Scotland Belgium....

LEGENDARY RADGE
The first scunner I took to football involved Scotland, since returning from six year stint working abroad in 1999 I had got back into following Hibs home and away, taking in pre season friendlies in far off lands, popping down to Goodison and even annual pilgrimages to the Camp Nou and generally enjoying the football again. I also took to heading along to Hampden to watch Scotland. I can mind one night in late March driving down from work in Aberdeen to head to Scotland San Marino at Hampden, ticket in the car and getting to the turn at Perth and instead of heading west to Hampden, I headed home instead. I was scunnered with Scotland (although they won 4 nil that night). I flirted with the national team, especially when my oldest son fell in love with the beautiful game and with the help of bouncers who sadly no longer post on here, I regularly picked up tickets for great games against France, the Netherlands and Spain and suchlike, but it never got me back.

What is he slavering about I hear you ask? Well, twice recently I have tuned in to the telly to watch the new Scotland under Gordon Strachan, beating Croatia then matching although ultimately losing to England. Something inside stirred, was that national pride I felt? The games must have done something, as the aforementioned "senior junior" has been asking, nae begging to go to Hampden this Friday night and after years of disinterest, we are going and I am really looking forward to it.

OK, we have the best Belgium team to witness in a generation, I can admire Mirallas and Lukaku whilst booing Fellaini!! Then there is Mignolet, Vertongen, Chadli, Dembele, Benteke, de Bruyne, Hazard and Dries Mertens. But more importantly, there is Scotland, a bit of swagger, a confidence, Sparky, there might even be Kevin Thomson, but most importantly, there is pride.

Oh to feel that way about the Hibs again.

The first scunner I took to football involved Scotland, since returning from six year stint working abroad in 1999 I had got back into following Hibs home and away, taking in pre season friendlies in far off lands, popping down to Goodison and even annual pilgrimages to the Camp Nou and generally enjoying the football again. I also took to heading along to Hampden to watch Scotland. I can mind one night in late March driving down from work in Aberdeen to head to Scotland San Marino at Hampden, ticket in the car and getting to the turn at Perth and instead of heading west to Hampden, I headed home instead. I was scunnered with Scotland (although they won 4 nil that night). I flirted with the national team, especially when my oldest son fell in love with the beautiful game and with the help of bouncers who sadly no longer post on here, I regularly picked up tickets for great games against France, the Netherlands and Spain and suchlike, but it never got me back.

What is he slavering about I hear you ask? Well, twice recently I have tuned in to the telly to watch the new Scotland under Gordon Strachan, beating Croatia then matching although ultimately losing to England. Something inside stirred, was that national pride I felt? The games must have done something, as the aforementioned "senior junior" has been asking, nae begging to go to Hampden this Friday night and after years of disinterest, we are going and I am really looking forward to it.

OK, we have the best Belgium team to witness in a generation, I can admire Mirallas and Lukaku whilst booing Fellaini!! Then there is Mignolet, Vertongen, Chadli, Dembele, Benteke, de Bruyne, Hazard and Dries Mertens. But more importantly, there is Scotland, a bit of swagger, a confidence, Sparky, there might even be Kevin Thomson, but most importantly, there is pride.

Oh to feel that way about the Hibs again.

I think we have a real shot at our next campaign for qualifying.... We looked so organised vs England, something I hadnt seen in a while from a Scotland game

If only we sacked Potter sooner

Or brought in someone decent in the first place.

I'm quite chuffed to be getting proved wrong with Strachan, he has the team playing well. When he was announced I said hiring a Scottish manager would be a mistake as we wouldn't progress tactically, but Strachan's teams is far better to watch than the keech served up by Levien and Burley. Good luck to the wee ginger smartarse.

I think Belgium are a quality attacking team, completely different test than England.

Will be interesting to see how we fare, strachan certainly has us playing far better.

The next campaign will be very tough as we'll be so poorly seeded.

Will be a very tough game on Friday night and by far the biggest test yet for Strachan's new Scotland team.
A draw against Belgium and a narrow win against Macedonia would be a great return from these two games.
It's all about trying to finish third in the group and setting ourselves up for a real shot at qualifying for the Euros in 2016.

A good ball......a good ball says Provan. Somebody explain tae me how Forrest`s cross ball goes straight into the arms of the opposition goalkeeper and how it could be described as a "good ball" ? It was nowhere near any scotland player.....

I'll hazard [I know, he's Belgian] a guess and say it is because he [Provan] is a cock

I don't get the whole "Forrest is good" thing. I've never seen him do anything good. And he runs in a weird girly way.

I'll hazard [I know, he's Belgian] a guess and say it is because he [Provan] is a cock

You could be onto something there Dub....:hmmm It would explain a lot.

I don't get the whole "Forrest is good" thing. I've never seen him do anything good. And he runs in a weird girly way.

I agree. I think he`s another over-rated OF player who`ll continue to win caps simply because he`s an OF player.

Why does Hutton always try and cut the ball inside all the time when he could get a ball into the box?? Always trying to be too clever....

Playing quite well, doing great against Fellaini and Witsel.

Commentators are full of shit, good cross.. naw.
Good save from a shot directly at his scuffing along the ground.. naw

We need someone else coming into the box, Griffiths can't be expected to compete alone, especially when the balls don't match his movement.

Why does Hutton always try and cut the ball inside all the time when he could get a ball into the box?? Always trying to be too clever....

Because he is useless hun bassa. Your bounce reporter, hampden

Oh FFS.....the PA at Hampden belting out Runrigs "Loch Lomond".......a truly awful dirge and a national embarrassment. :pullhair:

What a turn from Sparky to draw the yellow card for Vertonghen.

I'd almost forgot how he could light up dull matches at ER. The loss seems so stark this season.

I miss LG.

Ikechi Anya looks a decent player

Forrest employing his Celtc tactics.....either that he`s no wearing studs as seems to want to slide about on his hole every time the ball comes close to him.

Forrest is really quite poor, I was under the impression he was decent.

Him and Hutton on that right hand side is really slack.

Can't complain. They're a really good team. Hanley should accept some criticism there.

Aye, I thought we've been decent, and I like the way we're trying to play now.

This lot are quality, and the depth of their squad is frightening - Dembele and Mirallas off the bench. And that's WITHOUT Hazard. Serious contenders in 2014, for my money.

Yep, i dont think we were poor. We tried to play the right way, tried to play through midfield, tried to attack them. Never just sat in and defended and resort to hoofball like Potter certainly would have. He probably wouldn`t even have put a striker on. We were beaten by a far better side with far better players. Nothing less and certainly nothing to be ashamed about. We are learning and improving.

Roll on Tuesday. :applause:

I don't think they'll be in the final in Brazil, if there is to be a European team it'll be France or Spain for me.
At the next euros however....

When Hibs start playing like that, I'll accept Pat Fenlon telling me we need a break, or a bit of luck.

Hope he takes the time to watch it.

I let Sparky knew we love him, plenty times. When he went off, me along with various other Hibby's around me gave him a standing ovation. Some clueless flaps shouted Rhodes should have been on from the start, like he made a difference. Nasally challenged tramps that they are.

Sparky, come home.

Belgium look very good, strong and technically sound.

Scotland did about as well as could be expected against a better team

Davie Provan is a fucking **** of a man and its obvious he hates Scotland.

Belgium look very good, strong and technically sound.

Scotland did about as well as could be expected against a better team

Davie Provan is a $#@!ing **** of a man and its obvious he hates Scotland.

He certainly had a few digs at Griffiths, and then sooked the knob of Rhodes....
Griffiths done well for the very very limited options he had, a couple of great turns and lay offs, he never really got much more to do than that.
But Provan is a plum of the highest order

I don't think they'll be in the final in Brazil, if there is to be a European team it'll be France or Spain for me.
At the next euros however....

France?? Really?! They haven't even scored in their last five games. I'd be surprised if Belgium didn't outperform them.

Here I totally meant to say Germany. I have no idea where or why France came up...
Brazil to win it outright for me anyway. Means so much more to them to win in their tournament, and the young players they have playing both in Europe and Brazil have some real quality, and will be ready to roll next summer.

I was going to pull you up about France also. An ordinary side if ever there was one.

Just typing without thinking. Completely agree, plenty good youngsters in their game, but everyone seems to be overly full of themselves and that kills their chances on the spot.

Dunno why I said France :doh