LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back on the bus and that will do nicely. Please add to the discussion here.
He’s not been good enough since he came it’s nothing new“Jair had a few nice wee touches “I’m glad somebody else was paying attention.Already he’s become the Bounce scapegoat from some who should know better.That’s after us winning 5-0
Isn’t it brilliant to have a JB with goals and a good performance.Well, the fitba is back and so are Hibernian. An hour of quality where we simply played Elgin off the pitch. A Vente hatrick, 5 goals, great performances from Molotnikov, Miller and O’Hora, a clean sheet and a fluid shape. Nice.
Sir David and his back room team vocal all game. I enjoyed this tending to them. The 700 or so Hibs fans gave the team a standing ovation at the end. It could of been many more but the substitutions slowed us down a lot and took the sting out of the game.
Pre match we were made very welcome by Elgin City, cheap pints, friendly hosts and decent facilities. A crowd of 1778 came along as I took my seat beside Malkies Mackay and Macpherson and King Paddy.
As I said, we were all over them first sixty, with a proper strikers hatrick, great balls from Obita for the second and Molotnikov for Vente’s third coupled with a good goal from Boyler and a first for Big Marv. As I said, nice.
We fell away after the changes, with only Megwa bringing much to the game of the subs. Although Jair had some nice touches I felt Amos, Mariah Carey and Levitt were slow and off the pace.
So best for Hibs we’re Miller at right back, who was in the wars all game. O’Hora is a smashing player, nice and steady and him and Marv are good ball winners,Rudi Molotnikov was superb, Dylan Vente done what we lent he can do, stayed in the box and scored goals. Elgin offered little and it should have been a whole lot more than 5.
The Team
Bursik has an easy day and kept a clean sheet. Looks commanding.
Millsy had a great game, fouled constantly he soldiered on. Needs to stay on his feet though.
Marv is simply a big no nonsense centre half who can score goals.
O’Hora is a smashing player, very strong and good feet.
Obita I felt took it too easy first half but played better when Megwa came on behind him.
Newell was a bit quieter today. That can happen.
Cads played in front of Miller and they were linking up well until Chris pulled up hurt, holding his right thigh and had to go off early second half.
Josh Campbell did fine. Playing the Scotty Allan meant Vente spent a whole lot more time in the box scoring goals. I like that.
Molotnikov was fantastic, played like he had been in the first team for years. His ball and build up play for the fifth goal was class. This Hibs fan has all the talent to push his way into the starting eleven.
Boyler played up front, sometimes through the middle, other times down the right. Scored a good goal.
Dylan Vente, the Hibees number 9 scored three, was busy all game until going off to applause from the Hibs end. That’s ma boy.
Subs
Mariah Welsh came on first and did very little other than slow it down. Wasn’t impressed.
Next was Amis, who was pretty much the same as Mariah Welsh.
Levitt the same as the other two.
Megwa came on as a left back and done very well, best of the subs.
Jair had a few nice wee touches and took a few men on.
The manager, Sir David Gray, the player that scored that goal on that day, captaining Hibernian to victory in the Scottish Cup in 2016 has really changed how we set up, play and win. We flex his we play during games, he, Craig and Sampson speak constantly and with a few more additions, we look like we have something there.
Elgin were poor and easily beaten. They had a few flurries but didnae really lay a glove on us. I expect much more of Queens Park midweek.
The referee was hopeless, a funny wee officious fucker who looked like Inspector Clouseau. He gave Miller a talking to after Miller was fouled?
My Hibernian man of the match is between Rudi, Millsy and Vente. Dylan gets it for his hatrick.
Next up is Queens Park at Easter Road on Tuesday. I sat beside their scout, he stopped taking notes around 70 minutes. Get along if you can, the Hibees are back.
Hibernian Forever!!
You want me to dig up the posts where people said he had a good game? I could.Obviously you see something David Gray doesn’t.He’s not been good enough since he came it’s nothing new
2 games in nearly 40 doesn’t quite cut it. More worrying he’s made about 40 appearances for us when well below what’s required.You want me to dig up the posts where people said he had a good game? I could.Obviously you see something David Gray doesn’t.
I agree. Why does he deserve more game time when he’s failed to make the grade thus far after a wealth of opportunity? Delighted to be proved wrong but I’m keen to see him go. I can’t help but feel the reason he plays is to get him in the shop window.2 games in nearly 40 doesn’t quite cut it. More worrying he’s made about 40 appearances for us when well below what’s required.
Five margaritas bounce goldThe best part was finding a decent cocktail bar in Elgin.
Seriously,
A cocktail bar in Elgin.
Top class Margaritas.
And a 5-0 win.
Margaritas 5, me night night.
Really hope he get his chance with the first team this season and not loaned out. Would also look to extend his contract asap. The boys got it imo.Only saw the 2nd half but Molotnikov caught my eye , 2 footed and looks strong and confident for a young lad
Indeed he could be my dear new radge !.Many Thanks 1875, great to have the Just backs started for the new season. Rudi really could be something special. GGTTH
Well said Norway, onwards to ER on Tuesday !.Thanks M for the JB, I thought we were excellent and liked the way we fought to get the ball back after we lost it , some very good performances but Dylan getting a hat trick was the highlight for me, playing him in the six yard box and he will score. A great result also for David Grey and his team in their first competitive match
I could be wrong but I think he signed a new contract last season mate?Really hope he get his chance with the first team this season and not loaned out. Would also look to extend his contract asap. The boys got it imo.
PS, I never mentioned Rocky and Riley traipsed up the tunnel with ten minutes to go, both unused subs. JoJo stayed on the bench until the end.
If I was a manager I'd not allow that.PS, I never mentioned Rocky and Riley traipsed up the tunnel with ten minutes to go, both unused subs. JoJo stayed on the bench until the end.
Enjoying Hibs performances at moment. Noticeable that we are chasing and harrying even at 5 up. Look solid
He did that yeah, but would have one year left at the end of this season. I wouldn't like us to be in that position.I could be wrong but I think he signed a new contract last season mate?
Tastiest I've had for monthsHow were your knockers?
Naturally right footed...but is decent on his left peg as well.Molotnikov looks the part with obvious physicality. Is he a left footed midfielder? More Kevin Thomson or John McGinn?
Great JB @1875![]()