Most Famous Person You've Seen at the Fringe

misshibsteria

At large or in a show.

At large: Jerry Springer in the City Cafe being told that there were no tables and they wouldn't move anyone for him.

In a show: Jennifer Coolidge, just doing Stifflers Mom

bumped into dara o Brien having beers at the pleasance

Seen Kevin bridges in a tiny venue about 15 years ago, brilliant. Seen him a couple of years ago at the hydro and I’ll never waste my time watching a comedian on a telly in the distance again.

Aye I don't fancy comedians in massive venues.

Did you like his material tho?

As I said on the Fringe thread, O’Briain is excellent. Bridges needed some new material when I saw him.

Seen a few 'big names' early in their career;
Jim Jefferies, part of a 3-for-1 show, he was brilliant. A routine he would not get away with now.
Sarah Millican - Think it was her 1st Fringe, actually very funny, a much more nearer the bone comedy than the middle of the road stuff she does now, again in a 3-for-1 show.
Rory Bremner - Had just started to be on TV.

Biggest names I saw were Spike Milligan (just brilliant) and Peter Ustinov (part of the official Festival I think).
Seen loads more, but as per the other thread, the Fringe & comedy no longer grabs my attention as it once did.

Jim Jefferies, part of a 3-for-1 show, he was brilliant. A routine he would not get away with now.
Sarah Millican - Think it was her 1st Fringe, actually very funny, a much more nearer the bone comedy than the middle of the road stuff she does now, again in a 3-for-1 show.

Biggest names I saw were Spike Milligan (just brilliant) and Peter Ustinov (part of the official Festival I think).
Seen loads more, but as per the other thread, the Fringe & comedy no longer grabs my attention as it once did.
My first experience of Jim Jeffries was a clip my pal showed me where he said the UK is the only place in the world where the word glass is a verb.

I've seen Sarah Millican too. My Mum likes her from Loose Women and did not expect how filthy she is, or was, doing stand up.

I loved Spike, a total one off and Ustinov was a part of my childhood with his frequent fantastically funny late night appearances on Parkinson. Another one off. I'm jealous.

In a cowgate bar, I once asked Eddie Tudorpole who did, in fact, kill Bambi. He and his luvvie mates didn’t find it hilarious. I was nearly hung with someones crushed silk scarf.

I like his material but, in the opposite of the
conversation on another thread, I think he over exaggerates his weedgie accent 😲
I can't watch him for that very reason. No way he uses that over exaggerated weegie drawl in daily life. Weirdo if he does.

Robert Vaughn (Napoleon Solo, Bullitt, Hustle, One of the Seven etc). WW1 stage play. 5 different people playing characters from the conflict on seats facing the audience. Nurse, Private, Captain, Ammunition Girl and Dough Boy). Only 4 actors seated for most of the play. Vaughn enters stage late on with the phrase "Sorry I'm Late". There was such a gasp from the whole audience.
As an aside, the Captain was played by Julian Sands, the actor who went missing while hiking in California.

Robert Vaughn (Napoleon Solo, Bullitt, Hustle, One of the Seven etc). WW1 stage play. 5 different people playing characters from the conflict on seats facing the audience. Nurse, Private, Captain, Ammunition Girl and Dough Boy). Only 4 actors seated for most of the play. Vaughn enters stage late on with the phrase "Sorry I'm Late". There was such a gasp from the whole audience.
As an aside, the Captain was played by Julian Sands, the actor who went missing while hiking in California.
The epitome of 60s cool as Napoleon Solo

In a cowgate bar, I once asked Eddie Tudorpole who did, in fact, kill Bambi. He and his luvvie mates didn’t find it hilarious. I was nearly hung with someones crushed silk scarf.
Met Jimmy Pursey of sham 69 once, he was just a dreary old hippy. The punk stuff was just an act with most of them

Bumped into Jiim Bowen. The guy I was with kept giving it the great, smashing, super patter but credit to Jim, he just laughed and was very pleasant to us.

I had a go at doing some stand-up in my early 20s and ended up doing a 15 minute set at the fringe with 3 other wannabe comics in an hours slot in the basement of the Mercat Bar (a very different venue back then to the gastro pub it is now - a few of the punk bands I was in when I was younger played in that basement too).

Anyway, one of the guys on our bill was a bit further on than the rest of us, he had a local radio gig up in Aberdeen, an agent etc... and had made a few connections. As a result, he got us invited to this private party at the end of the run and there were a load of gigging comics you'd know off the telle at it, no superstars but I had a blether with the likes of Andy Parsons, Jo Caulfield and Lucy Porter. The nicest of the bunch though was Robin Ince who sat with us for a while giving out advice about "making it" in the business. However, that chat did make me realise I had none of the ambition, aptitude or talent required to go any further than a pub basement and writing 15 minutes was about my limit. I promptly canned it once the fringe was done.

I had a go at doing some stand-up in my early 20s and ended up doing a 15 minute set at the fringe with 3 other wannabe comics in an hours slot in the basement of the Mercat Bar (a very different venue back then to the gastro pub it is now - a few of the punk bands I was in when I was younger played in that basement too).

Anyway, one of the guys on our bill was a bit further on than the rest of us, he had a local radio gig up in Aberdeen, an agent etc... and had made a few connections. As a result, he got us invited to this private party at the end of the run and there were a load of gigging comics you'd know off the telle at it, no superstars but I had a blether with the likes of Andy Parsons, Jo Caulfield and Lucy Porter. The nicest of the bunch though was Robin Ince who sat with us for a while giving out advice about "making it" in the business. However, that chat did make me realise I had none of the ambition, aptitude or talent required to go any further than a pub basement and writing 15 minutes was about my limit. I promptly canned it once the fringe was done.
Wow, that takes guts, sehr gut!

I went to see Robin Ince's show at the festival a few years ago and spoke to him after it.
Highly intelligent nice guy. Nae wonder you were put off.

Sat near Clive Anderson a couple of times having a drink in the Pleasance courtyard.

Not sure I've seen anyone 'really' famous of the magnitude of one or two mentioned on the thread. Saw Frank Skinner a couple of times. No doubt there's someone I'm forgetting.

Wow, that takes guts, sehr gut!

It was a good laugh mostly, I did it for about a year, but aye dying on your arse is a sore one when it happens. I definitely didn't have the fortitude to keep going with it.

He could maybe give Billy some new material?

I'd have been better off doing puns back then to be honest.

I gave him the material.

Would explain why I chucked it I suppose... :gigglle:

I went to see Robin Ince's show at the festival a few years ago and spoke to him after it.
Highly intelligent nice guy. Nae wonder you were put off.

He was lovely and seemed genuinely enthusiastic to be talking to a bunch of amateur chancers. It was the sheer amount of networking and graft with little to show for it until you got a break that he was describing that put me off. I quickly realised I'd just been playing at it and my heart wasn't in it at all.

Bumped into Jiim Bowen. The guy I was with kept giving it the great, smashing, super patter but credit to Jim, he just laughed and was very pleasant to us.
Saw an old bullseye clip recently where he was talking to 2 female, and a wee bit on the large side women. One said she recently did a sponsored slim for a local charity or something, to which Bowen asked how much she owed them!

Seen that tae the other week there🤣