Sectarianism in the Women’s Game

Findlayhibby

I’ve only ever been to 3 Women’s games.Scotland Jamaica,Hibs Bayern Munich and Hibs Hearts;therefore hardly an expert on the subject; but it seems to me that all types of prejudice doesn’t seem to exist in this area.
So why is it like that?Is it because they haven’t suffered years and years of SFA misrule?

I’ve only ever been to 3 Women’s games.Scotland Jamaica,Hibs Bayern Munich and Hibs Hearts;therefore hardly an expert on the subject; but it seems to me that all types of prejudice doesn’t seem to exist in this area.
So why is it like that?Is it because they haven’t suffered years and years of SFA misrule?
Different audience I would imagine Moaty. Is it not most families and stuff? That said I fully expect our side and celtic’s will be deemed fenian hoors by people that don’t attend these games.

Were Celtic fans no banned from attending a woman’s old firm game recently because their safety couldnae be guaranteed?

Never been to see a women’s game.
Not football any way. Fnaar etc.

Seriously though, the goalkeeping is fuckin shit.

Anyone pay attention to the half time penalties at ER?
Shocking goal keeping.
If that’s not a lass in the costume then he needs sacked.
Had an easy save last time, and got megged?

Not good enough.

If we want to challenge, then quality is needed throughout.

Sack the bitch.*

*I appreciate I’m guessing, but a fairly safe bet.

Women generally aren’t as bigoted as men?

Was it a womens game the bigot bro supporters started battling at?

Or was that a youth game

But aye, largely a different audience, so less chance of the bams attending.

I watched some of a Hibs Huns women's game at tynecastle a while back not sure if was a Scottish cup final, anyway the onion bears were there and started singing their usual bigoted shite - it wasn't hello hello but it was something about fenians I'm sure. Also watched a Celtic ladies game at parkhead think it was v Glasgow city and there were about 30,000 there including the green brigade and they were signing boys of the old brigade - I knew after watching those 2 matches the games fucked here. They'll gradually drag it down to the gutter Iike they do with their mens teams

I'm sure Scottish male football supporters will bring their baggage and stupidity to womens games in Scotland and the issue will grow ever bigger as the sport strives to attract bigger spectator numbers.

If I had a bigoted partner worked with and befriended men who are bigots wouldn't it rub off?

I’m not sure.

But if you looked at your typical orange walk it’s 90% male. Maybe women don’t feel the same way about being in “a tribe” generally.

I’ve met some bigoted women, but generally far more men with a bigoted outlook.

I’m feeling you don’t agree, perhaps that’s not your experience?

If I had a bigoted partner worked with and befriended men who are bigots wouldn't it rub off?
I’ve had partners with some wacky ideas, but they don’t become my outlook because I’m exposed to them, they’re still wacky ideas.

I’m not sure.

But if you looked at your typical orange walk it’s 90% male. Maybe women don’t feel the same way about being in “a tribe” generally.

I'm trying to get to the bottom of it.Does football cause bigotry or do bigots come to football?

Certain football teams cultivate an experience that gives bigotry a place to thrive?

Generally though, I think bigotry would still exist without football. Maybe football has kept it stronger than it otherwise might have been.

Interesting discussion point. What do you think?

Sectarianism can dissapate when workers take collective action.There are examples over in Ireland in more recent times at Waterford and in the NHS where Protestant and Catholic workers joined each other in action.I don't believe all Rangers supporters are going to vote Tory.There will be plenty SNP and Labour Rangers supporters.The vast majority don't go on Orange marches and behave like Mason Boyne.You'll get a lot of Rangers supporters because they were born near Ibrox.

I’m not sure.

I’m not at all sure women are less bigoted. They just (generally) care about different things. I’m never done greeting to wife, daughters, sisters, colleagues and friends to ffs give it a rest already about people who are supposed to be their friends! In my view, tbh and I may get hung for it, it’s as well male aggression and physical power, and female rivalry are divided into separate packages !

I know one Hun, who is a bit of a bigot.

Probably the cock bit if I had to be specific.
But his missus tops his bigotry by a country mile.

I'm sure Scottish male football supporters will bring their baggage and stupidity to womens games in Scotland and the issue will grow ever bigger as the sport strives to attract bigger spectator numbers.
When you have coaches going about headbutting other coaches after the game it's only natural. Did he even get banned for that the Hun cvnt?

Sectarianism can dissapate when workers take collective action.There are examples over in Ireland in more recent times at Waterford and in the NHS where Protestant and Catholic workers joined each other in action.I don't believe all Rangers supporters are going to vote Tory.There will be plenty SNP and Labour Rangers supporters.The vast majority don't go on Orange marches and behave like Mason Boyne.You'll get a lot of Rangers supporters because they were born near Ibrox.
I've yet to meet a hun who supports Scottish independence. Tbh mate, I'd struggle to see why an SNP voter would support and attend games where the vast majority of his brethren were waving union flags and singing GSTK

I know two The Rangers supporters who back independence. One is my nephew; the other is a colleague.

I know a few, with some very active in the SNP & independence movement. They're just guys that were born in the West often with hun family/parents.

I was a hibee before I had any interest in politics. My older brother (Celtic) &
sister (Hibs) both voted No in Indyref.

I think lots of football supporters don't give a shit about politics and you're unlikely to change your team over politics anyway surely ?

I only have one hun pal, he is a passionate Scottish nationalist. He is my pal for other reasons right enough.

Oddly there are a hell of a lot of celtc fans who are unionists

The rangers supporters you notice are the bam Hibs hating sectarian bigots,but at Ibrox 3 quarters of the crowd are probably only there to see their team win.If they were really bigoted Roman Catholics wouldnae play for them.

Are Kenny Miller, Gordon Durie et al who played for us bigots?I doubt it.Ok you'll get me on Goram.

I think lots of football supporters don't give a shit about politics and you're unlikely to change your team over politics anyway surely ?

I think you are correct.

But on the other hand, there may be quite a lot who would change/determine their politics because of the team they support.

Like @sockyboy I've yet to meet a Hun who wanted Scottish independence, but thankfully I don't know many of them. The ones I do know are vehement Unionists.

As for the Green Brigade, I find it very coincidental that they all adopt the same politics, and are big fans of plasticene.