Posh Embra accent

The Dog Father

I’ve got a couple of pals who I’ve known for a lifetime, both seem to have adopted this pish middle class stock bridge accent.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with cleaning up your vocabulary but the accent I’m hearing just fucking grates the hell out of me.

Pretentiousness was always a trait I hated.

I’ve got a couple of pals who I’ve known for a lifetime, both seem to have adopted this pish middle class stock bridge accent.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with cleaning up your vocabulary but the accent I’m hearing just fucking grates the hell out of me.

Pretentiousness was always a trait I hated.
It's not only embra.
My lassie has worked in eberdeen for years now, and when we meet she comes with the 'bools in the moo' stuff.
First thing I say is 'Ffs quine, spik richt ,will ye? Neen o the Bieldside shite!'
Too.......

I’m the other way round, my normal speaking voice is a pretty neutral Edinburgh accent but I amazed my wife with my ability to lapse in and out of perfect nasal schemie
I thought I had a neutral accent til I went travelling for work. Had to repeat stuff a lot and some folk just couldn't understand me at all - and not in the way my posts might cause :coffee1:

When I'm doon sooth or away out the country my mate translates for me. When I've had a drink I find it difficult to no just speak as I usually do.

Out here i go slow talking so people understand me, I do forget sometimes when its people i have been around for a long time, then i just go full blast and they look as if to say WTF did you say, one thing that does get said by every female and some guys is never loose the accent..

Exactly. I've moderated my accent over the years as I've worked with many different nationalities and lived in so many different places. Much better to be understood than being asked to repeat everything you say.
Edit: No that's wrong. I speak clearly and don't use words only someone from Edinburgh would understand. My accent remains.

Back on the OP, my wee Mum is in her 80's, she weirdly puts a posh Morningside type accent on when she speaks to anyone in so called authority and when she answers the phone.

My mother was the first telephonist to answer the phones at the new Post Office exchange in Bathgate back when all the world was still in black and white. She had to be trained in elocution lessons. Whenever she would speak on the phone even to family and right into her later years she sounded like the queen.🤣