Paul Weller gig

I know there quite a few fans on this board.
He is playing a huge gig at Edinburgh Castle next summer.
13th July 2024.

I was at the last one, as get older I am less bothered about concerts and dinnae think I would bother.

I reallly don't get people paying vast amounts of money to watch well spent forces going through the motions in large cavernous venues.
Folk tell me they saw the Who at Edinburgh Castle. No they didn't. What they saw was the equivalent of Brian McClair at the the SDG testimonial game.

Go and see something new, something energetic and vital. Give them your £20 or £30.
I loved Weller (got of the bus 2012) but I don't want to watch grey haired pensioner Weller in a massive outside venue for god knows how much cash.

My memories of seeing young, full of life, bouncing Weller in the Odeon and Playhouse are filed. Don't want to be pissing on them.
Go and see the new Who, the new Wellers instead.

I reallly don't get people paying vast amounts of money to watch well spent forces going through the motions in large cavernous venues.
Folk tell me they saw the Who at Edinburgh Castle. No they didn't. What they saw was the equivalent of Brian McClair at the the SDG testimonial game.

Go and see something new, something energetic and vital. Give them your £20 or £30.
I loved Weller (got of the bus 2012) but I don't want to watch grey haired pensioner Weller in a massive outside venue for god knows how much cash.

My memories of seeing young, full of life, bouncing Weller in the Odeon and Playhouse are filed. Don't want to be pissing on them.
Not being a big Who fan, I got a couple of tickets gifted. Buy were actually very good, but you are never going to catch the teenage passion or feelings that were there umpteen years ago. But I enjoyed Holly Humberson more, not just because I was sober at the castle and lets say not quite sober in Glasgow. The latter was £25

I don't think it has to be either/or. You can support bright young things but still indulge in a bit of nostalgia.

Its a gamble, some artists are truly past it, but if you're slightly younger I get going to see bands on the pension fund tours.

I was too young to see The Cure, PiL, Morrissey, B52s, Devo, The Chameleons, Erasure, The Damned, Public Enemy, Killing Joke etc... at their peak (I was in primary school in the 80s) and all have been excellent and well worth catching in their dotage for me.

Conversely, I've also been massively disappointed by The Pixies, Sisters of Mercy, Guns N Roses and The Stone Roses.

Hit rate wise I'd definitely be shelling out if Talking Heads ever fancied topping up their pension pots. Just keep the prices sensible lads. I'm glad I saw Devo in 2005 when they wanted £25 rather than the eye-watering £70 they were after recently.

It's all about the music for me.
Don't go to as many gigs now as I used to, but I always loved seeing in concert artists and bands
I had grown up with, and whose music has inspired me over the years.
Some are still great, some not.
People are well aware when they buy tickets that some bands/artists are past their best, but if they still love the music, why not ?

I was at Squeeze and Psychedelic Furs a few weeks ago.
Think I paid about $60 for the ticket.
2 old quality bands, great musicians, banging oot brilliant tunes for about 3 and a half hours combined.

Brilliant night and worth every cent.

I’d pay to see the Jam, mind.
Hugely underrated band. The amount of songs on their first few albums which were superb and have lasted the decades is incredible.
Going under ground was the first record I bought from a shop with my own cash. Drove my Mum and sisters daft the amount of times I played it!
Style council were okay also, but nothing came close to the jam.
Stone roses, then Oasis were the only other bands that really grabbed me in the same way. And that was at least a decade later.

Saw them a handful of times back in the day.
Had The Jam shoes, tie and all sorts.
Still have all the albums on vinyl AND on CD and many picture sleeve singles and E.P.'s on vinyl.
Still have the tie but dinnae have the shoes.

That's entertainment.

I'd have seen the Jam in fact maybe I did but it could be a false memory,and I'd have gone to see the Style Council.But now only vaguely interested.

I've lost count off how many times I've seen Weller am not a fan of gigs at the castle seats are situated so you can watch what's in front off you so you have to kinda twist in the seat to see the stage
Am I going to see him though you fecking bet I am

I was at Squeeze and Psychedelic Furs a few weeks ago.
Think I paid about $60 for the ticket.
2 old quality bands, great musicians, banging oot brilliant tunes for about 3 and a half hours combined.

Brilliant night and worth every cent.
The Psychedelic Furs, workman-like post-punk. They get in there, play a rudimentary rock song with a hint of bombast, and fuck off again with no frills and no ambition. Proper Sunday league stuff. The singer is a one trick pony, and after less than 5 minutes I want to tear his vocal chords out with a fork. All IMHO of course, other opinions are available :friendly:

Tbh I’m not a fan of the furs. They were never really on my radar. I went to see Squeeze as I do every year when they come to town.
That said, I thought the furs were pretty good. The guys voice has held up well, and they kept me entertained even though I wasn’t aware of 90% of the songs they played.
It was a good night. Lovely outdoor venue, a few beers with old friends, some good music.
I love nights like that even if you consider it Sunday League.
As an aside, some of my best fitba memories and ever lasting friendships also were Sunday League.
Although I’m sure you played in the premiership

Tbh I’m not a fan of the furs. They were never really on my radar. I went to see Squeeze as I do every year when they come to town.
That said, I thought the furs were pretty good. The guys voice has held up well, and they kept me entertained even though I wasn’t aware of 90% of the songs they played.
It was a good night. Lovely outdoor venue, a few beers with old friends, some good music.
I love nights like that even if you consider it Sunday League.
As an aside, some of my best fitba memories and ever lasting friendships also were Sunday League.
Although I’m sure you played in the premiership
Squeeze released great music and Glenn Tilbrook was an all time great songwriter.
I saw him playing solo lots of times especially about 20 years ago. Armed only with an acoustic he would play Squeeze songs and covers including ALL the solo's armed only with an acoustic. Absolutely brilliant nights in small clubs, the guy just loves playing in front of any audience and is a great musician and performer.
Here he is playing a Jimi Hendrix cover for laughs but with great dollop of musical talent in 2009
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Jools Holland is the only gig I go to knowing I will have a great night and always do.
Tom Jones at Edinburgh Castle in 2014 was a pleasant surprise as I wasn't a fan and he was fantastic.No effects or backing band to cover for him. Just him and a 5 piece band!
Hue and Cry at Queens Hall equally as good.
Never been to Glastonbury and having watched McCartney,Elton,Diana Ross etc, thank god !
Stones latest record 'Angry' was promoted using images from 20 years ago at least..Fuck sake!
I love nostalgia and YouTube affords me that.
Plenty good young talent out there to watch and support live that need it .

Squeeze released great music and Glenn Tilbrook was an all time great songwriter.
I saw him playing solo lots of times especially about 20 years ago. Armed only with an acoustic he would play Squeeze songs and covers including ALL the solo's armed only with an acoustic. Absolutely brilliant nights in small clubs, the guy just loves playing in front of any audience and is a great musician and performer.
Here he is playing a Jimi Hendrix cover for laughs but with great dollop of musical talent in 2009

He’s still doing the acoustic gigs
I’ve seen many of them.
A true showman
I was up on stage with him a few years ago at one of his solo gigs.
Just me and him for a bit before others joined 🤣

He’s still doing the acoustic gigs
I’ve seen many of them.
A true showman
I was up on stage with him a few years ago at one of his solo gigs.
Just me and him for a bit before others joined 🤣
One of his favourite tricks, he doesnae give a fuck. No pretensions what so ever.
He has folk from the audience join him on stage to play guitar with him, sing the songs, dance etc. He absolutely loves it.
I saw him play at La Belle Angel before it burn't doon and he had the audience follow him out the venue down the street whilst he sang and played. Giant conga in Guthrie Street.
Here he is doing a great Dave Edmunds cover

One of his favourite tricks, he doesnae give a fuck. No pretensions what so ever.
He has folk from the audience join him on stage to play guitar along with him, sing the songs, dance etc. He absolutely loves it.
I saw him play at La Belle Angel before it burn't doon and he had the audience follow him out the venue down the street whilst he sang and played. Giant conga in Guthrie Street.
Here he is doing a great Dave Edmunds cover

Did the same street walk here in Atlanta.
He ended up in the car park for the venue and he jumped up on the big garbage container and played a few hits from there.
Brilliant moment

Count me in as another Squeeze fan.
Great band with many superb songs.
Only saw them once though...supporting Bryan Adams at Celtic Park in July 1992.

Count me in as another Squeeze fan.
Great band with many superb songs.
Only saw them once though...supporting Bryan Adams at Celtic Park in July 1992.
I've not bought or listened to any new Squeeze albums since "Ridiculous" in 1995 but am lead to believe the last one "The Knowledge" (2017) is their best since "Some Fantastic Place" (1993). I do have the Glenn Tilbrook solo album "Transatlantic Ping Pong" (2004) which is good.

On Radio Scotland now, great show.

Much as I have stopped going to see him live, I love the man and his music, what a show so far.

Too right I say, make it wonderful!

I know there quite a few fans on this board.
He is playing a huge gig at Edinburgh Castle next summer.
13th July 2024.
Just got tickets for Billy Joel at Murrayfiled on the 7th of June 2025.

you are in for a great night. Saw him at the Garden and also more recently in Atlanta......great shows!
Seen him in the Garden a few years ago tae. We were looking at going back tae NYC next year and were trying tae time it when he has another show there but I read a while ago his residency there is finished. Delighted wi this. :giggley:

Saw Billy Joel many years ago (early 90's) at the SECC in Glasgow and he was fantastic.
One of the all time great singer/songwriters....and a very funny guy as well.
Will be giving his Murrayfield show next year a miss though...i'm kind of finished with stadium concerts now.