Sinéad O’Connor, acclaimed Dublin singer, dies aged 56

I had a heart attack at 56 nearly 10 year ago. Fuxake.

Nice voice, intense personality ran through it like mercury.

Her behaviour, stark morals and music always - esp in her later life - reminded me of someone who suffered some kind of abuse at some point in her youth. But I don't know much about her really cos hers wasnae ma kinda music.

RIP icon of rampant empathy, Sinéad.

I had a heart attack at 56 nearly 10 year ago. Fuxake.

Nice voice, intense personality ran through it like mercury.

Her behaviour, stark morals and music always - esp in her later life - reminded me of someone who suffered some kind of abuse at some point in her youth. But I don't know much about her really cos hers wasnae ma kinda music.

RIP icon of rampant empathy, Sinéad.
My brother in law had one yesterday D and didnae make it. 65 years auld.
RIP Sinead, and RIP Mick💚

This is the second time today I’ve been completely knocked sideways by the news of someone’s death. She was an amazing talent, but someone with serious issues, hopefully she can rest in peace ❤️
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Sad news.
As has been said, she was a very beautiful, very talented lady...but a hugely troubled soul.
Sorry to hear of her untimely death.

RIP Sinead.

This is the second time today I’ve been completely knocked sideways by the news of someone’s death. She was an amazing talent, but someone with serious issues, hopefully she can rest in peace ❤️
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

That songs gets you every time.
She has one of those singing voices I could listen to all day.
RIP

I spent a couple of days with Sinéad in the early 90s. As Jimmy says - she was clearly troubled. One minute she could be bright and engaging and then her mood would swing on a heartbeat and she'd become sad and introverted. I suggested we all go out for a drink after work but she said that there was nowhere she could go in Dublin.

She was an amazing talent but, as Morrissey said this morning, the record industry got all it wanted from her and then cast her adrift.

I spent a couple of days with Sinéad in the early 90s. As Jimmy says - she was clearly troubled. One minute she could be bright and engaging and then her mood would swing on a heartbeat and she'd become sad and introverted. I suggested we all go out for a drink after work but she said that there was nowhere she could go in Dublin.

She was an amazing talent but, as Morrissey said this morning, the record industry got all it wanted from her and then cast her adrift.
I read the Morrissey thing earlier and he was spot on with what he said.

First part of what Morrissey wrote.....

“She had only so much ‘self’ to give. She was dropped by her label after selling 7 million albums for them. She became crazed, yes, but uninteresting, never.
AS wonderful with words as he ever was . RIP Sinead and Mick