Martin Boyle

Certainly sounds like he wants away, so let's not stand in his way.
Spends half the season jetting around the world anyway so no great loss.

Someone posted a bit saying he gad an offer in Oz a week or so ago? Someone else questioned why he'd even want to go.

Looks pretty confident about wanting to go, and doesn't look too keen coming back here.

I'd let him go, always said as long as its no an SPL club he's welcome to. Owes us nothing, achieved all we needed him to. Got paid for him, he got paid
We'll get paid again, bare minimum will cover his wages since coming back.

Didn't have a good season by his standard, possibly been figured out by now. Having him here makes us too reliant on him. I still think he's a genuine threat, still has it to be one of the best outwith Glasgow. He'd be a big hole to fill, character as well as on field threat.

He's been a highlight far more than he's not been. An adopted Hibee, one of the good ones.

Martin Boyle has been a great player for Hibs...god knows where we would have been without him over the last few seasons, although admittedly he had a poor season last season, as did most of our players.

None of us really know his circumstances now, and he has had some really bad injuries which IMO have changed his effectiveness as a player. Nine years he has been at Hibs (apart from his brief Saudi Arabian stint) , and yet another incredible piece of business conducted during the Stubbs/Craig/Dempster era when Alex Harris was loaned to Dundee and we got Martin as part of the deal. I suspect he is at the stage of his career now where he wants to try something different. Apart from slowing down, I just didn't think he looked himself last season. I think there is a fair chance he will be moving on this summer, which will be a sad day as he has been a shining light at the club for most of his time here.

Probably suits both parties to part company.
Martin has (allegedly) had some off field issues, and as @Smurf points out, didn't contribute as much as we expected.

Not feckin alone there by the way, the only player I'd give pass marks to is Jair, who contributed exactly what I expected.

He's on a huge wedge by Hibs standards, so in theory he should be replaceable in our structure.
My concern is that we need pace in the team, particularly to get behind defences 'sitting in' and if Martin and Elie are allowed to go then that's the pace gone.

Big challenge for Sir David.

EDIT: Oh aye, what @Weehibbydrew said.
Could have saved me typing.

I think if he wants away, there is a speculative offer around then let him go.

He’s done his bit for us, I’d be sorry to see him go but if a player is unsure about staying with us surely he is better off elsewhere.

Probably suits both parties to part company.
Martin has (allegedly) had some off field issues, and as @Smurf points out, didn't contribute as much as we expected.

Not feckin alone there by the way, the only player I'd give pass marks to is Jair, who contributed exactly what I expected.

He's on a huge wedge by Hibs standards, so in theory he should be replaceable in our structure.
My concern is that we need pace in the team, particularly to get behind defences 'sitting in' and if Martin and Elie are allowed to go then that's the pace gone.

Big challenge for Sir David.

EDIT: Oh aye, what @Weehibbydrew said.
Could have saved me typing.
Genuinely nearly choked on my banana on toast at the Jair comment. 🤣

Not sure what to read into giving a commitment and hinting at wanting to leave if the right offer is made.

Don't recall him ever saying he wanted to play in the A league. To be honest I'm not sure I would lose much sleep if he left. He's not been as influential on the pitch the past season. Youan will be a bigger loss. I just don't trust the club to successfully replace our star players.

Would be very difficult to replace but his form has been poor for a while. I was quite surprised by the interview. Certainly came across as sitting on the fence a bit. If we wants away (and it sounds like he does) then Malky has a massive job on his hands this summer in terms of recruitment.

I don't think the pace has been there for a while. He's still one of the faster players in a fairly one-paced team, but he used to tear people up for arse paper if the ball was knocked long in front of him, and with that gone he offers much less out wide. Useful sub or backup striker, perhaps, but not for the wedge he'll be earning and can continue to earn elsewhere.

Big shoes to fill though.

Seems like a whole lot of nothing to me.
Just Martin being polite so as not to upset anyone in Scotland or Australia.
Reckon he will keep collecting big bucks from Hibs for another season and will to move to Australia next summer.

I think if there were any proper transfer rumours this wouldn't have made the papers. He said he is committed to Hibs and that 'one day' he wants to play in the a-league. He says that there is always speculation at this time of year. He is a pretty straight talking guy!

Still a great player, great energy, and always a Hibs man!

This is the 9 minute version of what is a press conference with a load of journalists in front of Martin.
This gives his comments context.

A bit of background Australian clubs barely ever pay transfer fees so Martin would have to move for free.
The A league has little money in it with the exception of the two big Sydney clubs and Melbourne City…..unless he rocks up in NZ with the newly formed Auckland FC through some kind of deal with Black Knight.

As it stands he has circa 350,000 reasons to stay at Hibs

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Seems like a whole lot of absolute nothing to me.
Just Martin being polite so as not to upset anyone in Scotland or Australia.
I think there's a wee bit more to it than that.

Someone posted a bit saying he gad an offer in Oz a week or so ago? Someone else questioned why he'd even want to go.

Looks pretty confident about wanting to go, and doesn't look too keen coming back here.

I'd let him go, always said as long as its no an SPL club he's welcome to. Owes us nothing, achieved all we needed him to. Got paid for him, he got paid
We'll get paid again, bare minimum will cover his wages since coming back.

Didn't have a good season by his standard, possibly been figured out by now. Having him here makes us too reliant on him. I still think he's a genuine threat, still has it to be one of the best outwith Glasgow. He'd be a big hole to fill, character as well as on field threat.

He's been a highlight far more than he's not been. An adopted Hibee, one of the good ones.
There's a pretty good reason for that. :coffee1:

It's a tricky one. Does he have anything to offer for next season? Certainly! Is he on a declining trajectory? Yes. I wouldn't want to block a dream move, but we need to have a replacement in place.

I wouldnt be devastated if he does move on.
Disappointed yes, but he has had 3 really big injuries which will have taken its toll on him.
Especially the type of player he is.

I would hate for it to be truehere, but it looks like another case of "winger hits 30 and bust"?

Agree with Jack K, sounded like he was just trying to keep the Aussie press happy, but ffs Martin, ‘an aim of mine to play in the A league’, surely to fcuk you’re aiming higher than that

I think the opposite, it sounds like a loaded question and answer prepared by both the media and the player.

32 next birthday.
He cant aim too high.
English championship possibly....

Knows he's lost a yard of pace through a injury that ends some players careers, would probably fit in well in Australia, we as a club seem to be almost going for a complete rebuild so Martin may think now is the time, been a good player down the years and saved us multiple times in seasons gone by.