Le clink for Le Pen

egb_hibs

So the EU manage to get rid of another inconvenience, with a severe sentence for Marine Le Pen being dished out following a guilty verdict in her embezzlement trial. Between rerun referenda, cancelling of national elections, and now this, they must by now rival the Mounties for always getting their (Wo)man.

Maybe it’s all above board and they would prosecute any party leader, whose staff were working on party as well as European Parliament business - that being the embezzlement in question as I understand it. Maybe none of the rest of them ever do that (though paint me sceptical on that one).

I hope they know what they are doing either way, because I expect they just created a martyr and RN are more likely to win with Bardella at the helm anyway. Russia have got their digs in already, as have other European leaders. Goodness knows that Trump with his own feelings of victimisation by the progressive lawfare apparatus will make of it all.

Cheering then, that Starmer is legislating to overturn some of our own deep state shenanigans, as todays news also includes that he is going after the two-tier justice approach that the sentencing commissars have refused to budge on.

I've just read that one of the left party leaders has condemned the sentence......

"Following the ban against Le Pen running for president, political opponent Éric Coquerel, MP for radical Left party France Unbowed told French news channel LCI: 'I don't agree that things that should be decided by the ballot box are decided by the courts.

'It will only paint the National Rally as a victim"

Still it's one way of nullifying the opposition but surely the EU will now have every party representatives in Brussels investigated.

Still politician with snout in trough scandal will surprise absolutely no one methinks.

Its amazing how the ones against the narrative...are always the ones stopped.

I'd say half the politicians in UK should be ineligible too.

Democracy is just an illusion,and it's becoming more apparent with each day that passes.

After all the illegal wars,Covid lies,pay to play....how many got banned from public service?

I've just read that one of the left party leaders has condemned the sentence....

"Following the ban against Le Pen running for president, political opponent Éric Coquerel, MP for radical Left party France Unbowed told French news channel LCI: 'I don't agree that things that should be decided by the ballot box are decided by the courts.

'It will only paint the National Rally as a victim"

Still it's one way of nullifying the opposition but surely the EU will now have every party representatives in Brussels investigated.

Still politician with snout in trough scandal will surprise absolutely no one methinks.
thing is jimmy, we all go radge at the corruption in our political systems, they all get away scot free etc. Perhaps a change for the better

Fuck me, if the US had a law stating that convicted felons cant run for POTUS, i think the world would be less fucking bonkers than it is now.

Im sure im looking at it too simply though...

Its amazing how the ones against the narrative...are always the ones stopped.

I'd say half the politicians in UK should be ineligible too.

Democracy is just an illusion,and it's becoming more apparent with each day that passes.

After all the illegal wars,Covid lies,pay to play....how many got banned from public service?
For some reason(s) beyond my understanding, the imperfect democratic systems around the world seem to cause much disdain, but really, whats better? What political system trumps it?

Totally agree mate. But let's keep the ball rolling and start getting more of the greedy bastards in court.

But lawyers no doubt have a decent chance of being slippery if investigated. I was reading at the weekend another labour daftie charged on expenses for her dug to be looked after.

Was Kinnock no involved in a financial scandal years ago in the EU.

A lassie had uncovered massive fraud yet Kinnockio got her binned from her job.

As stated a curse on all of them.

Totally agree mate. But let's keep the ball rolling and start getting more of the greedy bastards in court.

But lawyers no doubt have a decent chance of being slippery if investigated. I was reading at the weekend another labour daftie charged on expenses for her dug to be looked after.

Was Kinnock no involved in a financial scandal years ago in the EU.

A lassie had uncovered massive fraud yet Kinnockio got her binned from her job.

As stated a curse on all of them.
Im probably way behind the news, but Id love to see everyone who stole from the public purse during covid, every backhander etc taken to task, all the monies returned including interest, and those guilty be charged. Its pretty disgusting what the politcal classes get away with.... and all in our name!

Yep I'd love to see that. Maybe then folk would be a bit more interested in politics if we knew the corrupt were getting chased.

Back in the day in Japan did folk who had been negligent or corrupt no kill themselves when caught?

Maybe time our politicians did the same.

Yep I'd love to see that. Maybe then folk would be a bit more interested in politics if we knew the corrupt were getting chased.

Back in the day in Japan did folk who had been negligent or corrupt no kill themselves when caught?

Fuck me Jimmy, if the executions are on the beeb, I might start paying their tax!!

Locally they should bring back stocks. This would be great. They could do mobile stocks that tour around and folk can throw rotting veg at them. Or rocks if they are Hun/Merricks. Wet sponges if they are celtc.....

Stocks are feet restraining devices that were used as a form of corporal punishment and public humiliation. The use of stocks is seen as early as Ancient Greece, where they are described as being in use in Solon's law code.

Was there one back in day maybe called The Dishonourable Harry Carey?

The presidential hopeful and eight other people who were EU lawmakers at the time, along with 12 parliamentary assistants, were found guilty of embezzling funds to fund their French National Rally (RN) party.

"It was established that all these people were actually working for the party, that their (EU) lawmaker had not given them any tasks," Judge Benedicte de Perthuis told the court.

"The investigations also showed that these were not administrative errors ... but embezzlement within the framework of a system put in place to reduce the party's costs."
I can only imagine they'd been warned multiple times, as we've seen similar at Westminster and Holyrood, but decided to carry on regardless. Le fuck em!

If the EU had its own courts I'd be a bit concerned but found guilty in a French court under French law ... le fuck em!

If any of our lot were taking the pish in this country we'd be ragin. Christ! Our media goes nuts when folk allegedly use post-it notes inappropriately!

I'm sure their party will use it to their advantage. I didn't like the look of her auld man either, I'll bet he was dodgy too! Political dynasties - dodgy as fuck!

Na they would be banned from WFH.

Old school politicians used to cycle down to London on a Sunday then cycle hame on a Friday.

I wouldn't give them expenses either.
I remember one night shift we stopped this shed of a Mini Metro as we thought he was drunk driving. Turned out to be Tam Dalyell driving down to Westminster overnight for the next days business. Not drunk, just a shite driver🤣

For some reason(s) beyond my understanding, the imperfect democratic systems around the world seem to cause much disdain, but really, whats better? What political system trumps it?
Democracy is the best system which is why it’s a shame it’s going down the pan everywhere, and that very much includes Europe, with unaccountable bureaucracies in both the EU and within countries, increasingly running the show in the interests of neoliberalism.

I can only imagine they'd been warned multiple times, as we've seen similar at Westminster and Holyrood, but decided to carry on regardless. Le fuck em!

If the EU had its own courts I'd be a bit concerned but found guilty in a French court under French law ... le fuck em!

If any of our lot were taking the pish in this country we'd be ragin. Christ! Our media goes nuts when folk allegedly use post-it notes inappropriately!

I'm sure their party will use it to their advantage. I didn't like the look of her auld man either, I'll bet he was dodgy too! Political dynasties - dodgy as fuck!
For sure. The open question is though, are all parties at it, and this is targeted lawfare. Or have the RN acted differently to the rest and it’s a straight up fair cop.

Ironically they have run on the established parties all being at it!

Either way they’ll have made her a martyr. Look how defensive people have got over SNP investigations and I suspect some of her followers are somewhat more fanatical than the average Scottish nationalist.

I was just reading there that the RN could help knack the french government again if they withdraw their cooperation.

The way Farage and his fellow party MEPs used to take the piss in the European Parliament was deserving if a sentence or two. Sure there were questions then about how they allocated their Euro expenses too.

You'd have thought the way he carried on if the EU were out to get those with dissenting voices he'd have been a prime target!

Yeah, I guess the Cons in brexit UK at the time weren't too bothered about proceedings against him while now, pro-EU is in vogue again nearly everywhere in Europe, not least in nuclear brolly-providing France after all the global super power shïte of late.

Didn't her mad dad end up in jail at one point too?

I don't like the idea of the law being weaponisedi Singapore style. But they can't be above the law either. Not every court case is a political attack. Trump and le Pen take note

For sure. The open question is though, are all parties at it, and this is targeted lawfare. Or have the RN acted differently to the rest and it’s a straight up fair cop.

Ironically they have run on the established parties all being at it!

Either way they’ll have made her a martyr. Look how defensive people have got over SNP investigations and I suspect some of her followers are somewhat more fanatical than the average Scottish nationalist.
The difference being of course Le Pen has been found guilty in a court of law. Nobody in the SNP has. But you were going to clarify that later I’m sure 😉

Well quite. We're not even in court yet and already it's been unionist conspiracies, police conspiracies, media conspiracies...

You are just demonstrating my point btw: straight to the barricades. And as i say, she has considerably more fanatical elements in her support.

Well quite. We're not even in court yet and already it's been unionist conspiracies, police conspiracies, media conspiracies...

You are just demonstrating my point btw: straight to the barricades. And as i say, she has considerably more fanatical elements in her support.

Of course you mentioning the SNP when there's no actual need and folk responding ...
Its an example of the way people receive these things, with which we are all familiar. The rights and wrongs come way behind loyalties and perceptions of political machinations. That was the point.

And that's how this is likely to be in France.

I’m not demonstrating your point you tart.🤣 I was quite clearly highlighting a flaw in your argument.

Ok have it your way. An extremely volatile France is likely to accept this as a routine and disinterested legal action. We know of no parallels from our own experience that would suggest any other response.

The comparisons you made were not on the same level is what I was pulling you for.
MLP has been found guilty in court and sentence passed. Nobody in the SNP has…..yet. But if your man Murrell suffers the same fate as LePen then he’ll deserve what’s coming. I wouldn’t expect the most ardent Nicola fans to be ready for a pagger with the justiciary if a guilty verdict comes to pass in quite the same way as the French.

The comparisons you made were not on the same level is what I was pulling you for.
MLP has been found guilty in court and sentence passed. Nobody in the SNP has…..yet. But if your man Murrell suffers the same fate as LePen then he’ll deserve what’s coming. I wouldn’t expect the most ardent Nicola fans to be ready for a pagger with the justiciary if a guilty verdict comes to pass in quite the same way as the French.
Its not about the stage in proceedings and nor is it about who deserves what; it's about how people react quite independently of the process, because....politics.

A considerable number of people in Scotland have not sat quietly awaiting legal processes to conclude before casting aspersions on that process, and i dont expect it to be different in France despite this stage of the process concluding.

That is the parallel I am referencing.

Another obvious one is the Trump proceedings. At every stage during and after legal actions, supporters suggested politicking was in the mix.

I really doubt this is going to cause millions of French RN supporters to throw their hands up and declare it a fair cop, mes amis.

I remember one night shift we stopped this shed of a Mini Metro as we thought he was drunk driving. Turned out to be Tam Dalyell driving down to Westminster overnight for the next days business. Not drunk, just a shite driver🤣
Mmmm. Was that just before you got your new car? :coffee1: