Big man. I went cold turkey when the missus got pregnant. That was 27 years ago and never regretted it. Yep, put weight on, Guinness does that anyway:banger:

Keep going, you will get there.

I have been a chain smoker in the past, cut down from 40 to 20 a day then 20 to 4 or 5 a day which isn't to bad, its a hard habit to stop as you cant help but spark up one more and say to yourself, 'this is it, the last one' :lookaround:....

I wont give up trying and with the mother getting on my back every second of the day now its going to come eventually...:giggle:

superman.gif

The killers when you've had a few drinks and someone offers you a fag if your a reformed smoker it's so hard just to say no. My breadknife smokes 20 a day and i barely smoke but find that if i get a wee bit stressed or drunk or am stuck in traffic or whatever and there's fags in the car/house i'll just smoke one or two for the sake of it and not even enjoy it.

Just think every time you smoke a fag your taking the length of time it takes to smoke that fag off your overall life expectancy! 20 fags x 5mins = 1 hour 40 mins x 365 = 26 days or there abouts (i just done that quickly so it might be a crock of shit but you get ma drift)

:dunno:

I still smoke so il be the social outcast i suppose but id love tae stop but the weight thing bothers me . Past 4 months iv lost 1 and half stone . An no a fat bastard really but since iv lost weight maybe now its time tae kick the smokes and if a did bang on the weight a shouldn be any worse off than a few months ago but will have stopped the snouts ! Man am talkin in bloody circles now . Good luck bud n stick in !
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

I stopped after finding my three year old trying to smoke a dout I have chucked away in the garden.

Everytime I got a craving for a tab, I ate a piece of fruit or two. Real fat bassa now but I dinnae have to eat my five a day until I am 76!!!

I used to smoke heavily at the weekends when i was on the lash basically because i enjoyed a fag with a pint. During the week the thought of a smoke would never cross my mind. The smoking ban put an end to my habit im happy to say but in saying that i never felt like a real smoker anyway.

Any advice?...

surely you should be asking ex-smokers :dunno:

stopped 5 years ago after reading Allan Carr`s book.Did the trick for me,good luck Bigman:victory:

Any advice?...
I smoked from age 11 (it's what everyone was doing at the time) until i was 32.After numerous half hearted attempts over the years, I stopped cold turkey. Just decided one day, enough is enough. If I wanted to be around to kick a ball with my kids/grandkids, then the cigarettes had to go. I've been off the fags for 9 years now.
It has had a detrimental effect on my waistline though.

Competing in Judo at 65kgs is sadly a distant memory. More like a sumo wrestler now. :rollfloor