Recipes

Sancho Panza

We Bouncers all seem to love our scran, so thought it might be a fun and useful resource to post any particular favourite recipes you have that other folk here might like or find useful.
I'll kick off with this. I've found loads of good recipes on the BBC website and this is my current favourite. Make it pretty much every other week. Quick, cheap and really tasty. Serve with a beverage of your own choosing and enjoy.

I dinnae eat lamb but am happy to cook it for others. I work around this recipe adding a kilo of tatties and parsnips in the tray below.

As I posted before but shall do again.

A white bean in a red tomato sauce poured over lightly flambed bread.

Boss

I dinnae eat lamb but am happy to cook it for others. I work around this recipe adding a kilo of tatties and parsnips in the tray below.

Don’t eat lamb either, poor wee things gamb(o)ling in the field 🥲

Being someone who has no interest in cooking I like other folks recipes.

The favourite being giant Yorkshire puddings filled with mince and tatties (with peas).

My specialty is Melanzane Parmigiana. My wife always orders it in Italian restaurants and every time she says mine is still the best.

Chicken thighs fillets chopped up up into fork sized bits and kinda fried in a pot.

When done, wee brown bits showing on the edges, strain then add a tin of chopped tomatoes and 3/4/5 tablespoons of sweet chilli sauce (New World) depending on taste or mood and heat for a couple of minutes (I heat this mixture in the microwave before I add*).

Serve on a bed of rice.

Be lucky if it takes 15 minutes.

* I've taken to heating most things before I add to the main stuff.

Cheese burger loaded fries. As the top chefs like to say, this is all about quality ingredients, specifically jarred pickles - the slices you get on burgers, American yellow mustard, mayo, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. And nacho style cheese sauce, maybe.

Anyhow get yer chips going, by your preferred method.

Make some Big Mac / burger sauce. Lots of recipes for this on the internet but basically mix mayo and American mustard and, crucially, a wee bit of the liquor from the pickles. You can chop some of them into it if you like. Some folk add ketchup and onion powder. Got for it, I won’t judge, but the essential formula is mayo, mustard and pickle juice.

Now the key to it all.

Brown some mince then slap in a tablespoon or two of ketchup and a slug or two of Worcestershire. Sub soy for for the Worcester if you want. Cook off the mince in this. You are not making a sauce here, the end result should be ‘dry’ and crumbly. In other words dinnae add enough sauce to make it saucy.

Once your chips are done, either sprinkle over grated cheese and melt it by some means, or slap on some of that nacho cheese sauce you can buy.

Scatter the mince over with whatever takes your fancy ; pickles, jalapeños, spring onions or diced red onion, diced tomatoes for example. Perhaps some sour cream. Basically anything you might like to put on a burger, put on here but you’re dicing things like toms where you might put a slice on a burger.

Bish and indeed, bosh.

Scheme cuisine chow main. If you minimise the chopping this can be made faster than a microwave ready meal.

Blanche some noodles in hot water - 3 minutes (rinse them in cold when they’re done)

Meanwhile:

Speed version: frozen garlic and ginger (can get from Tesco) into hot oil. I usually chop a chilli in. Store chilli’s in the freezer in a freezer bag. Add cooked chicken pieces once the garlic and ginger have been in for a minute.

Slower version: exactly the same but with fresh garlic and cooked whole chicken breast, thereby incurring some chopping time.

Add the drained and rinsed noodles to the pan.

Slug of light soy, slug of dark soy, dollop of oyster sauce or kecap manis ( hat tip to @1875 ). Can add a squirt of sriracha if you want it hotter. If you don’t have all this gear, soy plus a teaspoon of sugar will get you by but won’t have the same depth. Add white pepper. Add a splash of water if things are sticking together.

Whisk it all up for a minute or so, and just before plating stir in some sesame oil. Can live without but it really makes a difference.

Plate and top with spring onions. Or you can add these to cooking last thing if you want them warmed a bit.

Done.

Can add veg with the chicken, but if you want things like peppers to be soft it will take a bit longer. I like them and onions to be only just cooked so doesn’t slow me down when I add them. Can also get frozen onions but from Tesco for speed, though these won’t have a crunch to them which I like.

Being someone who has no interest in cooking I like other folks recipes.

The favourite being giant Yorkshire puddings filled with mince and tatties (with peas).
I do that but with big fat sausages…
Start by browning sausages in a deepish tray, pour my own made pudding mix in over the sausages…. Cook them, put mash tatties in then in a pre heated grill for 5 minute then pour over onion gravy. The absolute dugs 💚💚💚

Something we eat in our house probably once a week is Black Kale pesto. I had it in a restaurant and knicked the recipe. The kids have always loved it and my boy was a very fussy eater so it was a good way to get greens in him. It’s also incredibly simple (if you’ve got a blender).

Boil plenty of water and chuck in three or four garlic cloves. Once the water comes to the boil add the roughly chopped kale and boil/steep till it softens. Take the kale and garlic out and squeeze out as much excess water as you can. (Try and keep the water if you can to boil your pasta in). Chuck the kale and garlic in a blender with a load of olive oil, salt and ground black pepper and whizz it. When it’s almost smooth add some pine nuts and blend them in roughly. You can also add Parmesan cheese now but I usually just add it grated on the top once the pasta is served.

Boil your pasta while you are blending - I normally do fusilli pasta with it so the spirals catch the sauce - and once the pasta is cooked I mix the pasta and pesto in a bowl and serve.

The best thing about this is you can freeze the pesto to use later - we find that two packets of kale make about three meals worth. The key is to use nice olive oil but the prices have gone crazy in the last couple of years so we’ve found a supermarket own brand that we like.

I’ve got an old kenwood blender - an ex girlfriend gave it to me for my 20th birthday and I thought WTF!? But actually it’s brilliant. She sadly passed away a few years ago (long after we’d split) but I think of her every week or so when I use the blender.

I make a very good pot of soup, the family favourite being leek and tattie - unblended.

As a main, it’s roasting a chicken with my own stuffing mix using sage and onion, cranberry, mixed fruit, apricot and mixed fresh herbs.

For a dessert it’s semolina with fresh chopped fruit and crème fresh.

Making this tonight. Ridiculously quick and easy. Suitably for vegans too.

No allowed straws mate. Bastard Columbians 😉

Ach I'll survive. Should get the gnashers back by Friday so it may well be a steak night before watching the game.

Chips, egg x 2 and beans or spaghetti one of ma favs , make it on a regular basis , about once a fortnight 😜 Also spag bol made with a jar of sauce, and mince obv , none of your home made crap 🤣

Egg, chips and beans was a favourite for a while. Nice slice of plain bread as well.

Chips, egg x 2 and beans or spaghetti one of ma favs , make it on a regular basis , about once a fortnight 😜 Also spag bol made with a jar of sauce, and mince obv , none of your home made crap 🤣

That isnae remotely funny Joe. A jar of 'sauce' is 4 times the price of a can of Italian chopped tomato and some effort. You must have a good pension.

Spot on, and full of preservatives and shite, and more importantly nowhere near as good.

Jarred pasta sauces are the biggest swizz in the supermarket, amongst stiff competition.