Prisons

Davy

So Nottingham prison have recalled 25% of the prisoners who were released early. Most were homeless and restored back to crime. Why? No houses lack of probation officers, lack of planning and resources for early leavers left them open to the life that out them in prison in the first place. No rehabilitation.

Over 1000 people arrested or investigated in recent riots and demonstrations. Prisons will not be able to cope.

Justice minister wants to replace early release with cutting prison term. This is so probation officers can plan for the releases as they will know when they will be released and they can plan for it. Except probation officers, social workers, doctors etc are already at breaking point.

But be careful how you speak about the goverrnment of you might get arrested and add to the problem

Has to be noted though that the Tories under Sunak introduced the measuee bit Labiur seem intent on carrying forward early release.

So Nottingham prison have recalled 25% of the prisoners who were released early. Most were homeless and restored back to crime. Why? No houses lack of probation officers, lack of planning and resources for early leavers left them open to the life that out them in prison in the first place. No rehabilitation.

Over 1000 people arrested or investigated in recent riots and demonstrations. Prisons will not be able to cope.

Justice minister wants to replace early release with cutting prison term. This is so probation officers can plan for the releases as they will know when they will be released and they can plan for it. Except probation officers, social workers, doctors etc are already at breaking point.

But be careful how you speak about the goverrnment of you might get arrested and add to the problem

Has to be noted though that the Tories under Sunak introduced the measuee bit Labiur seem intent on carrying forward early release.
Perhaps if the Tories hadn't allowed the prison service to deteriorate over the past fourteen years through neglect, there might be a few more options now.

If you take everything from them....and release them like dogs.

What do you expect?

Can't get children homes,can't get pensioners homes,can't get veterans homes...

What kind of society has this supposed democracy brought us?

Where do you think someone that perhaps has time to reflect,and is then thrown on the gutter....

Where do you expect to land?

What do you expect?

Where do you think someone that perhaps has time to reflect,and is then thrown on the gutter....

I get that, but I've seen a lot of your posts stating what's wrong with Britain. If it was up to you who would you like in government, what kind of government would you advocate.

What do you expect?
More shit in the streets. I'd expect that.
They cant?
A better one than, say, Russia?
This isn't even english.
Depends where I am flying to.

There are offenders who shouldn’t be anywhere near prisons, also a lot of sentences should be commuted to public service such as repairing pot holes, clearing and maintenance of parks, gardens etc. This would also create capacity, ease workload on Councils and have more rehabilitation and learning.

You're absolutely right.

In a couple of European countries, I can't remember which, the prisoners go to work as normal but go to detention centres in the evening and at weekends.

We've spoken on here many times about how ridiculous it is that non violent offenders get banged up, maybe even drunk drivers and the like. In my opinion this is how we should deal with them.

And get them working as slave labour, just like the land of the free.
Each plantation, sorry prison must pay it's open way. That'll sort it out
Passed a chain gang when driving from Canada to New York.
Looked like a movie set, with the prisoners in chains and armed guards watching.

Saw similar in Sacramento. A mix of men and women in blue overalls clearing the weeds from a big drainage ditch.
Seems such a good and simple idea.

Saw similar in Sacramento. A mix of men and women in blue overalls clearing the weeds from a big drainage ditch.
The prisoners would probably sue the government here for breaking a fingernail

Depends how much those running the jails are charging for providing the labour. It's a profitable business.

I get that, but I've seen a lot of your posts stating what's wrong with Britain. If it was up to you who would you like in government, what kind of government would you advocate.
It needs completely broken down...and started again.

Too much corruption,and career politicians!

Breaking it down would be hard for everyone at first....Till a solution can be found!

Bit is it really any different from what is happening in slow time?

I thought these people were supposed to represent YOU!

Do you honestly believe Diane Abbot has been the best person to demand things for Hackney North....For the past 30 years???

We live in a crazy crazy world,and Marxism is pretty much here.

Brilliant response Ryan, totally avoiding an answer to the question.
You certainly live in a crazy crazy world.
Luckily for you.

More shit in the streets. I'd expect that.

They cant?

A better one than, say, Russia?

This isn't even english.

Depends where I am flying to.
I love how you are always there to fire your grievance of your life for me...😁

I think your '"they can't" comment is so stupid.

Who's running the show?
I thought prison in UK as rehabilitation?

If you have nowhere to stay,no income,being labelled as a convict....where do you think they land?

The whole system needs completely broken down!

Keir Starmer....Is not someone that Britians requirements are top of his agenda!

Brilliant response Ryan, totally avoiding an answer to the question.
You certainly live in a crazy crazy world.
Luckily for you.
Say what you want...it's bloody obvious!

I didn't read his whole post.....

I got so far and thought....Your an unhappy man!

Look at pretty much every post I do...he has the first thumbs down for months.

Do I really need to read the rest..when I know where I'm coming from?

Look back at my posts. 90% first thumbs down 👍

Emerald Dahmer...🤣

Emerald Dahmer?
You think he might shag your dead body?

You are pretty sick thinking that.
I’m concerned I understood you.

I maybe need to take a break.

It needs completely broken down...and started again.

Too much corruption,and career politicians!

Breaking it down would be hard for everyone at first....Till a solution can be found!

Bit is it really any different from what is happening in slow time?

I thought these people were supposed to represent YOU!

Do you honestly believe Diane Abbot has been the best person to demand things for Hackney North....For the past 30 years???

We live in a crazy crazy world,and Marxism is pretty much here.

The voters have.

I love how you are always there to fire your grievance of your life for me...😁

I think your '"they can't" comment is so stupid.

Who's running the show?
I thought prison in UK as rehabilitation?

If you have nowhere to stay,no income,being labelled as a convict....where do you think they land?

The whole system needs completely broken down!

Keir Starmer....Is not someone that Britians requirements are top of his agenda!
Ive got a great life mate. You're a simpleton, nothing more, nothing less.

In truth, I dont think you're very well.

If I were in that position, I'd prefer being outside working than stuck in a cell for 23 hours a day.
Used to be done.
My grandfather was a prison officer and often would escort a handful of 'connies' up to the prison plots which were a short walk away.
On the way back he would go to his house and ask my gran to get them a cuppa.
It has to be pointed out these were mostly petty thieves, burglars etc.
Thing I noticed most even as a 13 year old was their manners.
Always thanked my gran for the tea/ juice.
Changed days.

Reactions: Stu
9 years in the tin pail for arson. Tried tae set asylum seeker hotel on fire.

Previous convictions including for criminal damage, attacking emergency workers, and racially aggravated harassment. On this occasion smashed windows at the asylum seekers hotel and added wood to the fire against the building. Judge mentions a 'white supremacist mindset'.

Nice chap.

Previous convictions including for criminal damage, attacking emergency workers, and racially aggravated harassment. On this occasion smashed windows at the asylum seekers hotel and added wood to the fire against the building. Judge mentions a 'white supremacist mindset'.

Nice chap.
Taking into account all his previous it should have been life or the final day of the next 2 transfer windows in here...

I saw the report on BBC news on Pentonville last night.Feckin' hell what a hellhole.One suggestion is bring the prison system back under public control instead of G4S or whoever runs them now.Build more prisons to get rid of the drastic overcrowding.Pay the prison officers a damn site more than they currently get and reduce sentencing for the petty stuff like shopliffting and possesion of drugs,in fact legalise all drugs.One thing is for certain it cannot go on the way that it is.I think I am right in saying the UK locks up more people per head of population than most places in Europe,that has to end.

Reactions: Stu
I saw the report on BBC news on Pentonville last night.Feckin' hell what a hellhole.One suggestion is bring the prison system back under public control instead of G4S or whoever runs them now.Build more prisons to get rid of the drastic overcrowding.Pay the prison officers a damn site more than they currently get and reduce sentencing for the petty stuff like shopliffting and possesion of drugs,in fact legalise all drugs.One thing is for certain it cannot go on the way that it is.I think I am right in saying the UK locks up more people per head of population than most places in Europe,that has to end.
...but not in the way places like Canada has done it Findlay.... what a mess.

Tell me about Canada.
I think theres quite a problem with opiate addiction in places Findlay. (Think Kensington in Philly). Everykant bent over double like zombies. Fentnyl Crisis, now fentmyl mixed wi animal tranqs. Fucking people up somewhat. My mate and his family visited Canada last year, in a few places (cannae mind where) and they were horrified at the state o the places they were. "Junkies everywhere". Seen a bit on social medja tae.

So to you point of legalise all drugs, which imo is fundamentally correct, if it were to happen here, i would like there to also be "safe space" type places where these people can be supported in whatever drug theyre into.... but seeing as we cannae even gie bairns playgrounds or support vulnerable in the here and now, im no sure we could fund that, and probs nor should we, because theres so much to fix in the here and now already.

Can we no just free the weed:15: ☮️ as a starter for 10?:ura:

I think theres quite a problem with opiate addiction in places Findlay. (Think Kensington in Philly). Everykant bent over double like zombies. Fentnyl Crisis, now fentmyl mixed wi animal tranqs. Fucking people up somewhat. My mate and his family visited Canada last year, in a few places (cannae mind where) and they were horrified at the state o the places they were. "Junkies everywhere". Seen a bit on social medja tae.

So to you point of legalise all drugs, which imo is fundamentally correct, if it were to happen here, i would like there to also be "safe space" type places where these people can be supported in whatever drug theyre into.... but seeing as we cannae even gie bairns playgrounds or support vulnerable in the here and now, im no sure we could fund that, and probs nor should we, because theres so much to fix in the here and now already.

Can we no just free the weed:15: ☮️ as a starter for 10?:ura:
Manchester is like that. Or was when I spent time there several years back.

Quite a specific local problem it was I believe, with a drug called spice. Guys just frozen in place sometimes in ways that looked like something out of a bad comedy, eg tripped over a bench and legs pointed up in the air. It was really grim.