• HIBEESBOUNCE PICKEM PRIZE LEAGUE Season 2026-2027

Info on how to buy an Entry Pass HERE

Sir David's responses to referee's cards.

Doc Shrink

Best ignored
"I think the first decision, I think it's the correct one. I think it's really unfortunate, I think it's completely accidental, the wind gets under the ball a little bit. I think the initial contact is outside the box, which if you gave a foul for that, fine – but then he definitely continues into the box and accidentally, I think, catches him.
So I think the right decision was made there and as a result of that, whether we think it's right or wrong, because it's an accidental thing, by the letter of the law it's a red card. "

I think..... bollix.
There is nothing in the rules about "accidental clashes" a red is given where there is no attempt to play the ball, in the spirit of the game that means an intentional foul. Would have been a yellow, but Hanley grabbed the boy's ankle. Deliberate foul play so penalty and red is correct.

"I was actually surprised it wasn’t given – not saying a red card was given on the pitch at the time, but the foul initially was a clear foul at the time, which is what I spoke to the fourth official about.
How he misses the foul in the first place that I thought was a foul, which can happen. And then, once seeing it back, he’s missed the first one which can happen.
But VAR only intervenes because they believe you need look at this, you’ve missed it. In my opinion, that means Greg Aitken in the VAR thinks it's a red card, or definitely grounds for the review.
He goes over, and on one hand, I compliment the referee for sticking to his guns and not being swayed. He makes his own opinion clearly. It's just not the same opinion as me. I would think a lot of people looking at that will agree with me.
Soft it may be, but just the letter of the law, I think that's violent conduct, because the player who makes contact with the back of Owen's head, it's a deliberate action to not play the ball. "

Bollix again.
It was violent conduct, a straight red never mind the referee "missing the foul" .Complimenting the referee for sticking to his guns?
Fuck off man.
"Soft it may be?"
Fuck off again.

Really disappointed with Sir David's responses here.
If he can't show a bit of fight then how can he expect it from his players.
I fear for us in the derby game now.

Legend he may be but with comments like this he’s definitely starting to lose the support & legend or not he may lose his job

My own opinion btw

GG2TH

Reactions: mod
Can’t have any complaints about Hanley getting sent off. He got himself into a tangle, pulled the guy down albeit looking like more of a collision than on purpose but the boy would’ve been through on goal and 1 v 1.

As for the punch of Elding. When he says he thinks it would’ve been soft the his argument goes down the pan. What a weak reply to give. He should be saying it’s a foul , violent conduct and telling anyone who wants to listen it should’ve been a red. The Motherwell manager calls out their grievances in the media and we play it down. That is absolutely tinpot from gray. Shocking infact.

If he calls out then Hibs have a case to maybe take it further but he’s sold everyone short. He’s a joke. Saying he compliments the referee ? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ok the ref missed it , that happens but he’s getting called to the screen because the var team think it’s a red card.

Guy shoulda had a straiight red for that wallop on the back of the head :verymad:
Nothing other than a deliberate assault
Ref is an incompetent,likesome of his cohorts who make decisions that are baffing if not downright intended in their corruption of some games
The dugs in St Clair Street street cried.... Red card ref ! !!

Dickinson surely enjoyed his sunday brekkie reading that. guff from Gray/
Be swapping Christmas cards next with DG ! 🎴
Tricky Davy has form btw
Not a real surprise from this consistantly incompetent official 😠
He did similar in an old firm game, red carded a Celt and later let a hun off with a yellow for a similar offence.
Older fans here will remember from their young days, the question....
"What school did you go to !!?

"I think the first decision, I think it's the correct one. I think it's really unfortunate, I think it's completely accidental, the wind gets under the ball a little bit. I think the initial contact is outside the box, which if you gave a foul for that, fine – but then he definitely continues into the box and accidentally, I think, catches him.
So I think the right decision was made there and as a result of that, whether we think it's right or wrong, because it's an accidental thing, by the letter of the law it's a red card. "

I think..... bollix.
There is nothing in the rules about "accidental clashes" a red is given where there is no attempt to play the ball, in the spirit of the game that means an intentional foul. Would have been a yellow, but Hanley grabbed the boy's ankle. Deliberate foul play so penalty and red is correct.

"I was actually surprised it wasn’t given – not saying a red card was given on the pitch at the time, but the foul initially was a clear foul at the time, which is what I spoke to the fourth official about.
How he misses the foul in the first place that I thought was a foul, which can happen. And then, once seeing it back, he’s missed the first one which can happen.
But VAR only intervenes because they believe you need look at this, you’ve missed it. In my opinion, that means Greg Aitken in the VAR thinks it's a red card, or definitely grounds for the review.
He goes over, and on one hand, I compliment the referee for sticking to his guns and not being swayed. He makes his own opinion clearly. It's just not the same opinion as me. I would think a lot of people looking at that will agree with me.
Soft it may be, but just the letter of the law, I think that's violent conduct, because the player who makes contact with the back of Owen's head, it's a deliberate action to not play the ball. "

Bollix again.
It was violent conduct, a straight red never mind the referee "missing the foul" .Complimenting the referee for sticking to his guns?
Fuck off man.
"Soft it may be?"
Fuck off again.

He's a fuckin slaver , we need rid pronto

Should be fucking livid and saying so.

Weak man. Weak coach.

Stick up for yer side, as someone said,take the team off and refuse to play. Thats just giving the SFA kudos for their incompetence refs.

Fuck off Gray.

Get rid.

I think..... bollix.

Bollix again.
Fuck off man.
"Soft it may be?"
Fuck off again.

💯 %Doc it was deliberate on both counts.
We can only sit here and fume over the second incident SDG has the opportunity of being vocal about it to the officials and the TV and whilst I applaude him for his honesty and integrity since taking up his position I like you am scunnered he didn’t wade in. Very disappointed in his comments.

I was blethering to Alan Maybury yesterday. He’s telling me he’s got a fair bit of managerial experience. He’s available now as Stirling have put him on ‘gardening leave’ until the end of the season 👀

I watched the interview last night and was disappointed and angry at his response. I fully expected him to be raging, especially at the yellow card decision.

With responses like his, we're basically letting these cheating bastards off the hook while they laugh at us. Where's the anger and passion that should come from the head coach?

He's not the man to lead the club going forward, I just hope to fuck he's not in charge next season.

I watched the interview last night and was disappointed and angry at his response. I fully expected him to be raging, especially at the yellow card decision.

With responses like his, we're basically letting these cheating bastards off the hook while they laugh at us. Where's the anger and passion that should come from the head coach?

He's not the man to lead the club going forward, I just hope to fuck he's not in charge next season.
Any ideas who ?.

We missed out McInnes who apparently wasn’t good enough for Hibs yet he’s been top of the league for god knows how many months.

Robinson would’ve been next on the list and aside from the fact the wheels have came off since they won the league cup , he’s still a good manager. He slipped through our fingers.

It’d be up to Malky to find somebody I’m guessing. McGlynn would be a shout but his hearts connections would be a stumbling block.

Lennons name would be in the mix but would we go back there.

We missed out McInnes who apparently wasn’t good enough for Hibs yet he’s been top of the league for god knows how many months.

Robinson would’ve been next on the list and aside from the fact the wheels have came off since they won the league cup , he’s still a good manager. He slipped through our fingers.

It’d be up to Malky to find somebody I’m guessing. McGlynn would be a shout but his hearts connections would be a stumbling block.

Lennons name would be in the mix but would we go back there.
McGlynn apparently has Gunt connections. What? Reserve coach and was a Gunt supporter? Who cares. Some of our greats had Gunt backgrounds.

Wow. Ffs no wonder we are so weak.
That really is pathetic to read.
Seriously underwhelming and sums our club up.
Fuck right off
Gray should be replaced at end of the season.Weak and no tactical nous

Any ideas who ?.
Aye. Someone 95% of posters on here have never heard of.
It'll be largely a "pish in the dark" appointment. Either a "proper" foreigner or a Sassenach with "coaching experience" who's not been a manager before.
I cannae see Mackay being keen on either, as he has the experience & nous to know that a "pish in the dark" is more likely to hit a Caixinha, a Nancy or a Stendel than an Askou... which is why he stuck his neck out and stood by Gray 16 months ago, allegedly in opposition to the Board.
5th highest budget and big financial gap to the Arabs or not, I'd not be taking even money about us matching a 3rd & a 5th in 26/27 & 27/28 if we punted Gray.
We've had worse managers than Docherty & Kettlewell and players with worse attitudes than most of Ross County's underachievers. Look where they are with the biggest budget in the Championship. 2014 can happen again.
I'd be more comfortable poaching Stephen Bradley from Shamrock Rovers than any other semi-obvious candidate.
As for the "good teams / managers foster a siege mentality" argument, Guardiola doesn't. Clough would never have tolerated it. I do not recall Turnbull whining on a regular basis, though I can think of several occasions where he was entitled to - the Alex Edwards ban being number #1😠. Jock Stein usually kept his counsel.
Fergie was clearly a "siege mentality" man and his mind games seemed to sway refs to favouring Man. Utd. Crying wolf does not always work. How many times have fouls on Squirrel seen a ref wave "play on" since he developed a reputation for diving? Revie was an "us against the world" man too, but Mahatma Gandhi would've been one, had he managed Leeds when Alan Hardaker ruled the English FA.
I wouldn't say that Hibs having a manager who apes Arsene Wenger's "I deed not see zee eenceedent" attitude would be the last thing I want, but it's on the list - which is why I didn't want Lennon here, even though I thought he was a better manager than we were entitled to get at that point. I mind going to an Arsenal v Everton game where George Graham had no view of what looked a clear offside in line with the dugout when Rocastle played a through ball for the Arsenal goal, but spotted a Mountfield elbow from 60 yards away when Everton scored from a corner. There's too much one-eyed idiocy in football.
Both Bigot Brothers now have intelligent, capable coaches who "get" the clubs🙄 and will defend the indefensible. I'm not keen on that, but I'd say the speed & extent of Röhl becoming a staunch Hun is unnerving the Smellies.
Personally, I've always liked the Dick Campbell attitude. He'll often go after refs, but it's not unknown for a reporter to stick a microphone under his nose after what looked a bad decision and get an "Our boy dived / took him out and it was a deserved red. I'll be having words with him!"
Final point. Most gripes by managers and "statements" from clubs on disciplinary matters are designed to make refs wary of taking certain actions in specific situations. This often works because the gripes & statements also draw the attention of the media. The pundits will be on a ref's back if he doesn't add enough time, doesn't prevent time-wasting, ignores players nicking yardage at throws or tolerates defenders pulling shirts at corners if a managerial whinge or club statement has been made on that exact topic in that very week. When it comes to assaults like Saturday's on Elding, I doubt many refs will be thinking, "Gray's fine with forearm smashes to his players' heads, so I've no need to blow if I see one." Making an emotive statement would serve very little purpose. It was an obvious "Grade A" screw up by the officials. Those who think the SFA will not have noted the incompetence should be wearing a black balaclava & beret combo or an apron with a rolled-up trouser leg.

I don't like a manager who constantly whines about how their team were hard done by, but I think there is more than one option in how a manager responds to obvious mistakes by officials.

1. To call out bad decisions every tine they are made and point out how incompetent the officials are and vicious the opposition players are.
2. To speak about the football and stay relatively neutral about the decisions although note that the result of those had a disproportionate effect on the game. Version 2 of this is the Wenger one ie didn't see it.
3. Support the officials decisions regardless of whether you agree with them.

Ideally, managers should use a mixture of 1 and 2 dependent on the importance of the game.

SDG appears to have used the last option which to my mind is problematic because it doesn't support your player and can be really demotivating to the team collectively. We need fully motivated players in the run in, and that makes his own job so much harder. He needs to show he has their back and that means using 1 or 2, particularly in the important games or the run up to them.

The point for me is there needs to be a deliberate strategy to the post match interview which aids the team.

VAR panel didn’t compliment the ref for sticking to his decision.

They criticized him for making the wrong decision.

Can anyone explain what the purpose of the VAR panel is ?
Can't see the point of it to be honest.
Decision was made, the games over.

Can anyone explain what the purpose of the VAR panel is ?
Can't see the point of it to be honest.
Decision was made, the games over.

Thing is VAR was right to get the ref to go to monitor. The problem is the ref made the decision wrong twice. Once during game and the second time when he watched the monitor and dished out a yellow. VAR done it's side of the job and the ref didn't.

Maybe a legend but legends stick up for their players.

Call the bad refs out. Today another example.

Gray just accepts it. Fuck off ya wae yer weak mentality.

Plus good coaches waste a bit o time with subs. No davey. He just makes 3 at the same time. Thanks ya fanny.

Reactions: mod
Maybe a legend but legends stick up for their players.

Call the bad refs out. Today another example.

Gray just accepts it. Fuck off ya wae yer weak mentality.

Plus good coaches waste a bit o time with subs. No davey. He just makes 3 at the same time. Thanks ya fanny.
What he says is not wrong.

Just wished he stated the obvious out,called it how it is.

Under the circumstances...we defended incredibly well.

Could quite easily say something, multiple derbys Hearts have had a free pass with bookings not getting given for clear bookings, meanwhile a Hibs player makes one foul hes immediately booked.