Post your biggest disappointment here

Doc Shrink

Best ignored
Right then.
Lets hear about the real gut wrenchers, nothing football related because that will just depress us all.
Give us the one that really hurt. No matter how long ago, it still makes you frown. Thats the one.

Ill start. Its no big deal, but it really got to me.

When I was about 5 year old, my mum and sister came in from a shopping trip with a big roll of fringe material. It was like a ribbon with loads of loops on it in a bright red colour. Raking through the shopping to see if I had been bought anything, I spied it and said Whats this?
"Ah thats new fringes for your cowboy suit" said my elder sister. (The fcukin bitch)
Ya beauty! Right enough, that would go down the seams of my cowboy suit trousers, maybe the arms too! It would look like yon fringes that Jimmy Stewart had on his leather jerkin and cow-hide breeks!
Sort of blood stained buckskins!
I couldnt wait to get my cowboy suit updated, and went off to polish my six-shooter.
(That was actually a toy gun. No really. A toy gun and not anything like my penis OK?)
You cant imagine how devastated I was when it turned out the said ribbon with fringes on it was to complete the shade for a standard lamp that my dad was repairing. Got sewn around the bottom of a big round shade for a 'classy' look apparently.

Still upsets me.

Almost as bad an experience as Gary Locke finding out that PistonHeads.com :was a motoring website.

Go on then.
Who has been mentally scarred by a huge disappointment, an experience that rather than soared to the heights just flopped dismally.

(Dont bother Wannabe, we all guessed that one.)

Never read it doctor but mine would be......mmm badminton Scotland champ, nae $ in it though so became a.....

Getting called up by my mum at my mates when I was about 10 to tell me she had a surprise for me.

I ran all the way home, excited as fuck.

Got back, was told to have a look in my room.

It was filled with smoke, I'd left an incense burner burning and nearly burned the house down.

I was then totally berated for ages as to how fucking stupid I was.

Disappointing as fuck.

Getting called up by my mum at my mates when I was about 10 to tell me she had a surprise for me.

I ran all the way home, excited as $#@!.

Got back, was told to have a look in my room.

It was filled with smoke, I'd left an incense burner burning and nearly burned the house down.

I was then totally berated for ages as to how $#@!ing stupid I was.

Disappointing as $#@!.

Just out of curiosity, WTF were you doing burning incense in your room at age 10? Matches, sparklers, lighters, I could understand, but feckin incense? :dunno:

Never getting to see the football highlights on the Sunday morning edition of Match of the Day because Diana had fucking speared a concrete pillar in Paris.

Right then.
Lets hear about the real gut wrenchers, nothing football related because that will just depress us all.
Give us the one that really hurt. No matter how long ago, it still makes you frown. Thats the one.

When I was about 5 year old, my mum and sister came in from a shopping trip with a big roll of fringe material. It was like a ribbon with loads of loops on it in a bright red colour. Raking through the shopping to see if I had been bought anything, I spied it and said Whats this?
"Ah thats new fringes for your cowboy suit" said my elder sister. (The fcukin bitch)
Ya beauty! Right enough, that would go down the seams of my cowboy suit trousers, maybe the arms too! It would look like yon fringes that Jimmy Stewart had on his leather jerkin and cow-hide breeks!
I couldnt wait to get my cowboy suit updated, and went off to polish my six-shooter.
(That was actually a toy gun. No really. A toy gun and not anything like my penis OK?)
You cant imagine how devastated I was when it turned out the said ribbon with fringes on it was to complete the shade for a standard lamp that my dad was repairing. Got sewn around the bottom of a big round shade for a 'classy' look apparently.

Still upsets me.

Almost as bad an experience as Gary Locke finding out that PistonHeads.com :was a motoring website.

Go on then.
Who has been mentally scarred by a huge disappointment, an experience that rather than soared to the heights just flopped dismally.

Have to think on that Doc. There were so many.

Your`s is a sad/bad one, mine are many, so narrowing it down....

Great thread tho`.

Right then.

"Ah thats new fringes for your cowboy suit" said my elder sister. (The fcukin $#@!)

Still upsets me.

Go on then.

If it still upsets you, why don't you get rid of the lampshade? It could be your New Year's resolution (along with fcuk the Hertz)

Here to help :fyi:

Vladimir Romanov always wanted a cowboy outfit...

He got one eventually

The time that bird on holiday in Thailand ask if I fancied a BJ When I said yes and she lifted her skirt and said carry on was a bit of downer. :shock:

When I found out Shane McGowan was a posh English git rather than than a raggedy arsed dragged up Irish leader of a rock&roll band ......

DISSAPOINTED!!!

The time I was dumped as a 20 year old by my beautiful 26 year old, first True Love. Was nowhere near as BAD as the time my parents gave away my fucking dog!!! The beautiful, golden-furred, pink-nosed mongrel bitch named Judy was bought by my late, first generation Hibee Grandad for my 3rd birthday - he died in a car accident before I turned 4. Apparently, we'd been out one day and we saw her in a pet shop window. It was Love at first sight. My Granny always said that there was another family looking at her and their little girl said "Can I have that doggie, Mummy?" The mother replied in the affirmative and they walked away, but my Grandad said "That'll be right!" and went to a phonebox to ask my parents if it would be OK to buy the dog for my birthday! I can't remember a time in my life when the dog wasn't there. If I ever got in trouble with my Mum, I would lie on the floor and Judy would stand over me and growl like fuck at her! Magic!

Then we moved into a flat in Livingston. It had a garden, but the LDC sent a **** round to say we couldn't keep pets. Judy was given away to the grandchildren of a neighbour of my Granny's.

Fucking devastated. :spit:

I had two left feet and rarely graced the school team. At one point, through sheer force of will I managed to play myself into a cup final squad, only for the tie to be postponed. When it was finally rescheduled my place went to a lad even more inept, but whose dad had taken to giving the coach a lift to our games.

And with that went my only shot at a football medal, never to be repeated.

I have never got over it. :coffee:

Finding out that the family dog hadn't really 'gone to live on a farm, where he would have more freedom to run about' but instead had been given a lethal injection. Found out thirty years later, crushing.

My mum died just 6 weeks after our youngest was born. Biggest disappointment is that she never saw her grandchildren grow up. It's there every time something positive happens - that aching thought that mum would have loved it and never got the chance

Biggest gift is that your mum had 6 weeks of knowing though. My wife has a similar story about her dad and the oddest things just stop her in her tracks, out of the blue. She says the older the kids get the more she thinks like you are, but says it's all pleasant thoughts now that the pain has eased with time.

Sticking with the theme of presents, my big sis and her husband had only been married a year or two and gave me and my brother this huge wrapped present. We were fascinated what it could be, guessing at train set, motor set etc but really being confused what it was. Disappointment met our faces when we unwrapped the present after days of blinding torture looking at the lovely wrapped prezzie. It was a Tommy Cooper golf set :pullhair: Might have been a good present if it hadn't been for our far fetched expectations. All you did was hit some plastic balls with a plastic club onto a felt target. Utter crap and rarely used after the first few days. Best i can remember from it was one of the crap jokes on the cardboard covering. "Guy walks into a bar and goes ouch" It was an iron bar"...yep thats as good as it got.

She did redeem herself another year buying me one of these suitcase type record players with "Tonic for the troops LP".

Finding out that when the ice cream van played its music it didnt mean that it had no ice cream left:(

Being far more mortally embarrassed than my parents when we were all hiding underneath the living room window as the Provident women was chapping and peering in crying "Ah ken yer in, ah can see yeez". :phew

That's rough. My dad died whilst my older sister was pregnant with her first (and only, so far), I always feel it must have been hell for her, so disappointing. I am glad he knew my two, even if they were still pretty young, but I feel immense sorrow for her.

Cup finals...

Played with local boozer for about 15 years, the Jolly farmer, played in and won a few cup finals, also lost a few...

Anyway, i played CM and was captain, in this cup final, big crowd, well a couple of hundred anyway, we used to have a good 100/150 of our fans easily at some games, 2-2 with minutes to go....corner for us...up pops me, like a salmon and banjos it right in the top corner....when the madness died down and the restart came, we were made aware there was only 3 minutes left.....so rally the troops...we know the drill...fuckin mate gives away the most stupid needless daft foul on the corner of 18 yard box...they cross...they score...fuckin raging.... is my glory gone???
3-3 extra time....
They score 3-4 fuck....
second half extra time, i score equaliser from edge of the box 4-4....fuckin come on....

The bastards scored the winner with the last kick of the ball...absolutely out on our arses...totally gutted...won a few cup finals before but hadnt scored, and lost some too but this was the hardest to take out them all:sad

My missus dad died 3 weeks after our first son was born, horrendous experience, complete mixture of emotions, he was ill for a while, he had cancer, it was touch and go, but he got to hold the weeman in his arms before he left us which i think helped my missus enormously as she wasnt sure if her dad would see him.
We found out what the child was and told her dad a while before he was born, just incase....so glad he got to see him and hold him in his arms...that picture takes pride of place in the house

A Knickerbocker Glory. At the age of eight - the first and biggest disappointment of my life.

when i was about 5, at the Musselburgh British Legion kids Christmas party.
Santa was giving out the gifts and he shouted 'Brenda (and my surname), that'll be Chic's wee lassie' a few times till eventually I walked up to the stage and said 'yes that's my second name and yes ma dad is called Chic but ah'm a wee laddie no a wee lassie and ma name's Brendan!'

Santa repeated what i'd said 'oh its a wee laddie and he's called Brendan!' he then asked me what I wanted for Christmas and after i had waxed lyrical about action man, toy cars and toy guns he gave me my pressie, A fucking barbie doll. :banger:

Not getting to spend another 40 years with my beautiful wife and do all the great thing we had planned, as well as the basic day to day things that were special.

Similar to this Lexo, but with my oldest daughter.

Grandad dying
Not speaking to my brother due me being a ****o.
My ex leaving and going back down south when her wee bro died in a car crash.

In that order too.

Similar to this Lexo, but with my oldest daughter.

Two very sad tales. My heart goes out to you both.

I lost my mum far to early in life , but it dosent compare in any way to this.

I admire your strength , and hope it grows everyday