Price of funerals

Davy

My Mum died last weekend and Just wondered what basic prices are normally. We went to Fosters as they advertise on TV that they are the cheapest and there sint a lot of money going around at present. Anyhow they have quoted a hearse and mahogony coffin for £1600 for cremation. I have no idea about prices so just wondered if this is cheaper or not? The funeral is in Holytown so they need to drive from Rutherglen to there, I believe mileage matters a lot to undertakers.

That sounds cheap Davy.
My mother's funeral 18 months ago cost just over 4k.
Probably going to be cheaper in a city where there is competition ( one undertaker in PD), but even so it looks a good price.

My Mum died last weekend and Just wondered what basic prices are normally. We went to Fosters as they advertise on TV that they are the cheapest and there sint a lot of money going around at present. Anyhow they have quoted a hearse and mahogony coffin for £1600 for cremation. I have no idea about prices so just wondered if this is cheaper or not? The funeral is in Holytown so they need to drive from Rutherglen to there, I believe mileage matters a lot to undertakers.

sorry to hear that aswell, only thing to add is that the prices vary greatly based on where you are.

The £7k funeral lottery: the cheapest and most expensive places to be buried in the UK

Firstly sorry for your sad loss mate.I was a Funeral service manager for many years £1600 does seem really cheap? I would make sure you have a written estimate mate the funeral trade is not regulated so be careful. Are they members of NAFD etc.
Funerals bills are in two parts Professional services and Disbursements. Professional fees are cars , body prep and coffin etc.Disburments tea , newspaper, flowers , clergy , organist the list goes on.
So do your research any questions mate I am here to help . God bless.

Firstly sorry for your sad loss mate.I was a Funeral service manager for many years £1600 does seem really cheap? I would make sure you have a written estimate mate the funeral trade is not regulated so be careful. Are they members of NAFD etc.
Funerals bills are in two parts Professional services and Disbursements. Professional fees are cars , body prep and coffin etc.Disburments tea , newspaper, flowers , clergy , organist the list goes on.
So do your research any questions mate I am here to help . God bless.

Firstly thanks for ALL your thoughts.

As to above post, thanks for advice. This undertaker came with some recommendations from people we know in the West. The guy we spoke to said they are actively looking for premises in Edinburgh so expect them here soon.

The price as I said was basic cost. Other things to add on are seperate such as two personalised wreaths from family and then grandkids comes in at an additional £240. We are avoiding all other expenses as she wasn't very religious and so I am conducting the funeral with some poems etc from grandkids. She would have like that..she was rubbish with money and appreciated saving what we could. Plus family did not want someone no one knows to conduct it. Will be a bit emotional but should be ok.

Since I wrote the post I have heard of some ridiculous prices people had to pay. That firm by the way only do cremations

Sorry to hear that. £1600 sounds cheap. I was talking to a guy who recently paid nearly 5 grand without being too lavish. £180 to move body from hospital to Undertakers 20 miles away being one cost that seems excessive.

Yep it's no wonder traditional undertakers are being undercut. As an aside the only issue so far was with the time the doctor came to the house. Mum was found around 4pm by carers, as brother was at work. Paramedics arrived and said doc would be out within 4 hours and laid the body on living room floor covered with a sheet. Took till after midnight before doc arrived...Not a great experience for brother and sister who sat for 8 hours with their mum on the floor

As to above post, thanks for advice. This undertaker came with some recommendations from people we know in the West. The guy we spoke to said they are actively looking for premises in Edinburgh so expect them here soon.

The price as I said was basic cost. Other things to add on are seperate such as two personalised wreaths from family and then grandkids comes in at an additional £240. We are avoiding all other expenses as she wasn't very religious and so I am conducting the funeral with some poems etc from grandkids. She would have like that..she was rubbish with money and appreciated saving what we could. Plus family did not want someone no one knows to conduct it. Will be a bit emotional but should be ok.

Since I wrote the post I have heard of some ridiculous prices people had to pay. That firm by the way only do cremations

First off sorry to hear about your Mums passing Davy, I hope it was peaceful. That sounds awfy cheap, I'm sure my ma and da's was more expensive than that 18 years ago, I think they have missed something, cost of the chapel or something. Get a detailed cost mate, last thing you wnt tae be doing is arguing the toss with the undertakers when you will have much more on your plate. SW looks like he kens what its aw aboot.I'd get advice fae him mate.

Sorry to hear that Davy.

Aye it's neither wonder your guys want to move through here. From stuff I've looked at Edinburgh is way more expensive than elsewhere in Scotland.

I've spent time looking at my own funeral, although in no particular rush to get there.

One thing I saw was renting a good looking coffin but the cremation in a really cheap one.

I think I'm a bit like your Mum in thinking there's no point in spending any more than is necessary in that side of it. Money saved there can be more wisely used on a few sausage rolls and plenty booze!

Sorry for your loss Davy. My mother passed away in September and I had to arrange the funeral (only child) and I was surprised at how expensive it was. I used a funeral director in Edinburgh and the costs were still high even although I took some of the cheapest options. The cost for the funeral director alone was 2,700. This included conveyance of deceased, one hearse, some flowers and a cheap casket(335) but did not include the fees for Seafield crematorium which was 685.

Cool Davy sounds all under control.It is tough doing a loved ones funeral , I lost my father approx two years ago now and it was hard at the time as everyone looked tae me for organisation etc.However when I look back now I'm glad I did.Good luck mate.

Firstly sorry for your loss, Davy.

As to the funeral even though £1600 sounds very cheap ( My Ma's cost £2500 13 years ago) you could even get it cheaper if you decide to use a cardboard coffin rather than mahogany. It always seemed crazy to me how much you have to pay for wood that turns into dust/ash. They have ones that are wood effect from under £300 or you can have bright colourful ones or even printed ones.

You don't have to use the undertaker for the casket....

"NO FUNERAL DIRECTOR CAN CHARGE A FEE FOR THE CUSTOMER USING A CASKET BOUGHT ELSEWHERE THROUGH AN ALTERNATE SOURCE, NOR REQUIRE A FAMILY MEMBER BE PRESENT FOR ITS DELIVERY, NOR MAKE A FUNERAL SERVICES PACKAGE CONTINGIENT UPON THE PURCHASE OF A CASKET OR OUTER CONTAINER.."

Here is a site with all the info..

Cardboard Coffins | Compare The Coffin

And here is the prices...

Cardboard | Compare The Coffin

Firstly sorry for your loss, Davy.

As to the funeral even though £1600 sounds very cheap ( My Ma's cost £2500 13 years ago) you could even get it cheaper if you decide to use a cardboard coffin rather than mahogany. It always seemed crazy to me how much you have to pay for wood that turns into dust/ash. They have ones that are wood effect from under £300 or you can have bright colourful ones or even printed ones.

You don't have to use the undertaker for the casket....

"NO FUNERAL DIRECTOR CAN CHARGE A FEE FOR THE CUSTOMER USING A CASKET BOUGHT ELSEWHERE THROUGH AN ALTERNATE SOURCE, NOR REQUIRE A FAMILY MEMBER BE PRESENT FOR ITS DELIVERY, NOR MAKE A FUNERAL SERVICES PACKAGE CONTINGIENT UPON THE PURCHASE OF A CASKET OR OUTER CONTAINER.."

Here is a site with all the info..

Cardboard Coffins | Compare The Coffin

And here is the prices...

Cardboard | Compare The Coffin

Interesting stuff Beefy. I had heard before of funerals where they hire out caskets but only use a bag for the actual cremation and re-use the coffin, so in effect it is just a hire. Think that's what Jack was referring to, does seem crazy to burn so much good wood that no one will see again. Anyhow it's all sorted now, but I'll certainly retain some info here for the future

Nothing to add except condolences Davy.

Coincidentally an advert is running the now where they're quoting £1,700 compared to rivals £2k+. I reckon all are underpriced as the boys say. There's always extras they never mention.

Nothing to add except condolences Davy.

Coincidentally an advert is running the now where they're quoting £1,700 compared to rivals £2k+. I reckon all are underpriced as the boys say. There's always extras they never mention.

Thanks Proc and hope your doing well. The funeral went very well and undertakers were very good. I will write up full cost and details of service provided when final bill arrives so people can compare as these can be very expensive for families and people should be informed of what is out there.

Sorry for your loss @Davy.

My Linsy`s funeral cost a little under £5k two years ago but that was for a burial and included the cost of her headstone iirc, which i had to organise and pay a stonemason for, seperate from the undertakers costs.

Do you actually have to have a funeral, can't I just have my body given to science or for students to rummage around in?

yes

Sorry for your loss @Davy.

My Linsy`s funeral cost a little under £5k two years ago but that was for a burial and included the cost of her headstone iirc, which i had to organise and pay a stonemason for, seperate from the undertakers costs.

Yeh I suppose a plot also depends on where it is located as to the price. You can pay huge prices if you want all the trimmings of course and that is also fine if people want it that way...and there is enough insurance :thumbgrin

My mum was from an era where they took out insurance policies based on 40 year ago prices, fortunately it was enough

You could simply be buried in your garden, subject to certain conditions I believe. Proximity of fresh water sources, depth of the grave etc.

Another condition is that you'd have to be dead.

forgot about this thread, just thought I would post that the price was as said on the tin. £1600 for the whole thing, start to finish and £240 for 2 wreathes, so £1840. All went smooth and if they open an office in Edinburgh, would def recommend. be aware though that we didnt take extras, and conducted funeral ourselves

Rather than start a new thread I'll bring this one back from the dead 🙄.

Anyway I was at a funeral yesterday (it was Stodds' ma's funeral Stu) and it started off in St Gregory's down in the Inch.

So most funerals these days are humanist so it was of interest to me it being a religious funeral.

So yous folk who attend Catholic churches a couple of wee questions.

In St Gregory's it went on for longer than I expected. Very heavy on symbolism with the incense and holy water and biblical references and not a lot about Ella and the surviving family.

Is it usually like that? The priest never knew Ella but the only surviving family mentioned was the oldest laddie Rab.

What I did however like was when folk were asked if they wanted to pass the coffin.

And can I ask why when certain things are said folk answer back when the priest said certain expressions?

When we got up to Mortonhall I thought the priest looked very disinterested as a couple of songs were played rather than hymns.

I'd never heard Ed Sheerins Supermarket Flowers (I think it's called) but it was very emotional as it had a few of the lassies in the family in tears.

One thing happened though that angered some folk I spoke to in the Balmwell because up in Mortonhall and auld lad in front of us his phone went off twice.

Twas a sad day but Ella had Alzheimer's so it's a bit closure to the family.

After the Balmwell we retired to the Old Colliery with one of Ella's grandsons where we got royally blootered.

But as to the service can any of our folk who attend church regular explain a wee bit about the symbolism?

Anyway I was at a funeral yesterday (it was Stodds' ma's funeral Stu) and it started off in St Gregory's down in the Inch.

So most funerals these days are humanist so it was of interest to me it being a religious funeral.

In St Gregory's it went on for longer than I expected. Very heavy on symbolism with the incense and holy water and biblical references and not a lot about Ella and the surviving family.

Is it usually like that? The priest never knew Ella but the only surviving family mentioned was the oldest laddie Rab.

What I did however like was when folk were asked if they wanted to pass the coffin.

And can I ask why when certain things are said folk answer back when the priest said certain expressions?

When we got up to Mortonhall I thought the priest looked very disinterested as a couple of songs were played rather than hymns.

I'd never heard Ed Sheerins Supermarket Flowers (I think it's called) but it was very emotional as it had a few of the lassies in the family in tears.

One thing happened though that angered some folk I spoke to in the Balmwell because up in Mortonhall and auld lad in front of us his phone went off twice.

After the Balmwell we retired to the Old Colliery with one of Ella's grandsons where we got royally blootered.

But as to the service can any of our folk who attend church regular explain a wee bit about the symbolism?
Sounds like it was a funeral Mass Jimmy, based on all the call and response stuff you describe. In this case the funeral ceremony takes places inside the framework of the Mass.

Now you mention it I am not sure if all Catholic funerals are all like this, but weddings can be conducted in the same way or as stand alone (i think).

So the Mass is in two parts, see if this rings a bell. First is the 'liturgy of the Word' which might be more familiar to those from a protestant background - recitation of the creed (ie the statement or Christian beliefs), scriptural readings and a sermon from the Priest.

That is followed by the 'liturgy of the Eucharist' which is the sacramental part and a symbolic reenactment of the Last Supper, where the Communion wafers are consecrated, the Our Father (Lord's prayer) is said and then folk go up for Communion. There is a bit of standing up and sitting down throughout but during this second part you might have noticed all the Catholics standing, or more likely kneeling, for most of it.

Throughout, some parts are said by the priest and others are participatory, ie the call and response you noted, or communally said like the Creed and Our Father.

As to the balance of the Mass vs remembrance of the deceased, that's sort of down to the deceased's family and to how well the priest knew them personally. Obviously the latter infiuenced what he can say personally (as with a humanist or any other celebrant), while the family or friends can choose to come up and give their tributes or not.

I've been to ones where this is minimal and to ones where a whole parade of family and friends have had their say (including a protestant minister on one occasion, who iirc was then invited to stay up there with the priest).

There is definitely a difference in emphasis from humanist ceremonies I have been to. In a Catholic funeral, the deceased is part of something larger and eternal and they are both mourned, celebrated and hopefully despatched to the next stage, but also embedded within something wider that goes on. The humanist ceremonies I have been to seem more wholly centred on the deceased individual and a celebration of their life.

As an aside, and this is a personal take, I think some of these can be a bit forced in their emphasis. It is normal and it is right to be sad at a funeral, and the event is as much about healing for those who remain as it is about the deceased imo. An over emphasis on an upbeat celebratory slant... well I'm not convinced by it.

It is commonplace to have secular songs or poems at a Catholic funeral, but they will generally be more sparse and outnumbered by hymns than at a humanist affair. Again this ties into it not simply being about the individual.

Catholic funerals will also often be preceded by a wake in which people spend time in the presence of the deceased, whether quietly in church or literally in a social occasion around the open casket. This varies by ethnic tradition, but can be a right old knees up in some places.

Religious funerals can be an absolute disgrace or a source of comfort depending on the person carrying out the ceremony and the views of the nearest and dearest.
The last one I was at in Scotland was CoS and the funeral of a lady in her eighties who had attended the same church her whole life. I approached her husband after it was over as I knew him well. A tough, hard man who had been a prisoner of the Japanese during WW2. He was in floods of tears and as I tried to come up with words of comfort he stopped me and said "I came to terms with losing her days ago, I'm upset because at her final farewell that bastard never even mentioned her name once"

The priest had never met Ella before. But I was surprised he never mention all her bairns.

A friend of mine and Stu's (Hattie) died a couple of years ago and he only got one mention and that was at Mortonhall.

Again none of the lassies or grandbairns got a mention.

Not everyone went past the coffin in St Gregory's (which has now merged with St John Vianneys by the looks of it). None of our wee group did.

I just thought that more should have been said about Ella and her family. (Her husband Rab died years ago).

Religious funerals can be an absolute disgrace or a source of comfort depending on the person carrying out the ceremony and the views of the nearest and dearest.
The last one I was at in Scotland was CoS and the funeral of a lady in her eighties who had attended the same church her whole life. I approached her husband after it was over as I knew him well. A tough, hard man who had been a prisoner of the Japanese during WW2. He was in floods of tears and as I tried to come up with words of comfort he stopped me and said "I came to terms with losing her days ago, I'm upset because at her final farewell that bastard never even mentioned her name once"
That would upset anyone mate. It was just yesterday was more about the belief than the person.

The priest had never met Ella before. But I was surprised he never mention all her bairns.

A friend of mine and Stu's (Hattie) died a couple of years ago and he only got one mention and that was at Mortonhall.

Again none of the lassies or grandbairns got a mention.

Not everyone went past the coffin in St Gregory's (which has now merged with St John Vianneys by the looks of it). None of our wee group did.

I just thought that more should have been said about Ella and her family. (Her husband Rab died years ago).
In my experience its down to the family. Not a lot the priest can say about someone he doesnt know. So he either needs material from mourners or for them to say their piece. This is the same for a humanist celebrant, although in that case the ceremony is almost entirely dependent on such input. In Catholic funeral, if people dont want or aren't able to provide it then a funeral can proceed in standard form.

It was an interesting experience for me like seeing the ceremony take place.

There was no kneeling as you mentioned but folk did shake hands.

What is the story behind that mate?

Weirdly, as a Catholic who goes to mass once every couple years, I find the hand shaking the most uncomfortable bit of all.

Its called the sign of peace and im glad it took the form you witnessed because many places still work to a covid era nod of the head. People will be saying 'peace be with you' as they do it. Its part of the community side of the ritual I guess, to bring people together.

In different places, even down to parish level, some communities kneel and some stand at relevant parts. It can be quite amusing - say at festival time - when churches are stuffed wi folk from all ower, all doing what they are used to. I always admire the folk that stick to their guns when they stand up and realise everyone else has knelt down. Most then replicate the local habit but some will grind it out :giggle

Weirdly, as a Catholic who goes to mass once every couple years, I find the hand shaking the most uncomfortable bit of all.
Well the three women in front of us (who I knew anyway) turned round and shook my hand as did my two pals.

I just wondered if it had a meaning behind it like wishing someone all the best for the future.

That's interesting. I gather some traditionalists aren't keen, I think because they find it a bit informal, but I cant imagine that's why it doesn't sit well with you. Do you mind if I ask why?

I feel uncomfortable doing it. Weird eh.

Well the three women in front of us (who I knew anyway) turned round and shook my hand as did my two pals.

I just wondered if it had a meaning behind it like wishing someone all the best for the future.
Well its sort of like that, its a gesture of fraternity / communality

That would upset anyone mate. It was just yesterday was more about the belief than the person.
That annoys me at funerals I've been to, but most I've attended have talked about person a fair amount. Imo it SHOULD be about the person, not the faith. When my elders go and if I'm involved in arrangements, I'll be making sure whoever is performing the ceremony knows all about them, and talks about em.

As a side, when my grandad passed, the funeral director came round and got to know the family and him a bit. He asked if they wanted him to mention my grandad's love for his grandchildren, a doting granda etc?

"Nah, he couldn't stand any of them" was my mum's honest reply!

I feel uncomfortable doing it. Weird eh.
Ah gotcha. Tbh I think I like it for that reason; it is sort of weird to greet strangers in the day and age, but I think its a good thing.

There is no denying it can sometimes feel a bit stilted though. I dont think it comes naturally to scots; i find it a lot warmer in Latin countries or when some old African dame takes your hand.

Sorry for your loss Davie. £1600 does sound cheap, my Dad died during Covid and I'm sure the total costs were £4-5k