Just Back and typically Hibs

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
Ah ffs Hibs.

I take over today, a much needds rest for our usual host, @1875
hasn't been well, but still toughed it out. Doesn't need to put himself through this though...

On a day where results went our way, we threw away a great chance. Bottom 6 will be our own fault. 9 wins in 32 league games. 11 draws and 12 defeats.

I was on here just under a year ago going off on the fact we were a 50/50 team. In a season that we pretty much never drew a game. This year's record is worse. There's no question for me.

Anyway
The football

We lined up with what was a positive, fairly consistent team.

Marshall
Cadden Fish Rocky Obita
Triantis Newell
Boyle Marcondes Maolida
ALF
The weather wasn't exactly football friendly, I got blown around walking up from Lochend, good fun actually.
Especially windy in each teams third of the park.
So we obviously fannied about in our third and underhit everything into the wind first half and overnight everything with the wind second half.

The players.

Marshall, not sure I could blame him at either goal. Didn't really have a whole lot to do.

Cadden, delighted he scored. His journey back sounded tough, there's a wee reward on the end of it. Kick started our spell of positive possession. Wasn't involved first half, nothing happened down the right hand side at all.
Nothing.

Fish, thought he was terrible on the ball, got caught out 2 or 3 times and had to be bailed out by Rocky.

Speaking of, Rocky was good for me. Bailed Fish out, Bailed Triantis out. Just unlucky at their first goal. Wasn't prepared for Newell losing out and his partner was nowhere to be seen.

Obita, thought he was positive when he got to running, strong runner, but we don't utilise it enough. Links up well with Maolida and Youan down that wing.

Triantis, plays well in midfield, has clearly been working on being a midfielder. But couldn't read the wind, a pass back to Marshall ended up a corner in the first half, wind carried it off to the beyond. Underhit everything going forward. Second half he was dropped into centre half when Fish went off. He was posted missing at their first goal. Offered Rocky no cover at all, likely because of him drilling his midfield job lately.

Newell, not his best day at the office. Not without trying, just wasn't on today.

Boyle, completely anonymous first half, like Cadden, nothing happened down that side. Second half he touched the ball, got through on goal but let a tame shot off. He was offside anyway, but he just doesn't look like our Martin Boyle. When he first came back he did... So I think there's a footballing issue here. Maybe come to that later in this, dunno where I'll go.

Marcondes, played 2 or 3 really nice passes. Can clearly see a player in him, probably still one of our 3 best players on the day, but other times in the game its just a bit too casual. Could apply himself more for me. Hasn't earned a luxury player pass yet.

Maolida, always looking to get to goal. Can't hate on a player doing that, say the same thing about his pal Elie. Beat 2 men to get the shot that created our goal. I think he should start games up front. Even if it comes at the expense of ALF.

ALF, clever player, good movement, always has a space, almost scored a back heel volley at the front post. Got wiped out a couple times. Puts his body in harms way, plays for the cause, but Wasn't his day. Gets too close to Maolida I think.

Subs, Montgomery has an issue here. He rarely gets this shit right

Starts off with a half time sub where Fish goes off, Moriah-Welsh comes on. Triantis drops into defence and on paper tbh that's not the worst thing. Except Triantis hasn't really shown CB is a position for him. But Moriah-Welsh is the secret sauce in this squad for me and his inclusion was a step in the right direction. He got us further up the park, broke away to release Maolida to create our goal and generally is a positive influence on the park.

Youan comes on for ALF. Standard sub for Montgomery, could've told you this would happen pre game. Does it to Vente every week too. Puts Maolida up front and plays Youan wide left. Didn't really do much, don't think he likes coming off the bench. I also think we would generally be better off just playing Maolida up front from the start of games.

Jair comes on for Joe Newell.
I'm not even interested at this point.

The manager
I don't really have a lot of nice things to say, I'll leave it at he doesn't have a clue how to manage a game. I can understand the Triantis/Fish/Moriah-Welsh and Maolida/ALF/Youan switcheroos, but its just an unnecessary movement of players imo. You're not just swapping a body you're moving players around the park. Too many moving pieces when we can't even do some of the most basic shit.

The weather made it rough to play a passing game of football.
Every success that happened on either side came from a bit of running. That's what you do when the ball is unpredictable, you run and you make the goalkeeper do things. You don't pass and pass and stall the ball.
St Johnstone might have the slowest central defenders I've ever seen. We never tried to prove it.

Their second goal never came from someone running. I need to mention this goal somewhere, so here will do.
A fuckin corner! A corner where nobody headered the ball. Did he volley it or had it hit the ground? I couldn't even see the ball it was that low before anyone made contact! Who was marking that guy? Criminal whoever it was. They should be up the park at the next corner against us. Can't defend a thing.

Referee, I thought was okay at times, live I thought the goalkeeper punch was a penalty, some comments on here suggested it was okay.
The boy who halfed ALF in thr second half should've been off. That was straight through the back, he allowed us to play and waste the chance, but the tackle was shocking.

Hibs man of the match,
Options because options are fun, Marcondes, Cadden and Maolida.
Cadden scored the goal, Maolida was our most positive player and Marcondes was third best.
I'd go Maolida, he was the trying to score goals, tried to set up a couple, and gets credit for making Caddens goal possible.
Their boy Sidibe was St Johnstone equivalent and he would've been my overall man of the match for comparison. Impacted the game the most.

All in I thought we were really poor, we weren't positive, we were passive and we were punished for being so.
We don't manage games properly, we don't know how to defend and when you've got players like Boyle not kicking a ball all game then it's never going to end well.

Such a let down

Hibs forever 💚🤍

Thanks for getting through it!

Fire in

Ah ffs Hibs.

hasn't been well, but still toughed it out. Doesn't need to put himself through this though...

On a day where results went our way, we threw away a great chance. Bottom 6 will be our own fault. 9 wins in 32 league games. 11 draws and 12 defeats.

I was on here just under a year ago going off on the fact we were a 50/50 team. In a season that we pretty much never drew a game. This year's record is worse. There's no question for me.

Anyway
The football

Marshall
Cadden Fish Rocky Obita
Triantis Newell
Boyle Marcondes Maolida
ALF
The weather wasn't exactly football friendly, I got blown around walking up from Lochend, good fun actually.
So we obviously fannied about in our third and underhit everything into the wind first half and overnight everything with the wind second half.

The players.

Marshall, not sure I could blame him at either goal. Didn't really have a whole lot to do.

Cadden, delighted he scored. His journey back sounded tough, there's a wee reward on the end of it. Kick started our spell of positive possession. Wasn't involved first half, nothing happened down the right hand side at all.
Nothing.

Fish, thought he was terrible on the ball, got caught out 2 or 3 times and had to be bailed out by Rocky.

Speaking of, Rocky was good for me. Bailed Fish out, Bailed Triantis out. Just unlucky at their first goal. Wasn't prepared for Newell losing out and his partner was nowhere to be seen.

Obita, thought he was positive when he got to running, strong runner, but we don't utilise it enough. Links up well with Maolida and Youan down that wing.

Triantis, plays well in midfield, has clearly been working on being a midfielder. But couldn't read the wind, a pass back to Marshall ended up a corner in the first half, wind carried it off to the beyond. Underhit everything going forward. Second half he was dropped into centre half when Fish went off. He was posted missing at their first goal. Offered Rocky no cover at all, likely because of him drilling his midfield job lately.

Newell, not his best day at the office. Not without trying, just wasn't on today.

Boyle, completely anonymous first half, like Cadden, nothing happened down that side. Second half he touched the ball, got through on goal but let a tame shot off. He was offside anyway, but he just doesn't look like our Martin Boyle. When he first came back he did... So I think there's a footballing issue here. Maybe come to that later in this, dunno where I'll go.

Marcondes, played 2 or 3 really nice passes. Can clearly see a player in him, probably still one of our 3 best players on the day, but other times in the game its just a bit too casual. Could apply himself more for me. Hasn't earned a luxury player pass yet.

Maolida, always looking to get to goal. Can't hate on a player doing that, say the same thing about his pal Elie. Beat 2 men to get the shot that created our goal. I think he should start games up front. Even if it comes at the expense of ALF.

ALF, clever player, good movement, always has a space, almost scored a back heel volley at the front post. Got wiped out a couple times. Puts his body in harms way, plays for the cause, but Wasn't his day. Gets too close to Maolida I think.

Starts off with a half time sub where Fish goes off, Moriah-Welsh comes on. Triantis drops into defence and on paper tbh that's not the worst thing. Except Triantis hasn't really shown CB is a position for him. But Moriah-Welsh is the secret sauce in this squad for me and his inclusion was a step in the right direction. He got us further up the park, broke away to release Maolida to create our goal and generally is a positive influence on the park.

Youan comes on for ALF. Standard sub for Montgomery, could've told you this would happen pre game. Does it to Vente every week too. Puts Maolida up front and plays Youan wide left. Didn't really do much, don't think he likes coming off the bench. I also think we would generally be better off just playing Maolida up front from the start of games.

The manager
I don't really have a lot of nice things to say, I'll leave it at he doesn't have a clue how to manage a game. I can understand the Triantis/Fish/Moriah-Welsh and Maolida/ALF/Youan switcheroos, but its just an unnecessary movement of players imo. You're not just swapping a body you're moving players around the park. Too many moving pieces when we can't even do some of the most basic shit.

Every success that happened on either side came from a bit of running. That's what you do when the ball is unpredictable, you run and you make the goalkeeper do things. You don't pass and pass and stall the ball.
St Johnstone might have the slowest central defenders I've ever seen. We never tried to prove it.

Their second goal never came from someone running. I need to mention this goal somewhere, so here will do.
A fuckin corner! A corner where nobody headered the ball. Did he volley it or had it hit the ground? I couldn't even see the ball it was that low before anyone made contact! Who was marking that guy? Criminal whoever it was. They should be up the park at the next corner against us. Can't defend a thing.

Referee, I thought was okay at times, live I thought the goalkeeper punch was a penalty, some comments on here suggested it was okay.
The boy who halfed ALF in thr second half should've been off. That was straight through the back, he allowed us to play and waste the chance, but the tackle was shocking.

Hibs man of the match,
Cadden scored the goal, Maolida was our most positive player and Marcondes was third best.
I'd go Maolida, he was the trying to score goals, tried to set up a couple, and gets credit for making Caddens goal possible.
Their boy Sidibe was St Johnstone equivalent and he would've been my overall man of the match for comparison. Impacted the game the most.

All in I thought we were really poor, we weren't positive, we were passive and we were punished for being so.
We don't manage games properly, we don't know how to defend and when you've got players like Boyle not kicking a ball all game then it's never going to end well.

Such a let down

Hibs forever 💚🤍

Fire in
Well done Hammi, brilliant assessment, just a pity it was full of shit from Hibs.

Ken the wind was a factor but too many misplaced passes done us today. Triantis Marcondes and Newell being the biggest culprits. They had 2 shots on target and scored twice. I cannae mind Marshall having a save tae make, goals apart. Both goals coming from our errors. We had 70% possession. Maolida, NMW, Obita and ALF best for Hibs.
Trying tae be positive but its fuckin hard.

Ah ffs Hibs.

Anyway
The football

Marshall
Cadden Fish Rocky Obita
Triantis Newell
Boyle Marcondes Maolida
ALF

The players.

Nothing.

The manager

Hibs man of the match,

Such a let down

Hibs forever 💚🤍

Fire in
Hard to argue with any of that.

For me Maolida was our best player by a mile. I felt sorry for him, surrounded by huddies as he was. He seemed the only guy able to control the ball effectively in the wind and he was well up for it.

My team on the match thread had Youan in it instead of Boyle due to his goals, assists and understanding with Maolida. Even more so in those conditions where running with the ball was the tactic needed. Boyle offered nothing much. 1 point to me.
However, I had Triantes in my team instead of NMW, I got that wrong. NMW kept the ball low and carried it forward when he came on, Triantes struggled badly all afternoon to move the ball effectively in the wind. 1 point off for me.

Fish was ill and had to come off at half time. He should have been replaced by Hanlon. Triantes at 20 is a poor centre half.
Marcondes still flatters to deceive for me and still looks like a cross between Rachael Boyle and a moderately powerful Pokemon.

The wind was horrendous all afternoon as forecast and almost every ball played East to West by both teams accelerated or flew out for a throw in.
I thought we should have loaded up on the East side of the pitch in both halves so we could play passes West to East which would have held up into the wind. It is telling that the Edinburgh City game at nearby Meadowbank was abandoned due to the strong gusting wind.

As I feared it took us an hour to start going for it today when we desperately needed a win.
I'm absolutely gutted about the result despite us remarkably still having a chance of making top 6.
It's not easy being green.

Good summary, feel like it could be applied to too many 'performances' this season.

The manager is a complete dud imo..he doesn't motivate, can't set us up tactically and my greatest criticism ( and a point you emphasised) his in game management is terrible. More often than not our subs make us worse, which takes some doing tbh. I find him dull as to listen to, he doesn't convince me he has the authority to manage a club the size of Hibs so you'd think the players pick up on it. Our defence is still an accident waiting to happen and the same old failings are repeated ad nauseum. I don't think he has any idea how to incorporate our better players to get the best out of them..Maolida has mostly been a positive but Boyle, Youan, Le Fondre and Marcondes look inhibited most of the time.

I'd love to know the conversations that are going on behind the scenes as I can't imagine anyone thinks what's being served up is nearly good enough. No amount of Kensell bullshit can disguise how shite a season it's been.

There was a time on here when a defeat to Levein would cause much wailing and gnashing of teeth. Folk seem so ground down now it barely seems they can be bothered making much of it.

Roll on next season and a new manager.

Thanks for the Just Back, Hammi. We're in a snowy Lake Arrowhead in Southern California so missed the game but sounds like that was all that we missed. It's torture being a Hibs fan. Genuinely thought we would win today. 😩

1st goal rocky was shocking so weak as for the 2nd a needless corner given away, but let's be honest we are garbage and the football is so slow and predictable, can't remember many if any games this season we have been exceptional, weak players with a weak mentality with a manager who cannot change a game and will eventually cost him his job

Rocky should never been put in that position. Joe fucked it up, pure and simple.

Other than that, you are spot on.

Ah ffs Hibs.

Anyway
The football

Marshall
Cadden Fish Rocky Obita
Triantis Newell
Boyle Marcondes Maolida
ALF

The players.

Nothing.

The manager

Hibs man of the match,

Such a let down

Hibs forever 💚🤍

Fire in

Thanks Hammi, excellent just back. I really appreciate you covering for me. Only comments I would add were I thought Marcondes was shite, their goalie played well and the manager can fuck off now.

One manager with a knowledge of Scottish football and one without, seen this before with countless Hibs managers against Levien teams, our home record is stinking, has to be sorted. Foleys going to put alot of money into Hibs, is Monty the man to trust with that? No so sure.
Also VAR is shite and only really benefits 3 teams in the league, we continue to get fuck all from it.

Myziane was best player on the pitch for me. Joe didnt have a good game by his standards but tried. Marshall is blameless.
Obita was decent as was Chris Cadden 2nd half.
NMW changed our performance by grabbing game by scruff on neck.
The rest were shite, but Marcondes and Jair gave a masterclass in shiteness

Thanks Hammi, excellent just back. I really appreciate you covering for me. Only comments I would add were I thought Marcondes was shite, their goalie played well and the manager can fuck off now.
Rank rotten Mark, a few times today waiting for the ball and thier CH ran infront o him and took the ball

I still don't really understand why we never see Hanlon/Fish as a pairing. The former might be on the back slope of his career, but he's not done yet, and unlike every other permutation available to us we've seen those two play well together.

I try to avoid digging out individual players so I’ll keep to that.

It was a big game, whoever thought St Johnstone at home would be a big game?, and as happens in all big games, the same people disappear or turn in 4 or 5 out of 10 performances. And there’s a number of them who do it every big game without fail.

The manager, there is only one of him so I can’t help but comment on him individually, is so far out his depth it’s embarrassing. The ridiculous 2 in the middle for god knows how many games is one of the main contributors to where we are. I have a degree of sympathy as to why we never win a game we are second favourites in, see the previous paragraph, however you can’t fail to win as many games as we do where we are clear favourites and not ask how that happens.

I’m so fed up of Hibs. It was absolutely no surprise that we didn’t get a result today. Another team comes to play us, makes zero effort to win and leaves with three points!

I try to avoid digging out individual players so I’ll keep to that.

It was a big game, whoever thought St Johnstone at home would be a big game?, and as happens in all big games, the same people disappear or turn in 4 or 5 out of 10 performances. And there’s a number of them who do it every big game without fail.

The manager, there is only one of him so I can’t help but comment on him individually, is so far out his depth it’s embarrassing. The ridiculous 2 in the middle for god knows how many games is one of the main contributors to where we are. I have a degree of sympathy as to why we never win a game we are second favourites in, see the previous paragraph, however you can’t fail to win as many games as we do where we are clear favourites and not ask how that happens.

I’m so fed up of Hibs. It was absolutely no surprise that we didn’t get a result today. Another team comes to play us, makes zero effort to win and leaves with three points!

No one stepped up. Says more about the players than manager IMO

I still don't really understand why we never see Hanlon/Fish as a pairing. The former might be on the back slope of his career, but he's not done yet, and unlike every other permutation available to us we've seen those two play well together.

Rocky for me is a better defender than Fish. I honestly don't rate Fish at all.

Why does manager clap the fans after that shambles, rips my tits?

I was right behind you as we left shouting at the brass necked fud, my squeaky no well voice out shouted by yours.

I would have hooked Marcondes at half time. Less comittment than that prick Doherty

Agree, although my other two suggested changes happened. It must be killing Lewis and Paul to watch that and no get a chance, same for Josh Campbell when the diddy Jair gets on.

I wouldn't drop Rocky. He's the stronger of the 2 defensively on recent form.

Terrible manager. Picks the wrong side. A centre half playing in midfield against shitey st johnston at home in a must win game. When the promising Moriah-Welsh sits on the bench.

Tries to rectify it at half time but takes the best centre half on the pitch off and leaves the 2 bombscares at the back. 2 minutes later and we are 1 down. (I'm aware fish didn't have best first half but Triantis and rocky ffs, one a meme last week worldwide for being an idiot and one signed by mistake). I know its not fashionable or cool because they are getting on a bit but you can't tell me that a back 4 of Stevenson Hanlon fish cadden isn't better than that crap today.

Yoauns got 10 goals and 11 assists this season but dropped to the bench after a decent showing at Ibrox.

5 Mins were added, so when they scored we had 13 minutes to save our season. Does Monty really beleive Jair was the man for the job after showing he's not good enough over the last 2 years.

We've added Moriah Welsh who i have said i like. The excellent Maolida and Emiliano to the squad. One a 10 million player previously and the other on 36k a week. In that time we have amassed 11 points from a possible 36. Signings like these in scottish football you should be flying.

Monty out
Kensall out
Fuck the 800 quid behind the goals too 🤣

Hammi thanks for the just back and 1875 -get well soon. I think the report covers it, but a few observations:
- Boyle is off the boil. Was isolated much of the game
- Marcondes - don't push the boat out to sign him
- Newall - just one of these days
- MW - what energy and drive
- Fish was missed when he went off.

The manager? I'm still on the keep, but I know that won't be popular and I understand why. Spoke to a pal before the game who hasn't been for a while and he was clear, get McInnes.

He said "I know where I can take this club going forward"

That sounds awfy like he's close to the end and knows it imo

We've lacked a proper leader for the best part of 20 years. I want someone pointing and shouting when the team needs it. Not some unnecessary thug, but someone fuckin letting the players know that top 6 is on the line and a team like fuckin Hibernian shouldn't even be in this position. It's embarrassing!

Ah ffs Hibs.

Anyway
The football

Marshall
Cadden Fish Rocky Obita
Triantis Newell
Boyle Marcondes Maolida
ALF

The players.

Nothing.

The manager

Hibs man of the match,

Such a let down

Hibs forever 💚🤍

Fire in
Cheers for the just back Hammi. Fish was rank rotten for the entire time he was on the park. Triantis isn't a CB but that doesn't excuse him not coming over to give Rocky some back up against a faster opponent. I've seen Rocky get the blame on Twitter, I blame Triantis.

Fair enough, the ref let the game flow at times but when their goalie piled in to ManBun he did nowt. Similarly, when ALF was brought down in the box and when the same happened to Myziane plus there looked like a handball on another occasion, I can't help feeling all of those incidents would have gone against us had they been in our box. The boy that halved ALF should have seen a red card but as usual, it seems the officials are against Hibs.

The commentators on Hibs TV do my head in - The ManBun incident seemingly wasn't a pen because the goalie got a touch on the ball and Myziane being brought down wasn't a pen because he got his shot away. They don't half talk some tripe.

I agree we were poor but we made enough chances to win a couple of games and didn't take them.

All in all, a poor day at the office and £22 down the drain along with my idiotic belief that Hibs would be winning this game with some ease.

Rocky should never been put in that position. Joe fucked it up, pure and simple.

Other than that, you are spot on.
And Triantis did nothing to help Rocky out when he should have been bursting a gut to get over to double-team the St J player.