Shoeing

Jack K

It's that time again
The weekly shoeing for the smellies.
Delivering the kicking this week are Athletico Madrid.

2-1 Cellik
I don't think they have played better in Europe for years and they probably still won't win.

I remember when was a wee laddie watching their infamous "kicking match" against Athletico back in 1974.
Watched it at my cousins house in Livingston. He was a Celtic fan and I remember him going mental at the tactics of the Athletico team.
Huge fight at the end of the game as well when the players were going off.

I remember when was a wee laddie watching their infamous "kicking match" against Athletico back in 1974.
Watched it at my cousins house in Livingston. He was a Celtic fan and I remember him going mental at the tactics of the Athletico team.
Huge fight at the end of the game as well when the players were going off.
My memory is that only highlights were televised

That was a fantastic half of football from Celtic the likes of which I can't remember seeing in a decade.
The technical level of Athletico is of the highest order and they are up for it.
I don't know if Celtic can keep this up mentally or physically.

Cellik bring on centre half for a winger so Rodgers is looking to stiffen things up with a back 3

Good result for Athletico who well deserved a point and probably should have won.
No so good for Celtic who were desperate to win that game.
Decent match though.

I wonder what the blind UEFA observer saw?

Cause they never saw past the gunts wee ruse!

Good result for Athletico who well deserved a point and probably should have won.
No so good for Celtic who were desperate to win that game.
Decent match though.
Great 1st half from Celtic but they looked spent in the 2nd half and were saved by the Athletico sending off when they were out on their feet.
At the half way stage in the group stage they won't be playing European football after Christmas after messing up at home against a very average Lazio team. Suspect they will get mangled in Spain next time out.

That's why i go to the pub to watch live games. Don't have to listen to those cringe worthy commentators. Mostly Scottish too.

Rangers turn.
0-0 at half time but they were rotten.
Had 1 shot to Slavia Pragues 12

2-0 Aberdeen against PAOK after an hour.
Young Barron has been the catalyst.

Aberdeen give a free goal awa immediately after making 3 subs!

18 inches or 45cm. Flavour of the month phrase and has been for a while is, the space in behind. Does ma heid in.

The one that winds me up is..

"Just about saved it or just about kept it out"
When the keepers actually saved it!

Aye, i know what you mean. How can you just about do anything when you have just done it. Another one which is creeping in is "it really is" or "it really was" courtesy of super arsehole McCoist.

This is the one that annoys me too. There’s no “just about”, they either did or the didn’t!

Half a yard. A phrase/measurement you only hear in relation to football.

I don't mind the yardage, we measure the goalmouth in yards, so makes sense.

Everyone knows it's the 18 yard line, much better than 16.4 metre line.

Are other sports in yards? Rugby, American football etc?