More rotten BBC reporting - Lucy Connoly

Stanton Warrior

Mystery Tour Organisin' Radge
As much as I don’t think this vile woman deserves yet more oxygen this particular bit of reporting from the BBC is shockingly misleading.

When summarizing what she got jailed for it reads:
“On 29 July last year - the day of the Southport attack - she had posted on X that there should be "mass deportation now" and said "if that makes me racist, so be it".”

Which if you know nothing else about the case would likely make you wonder about the chilling of free speech in this country etc etc.

Of course what she actually wrote was ““Mass deportation now, set fire to all the fucking hotels full of the bastards for all I care, while you’re at it take the treacherous government and politicians with them. I feel physically sick knowing what these families will now have to endure. If that makes me racist so be it.”

I would argue thats quite a bit different. And for some reason doesn’t appear in the bbc article at all.

Lucy Connolly says she was political prisoner over Southport post

It actually says she 'called for people to "set fire" to hotels housing asylum seekers' which she did not. So, yeah, the BBC.

I think concerns about free speech are more to do with her draconian sentence and the backdrop: 12k arrests a year for speech crimes, sackings and arrests for expression of entirely legitimate opinions (which Connolly's wasn't), mentalism such as Prevent categorising concern over migration as 'extreme right wing terrorism', debanking and all the rest.

The entirely predictable two tier manner in which regime opinion is treated by comparison, also doesn't help.

M.eanwhile Ricky jones , who , you will remember, advocated the slitting of peoples throats who didn't agree with his political stance got off scot free
Rightly so. A jury presumably made the distinction between unpleasant and intemperate bile and actual incitement to violence. The real point here imo, is Jones was afforded that opportunity and a year to prepare, in marked contrast to the treatment of those deemed enemies of the state.

M.eanwhile Ricky jones , who , you will remember, advocated the slitting of peoples throats who didn't agree with his political stance got off scot free
The whatabbouttery depending on which side you see yourself as being on is pretty redundant.
The major difference between them is that she pleaded guilty, while he didn’t and went to trial and was found not guilty by a jury.

He pled not guilty. A jury of our peers decided he was not guilty. I didn't sit through all the evidence, neither did you. The jury did though and based their verdict on that rather than a trial by social media.

@Stanton Warrior there is a mention:
The 42-year-old wife of a Tory councillor had called for people to "set fire" to hotels housing asylum seekers in the wake of the Southport attack in July 2024.
Not as full as the quote you mention. Maybe a watershed type of reporting 🤔

For comparison to her 31 months I saw during the week a nasty wee racist nazi from Gourock was given 10 years for almost setting fire to a mosque. I thought incitement, aiding and abetting and actually carrying out a crime drew the same sentence 🤔

Looks like the right wing pinup girl got off lightly.

He pled not guilty. A jury of our peers decided he was not guilty. I didn't sit through all the evidence, neither did you. The jury did though and based their verdict on that rather than a trial by social media.

The 42-year-old wife of a Tory councillor had called for people to "set fire" to hotels housing asylum seekers in the wake of the Southport attack in July 2024.

For comparison to her 31 months I saw during the week a nasty wee racist nazi from Gourock was given 10 years for almost setting fire to a mosque. I thought incitement, aiding and abetting and actually carrying out a crime drew the same sentence 🤔

Yes, I suppose it could be an attempt to sanitise the reporting. But surely at least a link to the full text with a health warning etc would be better.
Otherwise if you knew nothing else about the case you could easily be misled into thinking she got jailed for saying what Farage is saying in the news this morning. And that clearly isn’t true.

The throat slitting geezer was never put on remand either unlike Connolly.

The judge never waffled about 'diversity' in his trial unlike the one in Connollys trial.

She was made an example. And it's backfired as folk are getting even more angry regarding this putting up of flags.

If flags flying are dangerous then so is the flying of Palestinian and pride flags.

Unless there is two tier flag flying 🙄

So riddle me this.
What exactly was she saying when she wrote “set fire to all the fucking hotels full of the bastards for all I care,”?
You can read as well as I can; she's saying she couldn't care less if the hotels were set on fire.

Unpleasant? Yes of course. But a call to action? Nah. And an actually genuine incitement to people to do it? You'd need to acquiesce to the dishonesty that permeates rhetoric in this area to believe that.

In the clip I put up she states that her jailing was political and she had to be made an example of.

You can read as well as I can; she's saying she couldn't care less if the hotels were set on fire.

Unpleasant? Yes of course. But a call to action? Nah. And an actually genuine incitement to people to do it? You'd need to acquiesce to the dishonesty that permeates rhetoric in this area to believe that.
Indeed. Compare with that fud from Kneecap, who literally said kill your local MP. That is a direct call for action to their followers. Police say nothing to see here.

The throat slitting geezer was never put on remand either unlike Connolly.

The judge never waffled about 'diversity' in his trial unlike the one in Connollys trial.

She was made an example. And it's backfired as folk are getting even more angry regarding this putting up of flags.

If flags flying are dangerous then so is the flying of Palestinian and pride flags.

Unless there is two tier flag flying 🙄
There clearly is indeed two tier flag flying. For example, contrast the authorities running round taking down english flags to the Nuremberg style celebrations over holy month.

The whole underlying dynamic is remarkable; its almost as if the regime is operating from a 'how to cultivate civil unrest' playbook.

They're not though - I'm a subscriber to the maxim that you don't need to attribute to the sinister, what can be explained by stupidity and our ruling class are the silliest people in history; as isolated from the reality of the country as was Marie Antoinette and also lobotomised by a barmy ideology.

Just watched a wee clip from Salford where the polis are actually wrestling with folk trying to put a ladder up against a lampost to put flags up.

The bizzies lost as they were pushed away.

Indeed. Compare with that fud from Kneecap, who literally said kill your local MP. That is a direct call for action to their followers. Police say nothing to see here.
Its more direct both in expression and in the fact it was addressed to a crowd. But I dont think its incitement either, rather than the juvenile posturing of the pop establishment. Jones' case even more so as he was addressing a left wing crowd that could readily have become a mob. I still don't think he was seriously inciting violence though.

That said, anti semitic hate crimes rocketed after the Glastonbury brouhaha while real violence was perpetrated in Oz by people chanting the same as Bob Vylan - though I expect its not invented by them and as embedded in posh schools and campuses as a traditional game of biscuit.

If we really want to look at words and consequences the planet sized elephant in the room is establishment rhetoric around white plebs and the rape of tens of thousands of girls, murder of some, and institutional complicity in it all.

But when you take into account the context of what was happening at the time she wrote that I’d say it’s fair to summarize it as the bbc have.
Maybe not 100% specifically as accurate as reproducing what she wrote. But then a summary never is.

That said. The whole point I was trying to make was that by not including the full text of what she wrote they’ve failed to report the story well enough that it can’t be misunderstood one way or another. So on that we agree.

But when you take into account the context of what was happening at the time she wrote that I’d say it’s fair to summarize it as the bbc have.
Maybe not 100% specifically as accurate as reproducing what she wrote. But then a summary never is.
So misrepresenting it is fair representation? That's somewhat beyond the process of summarisation - which you started this thread to complain of but seem more relaxed about here!
That said. The whole point I was trying to make was that by not including the full text of what she wrote they’ve failed to report the story well enough that it can’t be misunderstood one way or another. So on that we agree.
Sure. Hardly their biggest failing in this area, but I concur they should have given the full quote.

Here Jack. Putting the laughing emoji after a post I make doesnt work mate.

It's water of a ducks back 😉

Aha got it now.

She's right wing or far right, fascist, neo nazi?

And a bint 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Is that no being a misogynist? 🤔

Na it was said in jest mate. Sturgeon is auld news.

For a wee while 🤫

It actually says she 'called for people to "set fire" to hotels housing asylum seekers' which she did not. So, yeah, the BBC.

I think concerns about free speech are more to do with her draconian sentence and the backdrop: 12k arrests a year for speech crimes, sackings and arrests for expression of entirely legitimate opinions (which Connolly's wasn't), mentalism such as Prevent categorising concern over migration as 'extreme right wing terrorism', debanking and all the rest.

The entirely predictable two tier manner in which regime opinion is treated by comparison, also doesn't help.
So over 450 arrests for holding a poster saying Palestine Action is two tier justice?

Of course what she actually wrote was ““Mass deportation now, set fire to all the fucking hotels full of the bastards for all I care, while you’re at it take the treacherous government and politicians with them. I feel physically sick knowing what these families will now have to endure. If that makes me racist so be it.”
What? If I'd read that when she posted it I'd have rounded up all my friends and flown back armed with jumbo size boxes of matches. How did you, your family, your neighbours, workmates and all your friends manage to resist such a call to arms?

She has an Irish surname, I take it her family, like mine did had to flee their homeland or face starvation.

Aye but your family probably came and worked and contributed something in the process .

This is a different ball game now

What chance did she have of a fair trial after all the pre trial comments by politicians and media. How the fuck somebody caught on camera saying slit their throats can be found not guilty fuck knows

As much as I don’t think this vile woman deserves yet more oxygen this particular bit of reporting from the BBC is shockingly misleading.

When summarizing what she got jailed for it reads:
“On 29 July last year - the day of the Southport attack - she had posted on X that there should be "mass deportation now" and said "if that makes me racist, so be it".”

Which if you know nothing else about the case would likely make you wonder about the chilling of free speech in this country etc etc.

I would argue thats quite a bit different. And for some reason doesn’t appear in the bbc article at all.

Lucy Connolly says she was political prisoner over Southport post
She was a political prisoners...deal with it.

Some of the Grooming gangs members got less time.

I wish folk would stop trying to equate the Irish coming over tae whats happening now. Its a completely different ball game

It's her husband that is a Connolly.
No idea what the daft bint's maiden name was, and it's hardly relevant to whether or not she should have been jailed.
A different ball game indeed.

Yet another beneficial Brexit effect, :53: the ending of the Dublin Regulation.
Certainly hasn't helped the process with changes on which country has to process asylum seeker's claims.

Why can't we just decide who meets the criteria to come here?

Because of pre Brexit shortsightedness we never trained any of our youngsters and now have skills shortages.

150k has been pledged in donations to her family with 80k already been banked. Now she's talking about suing the police. Her time in pokey must be feeling like a lottery win