Rumour.

Aye 4312. Think with the players we have that's the only suitable option. We are seriously lacking in width. Your right Stubbs played it tae.

Mowbray 4 we're Brown, Thomson, Beuzelin and Shiels.

Stubbs 4 we're Allan, McGinn, McGeouch and Fyvie.

Come next season it could be but highly unlikely Chaiwa, Mulligan, McGrath and Newell.

I'd add Rudi to that lot

Aye. Was just going most tried n trusted but plenty room for improvement or the laddie getting a chance.

Another I think looks better out wide.
Just gets crowded out in midfield. Out wide he can stretch his legs and get moving.

Last chance for him to get into the squad this season imo.

Because there's nothing in our contracts that can attract that money.

Their wages make up a proportion of the value, and we don't pay anywhere near the wages down south or across the M8. Gives us a lot less room to push the price sky high.

Aye, they can afford it, but they don't need to.
An offer of half that plus 2,3,4x the wage packet sinks us.
That makes no sense. If a player is worth 10 million, he is worth 10 million regardless of his current wages. We undersold Super John, and the Aston Villa fans are happy to admit that, so we shouldn't make the same mistake this time round with a player who, imo, is equally good.

That's what happens though.

The exact same player at Hibs and Celtic has a vastly different valuation.
Values aren't worldwide, they're club specific.
Any transfer market value you see for a player is a guesstimate.

And yeah, John was a total bargain, but the alternative was a free transfer within the year.

If Bowie was a Celtic player, he'd have commanded a much bigger fee.
Even the useless Celtic players get decent fees.

Correct, it's about time we just started saying fuck off. I don't care if he is on 5k a week we want £10m do you want him aye or naw? Bowie wasn't earning a £6m players salary and we got it so where does it become unrealistic?
Can we never get £10m for a player because of what we pay our players?

Reactions: Dub
Correct, it's about time we just started saying fuck off. I don't care if he is on 5k a week we want £10m do you want him aye or naw? Bowie wasn't earning a £6m players salary and we got it so where does it become unrealistic?
I agree but there's a risk prospects won't come to us if we're seen to stand in the way of big money (for them) moves. Hard to balance for the club

Player wages go up every year. So yeah, we'll eventually get there. But by that time it'll still be seen as being short changed because the average English player goes for 4 or 5x that.

Length of contract comes into it too.
Had Bowie been in his final year we wouldn't have seen anywhere near that figure either.

That's not to say any exceptional talent wouldn't be able to command more, but that would depend on other clubs being interested etc.

But a players current wage, will drag the fee down, or push it up.