Labour

Conveniently lets them stuff the place with their appointees. Predictable and long trailed first move.

More interested in Rachel Reeves first announcement of note. That’s where the action is I think. If she indeed has a workable plan to begin to turn round our economic mess - she will need time, at minimum - then I’d like to hear it.

We’ve had a Tory thread for a good while, as labour are the govt is maybe time to put them under the microscope…
Here goes..
About time this ludicrous position was sorted and binned… hopefully they do as they say
I think we need a serious conversation about the HoL. I know there's more really pressing issues, but I think it needs to go. But the big question is what do we replace it with? I don't think that's straightforward. But it is an opportunity to do some significant constitutional reform. It shouldn't be quick as it's important. But I'd like to see progress in this Parliament.

Yay, an Archie post I agree with.

Especially the last point. The HoL is one of these things that seems absurd until you ponder the alternatives. Those could all too easily included a check and balance that is a mirror of, and subordinate to, the legislating house. There is also an argument for people not beholden to the vagaries of 5 years electoral terms scrutinising those who are.

Perhaps there is a route here that encompasses other problems. This is off the top of my head with no real thought given, but for example, an FPTP commons paired with a PR populated HoL replacement ? Perhaps with ‘life peerage’ equivalence in the latter bestowed after three or four successive elections indicating a ‘settled will’?

But that doesn’t get away from the problem of career politicians. The more you think about it, the trickier it gets.

Don't get too excited about a Labour government. They are all for the Westminster stronghold , and Scotland will be a dumping ground for all they don't want, and will take any wealth we have and give us some of it back and tell us we should be grateful for it.
It will be no different than a Tory government. None at all for us here in Hibee land. Labour have again turned themselves into Tory diets just to get elected.
Get your union jacks out, and lets sing GSTK. It's all we are good for.

Don't get too excited about a Labour government. They are all for the Westminster stronghold , and Scotland will be a dumping ground for all they don't want, and will take any wealth we have and give us some of it back and tell us we should be grateful for it.
It will be no different than a Tory government. None at all for us here in Hibee land. Labour have again turned themselves into Tory diets just to get elected.
Speaking as someone who would like independence, despite others doubting me because I don’t wrap that in what I see as brigadoon fantasy, I’ve got to say wake up and smell the coffee. The Scottish public have imho just corroborated my point that independence advocates need to show not tell.

In other words, use the very considerable powers they have, to demonstrate Scotland can thrive as an independent country rather than preside over a shitshow and claim you need more executive power to clean up the mess.

In no other walk of life do you get more responsibility from doing little with what you do have, and blaming others. You don’t get to be manager of Man City by claiming there’s not enough money at Hibs to enact your plan.

You still in the huff after losing fortunes on your Tory majority and Tory/Reform majority at the bookies?!

We’ve had a Tory thread for a good while, as labour are the govt is maybe time to put them under the microscope…
Here goes..
About time this ludicrous position was sorted and binned… hopefully they do as they say
great click bait headline there in the OP - Lets see if Labour do much more than stock the HOL - pretty sure there was commitment to major reform in 97 as well and how many Labour freeloaders in ermine have we had since then? wont hold my breath (and btw 80 years old as a bar is just odd)

Conveniently lets them stuff the place with their appointees. Predictable and long trailed first move.

More interested in Rachel Reeves first announcement of note. That’s where the action is I think. If she indeed has a workable plan to begin to turn round our economic mess - she will need time, at minimum - then I’d like to hear it.
TBF they need to otherwise they'll not get through any of their legislation!

Unfreezing the pensions of 500,000 British pensioners who happen to live in the wrong foreign country would be nice.

You would think, given Labour has wanted HoL reform for most of their existence, they'd have at least a discussion document with viable alternatives ready to put out for err ... discussion.

Speaking as someone who would like independence, despite others doubting me because I don’t wrap that in what I see as brigadoon fantasy, I’ve got to say wake up and smell the coffee. The Scottish public have imho just corroborated my point that independence advocates need to show not tell.

In other words, use the very considerable powers they have, to demonstrate Scotland can thrive as an independent country rather than preside over a shitshow and claim you need more executive power to clean up the mess.

In no other walk of life do you get more responsibility from doing little with what you do have, and blaming others. You don’t get to be manager of Man City by claiming there’s not enough money at Hibs to enact your plan.
Yip. Your right.
Sit doon, shut up, get back in your corner and stop being nuisance and just dae as your telt.
You'd think I would be good at it by now, considering it's what I've been told all my life.
As for you wanting independence, I'm confused.
You seem to have went from wanting it, to opposing it, and back to wanting it. Basically the opposite of whoever you are corresponding with at the time.

Yip. Your right.
Sit doon, shut up, get back in your corner and stop being nuisance and just dae as your telt.
You'd think I would be good at it by now, considering it's what I've been told all my life.
You seem to have went from wanting it, to opposing it, and back to wanting it. Basically the opposite of whoever you are corresponding with at the time.

I'm in the weird place of agreeing with you AND @egb_hibs (going for a lie down shortly)
Given that the current SG have made a raging short front of it over the last 9 years, I think egb's point is a good one.
Stop blaming everyone else and govern for the majority in Scotland. If they don't the electorate will end them in 26 simply put.

Yip. Your right.
Don’t get too offended; you’re the one that calls me a yoon for taking what I see as a realistic view on how to progress. You’re entitled to take your view, I just don’t think it’s going to persuade people.

I don't recall ever calling you anything.
I'm in no position to persuade anybody how to think.

I'm in the weird place of agreeing with you AND @egb_hibs (going for a lie down shortly)
Given that the current SG have made a raging short front of it over the last 9 years, I think egb's point is a good one.
Stop blaming everyone else and govern for the majority in Scotland. If they don't the electorate will end them in 26 simply put.
If they ( Labour) do get to run Holyrood, best start saving.

I don't recall ever calling you anything.
I'm in no position to persuade anybody how to think.
I’m pretty sure you have suggested I am unionist more than once. Maybe confusing with others in which case I apologise.

In any case my view is independence is best served by demonstrating what Scotland can be, and I think election results now make that politically necessary.

I’m pretty sure you have suggested I am unionist more than once. Maybe confusing with others in which case I apologise.

In any case my view is independence is best served by demonstrating what Scotland can be, and I think election results now make that politically necessary.
But it is a catch 22.
We could only prove we are capable of managing ,(or not ) ourselves as a country when we have the power to do so.
I doubt very much Westminster is so keen to hold onto us because they love us so much, despite us being a drain on their resources.

Surprised this has took so long tae hit the headlines.

But it is a catch 22.
We could only prove we are capable of managing ,(or not ) ourselves as a country when we have the power to do so.
I think that is totally wrong and doesn’t apply in any other walk of life like I say. We should be demonstrating we are maximising our opportunities within the constraints that we do have, instead of complaining about those we don’t.

The reality is we’ve got higher taxes for worse services and our major constitutional limitation that has been highlighted is inability to legalise people swapping gender by uttering magic words. It’s less than convincing.
I doubt very much Westminster is so keen to hold onto us because they love us so much, despite us being a drain on their resources.
The English are very fond of us you know, but I’m not persuaded they are unnaturally interested in holding on to us. It was Scottish people that rejected a referendum that Westminster ‘gave us’. Meanwhile I’m pretty sure they’d actively want to be rid of NI, and yet it’s part of the UK. This isn’t down to others, it’s down to Scots.

🤣🤣🤣🤣 Thornberry just released a statement. The entitled dafties isnae happy with Slippery.......

I am very sorry and surprised not to be able to continue that work in government, but I wish all my brilliant colleagues well, and I know that Richard Hermer KC – a much more accomplished lawyer than I could ever hope to be – will do an outstanding job as Attorney General.

Nothing in the personal disappointment I feel can detract from the amazing and historic victory that all of us in the Labour movement worked together to win last week, and the chance that we now have to change our country for the better.

I expect 'lady' Nugee to be a thorn (berry) in Slippery's side.

🤣🤣🤣🤣 Thornberry just released a statement. The entitled dafties isnae happy with Slippery.....

I am very sorry and surprised not to be able to continue that work in government, but I wish all my brilliant colleagues well, and I know that Richard Hermer KC – a much more accomplished lawyer than I could ever hope to be – will do an outstanding job as Attorney General.

Nothing in the personal disappointment I feel can detract from the amazing and historic victory that all of us in the Labour movement worked together to win last week, and the chance that we now have to change our country for the better.
Starmer may have had entirely different reasons for all l know, but if this is a shot across the bows of the prole hating guardianista sorts - ie this is not your Labour Party - it’s a fantastic move. Well done Sir Keir.

Aye fair play to him for that. But I'm thinking the gaurdianistas will have their revenge one day.

A good auld labour civil war will be brewing.

But it is a catch 22.
It’s us Scots fault Scotland is still controlled by Westminster, not the English or anybody else.
The chance was there and Scotland became the 1st country to reject independence.

It’s us Scots fault Scotland is still controlled by Westminster, not the English or anybody else.
The chance was there and Scotland became the 1st country to reject independence.
I am very well aware of that.And ashamed
Though project fear played a huge part in the outcome for sure. Folk shat their pants and bought Gordon Browns pack of lies on the eve of the referendum.

Surprised this has took so long tae hit the headlines.
It hit the headlines plenty, eg when Boris tried it at PMQs. The main problem is that it isnae true.
Interesting that a Russian propaganda site is going with it now though. Vlad isnae happy I guess

Seems Labour are refusing to engage with GB News. And the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday feel snubbed and are furious.
I think that's a tricky one. The Mail and GB News hate Labour and will spin anything negatively. But they are elected to serve the whole country. Personally I think it's better to show up for the debate. But there may be background to this that I don't know.