Local characters from the past

blue toon hibby

They seem to be lacking these days. Made me think back to my youth when Peterhead had a few:
Willie Mackie used to collect the newspapers off the Aberdeen bus and push them in his wooden barrow through the town. With his feet permanently at 10 to 2 and his “bowler” haircut he was easily recognised. Give him any cheek and his retort was always “Awa an’ get yer hair cut.”
Katesie’s Mamsie was a poor older woman who walked the streets with her faithful dog. Our minister’s wife took pity on her and gave her an old fur coat to keep her warm in winter. When she went back to visit, Katesie had given the fur coat to her dog to sleep on.

Any local characters from your younger days?

'One eyed Johnny' a tramp who looked a bit like Iain Anderson on the Aqualung cover. He used to live in what once would have been a beautiful detached house in Stanley road. He just let it go to ruin though and after his death it was demolished.
We were terrified of him as kids as he used to lunge and shout at us if we got too close. He'd call us "Horse Bastards" never knew what that was all about. One day when we saw he had gone out one of us kept shotie whilst the rest of us ventured into his very scary overgrown garden and up to look in his windows. There was a big envelope sticking out the letter box so we knicked it and ran. Turned out it was a Mayfair addressed to a 'Professor Douglas Rennie Hudson'
Over the years I've tried to find out more about him, who he was and what led to his decline but intermittent Google searches have never been any use.
I'd love to know more about this guy. A real character from our childhood. Probably talking '65-70 ish

We had Auld Archie too, the bottle guy, or am I confusing the two into one, Auld Archie the rumor was that he was loaded.

Mad Tam from Lochend. He stayed in the stairs right across from Hermitage Park Grove on the bridge from the railway. Always stories about him killing his family or some crazy shit. We'd bud his windaes and run like fuck.
We knew him as daft Tam

“Feel Sandy” I believe was more or less brought up by his sister (Greencol might correct me on that though). Always wore a suit and - unusually - leather knee-length boots with buckles up the side. He was banned from the buses for jumping on at random street corners and scaring the shit out of the “clippies”. His trademark catchphrase was “Aha boy!”, usually accompanied by an Eric Morecambe style skip and a click of his heels.

Stu do you remember wee Puffin who used to stay in the flats?

He was knacked on the kit but he used to hit the pubs regularly with his shoplifted goods.

Toast racks, spoons any old crap he could get.

I'm assuming he died yonks ago as he's never been seen.

And do yous remember the wee Italian gadgie from years back? Always wandering around the town.

Findlay you heard this tune before? Mentions Cowboy Joe. And who could forget Arthur? Rastaman? He's mentioned as well on the tune.....

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

And from Moredun we had Dawson McTaggart....

Dawson McTaggart, who was ‘loved by many and heard by all’ was often spotted singing in the streets and stopping passersbys for a chat.

He was known to frequent several bars in the local area and earned himself a reputation as a ‘harmless headache’ with a wicked sense of humour.

205798048_4017080795073322_8540094884156565239_njpeg.jpg

There's still a guy who sort of stots about the bottom of Restalrig Road.I think he's of Polish dessent.Has a shaved heid and a big Crombie Jaiket.I think he might frequent the Lochend Tavern. He walks about sort of stiffly with one arm up his chest like he's trying to conceal something under his jaiket.A harmless enough guy he just seems to spend his time looking for dog ends and taking the bus up to Princes St.

He was knacked on the kit but he used to hit the pubs regularly with his shoplifted goods.

And do yous remember the wee Italian gadgie from years back? Always wandering around the town.
There is still a 'Puffin' who drinks in the Nest! Though I'm guessing not the same guy.

I've no been in the Robins Nest for yonks. Puffin that I knew would be in his 60's if he is still alive.

Mad Tam from Lochend. He stayed in the stairs right across from Hermitage Park Grove on the bridge from the railway. Always stories about him killing his family or some crazy shit. We'd bud his windaes and run like fuck.
My mates and I hung around Lochend Park in 1960s and knew him as "Daft Tam"...... he gave me & my girlfriend from school a right guid fu***n fright when "walking" through the park on a dark night !!!

There is still a 'Puffin' who drinks in the Nest! Though I'm guessing not the same guy.
Naw its no Davy Kev. He stayed next door tae me in Burnhead. Tapped my door one night , he usually just tapped me😉, or your auld man or anybody, half pissed wi an auld Hibs scarf in his hand for Mikey. He was wanting an invite in for a drink but I took the scarf, telt him I was going tae ma cot and shut the door. He was back at the door the next morning for his scarf back.😂
A wee thing about Puffins maw Maisie. My youngest took a fit when he was just short of a year auld, my missus phoned me at the Libby panicking I telt her tae take him next door because I knew Maisie used tae be a nurse, she treated the bairn until the ambulance came and the bairn was blue lighted tae the sick kids.

Naw its no Davy Kev. He stayed next door tae me in Burnhead. Tapped my door one night , he usually just tapped me😉, or your auld man or anybody, half pissed wi an auld Hibs scarf in his hand for Mikey. He was wanting an invite in for a drink but I took the scarf, telt him I was going tae ma cot and shut the door. He was back at the door the next morning for his scarf back.😂
A wee thing about Puffins maw Maisie. My youngest took a fit when he was just short of a year auld, my missus phoned me at the Libby panicking I telt her tae take him next door because I knew Maisie used tae be a nurse, she treated the bairn until the ambulance came and the bairn was blue lighted tae the sick kids.
I mind one time Puffin somehow ended up back at my Dad's to watch the boxing, nae carry-oot and nae dosh on him. We had a sweep on the winner and round of KO and Puff managed to get involved. Of course he wins it and saunters off back down the road 4 hours later pished with 60 quid in his tail 😂

The rumor was with all the bottles he collected he was loaded.

See, us Crazyhillers, and those of us who attended St Mary's Bathgate always called a very similar fellae Airchie the Bottle Merchant, he done all his juice bottle collections on a bike. Are we talking about the same guy?

“Feel Sandy” I believe was more or less brought up by his sister (Greencol might correct me on that though). Always wore a suit and - unusually - leather knee-length boots with buckles up the side. He was banned from the buses for jumping on at random street corners and scaring the shit out of the “clippies”. His trademark catchphrase was “Aha boy!”, usually accompanied by an Eric Morecambe style skip and a click of his heels.
Not sure about the sister, but his brother could shut him up pronto and tellt him to 'get up the road NOW!'
Back to Wullie Mackie.
He had a brother, Peter.
Bonehead was his nickname 'cos his heed was enormous.
Fernie Alick.
Guy was about 6ft 4.
He used to get shouted at " Fernie Alick, nae wise!'
He wasn't that daft.
Never worked a day in his life.
Tamas & Lisa.
Brother and sister.
They walked about all day. Tamas walked with his bike and Lisa walking behind.
Her hair actually trailed on the pavement.
Hadn't been seen to for decades.
Dites.
Dites used to play football in his socks, or a pair of cut down wellies.
He had a song dedicated to him as he was a decent player....
We don't need Eusebio, we've got Dites Antonio.

The good old days.

See, us Crazyhillers, and those of us who attended St Mary's Bathgate always called a very similar fellae Airchie the Bottle Merchant, he done all his juice bottle collections on a bike. Are we talking about the same guy?
Yes, Archie was the bottle guy, I got the two of them mixed up, I knew Charlie too.
Archie was everywhere, he is the one that the rumor was he had plenty of money due to years of collecting bottles.

Did Puffin have a big beak ( nose ) 🤣

Not sure about the sister, but his brother could shut him up pronto and tellt him to 'get up the road NOW!'
Back to Wullie Mackie.
He had a brother, Peter.
Fernie Alick.
Guy was about 6ft 4.
He wasn't that daft.
Tamas & Lisa.
Brother and sister.
Dites.

The good old days.
There was a guy frm T’hall ( kdy ) who had a large forehead, his nickname was Irn Bru 🤣

Yes, Archie was the bottle guy, I got the two of them mixed up, I knew Charlie too.
Archie was everywhere, he is the one that the rumor was he had plenty of money due to years of collecting bottles.
Archie McIvor. He lived with his brother - Dempster, and sister in a hoose in Addiewell.
His bottle collecting exploits had him go on the Huns supporters’ buses through to ibrox where his sole interest was collecting the bottles off the terracing after the match.

Another Bathgate legend was ‘Paddy’. So called because he’d be up the street, pissed, singing or roaring at people with what everyone thought was an Irish accent. He was actually Walter McIntyre, who might have came from the western isles originally, and lived in squalor in a maisonette in the town. I had the unpleasant experience of climbing through a window to gain entry after he hadn’t been seen for a few days. 🤢

Whitburn had its own collector. Bottle George from Bog Road (or Bob Road as he called it). He’d be all over the town, with his trademark snotters dreeping off his nose, raking the bins for bottles to take them down to the 24 petrol station for 20p a bottle. If the bottle wasn’t quite empty, he’d drink what was left. He used to flag us down on nightshifts and sing an Elvis song (using his own words, guitar noises and actions as well) and we’d stump up a £1 or two for him, until we got complaints that the locals were getting woken up by the ‘entertainment’🤣

Last I saw him he had been put up in sheltered accommodation in West Calder and he was in the local supermarket trying to buy a bottle of Irn Bru with a bag of change. I bought it for him mainly to save the sanity of the checkout woman. 🤣

Another Peterhead character was Peter the Spy who lived in a fantasy that the town was full of Russian spies. I sometimes walked to my work in the Clydesdale Bank in his company and he would be saluting people we passed and saying to me “he’s one of my men.”
Anyway he started coming in to the bank on a regular basis, asking if his money had come through from the States yet. We would go through the motions of checking his account and tell him nothing had come in.
After a week or so of this I said “will the payment be in your name?” “Ah no” he said. “It’ll be made out to Lord North Sea. It’s my royalty payment for an oil rig I designed.” To get rid of him I suggested he tried the Royal Bank and told him to ask for Mr McIrvine. Off he popped. About 20 minutes later he reappeared with a Royal Bank counter cheque, post dated and made payable to Lord North Sea for £1,000,000. I phoned Mr McIrvine and he said “Gotcha ya bastard! He’s been coming here for weeks so we told him he’d need to cash it at the Clydesdale!”

Would that creepy lad who goes about doing cards tricks dressed in a batman suit be a modern day character?

Back to Wullie Mackie.
He had a brother, Peter.
Fernie Alick.
Guy was about 6ft 4.
He wasn't that daft.
Tamas & Lisa.
Brother and sister.
Dites.

The good old days.
I was sent this last night.

• 190ee975-85ad-42b1-bb19-6ba2449cd651.jpeg
    190ee975-85ad-42b1-bb19-6ba2449cd651.jpeg
    198.6 KB · Views: 19
We used to have a character "china" who sold rolls and papers on a Sunday morning from a supermarket trolley round the muirhouse, pilton and granton schemes in the early 80's. His mantra beltin his lungs oot at 8 in the morning wiz " rooooooooooooooooooooooollspapers " I think that little business venture lead to him having a shop in ferry road drive with apparent questionable hygiene practices. :P