LEGENDARY RADGE
This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just back and that was poor Hibs. Please add to the discussion here.
Agree with that bar McGinn who other than hitting the post was awful I thought, just seemed off it and not the fight he normally has.
Is that McGinn of our two man midfield? laddie had to cover all over the place against their 4 as Keats and Boyle watched on from wide.
Duffy made sure the mifeild was overrun thinking back on it.
Our manager didn't do anything about it either. I think the two midfielders had a torrid task tonight and McGinn done ok, Bartley too, but they were swamped. Lucky Morton were ineffective near goal.
two decent midfielders sitting on the bench in Dylan and Fyvie watching us toil..Dylan eventually got stripped after about 78 minutes then put jacket back on and finally came on in 87th minute, very strange.
I was purple with rage I they 9 mins. I'm just a fan but our midfield was the problem that was obvious to all early doors. It was screaming out for McGeouch or Fyvie to get on replacing Keatings.
$#@! knows what Lennon was thinking of.
Nah. For me, McGinn was simply $#@!e tonight - nothing to do with "covering for folk", he never passed to a Hibs jersey 7 times out of 10 at least. I love the laddie, but he surely cannot be beyond criticism? Kicking the ball to your own team is not affected by shapes or whatever - he's simply in a rank run of form, and for me should be dropped. We looked better against Falkirk without him.
Why McGeouch was not on with 30 mins to go is beyond me.
Boyle literally the only player who looked like they might create a chance.
Keats might as well have not been there, all he did all evening was chip the ball into their keeper's hands.
BOTH strikers were utterly brutal - can't believe Jason gets a pass either. Both had a 10-foot first touch, and the pass selection and execution was on a par with mine (which is hopeless, to be clear).
Bartley was... bang average. Which elevates him above the entire front 6 barring Boyle.
Back four all done what they had to do, kept a clean sheet, and were constantly looking for a pass which they could never make due to the utter inactivity, laziness, and sloppiness of those in front of them.
Marciano's kicking was at best aimless, otherwise had $#@!all to do.
$#@! day at the office, which I look forward to forgetting.
Bollox!Yet again its Holts fault Cummimgs did sod all! its laughable . The reason Cummings was anonymous was due to the fact that the Morton defence had him in their back pocket. As soon as he got the ball the just let him run around in circles on his one good foot.Sorry Jase was outplayed by part time players again.
You tell me. Gon then, you tell me all about his performance last night? :coffee:Aye ok . What did Cummings contribute all game? hee haw![]()
I thought squirrel did ok in the circumstances. More often than not there were 4 defenders in aboot him. If he got past that then another 4 marking our 2 strikers.
We needed another midfielder in the place of Keats and we needed them mixing it in the box with the strikers.
Another observation was they ran about all night making themselves available and making a bloody nuisance of themselves while the Hibs players stood about like training cones!
Indeed.
Harsh to blame Squirrel for 'no final ball' when he has nobody to aim at.
A midfield that rarely get in the box, a pretty immobile Holty and Jason.
It's become a 'fact' that he can't cross.
I counted at least 4 excellent near post balls in the second half but no takers.
@hibadelic and I were saying the same thing. Why didn't Cummings/Holt/someone anticipate at least once that Boyle's crosses were hitting the front post area and gamble, instead of standing on penalty area/back post.
I thought Squirrel was fine last night.
On McGinn, I like the laddie, he's got a tremendous future ahead of him, but he's been really very poor for a number of games-including last night- in 2017. The midfield last night should have been Fyvie,Dylan,McGinn. So what if Dylan can't last full games? Play him from the start, get ahead then sub him.
Fyvie has clearly pished in Lennon's vimto.
Agree with everything but especially about missing Shinnie. He has been excellent for weeks now and acts as our real catalyst for us playing in the danger zone.RE Boyle. He is limited as a player hence why he is playing in this league for Hibs, but he is IMO an excellent winger at this level who uses his pace and skill very well. He is also very tenacious, has a great engine, and shows a refreshing appetite to run at defences and take players on...a rare sight in the modern game. The lack of movement from both our front players, but also the lack of willingness of our midfield players to get into the box when we are attacking continues to be a massive source of frustration.
I think McGinn was rushed back too soon after his operation. He hasn't been the same player he was last season, but he is still the player that everything goes through in our team. IMO we rely too much on him and he needs much better support from his fellow midfielders. We missed Shinnie last night as he at last shows a willingness to attack and get into the box to support and link up with our strikers.
I also agree with you about McGeogh. According to Lennon at the AGM last year he has a recurring injury problem which means he can't play very often, but for me he should start matches rather than come on with 15 minutes to go. Fyvie is another one who has had a slightly disappointing season. I do think he is a good player who maybe is just short of confidence at the moment. I think he will be back in the team fairly soon.
Agree with everything but especially about missing Shinnie. He has been excellent for weeks now and acts as our real catalyst for us playing in the danger zone.