Salmond v Scot Gov

You cant keep a good man down.

Or someone cant deal with being out the limelight.
He allegedly was seeking a superinjunction? Or whatever you call the thing the likes of Ryan Giggs got to "protect his wife"? Those machinations came to a halt.

I tried to read a bit more at lunchtime, but it all seems a bit murky just now. The statement from Nicola Sturgeon is a bit awkward.

Heard some pretty shocking stuff about him via someone in the Scottish Executive last week. Seemed a bit weird that they’d spill stuff like that to someone they didn’t know.

Personally, I’ve never found him a likeable person - a bit dead
behind the eyes. He always thought Putin was a great guy too which is frankly weird.

I’m no fan of salmond - but it’s bizarre.

I've always rated him as a heavyweight politician. However, I once overheard how he spoke to support staff dismissively when he was First Minister and concluded he was a bit of a c u next tuesday. I think he's been what Thatcher was to Major with Sturgeon. She looks embarrassed by him as he tries to be a back seat driver undermining her.

Heavy och aye but lightweight politically in my opinion. See he has jacked the SNP in. Will re apply once he has become saintly again. If I were in the SNP, inconceivable as that may be. I would tell the fat Jambo fud to bolt.

He loves himself too much to simply do the right thing and retire. His large shadow, and the tendency for many members of the SNP to focus on a second referendum, threatens to be the demise of the SNP. It would be a shame as some of them have managed to bring worthy debate to many aspects of social policy.

He's begging for donations for his legal costs? Do gunts no know that normal people actually DO pay for things themselves??!

Anyone who donated to that crowdfunder should be embarrassed, he's minted!

Anyone who takes notice of Davie Clegg And David Leask should feel equally so, a couple of total wanks.

Reactions: Dub
Sorry G, but to take the SNP to a position of power in Holyrood is anything but lightweight. The system was designed to stop it happening. That may have come about by the fact the voters were cheesed off with the Tories, and more especially Labour, but Salmonds political craft helped greatly.

I agree. I doubt many of his political opponents north or south considered him lightweight.

His rotund Jambo belly adding to that!

I dinnae care what team he supports. I met him years ago, told the tale on here, he is not a favourite of mine and I am a proud Scottish Nationalist (and a Socialist to boot). The accusations are not good though, for the poor women who may have been treated badly or Salmond if he is in fact innocent.

He was very impressive during the lead up to the Referendum when he was well able to deal with the pressure of the lies and mis information that was coming from all sides in Londonĺ.Bit funny looking though!

Anyone who donated to that crowdfunder should be embarrassed, he's minted!

Anyone who takes notice of Davie Clegg And David Leask should feel equally so, a couple of total wanks.
The crowdfunder can be interpreted as a flexing of muscles. Intimidatory even. It's very Trump like.

From the other angle it’s fundamentally unfair that access to justice is based on financial muscle. Salmond is lucky he has the means to pay. Yer average punter accused of the same is in a much more vulnerable position.

With dealing with him at work a few dozen times a high percentage of times an utter arsehole. Arrogant, rude and he always expected staff to do overtime to his whim at all hours with no notice, none of this to me as would have slapped his jambo coupon. Nicola sturgeon on the other hand could not be a nicer person in my experience

while i totally agree

i saw it as attempting to intimidate the pundits (tories and labour) carping from the sidelines rather intimidating the scot govt.

a bold move, if he is right, then a vey clever one.

if not.... well it wont play well.

Eck anecdote for you, might have said this one on here before...

Early 1998 and me and a few mates bunked off school early to get the train up to Dundee for the Dundee United v Hibs game. Think this was the other Eck - GJP's - first game in charge at Hibs and it ended 1-1 with Yogi getting our goal. On the way back we picked up a chippy for the train. Who should be sat opposite us but Alex Salmond. He was fast asleep so, being the horrible wee radges that we were, we began lobbing chips at him. By the time he awakes from his slumber, not long before the train is about to roll into Waverley, he finds himself covered in chips and us laughing our heads off. Instead of going mental he actually finds it funny and comes over and sits with us and chats to us about the game and fitba in general. I think even back then I knew he was a hearts prick but fair play to him that day.