LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back and we are back to winning ways. Please add to the discussion here.
Only thing I'll say is about Iredale. Not Australia take note, but Steve Clarke take note. The lad was born in Greenock and wouldn't be out of place in our national defence.Well that was a hard fought win, United played the best I have seen them play against us this season. What changed it was the much needed subs, maybe no the ones I would have made and certainly not at the times I would have made the changes, but David Gray knows best and the introduction of Bowie, Campbell, Gayle and Nicky Cadden upped our tempo and won us the game as United had our collective sphincters twitching. That last goal was magical and sent us home happy.
We left early as the town was busy, but we were through sharp and in for our programmes and a look around the club shop, although nothing purchased as there is some right honking gear from both Joma and especially Fanatics. Easter Road fair filed up, a crowd of over 18,300 with 1500 Arabs, a stag dressed as chickens that seemed to last until half time and lots of tourist from the Netherlands, the Ukraine, Spain, Germany and at least three from Portland, USA, resplendent in green Timbers shirts. The Ukrainian lad wore his black and orange Shakhtar Donetsk scarf and a shiny new Hibs scarf, he sat down from us in the West Stand Lower seemed to really enjoy himself and enjoyed his recognition from Myko as he went off. The Dutch lads were in the club shop pre match and all bought the white away shirt, I pray for their raspberry ripples, they shirts rub the tits off you.
So Sonny, my best mate, my son Jamie and I settled into our seats in the West Lower, two changes to the team, the excellent Hoillet for Josh Campbell and Myko back up front for Ziggy Bowie. O'Hora kept his place although Miller was on the bench and baffling for me, Jordan Obita keep Nicky Cadden out the team. We started well, Boyler scored a freak goal as the United right back made the first of his many errors and Easter Road rumbled with expectancy, three stands full and a fourth with a good Hibs support in. It was an end to end first half, we looked in control but I felt United looked like they could score at any time. Another error by their defence and Myko took his chance and scored a fine goal as the holy ground rippled with noise, Hibs winning, the smelly farts losing. We went in at half time to warm applause, Hibs really were the bees knees, the Hibees are back.
Second half, well, United tweaked their shape and it was only a matter of time before they pulled one back on 50 minutes. It has been a while since we were a bit worried, today I was shouting for changes, as we let United in to the game. Not that the starting eleven were bad, much as I dislike Jim Badloss, he had tweaked it and United had the upper hand. Finally the changes started. I would never have dreamed that Junior went off first, he was great today, but the introduction of Josh on the hour changed the way we went at United, it did help us and Josh played well. The real differences were when Bowie replaced the excellent Kuharevich on 70 minutes, who had run his race. Kieron ran riot and changed the dynamic, he is big, strong, skilful and a right good player. He showed all of that. Add to that, David Gray righted the wrong of starting Obita for the far better Nicky Cadden and the wily Dwight Gayle. Superb Cadden cross, intelligent move and header from Dwight, goal, Hibs are off to Europe and Easter Road was rocking, Bella Caio!
At times today we struggled, other times we were purring, especially when the subs happened. I know people might thing I hate Jordan Obita, I dinnae, he is a decent player, I just think Nicky Cadden is much much better. Jack Iredale is a simple but steady defender who oozes class and ability that allows Rocky and Warren play better, Nico Triantis didnae have his best game. Lucky for him Dylan Levitt is superb, what a player he has become, a first pick who is our new metronome. I thought Junior Hoillet was a joy to watch today and was surprised to see him go off when he did. Myko had his best game in a Hibs shirt this season, he needs to learn to develop the upper body strength of Junior Hoillet though. Boyler scored, it is what he does, a good captain but could pass earlier. The introduction of Kieron, Josh, Dwight and Nicky were all the difference. Add Lewis Miller, what a bench that is.
So, the players.....
Jordan Smith has become a Hibs keeper, I like him and his two excellent saves are well. Any keeper coming in is his back up. He seems to love the Hibs too.
Warren O'Hora was left along today and in doing so had a good game.
Rocky was great, Rocky is great. He had a real battle with Dalby today, he will sleep well tonight.
Jack Iredale isnae a 7 out of 10 every week, he is a 9 out of 10. Australia, pay attention, this guy is a good footballer.
Jordan Obita didnae do anything wrong per se, I just rate Nicky Cadden so much higher. Jordan's corners are shite right enough, his crosses poor nowadays and propensity to pass it back on to Jack Iredale rather than take a man is annoying. I think he is a good Hibs player who has found his place, but Nicky Cadden should be starting, not him. The cross from Beardy and goal from Dwight for the third is exactly why.
Chris Cadden had a quieter game but done just fine. Him and his twin brother have become good Hibs men.
Nico Triantis has had a few average games recently. Sloppy passing, poor touches, worldies when none are needed. I hope is so he secures a deal to sign for us.
Dylan Levitt has go from bit part player to the best player in the team. Calm, great passing, a thinker. I though he was magnificent today, reminded me of Dylan McGeouch in his pomp.
Junior Hoillet was a joy to watch today, especially first half. His touch is magnificent, his passes smart, his work rate superb for a a guy of his experience. Give him another year Hibs, as I said, a joy to watch.
Boyler scored a weird goal, runs, moves, leads but can be a just too greedy. That said, I think I love the guy, another Hibs man, not by birth but by playing for us.
Myko was great today, scored, worked hard, looked good. Ask Junior about building up your upper body pal.
The Subs
First one was not what I expected or at the time, wanted. On the hour, Josh for Junior. Junior was on fire, looked dangerous but in fact Josh came on and helped changed the game. He played very well.
Next up was Bowie for Kuharevich on 65. Myko had played well, Kieron had a corker. Once this laddie is fit, boy we have some player on our hands.
The fucked up triple sub came on 85 minutes or so. I panic when I witness these normally. I shouldnae as it introduced the superb Nicky Cadden (see my point above), the mercurial Dwight Gayle and energetic Lewis Miller. It secured the game. It is great that when we make subs, its improves us, not weakens us.
The boss
I had radio teuchtar on all the way home, never heard our manager or that skitter Jim Badloss, the Huns and Thellick wurnae even playing today. Our Boss had been welcomed to the game by the excellent display from the Block Seven kids, we love this man, I love this man. There is no doubt he is up there with Michael Whelahan, Hugh Shaw and Eddie Turnbull already. I quickly watched his interview on Hibs TV, David explained how delighted he was with the mentality shown by his players, he was right, but his changes were the difference for me. That is on you David, David Gray.
I thought United were good today and I hudnae previously rated them. Should we go shopping there? I would avoid the hopeless right back Adegboyega right enough, he is a duffer. I hoped to listen to that arsehole Badloss, the radio ignored him too.
I think that John Beaton is a hun rat bastard. He let the game flow today with only two bookings.
Hibernian of the match for me was easy, Dylan Levitt has become instrumental in the rise of the Hibs, he was superb today. What a tidy football player, our new metronome. mentions to Myko, Jack Iredale, Rocky and Junior Hoillet and later Bowie, Gayle and Beardy Cadden.
An important moment in the stands, the Block Seven Banner is back the right way round. Well done Hibernian FC, you won us all back, and with some, you made us proud to be Hibernians again. Thank you, thank you. Fair play laddies. Big shout for the giant Hibs support, play the Hibernian way and they will come.
This Just Back is dedicated to Jim Herriot and David Kirkland. I was a wee laddie when Jim played for the HIbs but I do remember that black shoe polish under the eyes and being one of the Tornadoes. I didnae ken David, but he was a young man with a young family in the prime of his life. He leaves a wife and two young kids behind. A GoFundMe page has been set up to support David's family during the difficult time, help if you can.
Requiescat in pace Jim and David, two fine Hibernians.
Next up is a free hit at Celtc, with a sold out Hibs end. A win for them at the Hunnery on Sunday may let them take their foot off the pedal. I will take anything there, draw or win, it is a free hit for this very good Hibs team.
What a season eh, Hibernian Forever!
Cheers for another superb just back M. Myko definitely had his best game for hibs today. Ran them ragged and scored a delightful goal, you could see what it meant to him too.Well that was a hard fought win, United played the best I have seen them play against us this season. What changed it was the much needed subs, maybe no the ones I would have made and certainly not at the times I would have made the changes, but David Gray knows best and the introduction of Bowie, Campbell, Gayle and Nicky Cadden upped our tempo and won us the game as United had our collective sphincters twitching. That last goal was magical and sent us home happy.
We left early as the town was busy, but we were through sharp and in for our programmes and a look around the club shop, although nothing purchased as there is some right honking gear from both Joma and especially Fanatics. Easter Road fair filed up, a crowd of over 18,300 with 1500 Arabs, a stag dressed as chickens that seemed to last until half time and lots of tourist from the Netherlands, the Ukraine, Spain, Germany and at least three from Portland, USA, resplendent in green Timbers shirts. The Ukrainian lad wore his black and orange Shakhtar Donetsk scarf and a shiny new Hibs scarf, he sat down from us in the West Stand Lower seemed to really enjoy himself and enjoyed his recognition from Myko as he went off. The Dutch lads were in the club shop pre match and all bought the white away shirt, I pray for their raspberry ripples, they shirts rub the tits off you.
So Sonny, my best mate, my son Jamie and I settled into our seats in the West Lower, two changes to the team, the excellent Hoillet for Josh Campbell and Myko back up front for Ziggy Bowie. O'Hora kept his place although Miller was on the bench and baffling for me, Jordan Obita keep Nicky Cadden out the team. We started well, Boyler scored a freak goal as the United right back made the first of his many errors and Easter Road rumbled with expectancy, three stands full and a fourth with a good Hibs support in. It was an end to end first half, we looked in control but I felt United looked like they could score at any time. Another error by their defence and Myko took his chance and scored a fine goal as the holy ground rippled with noise, Hibs winning, the smelly farts losing. We went in at half time to warm applause, Hibs really were the bees knees, the Hibees are back.
Second half, well, United tweaked their shape and it was only a matter of time before they pulled one back on 50 minutes. It has been a while since we were a bit worried, today I was shouting for changes, as we let United in to the game. Not that the starting eleven were bad, much as I dislike Jim Badloss, he had tweaked it and United had the upper hand. Finally the changes started. I would never have dreamed that Junior went off first, he was great today, but the introduction of Josh on the hour changed the way we went at United, it did help us and Josh played well. The real differences were when Bowie replaced the excellent Kuharevich on 70 minutes, who had run his race. Kieron ran riot and changed the dynamic, he is big, strong, skilful and a right good player. He showed all of that. Add to that, David Gray righted the wrong of starting Obita for the far better Nicky Cadden and the wily Dwight Gayle. Superb Cadden cross, intelligent move and header from Dwight, goal, Hibs are off to Europe and Easter Road was rocking, Bella Caio!
At times today we struggled, other times we were purring, especially when the subs happened. I know people might thing I hate Jordan Obita, I dinnae, he is a decent player, I just think Nicky Cadden is much much better. Jack Iredale is a simple but steady defender who oozes class and ability that allows Rocky and Warren play better, Nico Triantis didnae have his best game. Lucky for him Dylan Levitt is superb, what a player he has become, a first pick who is our new metronome. I thought Junior Hoillet was a joy to watch today and was surprised to see him go off when he did. Myko had his best game in a Hibs shirt this season, he needs to learn to develop the upper body strength of Junior Hoillet though. Boyler scored, it is what he does, a good captain but could pass earlier. The introduction of Kieron, Josh, Dwight and Nicky were all the difference. Add Lewis Miller, what a bench that is.
So, the players.....
Jordan Smith has become a Hibs keeper, I like him and his two excellent saves are well. Any keeper coming in is his back up. He seems to love the Hibs too.
Rocky was great, Rocky is great. He had a real battle with Dalby today, he will sleep well tonight.
Jack Iredale isnae a 7 out of 10 every week, he is a 9 out of 10. Australia, pay attention, this guy is a good footballer.
Jordan Obita didnae do anything wrong per se, I just rate Nicky Cadden so much higher. Jordan's corners are shite right enough, his crosses poor nowadays and propensity to pass it back on to Jack Iredale rather than take a man is annoying. I think he is a good Hibs player who has found his place, but Nicky Cadden should be starting, not him. The cross from Beardy and goal from Dwight for the third is exactly why.
Chris Cadden had a quieter game but done just fine. Him and his twin brother have become good Hibs men.
Nico Triantis has had a few average games recently. Sloppy passing, poor touches, worldies when none are needed. I hope is so he secures a deal to sign for us.
Dylan Levitt has go from bit part player to the best player in the team. Calm, great passing, a thinker. I though he was magnificent today, reminded me of Dylan McGeouch in his pomp.
Junior Hoillet was a joy to watch today, especially first half. His touch is magnificent, his passes smart, his work rate superb for a a guy of his experience. Give him another year Hibs, as I said, a joy to watch.
Boyler scored a weird goal, runs, moves, leads but can be a just too greedy. That said, I think I love the guy, another Hibs man, not by birth but by playing for us.
Myko was great today, scored, worked hard, looked good. Ask Junior about building up your upper body pal.
The Subs
First one was not what I expected or at the time, wanted. On the hour, Josh for Junior. Junior was on fire, looked dangerous but in fact Josh came on and helped changed the game. He played very well.
Next up was Bowie for Kuharevich on 65. Myko had played well, Kieron had a corker. Once this laddie is fit, boy we have some player on our hands.
The fucked up triple sub came on 85 minutes or so. I panic when I witness these normally. I shouldnae as it introduced the superb Nicky Cadden (see my point above), the mercurial Dwight Gayle and energetic Lewis Miller. It secured the game. It is great that when we make subs, its improves us, not weakens us.
The boss
I had radio teuchtar on all the way home, never heard our manager or that skitter Jim Badloss, the Huns and Thellick wurnae even playing today. Our Boss had been welcomed to the game by the excellent display from the Block Seven kids, we love this man, I love this man. There is no doubt he is up there with Michael Whelahan, Hugh Shaw and Eddie Turnbull already. I quickly watched his interview on Hibs TV, David explained how delighted he was with the mentality shown by his players, he was right, but his changes were the difference for me. That is on you David, David Gray.
I thought United were good today and I hudnae previously rated them. Should we go shopping there? I would avoid the hopeless right back Adegboyega right enough, he is a duffer. I hoped to listen to that arsehole Badloss, the radio ignored him too.
I think that John Beaton is a hun rat bastard. He let the game flow today with only two bookings.
Hibernian of the match for me was easy, Dylan Levitt has become instrumental in the rise of the Hibs, he was superb today. What a tidy football player, our new metronome. mentions to Myko, Jack Iredale, Rocky and Junior Hoillet and later Bowie, Gayle and Beardy Cadden.
An important moment in the stands, the Block Seven Banner is back the right way round. Well done Hibernian FC, you won us all back, and with some, you made us proud to be Hibernians again. Thank you, thank you. Fair play laddies. Big shout for the giant Hibs support, play the Hibernian way and they will come.
This Just Back is dedicated to Jim Herriot and David Kirkland. I was a wee laddie when Jim played for the HIbs but I do remember that black shoe polish under the eyes and being one of the Tornadoes. I didnae ken David, but he was a young man with a young family in the prime of his life. He leaves a wife and two young kids behind. A GoFundMe page has been set up to support David's family during the difficult time, help if you can.
Next up is a free hit at Celtc, with a sold out Hibs end. A win for them at the Hunnery on Sunday may let them take their foot off the pedal. I will take anything there, draw or win, it is a free hit for this very good Hibs team.
Cheers for another superb just back M. Myko definitely had his best game for hibs today. Ran them ragged and scored a delightful goal, you could see what it meant to him too.
The Hibees edged closer to sealing third spot. We just have to get it over the line now.
Yes! You beat me to it!Only thing I'll say is about Iredale. Not Australia take note, but Steve Clarke take note. The lad was born in Greenock and wouldn't be out of place in our national defence.
SDG has a football brain. That's for sure. He's learning on the job but my word he's already becoming a fantastic manager/coach. I can't wait to see where he takes us.
Thank you Mark. I just love your just backs these days
Good performance today, really enjoyed it. Also thought Beaton was excellent. Must be the best ref in the league now.
My passports due for renewal in April 2026. I’ll need tae renew it for the European semi and final.We're off to Europe, we're on our way.
If we do everyone, go if you can, it is the best of times as a Hibs fan, the very best.

Not sure about that. He let Utd away with a lot of niggly fouls, especially in the first half.Good performance today, really enjoyed it. Also thought Beaton was excellent. Must be the best ref in the league now.
Can't say I saw many of those but I was in the South so maybe not the best view. Arabs were mostly raging with him which I use as a good gauge. I also appreciated their rendition of "you're just a hun with a whistle" and wondered why we don't sing that but, regardless, thought he let the game flow today.Not sure about that. He let Utd away with a lot of niggly fouls, especially in the first half.
I think it was in protest to the board when we were on our bad run. If imagine they're not changing it now being a wee bit superstitious!Cheers for a great just back, as ever
Bit of a nervy 2nd half but we got there, feels important to regain some momentum after last week before facing Celtic
On a serious note, what was the story with the upside-down Block 7 banner (before today's righting)? Been baffled by that for weeks
This is probably going to be unpopular, but Obita is a better defender than Nicky Cadden.
I disagree. He brings very little to the defence for me. Decent enough player but relies on Jack Iredale as an out ball too much and his corners were rotten today.
This is all fine and well be where is @joethehibby ???
or away up George Street wi Joe NewellStill trying to find Waverley I heard.
Dylan Levitt could make a late run for player of the year, he is that goodWell that was a hard fought win, United played the best I have seen them play against us this season. What changed it was the much needed subs, maybe no the ones I would have made and certainly not at the times I would have made the changes, but David Gray knows best and the introduction of Bowie, Campbell, Gayle and Nicky Cadden upped our tempo and won us the game as United had our collective sphincters twitching. That last goal was magical and sent us home happy.
So, the players.....
The Subs
The boss
Why I posted the pic of sunshine on the match thread, knew you would have something to sayThis is all fine and well be where is @joethehibby ???
Ooooo a wee bit touchy for some strange reasonWhy I posted the pic of sunshine on the match thread, knew you would have something to say![]()
I’m in the FF Upper so never see the TiVo or whatever.I think it was in protest to the board when we were on our bad run. If imagine they're not changing it now being a wee bit superstitious!
As much as Ted Lasso behind us? Apparently Miko had to change his shirt and shorts because he lost a contact lens.I’m in the FF Upper so never see the TiVo or whatever.
But I’ve said it before and I’m saying it again….that random siren… stick it up your arse mate. Does my fuckin head in.
Gayle is just total class. Moves slower than he use to but his movement and game awareness are sublime. I hope he stays another year if only to pass on his knowledge to the guys. Seems a cracking fella too.Excellent JB as always, nothing much to add except on Gayle's exquisite header. How many times these days do you see strikers head the ball on the ground and beat the goalie with the bounce??
Apparently KB is learning a lot from his mentor and new pal DG, should make him even better for next seasonGayle is just total class. Moves slower than he use to but his movement and game awareness are sublime. I hope he stays another year if only to pass on his knowledge to the guys. Seems a cracking fella too.